Practice Information

 

Healthcare Provider Resources and Recommendations

The Department of Health has developed a wealth of COVID-19 information on its website. Nurses may find the Healthcare Provider Resources and Recommendations web page particularly helpful. 

Washington State Nursing Jurisprudence Module

The Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission is excited to announce the new and improved Washington State Nursing Jurisprudence Module developed in partnership with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)!

Earn 2.0 hours of continuing education while learning about nursing laws and regulations. This is an online self-study course. The cost is $15 and registration with NCSBN is required prior to purchase. Visit the Nurse Practice Act - Washington course webpage to get started.

NCSBN Customer Support is available 24 hours a day to assist with access issues or to answer questions about the course.

Notice to graduates of nursing education programs:

The qualifications for licensure as a practical nurse, registered nurse, and advance practice registered nurse are determined by the Nursing Commission and set forth in the Revised Code of Washington and the Washington Administrative Code. RCW 18.79.160 Minimum qualifications to be licensed include successful completion of a Commission approved nursing education program or a program that is equivalent to Commission approved nursing education in Washington State at the time of graduation as determined by the commission. WAC 246-840-025, WAC 246-840-030, and WAC 246-840-090.

The Washington State Nursing Commission has determined that graduates of the following schools do not meet minimum requirements for licensure in the state of Washington:

Name Location Date of Decision

Siena College of Health Lauderhill, FL 1/14/22

Carleen Health Institute West Palm Beach, FL 1/14/22

& Plantation, FL

Carleen Health Institute II West Palm Beach, FL 1/14/22

& Plantation, FL

Carleen Health Institute of South Florida West Palm Beach, FL 1/14/22

& Plantation, FL

Palm Beach School of Nursing West Palm Beach, FL 1/14/22

The Washington State Nursing Commission has determined that these schools are neither Commission approved nursing education programs nor equivalent to Commission approved nursing education in Washington. As a result, graduates of these institutions do not meet minimum qualification for licensure in the state of Washington at this time.

Graduates from these programs who are applying for licensure in the state of Washington are encouraged to consider the Commission's findings. Application fees are non-refundable.

 

Scope of Practice Resources

Standards of Nursing

Advisory Opinions

Interpretive Statements

ARNP Information

Opioid Prescribing

Board of Pharmacy Information

Nursing Care In Community-Based and In-Home Care Settings; Nurse Delegation and Caregivers

School Nursing Information