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Returning to Work and
Lactation Accommodations

Your rights to pump and express milk are legally

protected

The Revised Code of Washington 43.10.005 & Federal Fair Labor Standards Act Section 7
requires that employers provide breastfeeding employees:
e A flexible schedule to pump, attend medical appointments, and have reasonable
accommodations
e A convenient private location to express milk that’s not a bathroom and a space to
safely store milk
e 2 years of protected reasonable accommodations

If you are an employer or employee in need of guidance on pregnancy and lactation
accommodations, reach out to the Washington State Office of the Attorney General for help
(web page available in 18 languages).

e Can’t find answers to your specific questions? Reach out to pregnancy@atg.wa.gov or
call (833) 389-2427 for guidance
e Pregnancy & Lactation Accommodations Complaint Form

Resources for working parents
The Women, Infants, and Children Nutrition Program (WIC)

WIC is a place where working families can get healthy food, lactation support and support
navigating returning to work and pumping. WIC is for pregnant people, new and
breastfeeding/chestfeeding parents, and children under 5. Almost half of all babies in our state
are on WIC.

Find out if you're eligible.

There are over 200 WIC clinics across Washington State. To find a WIC clinic near you:

e Call the Help Me Grow WA Hotline 1-800-322-2588
e Text"WIC" to 96859
e Visit ParentHelp123's ResourceFinder

WIC helps improve the health of families through:

e Nutrition education
e Breastfeeding support


https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=43.10.005
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/nursing-mothers
http://www.atg.wa.gov/pregnancy-and-breastfeeding-accommodations
mailto:pregnancy@atg.wa.gov
https://fortress.wa.gov/atg/formhandlerdev/ago/PregnancyAccommodationsComplaintForm.aspx
https://www.doh.wa.gov/YouandYourFamily/WIC/Eligibility
https://resources.parenthelp123.org/services/wic-nutrition-program-for-women-infants-children

e Healthy foods
e Health screenings and referrals

Ideas on where to pump and creative solutions for employers having trouble finding lactation space.

How much fime do employees need to pump?

Employees will need flexible accommodations for pumping because medical accommodations
aren’t a one size fits all situation. Consider the following factors for time: the average time it
takes to pump is between 15-20 minutes, assuming they aren’t experiencing maternal or infant
challenges which would increase the time for a medical reasonable accommodation. Time for
travel, setup and cleanup also needs to be factored in, per the law. This may make an entire
pump break 30-40 minutes, assuming the location for pumping is conveniently located.

A person who is nursing will need to express milk as frequently as their own baby eats, which
may be every 2-3 hours during the workday. Employers are not required to pay employees for
additional time outside the mandatory 10-minute paid breaks but employers are required to
give a flexible schedule to accommodate their medical needs.

Need extra time to pump or additional medical leave?

Find out if you qualify for Paid Family & Medical Leave (available in 16 languages).

Pumps and lactation support are covered by
insurance through the Affordable Care Act
Pumps:

Medicaid, WIC, and private insurance cover pumps for a variety of needs. Learn more here.

If you need support around expressing milk, reach out to a trusted health care provider,
lactation consultant, WIC, La Leche League, or local lactation coalition for help. There are many
people to support and help you in your journey! A properly fitting pump that fits your needs
can help you reach your infant feeding goals.

Lactation support:

Health insurance plans must provide breastfeeding support, counseling, and equipment for the
duration of breastfeeding. These services may be provided before and after birth. Learn more

at healthcare.gov.


https://www.womenshealth.gov/supporting-nursing-moms-work/break-time-and-private-space/location-breaks
http://www.paidleave.wa.gov/
https://www.hca.wa.gov/health-care-services-supports/apple-health-medicaid-coverage/first-steps-maternity-and-infant-care#:%7E:text=First%20Steps%20is%20a%20program%20that%20helps%20low-income,and%20is%20covered%20by%20Washington%20Apple%20Health%20%28Medicaid%29.
https://www.doh.wa.gov/YouandYourFamily/WIC
https://www.wahealthplanfinder.org/
https://www.healthcare.gov/coverage
https://uslca.org/resources/find-a-lactation-consultant-map/
https://uslca.org/resources/find-a-lactation-consultant-map/
https://wicbreastfeeding.fns.usda.gov/finding-breast-pump
https://www.llli.org/breastfeeding-info/pumping-milk/
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/Pubs/340-334-LocalBreastfeedingCoalitions.pdf
https://www.healthcare.gov/coverage/breast-feeding-benefits/

What does my insurance cover?

To figure out your coverage, call the number on the back of your insurance card and ask the
following questions:
e What breastfeeding-related benefits does my plan offer?
Do | need a prescription from my doctor for my pump?
Can | request or buy the pump before my baby is born?
What types of pumps are covered?
Can | get a specific brand of pump?
Do | need to buy or rent my breast pump from a certain supplier (i.e., from a specific
pharmacy, retailer, or medical supply company)?
e How will | purchase this pump? (i.e. out of pocket with reimbursement, ask what the
steps are for reimbursement)
e [srental of an electric pump covered?

Need help finding a lactation consultant or getting peer-to-peer support?
Find a credentialed lactation consultant in your area or visit our Lactation Support resource.

Your milk is food, not a biohazard

Many factors can affect how long your milk can be stored safely. Such factors include milk
volume, room temperature when milk is expressed, temperature fluctuations in the refrigerator
and freezer, and cleanliness of the environment. Learn more about how to safely express and
store your milk.

Human milk is not a tissue and cannot spread illness in communal refrigerators. In fact, human
milk is full of antiviral and antimicrobial elements that make it the perfect food for your baby.
Learn more from the US Department of Labor and the Occupational Safety & Health
Administration (OSHA) on the safety of expressed milk.

Additional resources for returning to work while pumping:

National Breastfeeding Helpline 1-800-994-9662
Business Case for Breastfeeding

Going Back to Work (WIC)

Encourage your employer to print door hangers

Washington State Department of

@ Health

DOH 340-402 June 2022

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127. Deaf or
hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email
civil.rights@doh.wa.gov.


https://uslca.org/resources/find-a-lactation-consultant-map/#!directory/map
http://doh.wa.gov/YouandYourFamily/Lactation/LactationSupport
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/standardinterpretations/1992-12-14
https://www.cdc.gov/breastfeeding/recommendations/handling_breastmilk.htm
https://www.cdc.gov/breastfeeding/recommendations/handling_breastmilk.htm
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7926697/#:%7E:text=More%20recent%20studies%20have%20confirmed,fatty%20acids%20in%20breast%20milk.&text=In%20particular%2C%20long%2Dchain%20polyunsaturated,both%20against%20bacteria%20and%20viruses.
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs/standardinterpretations/1992-12-14
https://www.womenshealth.gov/about-us/what-we-do/programs-and-activities/helpline
https://www.womenshealth.gov/breastfeeding/breastfeeding-home-work-and-public/breastfeeding-and-going-back-work/business-case
https://wicbreastfeeding.fns.usda.gov/going-back-to-work
https://doh.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2022-05/140-095-HEALDoorHangerEnglishHiRes.pdf
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