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To address the difficulties related to the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic that impact 
licensed massage therapists with regard to meeting continuing education (CE) requirements in 
Washington State, and in accordance with WAC 246-12-210 the Washington State Board of Massage 
(Board) will allow a licensed massage therapist (LMT) to substitute any or all “in person and directly 
supervised” hours required in WAC 246-830-475(2)(a) with equivalent number of hours in any 
activities listed in WAC 246-830-475(3)(a)-(g).  
 
WAC 246-830-475 requires LMTs to complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years. 
Subsection (2)(a) requires that eight hours be in person and directly supervised. However, the COVID-19 
pandemic has impacted the ability of LMTs to meet these CE requirements and has particularly impacted 
the availability of in person and directly supervised massage skills training CE. 
 
RCW 18.108.025(1)(e) gives the Board the authority to establish and administer requirements for CE.  
Chapter 246-12 WAC regulates healthcare practitioners credentialed under the Uniform Disciplinary Act; 
an LMT is a health care practitioner subject to the Act. WAC 246-12-210 states: “A practitioner may be 
excused from or granted an extension of continuing education requirements due to illness or other 
extenuating circumstances. The profession’s regulatory entity determines when the requirements may be 
waived or may grant an extension.” The Board is the regulatory entity with authority to make 
determinations about continuing education requirements for LMTs. 
 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.108.010
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.108.025
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-12-210
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-830-475
https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-05%20Coronavirus%20%28final%29.pdf
https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-14%20COVID-19%20-%20Prohibitions%20on%20Gatherings%20%28tmp%29.pdf
https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-24%20COVID-19%20non-urgent%20medical%20procedures%20%28tmp%29.pdf
https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-25%20Coronovirus%20Stay%20Safe-Stay%20Healthy%20%28tmp%29%20%28002%29.pdf
mailto:megan.maxey@doh.wa.gov
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-830-475
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.108.025


BOM 20-01.4  Page 2 of 2 

To address the difficulties related to the COVID-19 pandemic and obtaining in person and directly 
supervised training to meet CE requirements, and in accordance with WAC 246-12-210, the board makes 
the following allowances:  
 
To renew their massage license, a massage therapist must complete twenty-four hours of continuing 
education every two years. 

1. A minimum of four hours must be in professional ethics, client or patient communication, 
professional roles and boundaries, or Washington state massage laws and rules. 

2. Maintain certification in American Heart Association CPR or equivalent. A maximum of four hours is 
allowed per reporting period. 

3. The eight hours of in person and directly supervised continuing education involving the 
participation of the direct application of massage therapy required in WAC 246-830-475(2)(a) 
may be waived and instead the remaining 16-19 hours, rather than 12, may be met by 
completing any combination of the subjects listed in subsection (3) of WAC 246-830-475.  

 
This policy does not require an LMT to obtain in person and directly supervised massage skills 
training as part of their continuing education if this education is available.  
 
In addition, there may be situations where an LMT is still unable to meet these temporary 
requirements due to illness or other extenuating circumstances. The Board will continue to exercise its 
authority in WAC 246-12-210 to review extenuating circumstances that may prevent an LMT from 
meeting his or her CE requirements. The Board may waive requirements or grant extensions as a 
result of illness or other extenuating circumstances.  
 
An LMT whose license expiration date does not fall within the effective dates of the policy will not be 
found non-compliant with their CE if they obtain their CE hours in accordance with the allowances of this 
policy while it is in effect. 

 
This policy will be in effect through June 30, 2022, or until the declared state of emergency issued 
under Proclamation 20-05 is rescinded, whichever is later. The policy will be re-evaluated at the 
March 11, 2022 board meeting to determine if an extension of the effective dates is necessary. 
 

 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-830-475
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