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Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

INTRODUCTION

The Individual Vaccine Requirements Summary (IVRS) is a companion piece to the Vaccines Required
charts for child care/preschool and school entry. The purpose of the summary is to assist school and
child care staff and those working with student information systems to understand state immunization
requirements and the immunization schedule. Both the requirements and schedule are based on the
recommendations of the national Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Advisory Committee
on Immunization Practices (ACIP).

Requirements are listed in alphabetical order by vaccine. In each section, you will find detailed
information about the immunization schedule, the exceptions to the schedule and the catch-up
schedule. Exceptions may apply when the ACIP recommendations are not followed.

Find the ACIP schedules here: www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/child-adolescent.html
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY
Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

Vaccines Required for Child Care

Hepatitis B DTaP Hib Polio PCV MMR Varicella

(Diphtheria, Tetanus, [Hoemophilus [Pneumococcal [Measles, mumps [Chickenpox)
Pertussis) influanzoe type B) Conjugate) rubellz)
By 3 Months
2 doses 1 dose 1 dose 1 dose 1 dose
Mot rout Mot routinely
By 5 Months nely
2 doses 2 doses 2 doses 2 doses 2 doses given before 12 | given before 12
months of age months of age
By 7 Months 2 or 3 doses

2 doses 3 doses 2 doses 3 doses
(depending on vaccine)

By 16 Months 3 or 4 doses

2 doses 3 doses 2 doses 4 doses 1 dose 1 dose
[depending on vaccine)

By 19 Months

3 doses 4 doses 3 u.r 4 doses . 3 doses 4 doses 1 dose 1 dose

(depending on vaccine)

By 7 years or
preschoolf nely

3 doses 5 doses to children age 5 4 doses to children age 5 2 doses 2 doses
school entry at

years and older wears and older

> 4 years*®

*Children attending Preschool-12th grade must meet the immunization requirements for their prade in school.
Find the Preschool-12th grade requirement chart and in the Individual Yaccine Requirements Summary immunization requirements section of the web page: www. doh.wa. gov/5CC
See the Minimum Age and Interval Table on page 2 for reguired minimum age snd spacing information of vaccine doses.

Find information on other vaccines that are recommended, but not required, for child care/preschool attendance at www.immunize.org/cdcfschedules.

Tao request this document in another farmat, call 1-800-525-0127.
Dpeaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (washington Relay) or email civil rights@doh.wa_gov. DOH 348-053 Dec 2021

Children entering child care or must get the required doses listed in this chart to be in compliance with
immunization requirements. School-aged children (Preschool-12) in before and after-school programs
must meet the immunization requirements for their grade in school, see the school chart on the next
page. The requirements follow the national Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP)
Immunization Schedule.

To read the chart, find the row that is closest, but is not older than the child’s age. Follow the row across
to find the number of vaccine doses required by that age. For example, if a child is 6 % months old (not
yet 7 months old), look at the row “By 5 months”. A 6 %2 month old child needs a total of 2 doses of DTaP
vaccine. By the time the child reaches 7 months, they will need 3 total doses (look at the DTaP column
and row “By 7 months”).

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127.
Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov. DOH 348-284 April 2022



INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

Vaccines Required for School: Preschool -12th
August 1, 2022 to July 31, 2023

DTaP/Tdap |Hepatitis B Hib MMR PCV Polio Varicella
|Diphtheria, Tetanus, (Haemophilus [Measles, mumps (Pneumococcal (Chickenpox)
Partussis) influenzae type B rubella) Conjugate)
Preschool
LEd
Age 19 months to <4 years on 4 doses DTaP 3 doses 3 orf—ldoses ) 1 dose 4 doses** 3 doses 1 dose***
09/01/2022 |[depending en vaccine)
Preschool/Kindergarten 3 or 4 doses**
{including Transitional ’ g ) 4 doses**
Kindergarten) 5 doses DTaP** 3 doses [dzpen "'.E on vaccing) 2 doses {Not required at age 4 doses** 2 doses®**
Age =4* years on 09/01/2022 (Mot required at 3ge >3 =5 years)
years)

Kindergarten through 6th
Age >5 years on 08/01/2022 5 doses DTaP** 3 doses Mot Required 2 doses Mot Required 4 doses** 2 doses***
7th through 9th 5 doses DTaP**

Plus Tdap at age 3 doses Mot Required 2 doses Mot Required 4 doses** 2 doses***

>10 years

10th through 12th 5 doses DTaP**

Plus Tdap at age 3 doses Mot Required 2 doses Mot Required 4 doses** 2 doses®***

>7 years

*Consistent with ACIP CDC Immunization Schedule. **Vaccine doses may be acceptable with fewer than listed depending on when they were given. ***Health care provider verification
of history of chickenpox disease is also acceptable. See the Minimum &ge and Interval Table on page 2 for required minimum age and spacing information of vaccine doses.

Find infermation on other vaccines that are recommended, but not required, for child care/preschool attendance at: www.immunize.org/cdo/schadules.

Review the Individual vaccine Requiremants Summary for mare detailed information, located on our web page: www. doh. wa.gov/SCCl

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127.

Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washingten Relay) or email civil_rightsi@doh_wa.gov. DOH 348-051 Dec 2021

Students entering school must get the required doses listed in this chart to be in compliance with the
immunization requirements. School-aged children (Preschool-12) in before and after-school programs
must meet the immunization requirements for their grade in school. The requirements follow the
national Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) Immunization Schedule with
requirements specified by grade level.

To find the doses required, look at the row that includes the student’s grade and the column for the
required vaccine. For example, a student entering Kindergarten needs 2 doses of MMR vaccine. The
requirements and rules vary depending on the student’s grade.

Children in Preschool <4 years of age on 09/01 who turn 4 during the school year do not need to meet
the requirements for Preschool/Kindergarten age >4 years until the following school year.
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

DIPHTHERIA, TETANUS, PERTUSSIS (DTaP, DT, Td, Tdap)

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school through 12t grade must have
documentation of vaccination against diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis disease or proof of acquired
immunity (WAC 246-105-030 and WAC 246-105-040).

Routine schedule for DTaP vaccine: 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, 15-18 months, and 4-6 years of age

(before preschool/school entry).
Routine schedule for Tdap vaccine: 1 dose at 11-12 years of age.

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127.
Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov.
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Child Care DTaP School DTaP/Tdap
(Diphtheria, (Diphtheria,
By Age Tetanus, Pertussis) By Grade Tetanus,
Pertussis)
By 3 Months Preschool
1 dose Age 19 months to <4 years 4 doses DTaP
on 09/01/2022
By 5 Months
2 doses Preschool/Kindergarten
(Including Transitional
B 7 M th Kindergarten) 5 dOSGS DTaP
y onths 3 doses Age =4 years on 09/01/2022
By 16 Months Kindergarten through 6t
3 doses Age >5 years on 09/01/2022 | 5 doses DTaP
By 19 Months 5 doses DTaP
4 doses 7th through 9" Plus Tdap at
age >10 years
By 7 years or
5 doses DTaP
preschool/school entry 10th through 12t
at > 4 years 5 doses Plus Tdap at
- age >7 years

DOH 348-284 April 2022
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

DIPHTHERIA, TETANUS, PERTUSSIS (DTaP, DT, Td, Tdap), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

DTaP/DT/Tdap/Td (for children/students of all ages)

1. An antibody blood test showing immunity to diphtheria and tetanus is acceptable.

2. There is currently no acceptable proof of immunity for pertussis by blood antibody titer.

3. The 4-day grace period can be applied if DTaP/DT/Tdap/Td was given within the 4 days before
the recommended minimum interval or age.

4. Children/students with a history of documented pertussis disease must continue with a series
of pertussis-containing vaccines, including the Tdap booster required in 7t"-12t" grades.
Pertussis disease does not provide lifelong immunity.

5. Children/students with a medical contraindication to pertussis vaccine, e.g. severe allergic
reaction, may have a medical exemption on file. If a parent chooses not to vaccinate against
pertussis, then a personal/religious/religious membership exemption must be on file.

DTaP/DT (used for children/students through age 6)

6. DTaPis licensed for children through age 6 years.
7. The national schedule for DTaP vaccine: 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, 15-18 months, and 4-6
years of age (before preschool/school entry).
a. Minimum age for dose 1 is >6 weeks of age.
b. Minimum interval between doses 1, 2, and 3 is >4 weeks each.
c. Minimum age for dose 4 is 212 months of age.
d. Minimum interval between dose 3 and dose 4 is 26 months.
i. Exception: A minimum interval of >4 months can be accepted when reviewing
immunization records.
Minimum age for dose 5 is 24 years of age.
f.  Minimum interval between dose 4 and dose 5 is >6 months.
i. Exception: dose 5 is not required if dose 4 was given at age 24 years AND it has
a minimum interval from dose 3 of >6 months.
8. If DT was used instead of DTaP (see #4 above):
a. Ifdose 1 of DT was given at <12 months of age, 4 total doses complete the series.
b. If dose 1 of DT was given at >12 months of age, 3 doses complete the series. Dose 3 must
be a minimum of 6 months after dose 2.
c. Minimum age and minimum intervals for DT are the same as for DTaP.
9. Tdap vaccine given in error instead of DTaP:
a. If Tdap was given instead of DTaP for dose 1, dose 2, or dose 3, the dose is invalid and
should be repeated with DTaP.
b. If Tdap was given instead of DTaP dose 4 or dose 5 to a child aged <7 years, the Tdap
dose should be counted as valid, it does NOT need to be repeated with DTaP. However,
this dose cannot be counted as the dose of Tdap booster needed to meet the grade 7
through 12 requirement.

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127.
Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov. DOH 348-284 April 2022



INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

DIPHTHERIA, TETANUS, PERTUSSIS (DTaP, DT, Td, Tdap), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

Tdap/Td (used for children/students age 7 and older)
1. A Tdap booster dose is required for all students in grades 7th-12th.

a. Students in 7t"- 9t grades: minimum age is >10 years of age.
b. Studentsin 10" -12t" grades: minimum age is >7 years of age.
2. DTaP vaccine given in error instead of Tdap:
a. DTaP contains more vaccine antigen than Tdap therefore DTaP given in error to a
student >7 years of age instead of a Tdap may count as valid for the Tdap.
3. Students who got a Td instead of a Tdap must get a dose of Tdap.
Tdap can be given regardless of the interval since the last dose of DTaP, DT, Tdap or Td.
5. Catch-up immunization schedule for students >7 years of age not fully vaccinated with DTaP:
Student must get one Tdap vaccine followed by additional doses of Td or Tdap if needed.
a. If 4 or more doses of DTaP given <4 years of age, but none >4 years, Tdap must be
given >7 years of age.
b. A student who has not received any DTaP/DT vaccines before the age of 7 must get
one dose of Tdap followed by 2 doses of Td or Tdap.
i.  Minimum interval between dose 1 and dose 2 is >4 weeks.
ii.  Minimum interval between dose 2 and dose 3 is >6 months.
c. If DTaP/DT dose 1 was given <12 months of age, a minimum of 4 total doses of a
combination of DTaP, Tdap, or Td are needed. Tdap must be included.
i Minimum interval between dose 1, dose 2, and dose 3 is >4 weeks each.
ii.  Minimum interval between dose 3 and dose 4 is >6 months.
d. If DTaP/DT/Tdap/Td dose 1 was given >12 months of age, a minimum of 3 total doses
of a combination of DTaP, Tdap, or Td are needed. Tdap must be included.
i.  Minimum interval between dose 1 and 2 is >4 weeks each.
ii.  Minimum interval between dose 2 and dose 3 is >6 months.

E
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

HEPATITIS B

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school through 12t grade must have
documentation of vaccination against hepatitis B disease or proof of acquired immunity (WAC 246-105-
030 and WAC 246-105-040).

Routine schedule for hepatitis B vaccine: birth, 1-2 months, and 6-18 months of age.

Child Care | Hepatitis B School Hepatitis B
By Age By Grade
By 3 Months Preschool
2 doses Age 19 months to <4 years 3d
on 09/01/2022 0ses
By 5 Months
2 doses

Preschool/Kindergarten
(Including Transitional
Kindergarten)

By 7 Months

2 doses 3 doses
Age =4 years on 09/01/2022
By 16 Months
2 doses
Kindergarten through 6t
Age >5 years on 09/01/2022 3 doses
By 19 Months
3 doses
7t through 9t 3 doses
By 7 years or
preschool/school
3 doses
entry at > 4 years 10" through 12t 3 doses
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023
HEPATITIS B, continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

1. The national immunization schedule for hepatitis B vaccine is for a dose at birth, at 1-2
months, and dose 3 at 24 weeks of age.

a. Minimum interval between doses 1 and 2 is >4 weeks.

b. Minimum interval between doses 2 and 3 is >8 weeks.

c. Minimum interval between doses 1 and 3 is >16 weeks.

d. The minimum age for dose 3 is >24 weeks. If dose 3 of hepatitis B vaccine was given
before 24 weeks of age, this dose is NOT valid as the final dose in the series. A 4™ dose
is needed at >24 weeks of age.

2. Some children vaccinated with Pediarix (DTaP, IPV, HepB) or Vaxelis (DTaP, IPV, HepB, Hib)
combination vaccines may receive an extra hepatitis B dose at 4 months of age. This dose does
not complete the series, it is considered an extra dose and is not included in the minimum
intervals above (when 4 doses are administered, substitute “dose 4” for “dose 3” in these
calculations). A dose at age >24 weeks is still required.

3. Catch-up immunization schedule

a. Students through age 19 complete the 3-dose series with the minimum intervals above
with the ped/adol formulation of Engerix-B or Recombivax HB regardless of their height
or weight. People 20 years of age and older receive the adult dose.

b. Students age 11-15 may complete the series with 2 adult strength doses of Recombivax
HBe.

i. Each dose must be administered at age 11 through 15 years of age.
ii. Minimum interval between dose 1 and dose 2 is >4 months.
iii. Both doses must have documentation that they are the adult strength dose of
Recombivax HB®.
c. Students age 18 years or older
i. may receive a 2-dose series of HepB (Heplisav-B®) at least 4 weeks apart, or
ii. if both Hep A and HepB are needed they may receive the combined HepA and
HepB vaccine, Twinrix®, as a 3-dose series (0, 1, and 6 months) or 4-dose series
(3 doses at 0, 7, and 21-30 days, followed by a booster dose at 12 months).

4. The 4-day grace period can be applied if Hepatitis B was given within the 4 days before the
recommended minimum interval or age.

5. An antibody blood test showing immunity to hepatitis B is acceptable.
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

HAEMOPHILUS INFLUENZAE TYPE B (Hib)

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school must have documentation of vaccination

against Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) disease (WAC 246-105-030 and WAC 246-105-040).
Hib vaccine is not required for Kindergarten through 12™ grade school entry.

Routine schedule for Hib vaccine: 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, and 12-15 months of age.

Child Care

Hib
(Haemophilus

By Age influenzae type B)
By 3 Months
1 dose
By 5 Months
2 doses
By 7 Months 2 or 3 doses
(depending on
vaccine)
By 16 Months 3 or 4 doses

(depending on
vaccine)

By 19 Months

3 or 4 doses
(depending on
vaccine)

By 7 years or
preschool/school
entry at > 4 years

Not routinely given

to children age 5
years and older

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127.
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School Hib
(Haemophilus
By Grade influenzae type
B)
Preschool
3 or 4 doses

Age 19 months to <4 years
on 09/01/2022

(depending on
vaccine)

Preschool/Kindergarten
(Including Transitional
Kindergarten)

Age =4 years on 09/01/2022

3 or 4 doses

(depending on
vaccine)

(Not required at
age >5 years)

Kindergarten through 6t
Age >5 years on 09/01/2022

Not Required

7t through 9t"

Not Required

10" through 12t

Not Required

Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov.

DOH 348-284 April 2022



http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-105-030
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-105-040

INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023
HAEMOPHILUS INFLUENZAE TYPE B (Hib), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

1. Hib vaccines include: PRP-T (ActHib®, Hiberix®) and PRP-OMP (PedvaxHib®). Pentacel® is a
combination vaccine that contains DTaP, IPV, and Hib vaccines).
2. The national immunization schedule for Hib vaccines is shown below:

Vaccine 2 Months 4 Months 6 Months 12-15 Months
PRP-T (ActHib, Hiberix) dose 1 dose 2 dose 3 Booster
PRP-OMP (PedvaxHib) dose 1 dose 2 Booster

a. Minimum age for dose 1 is >6 weeks of age.
b. Minimum intervals between doses given <12 months of age is 24 weeks each.

3. Children who only receive PedvaxHib® vaccine do not need a dose at age 6 months.

4. Children who receive a PRP-T Hib vaccine at 2 and/or 4 months of age need a third dose of
either brand at 6 months of age.

5. A booster dose is recommended at 12—15 months of age regardless of which vaccine was used
for the primary series.

a. Minimum age is >12 months of age
b. Minimum interval is >8 weeks after the previous dose.

6. Exception: unvaccinated children 7 months of age and older may not require a full series of 3
or 4 doses. The number of doses a child needs to complete the series depends on the child’s
current age. See the Hib Doses Required Chart on the next page to determine the total
number of doses required.

7. The 4-day grace period can be applied if Hib vaccine was given within the 4 days before the
recommended minimum interval or age.

8. For information on the catch-up schedules see:
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/catchup.html

9. Hib vaccine is not recommended for children >5 years of age unless the child has a high-risk
medical condition. Children >5 years of age are not required to have doses of Hib vaccine.
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%’H@ﬂlﬂ’l INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023
HAEMOPHILUS INFLUENZAE TYPE B (Hib), continued

Hib Doses Required Chart for Children 12-14 Months of Age

The final booster dose should be given >12 months and >8 weeks after the previous dose.

Doses Dose 12 through Status
<12 months 14 months

2 or more 1 Complete IF final dose >8 weeks after previous dose

2 or more 0 Needs final dose >8 weeks after previous dose
1 0 Needs dose 2 >4 weeks after dose 1 and dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2
1 1 Needs final dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2
0 1 Needs final dose 2 >8 weeks after previous dose
0 2 Complete IF >8 weeks between doses
0 0 Needs dose 1 now and dose 2 >8 weeks after dose 1

Hib Doses Required Chart for Children >15 - 59 Months of Age

The final booster dose should be given >12 months and >8 weeks after the previous dose.

Doses Dose 12 through | Dose 15 through Status
<12 months 14 months 59 months
2 or more 1 0 Complete IF final dose >8 weeks after previous dose
1 or more 0 1 Complete
1 or more 1 1 Complete IF final dose >8 weeks after previous dose
1 or more 0 0 Needs final dose now
1 1 0 Needs final Dose >8 weeks after previous dose
0 1 0 Needs final Dose >8 weeks after previous dose
0 2 0 Complete IF >8 weeks between doses
0 1 1 Complete IF >8 weeks between doses
0 0 1 Complete
0 0 0 Needs one final dose now
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023
MEASLES, MUMPS, RUBELLA (MMR)

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school through 12t grade must have
documentation of vaccination against measles, mumps and rubella disease or proof of acquired
immunity (WAC 246-105-030 and WAC 246-105-040).

Routine schedule for MMR vaccine: 12-15 months and 4-6 years of age (before preschool/school entry).

Child Care MMR
(Measles, School MMR
By Age mumps (Measles,
rubella) By Grade mumps
rubella)
By 3 Months
Preschool
Age 19 months to <4 years 1 dose
By 5 Months Not routinely on 09/01/2022

given before 12
months of age

Preschool/Kindergarten

27 0/ Wi (Including Transitional
Kindergarten) 2 doses
Age =4 years on 09/01/2022
By 16 Months
1 dose
Kindergarten through 6t
Age >5 years on 09/01/2022 | 2 doses
By 19 Months
1 dose
2 doses
7t through 9t
By 7 years or
preschool/school
2 doses
entry at > 4 years 10" through 12t 2 doses
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Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

MEASLES, MUMPS, RUBELLA (MMR), continued

1.

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

The national immunization schedule for MMR is: 12-15 months and 4-6 years of age (before
preschool/school entry).

a. Minimum age for dose 1 is >12 months of age.

i If dose 1 was given <12 months of age, the dose is not valid, and the dose must
be repeated. The 4-day grace period may be applied.

b. Minimum age for dose 2 is >13 months of age.

c. Minimum interval between dose 1 and dose 2 must be 24 weeks.
If not given on the same day, the minimum interval between MMR and other injected or
intranasal live virus vaccines (such as Varicella or Flumist) must be >28 days.

a. Asecond live virus vaccine given <28 days after another live vaccine may not produce the

desired immune response and is therefore not valid and must be repeated.

A 4-day grace period can be applied between doses of the same live vaccine, such as MMR and
MMR. The 4-day grace period CANNOT be applied between doses of different live vaccines, such
as between MMR and varicella.
An antibody blood test showing immunity to measles, mumps, and rubella is acceptable.
A history of measles, mumps, or rubella disease without proof of immunity is not acceptable.
There are no single antigen vaccines for measles, mumps and rubella available in the U.S. Only
MMR and MMRYV (measles, mumps, rubella, and varicella) vaccine is available.
MMR or MMRYV can be used to complete the vaccination series.
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023
PNEUMOCOCCAL CONJUGATE (PCV)

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school must have documentation of vaccination
against pneumococcal disease (WAC 246-105-030 and WAC 246-105-040).
Pneumococcal vaccine is not required for Kindergarten through 12 grade school entry.

Routine schedule for Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV): 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, and 12-15
months of age

Child Care PCV School PCV
(Pneumococcal (Pneumococcal
By Age Conjugate) By Grade Conjugate)
By 3 Months Preschool
1 dose Age 19 months to <4 years 4 doses
on 09/01/2022
By 5 Months 5 d
0ses Preschool/Kindergarten
(Including Transitional 4 doses
By 7 Months Kindergarten) Not ired at
3 doses Age =4 years on 09/01/2022 (Not required a

age >5 years)

By 16 Months
4 doses Kindergarten through 6

Age >5 years on 09/01/2022 | Not Required

By 19 Months

4 doses

7t through 9t Not Required

By 7 years or
preschool/school
entry at > 4 years

Not routinely given
to children age 5 10th through 12th Not Required

years and older
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Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023
PNEUMOCOCCAL CONJUGATE (PCV), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

1. The national immunization schedule for Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV): 2 months,

4 months, 6 months, and 12-15 months of age.
a. Minimum age for dose 1 is >6 weeks of age.
b. Minimum interval between doses 1, 2, and 3 is 24 weeks each.
c. Minimum interval between dose 3 and dose 4 is 28 weeks.

2. Exception: Unvaccinated children 7 months of age and older may not require a full series
of 4 doses. The number of doses a child needs to complete the series depends on the
child’s current age and risk factor. See the PCV Doses Required Chart on the next page to
determine the total number of doses required.

3. The 4-day grace period can be applied if PCV was given within the 4 days before the
recommended minimum interval or age.

4. For information on the catch-up schedules see:
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/catchup.html

5. PCVis not recommended for children >5 years of age unless the child has a high-risk
medical condition. Children >5 years of age are not required to have doses of PCV vaccine.
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY
Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

PNEUMOCOCCAL CONJUGATE (PCV), continued

PCV Doses Required Chart for Children 12-23 Months of Age

The final booster dose should be given >12 months and >8 weeks after the previous dose.

Doses Doses >12 Status
<12 months months

0 0 Needs dose 1 now and dose 2 >8 weeks after dose 1
0 1 Needs final dose 2 >8 weeks after dose 1
0 2 Complete IF doses separated by >8 weeks
1 0 Needs dose 2 >4 weeks after dose 1 and dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2
1 1 Needs final dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2
1 2 Complete IF dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2

2 or more 0 Needs final dose >8 weeks after previous dose

2 or more 1 Complete IF final dose >8 weeks after previous dose

PCV Doses Required Chart for Children >24 - 59 Months of Age

The final booster dose should be given >12 months and >8 weeks after the previous dose.

Doses Dose 12 through Dose 24 through Status
<12 months 23 months 59 months
0 0 0 Needs one final dose now
0 1 0 Needs final dose 2 >8 weeks after dose 1
0 2 0 Complete IF >8 weeks between doses
0 1 1 Complete IF >8 weeks between doses
0 0 1 Complete
1 1 0 Needs final dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2
1 or more 1 1 Complete IF final dose >8 weeks after previous
dose
1 or more 0 0 Needs final dose now
1 or more 0 1 Complete
2 or more 1 0 Complete IF last dose >8 weeks after previous
dose
17
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

POLIO (IPV, OPV)

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school through 12t grade must have
documentation of vaccination against polio disease or proof of acquired immunity (WAC 246-105-030
and WAC 246-105-040).

Routine schedule for IPV vaccine: 2 months, 4 months, 6-18 months, and 4-6 years (before
preschool/school entry).

Child Care Polio School Polio
By Age By Grade
By 3 Months Preschool
1 dose Age 19 months to <4 years 34
on 09/01/2022 0ses
By 5 Months
2 doses

Preschool/Kindergarten
(Including Transitional

By 7 Months Kindergarten) 4 doses
2 doses Age =4 years on 09/01/2022

By 16 Months
2 doses Kindergarten through 6t

Age >5 years on 09/01/2022 | 4 doses

By 19 Months
3 doses

7t through 9t" 4 doses

By 7 years or
preschool/school

10 through 12t
entry at >4 years 4 doses ug 4 doses
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

POLIO (IPV, OPV), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

1. ACIP polio recommendations changed on August 7, 2009. This date is used in the polio
immunization requirement and by the WA Immunization Information System to calculate
doses in its forecasting. The rules differ by grade and date of 4% (or final) dose.

2. The national immunization schedule for polio is: 2 months, 4 months, 6-18 months, and 4-6
years (before preschool/school entry). If any doses are OPV see number 5 below.

a. Minimum age for dose 1 is >6 weeks of age.
b. Minimum interval between doses 1, 2, and 3 is >4 weeks each.
c. Dose 4 (or final dose)
i. Administered on or after 08/07/2009:
1. Minimum age is >4 years of age
2. Minimum interval from previous dose is >6 months.
ii. Administered before 08/07/2009:
1. Minimum age is >18 weeks of age
2. Minimum interval from previous dose is >4 weeks.
d. Exception: Dose 4 is not required if dose 3 was given on or after the 4th birthday AND
i. Administered on or after 08/07/2009: minimum interval from dose 2 is >6
months.
ii. Administered before 08/07/2009: minimum interval from dose 2 is >4 weeks.
3. 12th grade ONLY (if any doses are OPV see number 5 below):
a. Minimum age for dose 1 is >6 weeks of age.
b. Minimum interval between doses 1, 2, 3, and 4 must >4 weeks each.
c. Minimum age for dose 4 is >18 weeks of age.
i. Exception: Dose 4 is not required if dose 3 was given on or after the 4th
birthday AND >4 weeks after dose 2.
d. Acceptable: providers vaccinating students in a catch-up schedule may choose to
follow current ACIP recommendations as listed in 2.d.i. above.

4. The 4-day grace period can be applied if polio vaccine was given within the 4 days before the
recommended minimum interval or age.

5. Since 2000 the United States has only used IPV for polio vaccination. Students vaccinated in
another country may have had doses of OPV. OPV doses given on or after 4/1/16 are not valid
in the U.S schedule. Schools are NOT required to do a retrospective review of all students
currently enrolled. If schools find a currently enrolled student with an invalid OPV, follow-up
with the family to get additional IPV doses, if needed, to complete the series.

6. An antibody blood test showing immunity is acceptable only if there is documentation of
immunity to all three types of poliovirus.

7. Polio vaccine is not recommended for routine administration to persons >18 years of age.
Students >18 years of age are not required to get doses of polio vaccine but may choose to
complete the series. Persons at high risk are recommended to complete the polio series.

19

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127.
Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov. DOH 348-284 April 2022



INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY
Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

VARICELLA

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school through 12t grade must have
documentation of vaccination against varicella (chickenpox) disease or proof of acquired immunity (WAC
246-105-030 and WAC 246-105-040).

Routine schedule for varicella vaccine: 12-15 months and 4-6 years of age (before preschool/school

entry).
Child Care | Varicella School Varicella
(Chickenpox) (Chickenpox)
By Age By Grade
By 3 Months Preschool
Age 19 months to <4 years 1 dose
on 09/01/2022
By 5 Months Not routinely
given before 12 Preschool/Kindergarten
months of age (Including Transitional
Kindergarten) 2 doses
By 7 Months Age =4 years on 09/01/2022
By 16 Months Kindergarten through 6
1 dose Age >5 years on 09/01/2022 2 doses
By 19 Months
1 dose 7t through 9t" 2 doses
By 7 years or
preschool/school " "
entry at > 4 years 2 doses 10" through 12t 2 doses
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%’H@ﬂlﬂ’l INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023
VARICELLA, continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

1. The national immunization schedule for varicella is: 12-15 months and 4-6 years of age (before
preschool/school entry).
a. Minimum age for dose 1 is >12 months.
i. If dose 1 was given <12 months of age, the dose is not valid, and the dose must
be repeated. The 4-day grace period may be applied.
b. Minimum interval between dose 1 and dose 2:
i. Children age 12 months through 12 years: >3 months between dose 1 and 2.
1. A minimum interval of >3 months between dose 1 and dose 2 is
recommended when scheduling dose 2.
2. A minimum interval of >4 weeks can be accepted when reviewing
immunization records.
ii. Students 13 years and older: >4 weeks between Dose 1 and 2.

2. If not given on the same day, the minimum interval between Varicella and other live virus
vaccines, (such as MMR and Flumist) is >28 days.

a. Asecond live virus vaccine given <28 days after another live vaccine may not produce
the desired immune response and is therefore not valid and must be repeated.

3. A 4-day grace period can be applied between doses of the same live vaccine such as varicella
and varicella. The 4-day grace period CANNOT be applied between doses of different live
vaccines if not given on the same day, such as between MMR and varicella.

4. An antibody blood test that shows immunity to chickenpox is acceptable.

Varicella Disease Verification Details
The following are acceptable as provider verification of disease:
5. CIS printed from the WAIIS or MyIR indicating history of varicella (chickenpox) disease
6. Hardcopy CIS with history of varicella (chickenpox) disease checked and signed by a healthcare
provider
7. Aletter from a health care provider that verifies history of varicella (chickenpox) disease
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iQHealth INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2022-2023

LIST OF CHANGES TO THIS DOCUMENT FROM THE PREVIOUS
VERSION

Page(s) Content

All Grammar and readability changes made throughout the document.

Preschool grade moved to school chart and Kindergarten grade
All Vaccines | broken out by age on 09/01 to accommodate Transitional
Kindergarten

3,4 Updated Requirements Chart to the current school year.
57 Roll up of grade-level Tdap requirements
9 Added catch-up options for students age 18 and older
18, 19 Roll up of grade-level school requirements for Polio.

22

L ———————————————————————————————————————
To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127.
Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov. DOH 348-284 April 2022



