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To address the difficulties related to the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic that impact 
licensed veterinarians and licensed veterinary technicians with regard to meeting continuing education 
(CE) requirements in Washington State, and in accordance with WAC 246-12-210, the Veterinary Board 
of Governors (board) makes the following allowances: 

1. For the duration of the COVID-19 declared state of emergency issued under Proclamation 20-05, 
and for 90 days following the end of the emergency, unrestricted use of teaching or 
preprogrammed materials will be accepted in order for licensed veterinarians to meet the CE 
requirements in WAC 246-933-445. 
  

2.  For the duration of the COVID-19 declared state of emergency issued under Proclamation 20-
05, and for 90 days following the end of the emergency, unrestricted use of teaching or 
preprogrammed materials will be accepted in order for licensed veterinary technicians to meet 
the CE requirements in WAC 246-935-295.  

Chapter 246-12 WAC regulates healthcare practitioners credentialed under the Uniform Disciplinary 
Act (UDA); veterinarians are health care practitioners subject to the UDA. WAC 246-12-210 states: “A 
practitioner may be excused from or granted an extension of continuing education requirements due to 
illness or other extenuating circumstances. The profession’s regulatory entity determines when the 
requirements may be waived or may grant an extension.” The board is the regulatory entity with 
authority to make determinations about continuing education requirements for veterinarians.  

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.92
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.70.280
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-12-210
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-12-210
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-933-420
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-933-445
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-935-280
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-935-295
https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-05%20Coronavirus%20%28final%29.pdf
https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-32%20-%20COVID-19%20DOH%20Healthcare%20Worker%20Licensing%20%28tmp%29.pdf
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-12-210
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-933-445
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-935-295
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-12
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-12-210
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WAC 246-933-420 requires licensed veterinarians to complete and document 30 hours of continuing 
education every two years. WAC 246-935-280 requires 20 CE hours every two years for licensed 
veterinary technicians.  

To address the continued difficulties related to the COVID-19 pandemic that impacts licensed 
veterinarians and licensed veterinary technicians with regard to meeting in-person CE requirements in 
Washington State, and in accordance with WAC 246-12-210, the board is extending this policy for the 
duration of the COVID-19 declared state of emergency issued under Proclamation 20-05, and for 90 
days following the end of the emergency. 

 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-933-420
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-935-280
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-12-210
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