

STATE OF WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Prevention and Community Health Post Office Box 47830 Olympia, Washington 98504-7830 711 Washington Relay Service

May 1, 2024

Greetings Honorable Tribal Leaders, Partners, and Professionals -

SUBJECT: Invitation for Collaboration - Tribal Wellness and Resiliency Gathering

In accordance with chapter <u>43.376 RCW</u>, the <u>Washington State Centennial Accord of 1989</u>, and <u>DOH</u> <u>Consultation and Collaboration Procedure</u>, I am writing today to invite collaboration on the Washington State Suicide Prevention Plan at the Tribal Wellness and Resiliency Gathering on:

> May 28-30, 2024 Suquamish Clearwater Casino Resort Registration and Event Information RSVP by May 17, 2024

This event is in line with the strategic initiatives of the <u>Department of Health Suicide Prevention Program Unit</u> with hopes to foster and sustain both rural and urban based native communities. This gathering will focus on a strength-based approach to prevention and emphasize protective factors inherent in tribal cultural traditions and practices that address the risk factors that adversely impact tribal people.

For additional information and to provide written feedback, contact Tribal Suicide Prevention Program Specialist Gerry RainingBird at <u>gerry.rainingbird@doh.wa.gov</u> or 360-831-2511 or Office of Tribal Public Health and Relations Executive Director (OTPHR) Candice Wilson at <u>candice.wilson@doh.wa.gov</u> or 360-819-7626.

Sincerely,

vidule Repeats

Michele Roberts, MPH, MCHES Assistant Secretary Division of Prevention and Community Health

 Cc: Umair A. Shah, MD, MPH - Secretary of Health - Department of Health Candice Wilson Quatz'tenaut (Lummi) - Executive Director OTPHR - Department of Health Kristopher Holiday - Chief of Strategic Partnerships - Department of Health Elizabeth Perez - Chief of Public Affairs and Equity - Department of Health Kristin Peterson - Chief of Policy, Planning and Evaluation - Department of Health Jessica Todorovich - Chief of Staff - Department of Health Lacy Fehrenbach - Chief of Prevention, Safety and Health - Department of Health Allen Christensen - Office of Healthy and Safe Communities Director - Department of Health Lindsay Martin - Suicide Prevention Program Unit Supervisor - Department of Health Gerry RainingBird - Suicide Prevention Tribal Program Specialist - Department of Health