For immediate release: October 15, 2019 (19-115)
Contact: Sharon Moysiuk, Strategic Communications Office 360-549-6471
Public inquiries: Health Systems Customer Service 360-236-4700
State disciplines health care providers
OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or withdrawn charges against health care providers in our state.
The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions, and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., dentists, nurses, counselors). Information about disciplinary action taken against medical doctors and physician assistants can be found on the Washington Medical Commission (WMC) website. Questions about WMC disciplinary actions can be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on “Look up a health care provider license” in the “How Do I?” section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov). The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and report their complaint.
In September 2019 the secretary of health conditionally granted a home care aide credential to Jamie Lee Steinert (HM60916694) and ordered her to participate in a substance abuse monitoring program. In 2010 Steinert was convicted of possession of a stolen motor vehicle, three counts of second-degree identity theft, and three counts of forgery. In 2013 Steinert was convicted of unlawful possession of a controlled substance, and second-degree possession of stolen property. In 2018 Steinert was convicted of driving under the influence.
In September 2019 the Dental Commission entered an agreement with dentist and dentist moderate sedation with parenteral agents permit holder Prashant Gagneja (DE00010029, CS10000402) that fines Gagneja $5,000 and requires Gagneja to reimburse the commission for $3,500 in costs. Gagneja must submit a revised dentist and anesthesia provider contract, pass a jurisprudence exam, and complete continuing education in record-keeping. Gagneja was co-owner and co-operator of a pediatric dental clinic that used anesthesia services from Northwest Mobile Anesthesia Group, but that had no written contract for provision of anesthesia services in the format set forth under state rules.
In September 2019 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse Heather Claudine Sumerlin (RN60024312) with unprofessional conduct. Sumerlin allegedly misappropriated more than $1,700 from her elderly landlord. Sumerlin allegedly didn’t respond to a Nursing Commission investigator’s inquiry.
In September 2019 the secretary of health withdrew a statement of charges against massage therapist Galen Dunn (MA60428938).
In September 2019 the Nursing Assistant Program charged registered nursing assistant Michael Patrick Dyer (NA60762920) with unprofessional conduct. In 2019 Dyer was convicted of first-degree child rape, and of first-degree child molestation.
In September 2019 the Medical Assistant Program charged medical assistant phlebotomist and registered medical assistant Jodi Hall (PC60351512, MR60493137) with unprofessional conduct. Hall allegedly used forged prescription pads to divert a controlled substance. Hall allegedly didn’t respond to a Department of Health investigator’s inquiry.
In September 2019 the Unlicensed Practice Program entered an agreement with Evans Kanyingi, also known as Ray Evans, doing business as Ekan Services, that requires Kanyingi to cease and desist from operating an in-home services agency without a license, and to pay a $1,000 fine. Kanyingi, who doesn’t possess an in-home services agency license, employed people to provide in-home services, and provided a rate sheet that used the phrase “home care.”
In September 2019 the Nursing Assistant Program charged certified nursing assistant Dianna Hale (NC60510270) with unprofessional conduct. Hale allegedly accepted at least $500 from a resident of an assisted living facility where she worked.
In September 2019 the secretary of health ended conditions on the massage therapist credential of Dallas Lynn Tibbetts (MA60827488).
In September 2019 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse Kristy Ann Linerud (RN00124887) with unprofessional conduct. In 2019 Linerud was convicted of failure to remain at the scene of an accident – fatality.
In September 2019 the Nursing Assistant Program charged registered nursing assistant Kelly Lynn Heitt (NA60910225) with unprofessional conduct. Charges say that while Heitt worked at a care center, Heitt shoved a client’s bed against a wall while the client was in the bed, and then shoved a bedside table toward the client, hitting the client in the head, causing bruises and resulting in a hospital examination. In 2019 Heitt was convicted of fourth-degree assault.
Out of State
Pennsylvania: In September 2019 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse Timothy P. Kelly (RN60867840) with unprofessional conduct. Charges say Kelly’s Pennsylvania nurse license was temporarily suspended in 2019 in connection with allegations and criminal charges related to patient abuse.
Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing.