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Important Social Security Number Information:

If you have a Social Security Number, the law requires you to disclose it on your application
for a professional or occupational license. 42 U.S.C. § 666(a)(13); RCW 26.23.150. It will be
used under the state’s child support enforcement program to locate individuals for purposes
of establishing paternity and establishing, modifying, and enforcing support obligations. You
are not required to have or obtain a Social Security Number to apply for or obtain a license
from the Department of Health. If you do not have a Social Security Number, you are still
eligible to apply for and obtain a credential if you meet the requirements. Please see the
Declaration of No Social Security Number Form. Please call the Customer Service Center
at 360-236-4700 if you have questions.

In order to process your request:

Mail your application with initial

documentation and your check Send other documents not sent
or money order payable to: with initial application to:
Department of Health Dental Hygiene Credentialing
P.O. Box 1099 P.O. Box 47877

Olympia, WA 98507-1099 Olympia, WA 98504-7877

Contact us:
360-236-4700
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Application Instructions Checklist

You should complete this application to obtain an initial temporary dental hygiene
license if you have a license in another state or Canadian province with a similar scope
of practice to the dental hygiene scope of practice in Washington State. To qualify for
licensure you must meet the following requirements:

« Currently hold an active license in another state or Canadian province.
* Graduated from a CODA accredited dental hygiene program.
+ Successfully completed the Dental Hygiene National Board Examination.

» Successfully completed the Washington State Drug and Law Jurisprudence
Examination.

The initial temporary license is valid for 5 years from the date that credential was
issued. In order to renew, you must provide proof of successful completion of the
following items:

* An approved dental hygiene patient evaluation/prophylaxis examination.
* An approved local anesthesia examination.

» Demonstration of didactic and clinical competency in the administration of nitrous
oxide analgesia.

Note: It is recommended that you submit the renewal application, renewal fee and
appropriate expanded functions verification documentation at least 90 days before your
initial temporary license expiration date.

Important background check Information: Washington State law authorizes the
Department of Health to obtain fingerprint-based background checks for licensing
purposes. This check may be through the Washington State Patrol and the Federal
Bureau of Investigation (FBI). This may be required if you have lived in another state or
if you have a criminal record in Washington State. This would be at your own expense.

All information should be printed clearly in blue or black ink. It is your responsibility to
submit the required forms.

[ ] Application Fee. This fee is non-refundable. You can check the online fee page for
current fees.

[ ] Select if the following applies:
Spouse or Registered Domestic Partner of Military Personnel

[ ] 1. Demographic Information:
Social Security Number: You must list your social security number on your
application. You are not required to have or obtain a Social Security Number
to apply for or obtain a license from the Department of Health. Please see the
Declaration of No Social Security Number Form. Please call the Customer Service
Center at 360-236-4700 if you do not have one.
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National Provider Identifier Number (NPI): The National Provider Identifier (NPI)
is a standard unique identifier for health care professionals available from the
Federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The NPl is a 10 digit numeric
identifier. If you have a NPI number, provide this on your application.

Legal Name: List your full name: first, middle, and last.

Definition of legal name: “Legal name” is the name appearing on your official
certificate of birth or, if your name has changed since birth, on an official marriage
certificate or an order by a court. The court must have the legal authority to change
your name. We may ask you to prove your legal name. If you use any name other
than your legal name on this form, your application may be denied.

Birth date: Provide the month, day and year of birth.

Address: List the address we should use to send any information on your license.
Be sure to include the city, state, zip code, county, and country. This will be your
permanent address with the Department of Health until we have been notified of a
change. See WAC 246-12-310.

Phone, Fax and Cell Numbers: Enter your phone, fax and cell numbers, if you
have them.

Email: Enter your email address, if you have one.

Other Name(s): Indicate whether you are known or have been known under any
other names. If you have a name change, you must notify the Department of Health
in writing. You must include proof of this change. See WAC 246-12-300.

[ ] 2.Personal Data Questions:
All applicants must answer the same personal data questions. They are focused on
your fitness to practice the essential skills of this profession.

If you answer “yes” to any questions in this section, you must provide an
appropriate explanation. You must also provide the documentation listed in the note
after the question. If you do not provide this, your application is incomplete and it
will not be considered.

* Question 5 includes misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors and felonies. You do
not have to answer yes if you have been cited for traffic infractions. You can get
copies of court records through the county courthouse where the conviction,
plea, deferred sentence, or suspended sentence was entered.

« If you have been granted certificate(s) of restoration of opportunity, please
provide a certified copy of each certificate.

« Another jurisdiction means any other country, state, federal territory, or military
authority.

[] 3.Education:
List in date order, most recent to later, the professional education, including pre-
dental hygiene received for a degree in dental hygiene. All periods of time from
graduation date to present must be listed whether or not engaged in activities
related to the practice of dental hygiene. Continuing education courses do not need
to be listed. Attach additional pages if you need more space.

Transcripts: Graduation from an American Dental Association Commission on
Dental Accreditation (CODA) dental hygiene education program is the approved
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education for license. Have your school send official school transcripts directly to
the Dental Hygiene Program.

[ ] 4. Examination:
Check all the dental hygiene examinations you have taken. The following
examinations are the required examinations for initial temporary license.

Dental Hygiene National Board exam and the Washington State Drug and Law
exam administered by Dental Assisting National Board, Inc.

[ ] 5. Other License, Certification, or Registration:
List all states, including Washington, where credentials are or were held. Attach
additional completed pages if you need more space. You must also print the
Verification Form and provide it to each state or jurisdiction that you have listed,
requesting that they complete and submit the form directly to the Department of
Health.

[] 6.Applicant’s Attestation:
You must sign and date this for us to process the application.

For Spouses and Registered Domestic Partners of Military
Personnel Being Transferred or Stationed in Washington:

Under state law, if you are the spouse or state-registered domestic partner of a
servicemember of any branch of the U.S. Military, to include Guard or Reserve, and
are applying for a health care professional credential in this state, you may be eligible
to have the processing of your application expedited to receive your credential more
quickly.

Documents to submit with your application should include the following:

» A copy of your spouse’s or registered domestic partner’s military transfer orders
to Washington State.

* One of the following:
- A copy of your marriage certificate to show proof of marriage; or

- Acopy of a state’s declaration or registration showing you are in a state
registered domestic partnership with a member of the U.S. military.

DOH 645-146 July 2023 Page 3 of 3


https://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/Pubs/606017.pdf

(This page intentionally left blank.)



Vaf iiEiTh

License Requirements
The following will only be accepted when received by the department directly from the
source. These items should not be included with your application.

[] Verification of your Washington State Dental Hygiene Drug and Law Jurisprudence
Examination. The examination includes questions on legend (prescription) drugs
and dental hygiene and dental laws and rules for Washington State.

* A minimum score of 90 percent is required.
» Dental hygiene laws and rules are located in RCW 18.29 and WAC 246-815.
* Dental laws and rules are located in RCW 18.32 and WAC 246-817.

Dental Assisting National Board, Inc. gives the exam. An application to apply for
this exam is enclosed.

[ ] Official dental hygiene school transcripts showing degree and date degree was
conferred. The program must be currently accredited or received initial accreditation
by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA)
on or before June 30, 2007 or from the Commission on Dental Accreditation of
Canada (CDAC).

[ ] Verification of your passing the US Dental Hygiene National Board Examination. To
obtain verification of your exam scores contact:

Joint Commission on National Dental Hygiene Examinations
211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 660

Chicago, lllinois 60611-2637

1-800-232-1694

[ ] License certification form. A verification/certification from any state or Canadian
province you have been credentialed in must be sent directly to the Dental Hygiene
Program. An out of state credential verification form must be resubmitted if it has
been over six months since it was last received. Attach additional pages if you need
more space.

Note: The initial temporary license allows for the following scope of practice:

Oral inspection and measuring of periodontal pockets.
Patient education in oral hygiene.

Taking intra-oral and extra-oral radiographs.

Applying topical preventive or prophylactic agents.
Polishing and smoothing restorations.

Oral prophylaxis and removal of deposits and stains from the surface of the
teeth.

Recording health histories.

-0 Q00 TP

@

h. Taking and recording blood pressure and vital signs.
i. Performing subgingival and supragingival scaling.
j- Performing root planing.
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Initial temporary license holders are not allowed to perform the following procedures:
* Restorative dentistry.
* Administration of local anesthetic.
* Administration of nitrous oxide analgesia.

Upon successful completion of an approved dental hygiene expanded functions local
anesthesia course and examination, an applicant may request that the department add
a local anesthesia endorsement to their credential.

Upon successful completion of an approved dental hygiene expanded functions nitrous
oxide analgesia course, an applicant may request that the department add a nitrous
oxide analgesia endorsement to their credential.

Note: Administration of nitrous oxide analgesia is not included with the local anesthesia
endorsement.

Other Information

Thank you for applying for the initial temporary dental hygienist license in Washington
State.

The application is considered incomplete if requested information is left blank. Write N/A
or place a line through section instead of leaving blank.

* The initial temporary license will expire 5 years from the date of initial issue.
When renewed, the temporary license will expire on your birthday unless the
renewal is issued within 90 days of your next birthday. See WAC 246-12-020 (3).

* Acourtesy renewal notice will be mailed to your address on record. You must
keep your address current with us. Any renewal postmarked or presented to the
department after midnight on the expiration date is late.

* Information regarding the dental hygiene program is available on our website.

Note: You cannot practice dental hygiene until your license is issued.
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Revenue: 0251040000

Dental Hygiene Initial Temporary License Application

Please print clearly. It is the responsibility of the applicant to submit or request all required supporting documents
be submitted. Failure to do so could result in a delay in processing your application.

[ ] Initial Temporary License [ ] Anesthetic Endorsement [] Nitrous Oxide Analgesia Endorsement
Select if the following applies: [ ] Spouse or Registered Domestic Partner of Military Personnel

1. Demographic Information
Social Security Number (SSN) National Provider Identifier Number (NPI) ]

: . . Male [_]Female
(If you do not have a SSN, see instructions)|(Enter 10 digit number) [ Prefer Not to Answer
[]1X

Name First Middle Last

Birth date (mm/dd/yyyy)

Address

City State Zip Code County

Country

Phone (enter 10 digit #) Fax (enter 10 digit #) Cell (enter 10 digit #)

Email address

Mailing address if different from above address of record

City State Zip Code County

Country

Note: The mailing and email addresses you provide will be your addresses of record. It is your responsibility to
maintain current contact information on file with the department.

Have you ever been known under any other name(s)? [ ] Yes [ |No

If yes, list name(s):

Will documents be received in another name? [ ]Yes [ |No
If yes, list name(s):
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2. Personal Data Questions Yes No

1. Do you have a medical condition which in any way impairs or limits your ability to practice your
profession with reasonable skill and safety? If yes, please attach explanation................ccccccvviiiiiiiiinnnnn. (] [

“Medical Condition” includes physiological, mental or psychological conditions or

disorders, such as, but not limited to orthopedic, visual, speech, and hearing impairments,
cerebral palsy, epilepsy, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, cancer, heart disease, diabetes,
intellectual disabilities, emotional or mental iliness, specific learning disabilities, HIV disease,
tuberculosis, drug addiction, and alcoholism.

If you answered yes to question 1, explain:
1a. How your treatment has reduced or eliminated the limitations caused by your medical condition.

1b. How your field of practice, the setting or manner of practice has reduced or eliminated the
limitations caused by your medical condition.

Note: If you answered “yes” to question 1, the licensing authority will assess the nature,
severity, and the duration of the risks associated with the ongoing medical condition
and the ongoing treatment to determine whether your license should be restricted,
conditions imposed, or no license issued.

The licensing authority may require you to undergo one or more mental, physical or
psychological examination(s). This would be at your own expense. By submitting this
application, you give consent to such an examination(s). You also agree the
examination report(s) may be provided to the licensing authority. You waive all claims
based on confidentiality or privileged communication. If you do not submit to a
required examination(s) or provide the report(s) to the licensing authority, your
application may be denied.

2. Do you currently use chemical substance(s) in any way which impair or limit your ability to
practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety? If yes, please explain. ..............ccoceeeeeeennenn. ] [

“Currently” means within the past two years.
“Chemical substances” include alcohol, drugs, or medications, whether taken legally or illegally.

3. Have you ever been diagnosed with, or treated for, pedophilia, exhibitionism, voyeurism or
FEO  BUIISIM? ettt ettt ettt e et e e et e e et e e et e e et e e e eateeeeateeeeateeeanaeeenreeeaneeeanns ] [

4. Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of controlled substances?...........ccccoooviieiiiiiiiece e 1 U

“Currently” means within the past two years.

lllegal use of controlled substances is the use of controlled substances (e.g., heroin, cocaine)
not obtained legally or taken according to the directions of a licensed health care practitioner.

Note: If you answer “yes” to any of the remaining questions, provide an explanation and
certified copies of all judgments, decisions, orders, agreements and surrenders. The
department does criminal background checks on all applicants.

5. Have you ever been convicted, entered a plea of guilty, no contest, or a similar plea, or had
prosecution or a sentence deferred or suspended as an adult or juvenile in any state or jurisdiction? ... ] []

Note: If you answered “yes” to question 5, you must send certified copies of all court
documents related to your criminal history with your application. If you do not
provide the documents, your application is incomplete and will not be considered.

If you have been granted certificate(s) of restoration of opportunity, please
provide a certified copy of each certificate.

To protect the public, the department considers criminal history. A criminal history
may not automatically bar you from obtaining a credential. However, failure to report
criminal history may result in extra cost to you and the application may be delayed
or denied.
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2. Personal Data Questions (cont.)

Yes No

6. Have you ever been found in any civil, administrative or criminal proceeding to have:
a. Possessed, used, prescribed for use, or distributed controlled substances or legend

drugs in any way other than for legitimate or therapeutic purpoSes?...........oovvviiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie, ] [
b. Diverted controlled substances or 1gend drugS? ..........oii i ] ]
C. Violated any drUg JAW? .............ooiiiieee ettt ettt et e et e et e reeenee s ] ]
d. Prescribed controlled substances for yourself? ... ] [

7. Have you ever been found in any proceeding to have violated any state or federal law or rule
regulating the practice of a health care profession? If “yes”, please attach an explanation and

provide copies of all judgments, decisions, and agreementS? . ..o ] [
8. Have you ever had any license, certificate, registration or other privilege to practice a health care

profession denied, revoked, suspended, or restricted by a state, federal, or foreign authority? .............. ] [
9. Have you ever surrendered a credential like those listed in number 8, in connection with or to

avoid action by a state, federal, or foreign authority? ... ] ]
10. Have you ever been named in any civil suit or suffered any civil judgment for incompetence,

negligence, or malpractice in connection with the practice of a health care profession?............ccccc....... ] [
11. Have you ever been disqualified from working with vulnerable persons by the Department

of Social and Health SErvices (DSHS)? ........uo it nee e ] [

3. Education

List in date order, most recent to later, your educational preparation. Attach additional pages if you need more

space.
Attendance Dates
Schools Attended Start End
Full Name, City and State Degree Earned (mm/yyyy) (mm/yyyy)
DOH 645-138 July 2023 Page 3 of 5




4. Examination

The examinations listed below are the approved examinations for licensure. Check all that you have taken.
[] Dental Hygiene National Board examination.
Date of exam:

(mm/ddlyyyy)
[] Washington State Drug and Law exam (administered by Dental Assisting National Board, Inc.).

Date of exam:

(mm/dd/yyyy)
[ ] WREB Patient Evaluation/Prophylaxis if passed after May 8,1992.

Date of exam:

(mm/dd/yyyy)
[ ] CRDTS Patient Evaluation/Prophylaxis if passed after November 1, 2001.

Date of exam:

(mm/ddlyyyy)
[ ] CDCA (formerly NERB) Patient Evaluation/Prophylaxis if passed between January 1, 2001 and August 21,

2009, or if passed after March 16, 2018.
Date of exam:

(mm/ddryyyy)
[[] WREB Anesthesia examination if passed after May 8,1992.

Date of exam:

(mm/ddryyyy)
[[] WREB Restorative examination if passed after May 8,1992.

Date of exam:

(mm/dd/yyyy)
[ ] CRDTS Anesthesia examination if passed after October 13, 2017.

Date of exam:

(mm/dd/yyyy)
[ ] CRDTS Restorative examination if passed after March 7, 2016.

Date of exam:

(mm/dd/yyyy)

5. Other License, Certification or Registration

List all states, including Washington and Canadian provinces, where credentials are or were held. Attach additional
completed pages if you need more space.

e Permanent .
State Profession Certificate or CU"f';)erf:e'V in
Year issued Number Temporary
[ INo[ ] Yes
[ JNo[]Yes
[ INo[ ]Yes
[] No[]Yes
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6. Applicant’s Attestation

l, , declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of

(Print applicant name clearly)
the state of Washington the following is true and correct:

* |l am the person described and identified in this application.

* | have read RCW 18.130.170 and RCW 18.130.180 of the Uniform Disciplinary Act.

* | have answered all questions truthfully and completely.

» The documentation provided in support of my application is accurate to the best of my knowledge.

* | have read all laws and rules related to my profession.

| understand the Department of Health may require more information before deciding on my application.
The department may independently check conviction records with state or federal databases.

| authorize the release of any files or records the department requires to process this application. This
includes information from all hospitals, educational or other organizations, my references, and past and
present employers and business and professional associates. It also includes information from federal,
state, local, or foreign government agencies.

| understand | must inform the department of any past, current or future criminal charges or

convictions. | will also inform the department of any physical or mental conditions that jeopardize my ability
to provide quality health care. If requested, | will authorize my health providers to release to the
department information on my health, including mental health and any substance abuse treatment.

Dated at
(mm/dd/yyyy) (City, state)

By:

(Signature of applicant)
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' ., Washington State Department of

Dental Hygiene Expanded Functions
Education Information

Applicants interested in taking approved expanded function courses in preparation for
Washington State Dental Hygiene License, may contact the schools listed below for courses and
availability.

Eastern Washington University - Cheney, WA
(NO CLASSES FOR 2022)

Lake Washington Institute of Technology - Kirkland, WA
Contact the Dental Hygiene Department:
Beth Davis at (425) 739-8386 or Monta Frost, Director at (425) 739-8404

Anesthetic and Nitrous Oxide

Oregon Health & Science University - Portland, OR
Contact Debbie Reaume, Continuing Education Program (503) 494-8857

Nitrous Oxide

Phoenix College - Phoenix, AZ
Contact Nan Reif, Director, Center for Health Professions (602) 285-7331

Anesthetic and Nitrous Oxide

Pierce College at Fort Steilacoom - Lakewood, WA
(NO CLASSES FOR 2022)
ContactPhone(253)-964-6248

; hetie—Ni i " .

Portland Community College Institute for Health Professionals - Portland, OR
Contact Stacy Bone (971) 722-6629

Contact email—stacy.bone@pcc.edu

www.pcc.edu/climb/health/

Restorative
DOH 645-117 June 2022
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Dental Hygiene Credentialing
P.O. Box 47877
Olympia, WA 98504-7877

360-236-4700 . - -g- -
Dental Hygiene Education Verification
Note: this form must be submitted directly from the Dental Hygiene program.

Applicant Information:

Name First Middle Last Date of Birth
Address
City State Zip Code

To be completed by the dental hygiene program:

The student listed above has graduated or successfully demonstrated the following at

on
Name of program (mm/ddlyyyy)

which is a dental hygiene program accredited or approved by the following:

[ ] Expanded functions education program approved by the Secretary of the Department of Health.
[ ] The American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation for dental hygiene.

[ ] The Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada (CDAC) for dental hygiene.

Please check the answers applicable to this student. Please note clinical competency means on live patients.

Yes No

[] [] a. Didactic and clinical competency in the administration of injections of local anesthetic, which includes
infiltration: ASA, MSA, Nasopalatine, greater palatine. Block: Long buccal, mental, inferior alveolar, and
PSA;

[ ] [] b. Didactic and clinical competency in the administration of nitrous oxide analgesia;

[ ] [] c. Didactic and clinical competency in the placement of restorations into cavities prepared by a dentist;
and

[] [] d. Didactic and clinical competency in the carving, contouring, and adjusting contacts and occlusions of
restorations.

Program Director Name (Please print)

Signature of Program Director

Date

DOH 645-160 June 2022
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DANB

Dental Assisting
National Board

2023 WSJ Exam

Application Packet

Includes the application for the:
e Washington State Dental Hygiene Drug
and Law (WSJ) Exam

DANB Contact, Forms and Policies

Dental Assisting National Board

R 444 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 900
Chicago, IL 60611-3985

www.danb.org
AN
Phone: 1-800-367-3262 -+ Email: danbmail@danb.org

When applying for a DANB-issued state exam, you are responsible for reading,
understanding, and complying with the policies and procedures in the State Candidate

Handbook.

Find all of DANB’s policies and forms at www.danb.org/exams/forms-and-policies.

DANB accepts 2023 exam applications through Dec. 31, 2023.



http://www.danb.org/
https://danbsfprodassets.azureedge.net/assets/docs/default-source/candidate-handbooks/state-candidate-handbook.pdf?sfvrsn=1dd4a6cd_2
https://danbsfprodassets.azureedge.net/assets/docs/default-source/candidate-handbooks/state-candidate-handbook.pdf?sfvrsn=1dd4a6cd_2
http://www.danb.org/exams/forms-and-policies
http://www.danb.org/exams/forms-and-policies

Washington State Dental Hygiene Drug and Law Exam

Washington State Dental Hygiene Drug and Law Exam Information

This application packet provides information concerning the Washington State Dental Hygiene Drug and
Law (WSJ) exam required for Dental Hygienist licensure in the state of Washington.

The WSJ Exam is administered by the Dental Assisting National Board, Inc. (DANB) under an agreement
with the Washington State Department of Health (WSDOH). This exam consists of 20 items covering the
Washington State Dental Hygiene Practice Act, Dental Regulations for the State of Washington and
legend (Prescription) drugs.

Exams are administered in a computerized format and can be taken at any of the national test centers
contracted by DANB, or from your home as an online proctored exam. For important information
regarding taking a test center exam vs. an online proctored exam, please see the State Candidate
Handbook, also available at https://www.danb.org/exams/forms-and-policies. Candidates are given 45
minutes to complete the 20-item exam. Pertinent sections of the act, regulations, and prescription drug
references appear on the computer screen adjacent to each test question.

The following links to Washington state websites are included as reference points for candidates who
wish to prepare for the Washington State Dental Hygiene Drug and Law exam:

e Dental Hygiene Law in the state of Washington: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.29

¢ Administrative Procedures and Requirements for credentialed health care providers in the state of
Washington: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-12

e Dental Hygiene Rules in the state of Washington:
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-815

e Dental Rules in the state of Washington: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-817

o Washington State Department of Health: http://www.doh.wa.gov/

Washington State Dental Hygiene Drug and Law Exam (5/26/23)


https://danbsfprodassets.azureedge.net/assets/docs/default-source/candidate-handbooks/state-candidate-handbook.pdf?sfvrsn=1dd4a6cd_2
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https://www.danb.org/exams/forms-and-policies

Washington State Dental Hygiene Drug and Law Exam

Testing with DANB

Timeline

Overview of exam timeline once DANB receives your application and payment.

Testing Official Exam
Window Preliminary Results

App[ica‘tion Once approved, you SE I ES S Posted to Célndiqate’s
Processin will have 60 days to o DAN.B Dashboard
9 ; within 3 weeks of

schedule and take immediately after
eks /jour exam 53 exam date
Up to four week ¥ testing

DANB ID Policy

When taking an exam, you must present one form of identification (ID) at your exam appointment.

Your ID must be:
e  Currently valid, non-expired
e  Government-issued
e Photo-bearing
e Signature-bearing
¢ Inroman (not italic) characters
e The exact name as listed in your online DANB account

The printed name on the ID must match the name as it appears in DANB’s database. Differences due to marital
status changes without supplemental documentation are not allowed. The middle name is not required and does not
need to be spelled out, but, if used, the first letter of the middle name must match the spelled-out name.

If the name listed on your account does not exactly match your ID, a Name Change Request must be processed
through your DANB Dashboard with acceptable documentation. Contact DANB if any assistance is needed.

Acceptable forms of identification include:
e U.S. driver’s license
e Valid passport
e Military ID card
e U.S.ID card/State ID
e A U.S. government-issued permanent resident card (commonly known as the green card, formerly known as
the alien registration card)
e Any other U.S. government-issued ID card bearing the candidate’s photograph and signature
e Student ID, if a minor (for online proctored exams only)

Minors who are under the age of 18 are permitted to present a valid student ID as a form of identification for online
proctored exams only. In addition, for exams administered through online proctoring, the candidate’s guardian must

also present a valid ID and provide verbal consent during the check-in process.

You will not be allowed to take the exam if the name on the ID does not match the registered name exactly, and you
would need to reapply. See the Missed Exam Appointment section for details.
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Nondiscrimination Policy

DANB does not discriminate in application, exam or certification activities on the basis of age, sex, gender identity,
marital status, race, color, religion, national origin, sexual orientation or disability.

Reasonable Accommodations for Candidates with Documented Disabilities

Please see the Reasonable Accommodations form for complete information on accommodations.

Scheduling an Exam Appointment

Once your application is approved, you will receive a notification from DANB by email that provides a link to schedule
your exam at a test center or at home through online remote proctoring. You will have 60 days from the date your
application is approved to schedule and take your exam.

You should schedule the exam appointment as soon as you receive an email from DANB, as appointments may be
limited. Instructions are provided by email and within your online DANB account to schedule the exam appointment.
Specific test center locations, dates or times cannot be guaranteed; changes to in-person test center locations and/or
hours may occur without notice.

Canceling or Rescheduling an Exam Appointment

All exams can be canceled or rescheduled online through Pearson VUE. Exams scheduled at a test center can be
canceled or rescheduled up to 24 hours before the appointment time. Online proctored exams can be cancelled or
rescheduled up until the time of the exam. To cancel or reschedule your exam, please follow the steps below:

1. Log in to your DANB account to access your DANB Dashboard.

2. Select the exam you would like to reschedule under the heading “Applications in Process.”

3. Click the “Schedule Exam” button.

4. Select your upcoming exam appointment within your Pearson Dashboard.

5. Follow the prompts to cancel or reschedule your exam.

6. Confirm your new appointment or cancellation details in the automated email sent from Pearson. If you
did not receive an email from Pearson, your exam appointment has not been canceled or rescheduled.

Requesting a New Testing Window

If you cannot schedule or reschedule an exam appointment before the end of your original 60-day testing window,
you may request a new 60-day testing window one time. The request must be submitted within 60 days after the end
of your original testing window. If you do not take the exam within the new testing window, you must submit a new
exam application with any required documentation and full fees. Any testing window received at a reduced fee is not
eligible for a refund. For additional information, please see the required Request a New Testing Window form.

Canceling a Testing Window and Requesting a Partial Refund

If you do not wish to take the DANB exam for which you applied and would like to request a partial refund, you must
submit a Request to Cancel a Testing Window form. For additional information, please see the required form.

Missed Exam Appointment

Any exam that is missed for any reason other than a documented emergency may be rescheduled at a reduced fee
ONE TIME by following the below steps:

1. Access the exam application on your DANB Dashboard by clicking the name of the missed exam, AND

2. Submit a request and payment for the new 60-day testing window within 60 days of the Missed Exam
date. The new testing window will start immediately upon successful submission of the request.
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Exams are considered missed if you were not able to take your scheduled exam for any reason. This includes (but is
not limited to): arriving late, providing an unacceptable ID, confusion over appointment details, and any technical
issues for online testing.

If you do not submit your request within 60 days, you must reapply for the exam with the full fee.

For online proctored Exams: You must complete the check-in process no later than 15 minutes after the start of
your scheduled exam appointment or your appointment will be declared missed. During the exam check-in process, if
there are any technical issues, including an unstable internet connection, or you cannot meet the setup procedures, it
may delay the check-in process and/or cause you to miss your scheduled exam. Exams can only be held for 15
minutes past the exam start time, so it is your responsibility to ensure that all necessary check-in steps have been
successfully completed prior to that time to begin exam delivery. If you experience internet problems during your
exam, such as an unstable internet connection, the exam may not be successfully delivered. If this happens, your
exam will be recorded as missed and no refund will be provided.

Missed Exam Appointment Due to Emergency

At discretion, DANB may issue candidates a new 60-day testing window with no additional cost for qualifying
emergencies. To submit a request for a new testing window, following an emergency, you must:

1. Access the exam application on your DANB Dashboard by clicking the name of the missed exam, AND
2. Submit a request with a description of your emergency with dated supporting documentation within 60 days
of the missed exam appointment.

Requests will be reviewed within 3-5 business days. Approved requests will receive a new 60-day testing window at no
additional fee. If an emergency is denied, please see Missed Exam Appointment section above.

Minor Testing Policy

DANB exam candidates who are under 18 years old will need to obtain consent from their parent or legal guardian to
take an online proctored DANB exam. The Parent/Guardian Consent Form can be downloaded from DANB’s website.
The DANB exam candidate’s application will not be considered complete unless the Parent/Guardian Consent Form

is completed and submitted to DANB. A separate consent form must be submitted with each DANB exam application.

Fair Testing Policy

DANB does not discriminate on the basis of age, sex, gender identity, marital status, race, color, religion, national
origin, sexual orientation or disability.

DANB seeks to ensure a fair and equitable testing experience for all individuals while ensuring the security and
reliability of the process. Improper behavior is not acceptable before, during or after an exam appointment, and each
candidate’s behavior is monitored during testing. Consequences of improper behavior may include invalidation of
exam results and/or revocation of ability to take future exams. For examples of improper behavior, see DANB'’s
Disciplinary Policy & Procedures, available at www.danb.org.
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Application Statements

Please read the following Application Statements carefully. The Application Statements apply to all DANB-administered national and
state-specific exams, certificate and certification renewal applications. The candidate’s signature on the application indicates
understanding and agreement to be legally bound by these statements.

1.

| hereby apply to the Dental Assisting National Board, Inc. (DANB) for examination, a certificate and/or certification, in accordance with and subject
to the procedures and policies of DANB and the regulations and requirements of any state agency on behalf of which DANB administers an exam
or certificate program. Under penalty of perjury, | declare that the information provided on my application is true. | have read and agree to the
requirements and conditions set forth in the DANB application packet, and the Candidate Handbook or State Candidate Handbook if applicable,
covering eligibility for and the administration of exams, certificates, the certification process, and DANB policies, including but not limited to DANB's
Code of Professional Conduct and DANB's Disciplinary Policy & Procedures. | agree to disqualification from the exam, to denial of an exam result,
certificate or certification, and to forfeiture and return to DANB of any exam result, certificate granted me by DANB, in the event that any of the
answers or statements made by me in this application are false, or in the event that | violate any DANB rules or policies. | agree to comply with
any investigation in which | am named, and | authorize DANB to make whatever inquiries and investigations it deems necessary to verify my
eligibility, credentials or professional standing.

| hereby release DANB, its directors, officers, examiners and agents from any and all liability arising out of or in connection with any action or
omission by any of them in connection with this application, the certification process, any exam administered by DANB, any scoring relating
thereto, the failure to issue me an exam result, certificate, or any demand for forfeiture or return of such exam result, certificate, and | agree to
indemnify DANB and said persons and hold them harmless from any lawsuit, complaint, claim, loss, damage, cost or expense, including attorneys'
fees, arising out of or in connection with said credentialing activities which include all DANB-administered exams and certificates. | UNDERSTAND
THAT THE DECISION AS TO WHETHER | HAVE MET REQUIREMENTS FOR ADMISSION TO A DANB-ADMINISTERED EXAM OR RECEIPT
OF A DANB-ADMINISTERED EXAM RESULT, CERTIFICATE OR CERTIFICATION RESTS SOLELY AND EXCLUSIVELY WITH DANB AND
THAT THE DECISION OF DANB IS FINAL. Notwithstanding the above, should | file suit against DANB, | agree that any such action shall be
governed by and construed under the laws of the State of lllinois without regard to conflicts of law. | further agree that any such action shall be
brought in the Circuit Court of Cook County in the State of lllinois, or the United States District Court for the Northern District of lllinois; | consent
to the jurisdiction of such state and federal courts; and | agree that the venue of such courts is proper. | further agree that should | not prevail in
any such action, DANB shall be entitled to all costs, including reasonable attorneys' fees, incurred in connection with the litigation.

| understand that except as provided below, this application and any information or material received or generated by DANB in connection with
this application or the exam process will be kept confidential and will not be released unless | have authorized such release or the release is
required by law. | understand that DANB will verify receipt of any DANB exam application and the date received, on request. | further understand
and agree that DANB may also provide verification to anyone by phone, by mail or on DANB's website regarding whether | hold any DANB
certifications, any DANB certificates of knowledge-based competence and any state-specific certificates administered by DANB on behalf of a
state regulatory body. Phone and mail verification will be provided to anyone upon request and will consist of oral or written confirmation of whether
| hold any DANB-administered credentials and the effective dates for each credential. Online verification through DANB's website may consist of
online display of my name, the DANB-administered credentials | hold and dates earned, current DANB certification status, and my city and state
of residence. My full address will not be posted online by DANB. | further understand and agree that DANB may, from time to time, provide my
name, address, phone number to third parties (including but not limited to official DANB affiliates, potential employers; dental conference sponsors;
federal, national or state organizations; or legislative committees or task forces proposing or informing stakeholders of legislation). | further
understand that this consent will remain in effect unless and until | submit a written request to have this information omitted from release. |
understand that if | do not want DANB to display my city and state of residence as part of the online verification process, then | must submit a
written request for omission of this information to the following address: DANB Communications Department, 444 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 900,
Chicago, IL 60611. | understand that my name, credentials held [issued by DANB as described above] and current DANB certification status will
be displayed for everyone; opting out of display of information is only possible for an individual's city and state.

| understand that by providing my email address on the application form, or by providing it through my online DANB account, | am consenting to
receive email messages from DANB and its official affiliates related to their products and services or news affecting the oral healthcare profession.
| understand that DANB agrees not to provide my email address to any other third party, excluding federal, national or state regulatory bodies,
without my consent, and that | can request removal from DANB's email distribution list by following the directions contained in the Privacy Policy
section of DANB's Terms and Conditions of Use of DANB.org, located at www.danb.org.

| authorize DANB to release my exam results and credential status to state regulatory agencies. Individuals cannot opt out of DANB release of
exam results or credential status to state regulatory agencies. | also authorize DANB to use information from my application and exam(s) for
statistical analysis, providing that any personal identification is deleted.

| understand that | can be disqualified from taking or continuing to sit for an exam, from receiving exam results or certificate and from obtaining
certification if DANB determines through proctor observation, statistical analysis or any other means that | was engaged in collaborative, disruptive
or other unacceptable behavior before, during the administration of, or following the exam.

| understand that the content of all DANB exams is proprietary and strictly confidential information. | hereby agree that | will not disclose, either
directly or indirectly, any question or any part of any question from the exam to any person or entity. | understand that the unauthorized receipt,
retention, possession, copying or disclosure of any DANB exam materials, including but not limited to the content of any exam question, before,
during or after the exam may subject me to legal action. Such legal action may result in monetary damages and/ or disciplinary action including
rescinding exam results and denying or revoking certification. | agree to comply with any investigation regarding my behavior, acts or omissions,
related to DANB exams, certificates and/or certifications.

| understand that for each application submitted, DANB will process the appropriate payment. If | fail to show up for an exam for which | have
applied, and there is no documented DANB-accepted emergency, and | failed to comply with DANB cancellation policies, | am still obligated to
pay the full exam fee. | further understand that taking the exam and then revoking payment constitutes the wrongful use of DANB products and
services and | may be subjected to legal action. | am obligated to pay for the exam whether | pass or fail. | agree not to dispute the exam fee.
Exam results will be rescinded if the exam fee is not paid in full.
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2023 WSJ Exam Application

This application will be accepted through Dec. 31, 2023.

1. Candidate must sign, date and submit all required documentation and fees to DANB.
Incomplete applications will be denied and a refund, minus the $75 nonrefundable application fee, will be issued.

2. Mail or email completed application and supporting documentation to DANB. Full payment is required at the time of application.

Section A: Signature and Date (Please sign and date with a pen.)

| hereby affirm that my answers to all questions are true and correct, | have met all eligibility requirements, and | will comply with all DANB policies and procedures. | further affirm that | have read and
understood the Application Statements contained in this packet, and I intend to be legally bound by them. | understand that the application fee is not refundable under any circumstances. | hereby
apply in accordance with the rules and regulations governing the exam; and | herewith enclose the fee. | hereby agree that prior or subsequent to examination, the WSDOH or DANB may investigate
my eligibility and may refuse to issue the exam results and such refusal may not and shall not be questioned by me in any court of law or equity or other tribunal, nor shall | have any claim in the event
of such refusal to a return of the fee accompanying the application.

Signature Date

Section B: Candidate Information (Please type or print with a pen.)

LastFourSSN[‘:‘:‘j pateofBith | | || | || | |

Are you 18 years of age or older?* Yes No
*If you are under the age of 18, you are required to submit the Parent/Guardian Consent Form in case you choose to take this exam through online
remote proctoring. The form can be found on the DANB website.

Name (must match current ID exactly):

Last | | First| | Middle Name/initial | |
Prior Name (if applicable) ‘ ‘ Email (required) ‘ ‘
Home Address ‘ ‘ City | ‘ State | | ‘Zip‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ |

Phone Numbers (at least one is required):

Office | | Home| | Cell| |

Section C: Work Experience Information

I work in a: [] general dental office [] specialty dental practice [] other (please specify)

Section D: Payment (Please type or print with a pen.)

[] Check/Money Order payable to DANB (must include candidate’s name and be in U.S. dollars) WSJ

[ Credit Card Authorization (VISA, MasterCard, Discover & American Express accepted): Amount $150.00 3935

creacaavamver | | [ [ [ [ [ [ DT[] ew[ [ [ ] eoweon [ [ ]/] ] ]

Cardholder's Name ‘ ‘

Cardholder's Billing Address | | ciy|

State |_|—_| Zip [‘ ‘ ‘ Daytime Phone Number |

Cardholder’s Signature | ‘

By signing, the cardholder acknowledges intent to register for the aforementioned DANB exam in the amount of the total shown hereon and agrees to perform the obligations set forth in the
cardholder’s agreement with the issuer. Furthermore, the cardholder understands that the signature obtained at the exam administration shall be used to indicate receipt of purchase. A candidate
who fails to show up for the exam for which they registered and has not canceled the exam as described in this packet is still required to pay for the exam. (See the Application Statements for further
requirements.)

DANB - 444 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 900 « Chicago, IL 60611 Email application to: financefax@danb.org
Questions? 800-367-3262 or danbmail@danb.org Do not submit twice or you will be charged twice.
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Application Checklist
Have you:

[0 Read the instructions and information in this application packet?

[0 Read and agreed to be bound by Washington and DANB rules,
regulations, policies and procedures as noted in this application packet?
(See Application Statements, p. 12)

Filled out the exam application in its entirety?

Signed and dated the exam application?

Enclosed the application and exam fee or provided credit card information?
Enclosed the Reasonable Accommodations Request forms, if needed?
Note: These forms can be found at www.danb.org.

Made a copy of your entire application packet for your records?
Addressed your envelope OR prepared your information to be emailed?

oo oOoooao

Mail to:

Dental Assisting National Board, Inc. (DANB)
444 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 900

Chicago, IL 60611

Email credit card payments only to:
financefax@danb.org

If you have not:

» completed the application in full,

* signed, dated and enclosed your application, and

« provided payment (check, money order, cashier’s check) or payment
information (credit card)

your application will be considered incomplete and will not be processed.

Incomplete applications will be denied and a refund, minus the $75
nonrefundable application fee, will be issued.
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' ., Washington State Department of

RCW/WAC and Online Web Site Links

RCW/WAC Links

Uniform Disciplinary Act. RCW 18.130

Administrative Procedure Act. RCW 34.05
Administrative procedures and requirements, WAC 246-12
Dental Hygienist Laws. RCW 18.29

Dental Hygienist Rules, WAC 246-815

Dentistry Laws, RCW 18.32

Online
Dental Hygiene Examining Committee Web page

RCW/WAC and Online Web Site Links June 2022


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=34.05
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-12
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.29
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-815
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.32
https://doh.wa.gov/licenses-permits-and-certificates/professions-new-renew-or-update/dental-hygienist/licensing-information

	Date: 
	Last Four SSN: 
	Date of Birth: 
	undefined: 
	undefined_2: 
	If you are under the age of 18 you are required to submit the ParentGuardian Consent Form in case you choose to take this exam through online: Off
	Last: 
	First: 
	Middle NameInitial: 
	Prior Name if applicable: 
	Email required: 
	Home Address: 
	City: 
	State: 
	Zip: 
	Office: 
	Home: 
	Cell: 
	general dental office: Off
	specialty dental practice: Off
	other please specify: Off
	undefined_3: 
	CheckMoney Order payable to DANB must include candidates name and be in US dollars: Off
	Credit Card Authorization VISA MasterCard Discover  American Express accepted: Off
	Credit Card Number: 
	undefined_4: 
	undefined_5: 
	undefined_6: 
	CVV: 
	Expiration: 
	undefined_7: 
	Cardholders Name: 
	Cardholders Billing Address: 
	State_2: 
	Zip_2: 
	Daytime Phone Number: 
	Read the instructions and information in this application packet: Off
	Read and agreed to be bound by Washington and DANB rules: Off
	Filled out the exam application in its entirety: Off
	Signed and dated the exam application: Off
	Enclosed the application and exam fee or provided credit card information: Off
	Enclosed the Reasonable Accommodations Request forms if needed: Off
	Made a copy of your entire application packet for your records: Off
	Addressed your envelope OR prepared your information to be emailed: Off


