State disciplines health care providers-R21-30

For immediate release: December 23, 2021   (21-257)

Contact:  Sharon Moysiuk, Communications   360-549-6471
Public inquiries: Health Systems Customer Service   360-236-4700

State disciplines health care providers            

OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or withdrawn charges against the following health care providers in our state.

The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions, and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., dentists, nurses, counselors). Information about disciplinary action taken against medical doctors and physician assistants can be found on the Washington Medical Commission (WMC) website. Questions about WMC disciplinary actions can be sent to media@wmc.wa.gov.

Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on “Look up a health care provider license” in the “How Do I?” section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov). The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and report their complaint.

Adams County

In November 2021 the secretary of health charged licensed practical nurse Samantha Lynn Rojas (LP60617413) with sexual misconduct for engaging in inappropriate sexual conversations with an incarcerated patient.

Clark County

In November 2021 the Medical Assistant Program charged medical assistant-phlebotomist Brandon Richard Cullen (PC60886045) with unprofessional conduct. Cullen allegedly failed to deliver a blood sample after collecting a fee from a patient.

Douglas County

In November 2021 the secretary of health granted the termination of oversight and monitoring conditions of medical assistant Tami Lynn Eggert (CM60408010).

Jefferson County

In October 2021 the Veterinary Board charged veterinary technician Jennifer Anne Brinton (VT00002197) with unprofessional conduct. Charges state that Brinton failed to comply with the terms and conditions of a previous order requiring continuing education.

King County

In October 2021 the Dental Commission entered an agreement with dentist and general anesthesiologist Wei Guo (DE60137855, GA60168914) where Guo’s licenses to practice as a dentist and general anesthesiologist were placed on probation for 18 months. Guo must also pay a fine of $35,000 and reimburse the commission the amount of $15,837.78 for investigative and hearing expenses and complete 21 hours of professional education and pass the Ethics and Boundaries Assessment Services examination.

In November 2021 the Medical Assistant Program charged medical assistant-phlebotomist Garland D. Jarmon (PC60349080) with unprofessional conduct. Jarmon pleaded guilty to the possession of and attempted viewing of depictions of a minor engaged in sexually explicit conduct in King County Superior Court.

In November 2021 the Unlicensed Practice Program issued a notice of intent to issue a cease-and-desist order to Tameka Louise Hammon for unlicensed practice of nursing. Hammon allegedly misrepresented herself as an advanced registered nurse practitioner on resumes, cover letters, and emails to prospective employers, despite never holding the credential.

In November 2021 the secretary of health issued a cease-and-desist order to Sarah Njoki Kaguara for unlicensed practice of nursing and imposed a civil fine of $25,000. Kaguara used the credentials of two stolen identities to misrepresent herself as a registered nurse to obtain employment. Kaguara was convicted of two counts of identity theft in Pierce County Superior Court.

In November 2021 the secretary of health issued a cease-and-desist order to Dongmei Peng for the unlicensed practice of massage therapy and imposed a fine of $1,000. Peng provided massage services while employed as massage therapist without a license.

In November 2021 the secretary of health granted reinstatement of the license and termination of the oversight and monitoring conditions of certified nursing assistant Olga Elizabeth Rutledge (NC10068770).

In November 2021 the secretary of health granted the termination of probation for registered nursing assistant Metta Eabisa (NA00177398).

In November 2021 the Pharmacy Commission withdrew charges against pharmacy technician Shirley De Leon (VA60560837).

In November 2021 the Nursing Commission granted the termination of the oversight and monitoring conditions of registered nurse Amira Toufic Chebli (RN60204383).

Klickitat County

In November 2021 the Nursing Commission granted the termination of the oversight and monitoring conditions of registered nurse Derek Alan Greenwood (RN60666998).

Pierce County

In October 2021 the Physical Therapy Board entered an agreement with physical therapist Paul F. Groschel (PT00007865). Groschel must agree to the terms and conditions and undergo substance abuse monitoring and counseling for three years.

In October 2021 the secretary of health granted reinstatement of the license and termination of the oversight and monitoring conditions of certified nursing assistant Lyndell F. James (NC10041285).

In November 2021 the secretary of health granted the termination of the oversight and monitoring conditions of substance use disorder professional Tena Kristal Bremmeyer (CP60346069, CO60153438).

In November 2021 the secretary of health granted the termination of the oversight and monitoring conditions of certified medical assistant and x-ray technician Shirley Tietz (CM60382684, XT60373932).

In November 2021 the secretary of health entered an agreement with Tiffani Viane Crossman (CO61200147) where Crossman was granted a license to practice as a substance use disorder professional trainee. Crossman must comply with the terms and conditions including supervision for two years and the submission of quarterly performance evaluations.

In November 2021 the Pharmacy Commission withdrew charges against pharmacy technician Mesfin Berhe (VA00039420).

In November 2021 the Pharmacy Commission withdrew charges against pharmacy technician Elizabeth A. McGuire (VA00012897).

In November 2021 the Nursing Commission granted the termination of the oversight and monitoring conditions for registered nurse Shauna Marie Jacobus (RN60546320).

In November 2021 the Nursing Commission granted the termination of the oversight and monitoring conditions for licensed practical nurse Stephanie Nicole Melton (LP60138532).

Skagit County

In November 2021 the Medical Assistant Program entered an agreement with certified medical assistant hemodialysis technician Amy Leigh Taylor (HT60417704) where Taylor’s license was granted reinstatement and placed on probation for 24 months.

Snohomish County

In October 2021 the Nursing Commission charged licensed practical nurse Andrea S. Cham (LP00054768) with unprofessional conduct and violating the standards of nursing practice. Cham allegedly failed to document care and an assessment or progress note for a hospice patient who later died. She also allegedly failed to document care for approximately 12 other patients during the same shift and was allegedly observed disoriented and incoherent at work.

In October 2021 the secretary of health withdrew charges against certified nursing assistant Susan Kay Maurer (NC60590328).

In October 2021 the Veterinary Board charged veterinarian Charles Dean Essex (VT00002582) with unprofessional conduct for allegedly failing to complete continuing education required under a previous agreement.

In November 2021 the Emergency Medical Services and Trauma System Programs charged emergency medical technician Tyson King Bushnell (ES01168097) with unprofessional conduct for allegedly failing to submit to an ordered mental evaluation.

Yakima County

In November 2021 the secretary of health granted the termination of the oversight and monitoring conditions of certified nursing assistant Elizabeth Hernandez Aldana (NC60299567).

Out of State

Oregon: In October 2021 the Nursing Commission entered an agreement with registered nurse Melanie Alexandria Abrigo (RN61171003) where Abrigo was granted a license to practice in the state of Washington. Abrigo must comply with the terms and conditions and complete 9.6 hours of specified professional training.

Oregon: In November 2021 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse Shannon C. Blood (AP60785996) with unprofessional conduct. The Oregon State Board of Nursing found that Blood misrepresented herself as an advanced practice psychiatric mental health nurse.

Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing.

The DOH website is your source for a healthy dose of information. Find us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. Sign up for the DOH blog, Public Health Connection

###

Printable Version (PDF)