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Executive Summary 
RCW 18.130.310 requires the Department of Health (department) to submit a biennial report to 
the legislature on its health professions disciplinary proceedings during the biennium that 
include data on complaints, investigations, adjudications, and manner of disposition; 
background check activities; attorney and investigator case distribution; and optional health 
profession board and commission supplemental reports. 
 
This biennial report reflects the department’s recent improvement efforts to streamline the 
report and modernize how we provide disciplinary data to the legislature and the public. We 
plan to begin to provide expanded data in a more meaningful web-based format in 2022.  
 
Complaints, investigations, and adjudications 

During the biennium, there were a total of 35,128 complaints.1 The department determined 
8,349, or 24 percent, of these complaints met the investigation threshold. The investigations 
resulted in disciplinary action on 5 percent of the total complaints. 
 
Background check activities  

The department: 
• Conducted background checks on 139,689 applicants 
• Received WATCH reports (Washington State Patrol records of criminal convictions in 

Washington) on 2,858 applicants 
• Denied a license or granted a license with conditions on 158 applicants based on a 

background check 
 

Of the 2,858 applicants for which we received WATCH reports, only 1,471 (51%) disclosed the 
criminal history on their applications. As this data shows, background checks are key to 
identifying applicants unable to practice safely based on criminal or disciplinary history. 
 
Summary of attorney and investigator case distribution 

The number of cases for each investigator and staff attorney varies greatly due to several 
factors, including the nature and complexity of the complaint and complexity of the 
professions’ regulations. Some cases require significant investigative and legal work. Because of 
this, numbers ranged from 1 to 645 cases per attorney and 1 to 318 investigations per 
investigator during the biennium. 

 
1 This number includes those carried over from the last biennium. 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.130.310
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Background 
Report 

The Uniform Disciplinary Act (UDA) provides a legal and policy framework for the regulation 
and oversight of health care providers in Washington, including disciplinary activities. RCW 
18.130.310 requires the Department of Health (department) to submit a biennial report to the 
legislature on its proceedings during the biennium, including: 

• The number of complaints made, investigated, and adjudicated and manner of 
disposition 

• Data on the department's background check activities conducted under RCW 
18.130.064 and the effectiveness of those activities in identifying potential license 
holders who may not be qualified to practice safely 

• A summary of the distribution of the number of cases assigned to each attorney and 
investigator for each profession, keeping the identities of the attorneys and 
investigators anonymous. May include recommendations for improving the disciplinary 
process, including proposed legislation 

• May include health professions board and commission supplemental reports that cover 
disciplinary activities, rulemaking and policy activities, and receipts and expenditures 
for the individual disciplining authority 

 
This biennial report will look much different than previous reports, reflecting the department’s 
recent improvement effort to streamline the report and modernize how we provide disciplinary 
data to the legislature and the public. This report has been streamlined to focus on the core 
legislative requirements. We will make additional data that used to be included in this report 
available in an interactive web-based format in 2022.  
 
Disciplining authority 

The Department of Health, Washington Medical Commission, Nursing Care Quality Assurance 
Commission, and Chiropractic Commission regulate about 519,000 health care providers in 85 
different health professions.2,3 The secretary of health is the disciplining authority for 47 health 
professions, and boards and commissions are the disciplinary authority for the remaining 37 

 
2 This count considers dietitians/nutritionists and orthotists/prosthetists as single professions and does not include 
medical marijuana consultants who are regulated by the department but not under the UDA. Medical marijuana 
consultants are included in the data tables for informational purposes.  
3 The Washington Medical Commission, Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission, and Chiropractic Quality Assurance 
Commission all have greater authority over their credentialing, investigative, and disciplinary functions, while the 
department continues to provide some administrative support. 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.130.310
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.130.310
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.130.064
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.130.064
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professions. One board, the Board of Massage, has split authority with the department over its 
professions.4 

The UDA grants authority to the secretary of health, boards, and commissions to implement 
the law, including the development of rules to set professional standards for the profession. It 
also grants the department, boards, and commissions the authority to enforce laws that 
assure the public of the professional competence and conduct of the health care providers we 
regulate and ensure they can practice with reasonable skill and safety.5 See Appendix A for 
definitions of regulatory terms used in this report.  
 

Complaints, Investigations, Adjudication, and Disposition 

Complaints 

Most disciplinary activity starts with a complaint from the public, practitioners, or facilities. The 
department, boards, and commissions may also open complaints based on media accounts or 
information from law enforcement.  

Figure 1 - Total complaints – 2019-21 Biennium 

Carried Over 
from FY19 

 New Complaints 
Filed 

 Total 
Complaints 

6,626  28,502  35,128 

 

Investigations 

When the department, boards, or commissions receive a complaint regarding a healthcare 
provider, they review it to decide if the incident or event violates the law and if they have the 
legal authority to act. If these two conditions are not met, the file is closed below the threshold. 
If they determine the allegation might be a violation, and there is legal authority to act, an 
investigation will be initiated. 

Complaints can also include those for unlicensed practice. These are complaints that an 
unlicensed person is providing health care that requires a license to practice. The secretary is 
responsible for investigating these cases. 

 

 

 
4 The secretary of health has authority over licensing and discipline, while the board of massage approves massage 
schools and programs, oversees licensure examinations, establishes continuing education requirements, and determines 
substantially equivalent states. 
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Figure 2 – Investigations Completed – 2019-21 Biennium 

Licensed Investigations 
Completed 

Unlicensed Investigations  
Completed 

8,062 287 
 

The department, boards, and commissions manage each case throughout the disciplinary 
process, working with investigators, staff attorneys, and the Office of the Attorney General to 
identify violations and evaluate evidence. If the evidence does not support the complaint, it is 
closed. If violations are found, the case is presented to a panel of members from the 
department, board, or commission for approval to act. A disposition can be formal or informal, 
with informal dispositions taken in cases that involve minimal risk of patient harm. 

Dispositions 

Informal action begins with a statement of allegations (SOA), which sets forth the factual 
allegations against the healthcare professional and the potential violations of the UDA. An SOA 
is resolved through a stipulation to informal disposition (STID). An SOA and STID may be offered 
prior to serving a formal statement of charges if the case involves minimal risk of potential or 
actual patient harm and no pattern of violations. 

If the license holder agrees to the STID, they do not admit unprofessional conduct but do agree 
to corrective action. Additional training is an example of corrective action.  

Formal action begins with a statement of charges. The respondent must answer the charges in 
writing within 20 days or the board, commission, or department enters a default order.  

Adjudications 

A statement of charges is resolved through the adjudicative process, which can result in one of 
the following: 

• Agreed order:  A document agreed upon by the license holder (and their attorney if 
represented) and representatives from the department, which includes any sanctions or 
conditions regarding practice. The agreed order becomes final if the disciplining 
authority approves it. This is called a Stipulated Findings of Facts, Conclusion of Law and 
Agreed Order. 

• Final order:  A document issued as a result of a formal hearing (the formal title is 
Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Final Order). 

• Default order:  A final order issued when the disciplining authority has notified a license 
holder and the license holder failed to answer or participate in the adjudicative process.  
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In addition, the department issues a cease and desist order for unlicensed practice of a health 
profession. This order requires the person to stop the unlicensed activity and may include a 
fine. Continued unlicensed practice may result in court enforcement of the cease and desist 
order or criminal prosecution.  
 
Figure 3 – Summary of Case Disposition – 2019-21 Biennium  

The department, boards, and commissions took disciplinary action on 5 percent (1,827) of the 
total 35,128 complaints on all professions.5 Here is the breakdown of disciplinary actions by the 
manner of disposition. 

 
 

The following tables include detailed data by profession.  

• Table 1 - Numbers of complaints and investigations by profession 
• Table 2 - Disciplinary actions for secretary professions 
• Table 3 - Disciplinary actions for board and commission professions 
• Table 4 - Manner of disposition by profession

  

 
5 Chart includes notices of decision, issued when the disciplining authority denies an application for licensure or 
grants the license with conditions based on disciplinary actions or criminal conviction activity identified. These are 
discussed in detail under Background Checks (page 14). 

675
37%

315
17%

443
24%

73
4%

32
2%

289
16%

Manner of Disposition

Informal Agreed Order Default Order

Final Order Cease and Desist Notice of Decision
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Table 1: Licensee Counts, Complaints, and Investigations by Profession - 2019-21 Biennium 

Profession  Licensee 
Counts* 

Total 
Complaints** 

Licensed  
Investigations 

Completed 

Unlicensed Practice 
Investigations 

Completed 

Total  
Investigations
 Completed 

Acupuncture & Eastern Medicine Practitioner 1,560 68 12 1 13 
Advanced Emergency Medical Technician 350 4 1 0 1 
Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner 11,311 896 274 5 279 
Animal Massage Practitioner 112 7 1 3 4 
Athletic Trainer 818 9 2 3 5 
Audiologist 497 27 2 0 2 
Cardiovascular Invasive Specialist 345 2 0 0 0 
Certified Behavior Technician  3,491 68 18 0 18 
Chiropractic X-Ray Technician  198 5 3 0 3 
Chiropractor  2,598 979 351 1 352 
Counselor, Agency Affiliated  9,279 730 237 0 237 
Counselor, Certified  391 61 17 3 20 
Counselor, Certified Advisor  2 0 0 0 0 
Dental Anesthesia Assistant  240 6 5 0 5 
Dental Assistant  16,522 221 83 8 91 
Dental Hygienist  6,666 73 16 0 16 
Dentist  6,870 1819 738 4 742 
Denturist  144 60 26 3 29 
Dietitian/Nutritionist  2,457 10 5 0 5 
Dispensing Optician  982 34 1 5 6 
Dispensing Optician Apprentice  1,001 17 3 1 4 
Emergency Medical Responder  348 1 0 0 0 
Emergency Medical Technician  14,075 140 38 1 39 
Expanded Function Dental Auxiliary  359 6 3 0 3 
Genetic Counselor  400 2 1 0 1 
Hearing aid Specialist  332 27 3 2 5 
Home Care Aide  26,653 2430 214 13 227 
Humane Society  33 1 1 0 1 
Hypnotherapist  697 27 10 0 10 
Licensed Applied Behavior Analyst  988 43 20 2 22 
Licensed Applied Behavior Analyst Asst 154 2 1 0 1 
Licensed Practical Nurse  11,189 1381 306 2 308 
Marriage and Family Therapist  2,033 138 46 2 48 
Marriage and Family Therapist Associate  612 52 14 0 14 
Massage Therapist  12,438 839 209 70 279 
Medical Assistant  40,486 708 154 13 167 
Medical Marijuana Consultant 583 10 2 0 2 
Mental Health Counselor  8,501 583 237 5 242 
Mental Health Counselor Associate  2,305 246 72 1 73 
Midwife  199 44 13 2 15 
Naturopathic Physician  1,571 191 68 3 71 
Nursing Assistant  73,392 9469 726 9 735 
Nursing Home Administrator  403 298 69 0 69 
Nursing Pool Operator  307 9 1 1 2 
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Profession  Licensee 
Counts* 

Total 
Complaints** 

Licensed  
Investigations 

Completed 

Unlicensed Practice 
Investigations 

Completed 

Total  
Investigations
 Completed 

Nursing Technician  690 6 3 0 3 
Occupational Therapist  4,022 71 16 1 17 
Occupational Therapy Assistant  1,194 48 10 0 10 
Ocularist  9 0 0 0 0 
Optometrist  1,678 161 30 2 32 
Orthotist/ Prosthetist  355 21 3 0 3 
Osteopathic Physician  3,130 528 172 2 174 
Osteopathic Physician Assistant  126 25 7 0 7 
Paramedic  3,095 55 22 0 22 
Pharmacies and Other Pharmaceutical Firms  5,108 669 220 17 237 
Pharmacist  11,046 602 242 0 242 
Pharmacist Intern  1,588 48 26 0 26 
Pharmacy Assistant  8,049 193 48 1 49 
Pharmacy Technician  8,631 242 151 1 152 
Physical Therapist  7,562 238 46 1 47 
Physical Therapist Assistant  2,483 58 14 1 15 
Physician  31,226 3449 939 28 967 
Physician Assistant  4,654 377 91 0 91 
Podiatric Physician  380 119 54 0 54 
Psychologist  3,995 269 100 2 102 
Radiological Technologist  6,967 58 26 0 26 
Radiologist Assistant  8 0 0 0 0 
Recreational Therapist  162 2 0 0 0 
Reflexologist  245 1 0 0 0 
Registered Nurse  115,007 4237 1174 20 1194 
Respiratory Care Practitioner  3,186 52 18 0 18 
Retired Volunteer Medical Worker  9 0 0 0 0 
Sex Offender Treatment Provider  97 22 5 1 6 
Sex Offender Treatment Provider Affiliate  23 7 4 0 4 
Social Worker Advanced  155 19 1 2 3 
Social Worker Associate Advanced  328 10 4 0 4 
Social Worker Associate Independent Clinical  2,365 108 41 0 41 
Social Worker Independent Clinical  5,373 277 81 5 86 
Speech Language Pathologist  3,536 50 7 4 11 
Speech Language Pathology Assistant  254 3 1 0 5 
Substance Use Disorder Professional (SUDP) 3,045 390 141 3 144 
SUDP Trainee 1,588 329 108 0 108 
Surgical Technologist  3,388 36 5 0 5 
Veterinarian  4,273 457 195 21 216 
Veterinary Medication Clerk  1,751 15 5 0 5 
Veterinary Technician  2,434 93 37 11 48 
X-Ray Technician  1,417 40 12 1 13 
Totals  518524 35128 8062 287 8349 
*Includes Carry Over from FY19 and New Complaints.  **Includes credential holders participating in interstate compacts for NCQAC, WMC, Board of Osteopathic Medicine 
and Board of Physical Therapy.    
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Table 2 – Disciplinary Actions – Secretary Professions – 2019-21 Biennium 

Profession Carry 
Over 

from FY 
19 

Complaints 
Received 

Total 
Complaints 

Total 
Disciplinary 

Action* 

% of 
Secretary 

Disciplinary 
Action to 

Complaints 

% of All 
Secretary 

Disciplinary 
Actions 

Acupuncture & Eastern Medicine Practitioner 17 51 68 7 10% 1% 
Advanced Emergency Medical Technician 1 3 4 0 0% 0% 
Animal Massage Practitioner 2 5 7 2 0% 0% 
Athletic Trainer 1 8 9 2 22% 0% 
Cardiovascular Invasive Specialist 1 1 2 1 50% 0% 
Certified Behavior Technician 14 54 68 9 13% 1% 
Counselor, Agency Affiliated 172 558 730 106 15% 12% 
Counselor, Certified 10 51 61 3 5% 0% 
Counselor, Certified Advisor 0 0 0 0 0% 0% 
Dental Hygienist 23 50 73 2 3% 0% 
Dietitian/Nutritionist 1 9 10 0 0% 0% 
Dispensing Optician 10 24 34 2 3% 0% 
Dispensing Optician Apprentice 4 13 17 9 53% 1% 
Emergency Medical Responder 0 1 1 0 0% 0% 
Emergency Medical Technician 32 108 140 17 12% 2% 
Genetic Counselor 0 2 2 0 0% 0% 
Home Care Aide 335 2095 2430 69 3% 8% 
Hypnotherapist 6 21 27 3 11% 0% 
Licensed Assistant Behavior Analyst 0 2 2 0 0% 0% 
Licensed Behavior Analyst 12 31 43 0 0% 0% 
Marriage and Family Therapist 29 109 138 10 7% 1% 
Marriage and Family Therapist Associate 13 39 52 7 13% 1% 
Massage Therapist 196 643 839 109 12% 11% 
Medical Assistant 128 580 708 69 10% 8% 
Medical Marijuana Consultant 2 8 10 0 0% 0% 
Mental Health Counselor 111 472 583 38 7% 4% 
Mental Health Counselor Associate 40 206 246 17 7% 2% 
Midwife 8 36 44 6 11% 1% 
Nursing Assistant 1530 7939 9469 231 2% 27% 
Nursing Pool Operator 2 7 9 0 0% 0% 
Ocularist 0 0 0 0 0% 0% 
Orthotist/ Prosthetist 0 21 21 0 0% 0% 
Paramedic 26 29 55 5 9% 1% 
Radiological Technologist 11 47 58 6 10% 1% 
Radiologist Assistant 0 0 0 0 0% 0% 
Recreational Therapist 2 0 2 1 50% 0% 
Reflexologist 1 0 1 1 100% 0% 
Respiratory Care Practitioner 10 42 52 6 12% 1% 
Retired Volunteer Medical Worker 0 0 0 1 0% 0% 
Sex Offender Treatment Provider 2 20 22 1 5% 0% 
Sex Offender Treatment Provider Affiliate 2 5 7 0 0% 0% 
Social Worker Advanced 3 16 19 0 0% 0% 
Social Worker Associate Advanced 0 10 10 0 0% 0% 
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Profession Carry 
Over 

from FY 
19 

Complaints 
Received 

Total 
Complaints 

Total 
Disciplinary 

Action* 

% of 
Secretary 

Disciplinary 
Action to 

Complaints 

% of All 
Secretary 

Disciplinary 
Actions 

Social Worker Associate Independent Clinical 19 89 108 7 6% 1% 
Social Worker Independent Clinical 51 226 277 16 6% 2% 
Substance Use Disorder Professional (SUDP) 99 291 390 35 9% 4% 
SUDP Trainee 100 229 329 66 20% 8% 
Surgical Technologist 6 30 36 5 14% 1% 
X-Ray Technician 6 34 40 4 10% 0% 
Total 3038 14215 17253 873 5% 100% 
*Includes notices of decision on applications and cease and desist orders for unlicensed practice. 
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Table 3 – Disciplinary Actions – Board and Commission Professions – 2019-21 Biennium 

Profession Carry Over 
from FY19 

Complaints 
Received 

Total 
Complaints 

Total Disciplinary 
Action* 

% of B/C 
Disciplinary 

Action to 
Complaints 

% of All 
B/C 

Disciplinary 
Action 

Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner 130 766 896 18 2% 2% 
Audiologist 8 19 27 1 4% 0% 
Chiropractic X-Ray Technician  1 4 5 0 0% 0% 
Chiropractor  97 882 979 26 2% 2% 
Dental Anesthesia Assistant  0 6 6 0 0% 0% 
Dental Assistant  31 190 221 22 10% 2% 
Dentist  429 1390 1819 147 8% 16% 
Denturist  21 39 60 5 8% 1% 
Expanded Function Dental Auxiliary 0 6 6 1 17% 0% 
Hearing aid Specialist 12 15 27 2 7% 0% 
Humane Society 0 1 1 0 0% 0% 
Licensed Practical Nurse 245 1136 1381 54 4% 6% 
Naturopathic Physician 55 136 191 14 6% 1% 
Nursing Home Administrator 64 234 298 5 2% 1% 
Nursing Technician 0 6 6 1 17% 0% 
Occupational Therapist 18 53 71 6 8% 1% 
Occupational Therapy Assistant 15 33 48 6 13% 1% 
Optometrist 19 142 161 3 2% 0% 
Osteopathic Physician 133 395 528 20 4% 2% 
Osteopathic Physician Assistant 8 17 25 3 12% 0% 
Pharmacies and Other Pharmaceutical Firms 156 513 669 4 0% 0% 
Pharmacist 147 455 602 40 7% 4% 
Pharmacist Intern 8 40 48 15 31% 2% 
Pharmacy Assistant 33 160 193 35 18% 5% 
Pharmacy Technician 73 169 242 31 13% 3% 
Physical Therapist 53 185 238 8 3% 1% 
Physical Therapist Assistant 15 43 58 6 10% 1% 
Physician 668 2781 3449 137 4% 15% 
Physician Assistant 65 312 377 22 6% 2% 
Podiatric Physician 37 82 119 1 1% 0% 
Psychologist 73 196 269 14 5% 1% 
Registered Nurse 812 3425 4237 205 5% 22% 
Speech Language Pathologist 17 33 50 2 4% 0% 
Speech Language Pathology Assistant 1 2 3 0 0% 0% 
Veterinarian 116 341 457 60 16% 6% 
Veterinary Medication Clerk 3 12 15 2 13% 0% 
Veterinary Technician 25 68 93 38 41% 4% 
Totals 3588 14287 17875 954 5% 100% 
 

*Includes notices of decision on applications and cease and desist orders for unlicensed practice. 
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Table 4: Manner of Disposition – All Professions - 2019-21 Biennium 

Profession 
Informal  

Disposition 
Agreed  
Order 

Default  
Order 

Final  
Order 

Cease & 
Desist Order 

Notice of  
Decision Total 

Acupuncture & Eastern Medicine Practitioner 7 0 0 0 0 0 7 
Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner 8 0 6 3 0 1 18 
Animal Massage Practitioner 0 0 0 0 2 0 2 
Athletic Trainer 0 2 0 0 0 0 2 
Audiologist 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 
Cardiovascular Invasive Specialist 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 
Certified Behavior Technician 2 1 1 0 0 5 9 
Chiropractic X-Ray Technician 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Chiropractor 18 3 2 0 2 1 26 
Counselor, Agency Affiliated 36 13 15 2 0 40 106 
Counselor, Certified 1 1 0 1 0 0 3 
Counselor, Certified Advisor 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Dental Anesthesia Assistant 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Dental Assistant 3 7 5 0 0 7 22 
Dental Hygienist 0 0 1 0 0 1 2 
Dentist 74 50 16 4 0 3 147 
Denturist 3 2 0 0 0 0 5 
Dietitian/Nutritionist 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Dispensing Optician 0 1 0 0 1 0 2 
Dispensing Optician Apprentice 0 2 0 2 0 5 9 
Emergency Medical Responder 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Emergency Medical Technician 7 4 6 0 0 0 17 
Expanded Function Dental Auxiliary 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 
Genetic Counselor 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Hearing aid Specialist 0 1 0 0 0 1 2 
Home Care Aide 7 5 16 2 0 39 69 
Humane Society 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Hypnotherapist 1 0 0 0 0 2 3 
Licensed Assistant Behavior Analyst 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Licensed Behavior Analyst 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Licensed Practical Nurse 14 7 27 1 0 5 54 
Marriage and Family Therapist 5 5 0 0 0 0 10 
Marriage and Family Therapist Associate 5 0 0 0 0 2 7 
Massage Therapist 28 23 31 8 11 8 109 
Medical Assistant 20 11 18 2 1 17 69 
Medical Marijuana Consultant 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Mental Health Counselor 19 15 3 0 0 1 38 
Mental Health Counselor Associate 10 1 1 1 0 4 17 
Midwife 0 5 0 0 1 0 6 
Naturopathic Physician 9 0 2 0 3 0 14 
Nursing Assistant 28 38 123 19 1 22 231 
Nursing Home Administrator 3 0 0 1 0 1 5 
Nursing Pool Operator 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Nursing Technician 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 
Occupational Therapist 5 0 1 0 0 0 6 
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Profession 
Informal  

Disposition 
Agreed  
Order 

Default  
Order 

Final  
Order 

Cease & 
Desist Order 

Notice of  
Decision Total 

Occupational Therapy Assistant 4 1 1 0 0 0 6 
Ocularist 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Optometrist 3 0 0 0 0 0 3 
Orthotist/ Prosthetist 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Osteopathic Physician 5 13 0 2 0 0 20 
Osteopathic Physician Assistant 0 1 1 0 0 1 3 
Paramedic 3 2 0 0 0 0 5 
Pharmacies and Other Pharmaceutical Firms 1 1 1 0 1 0 4 
Pharmacist 15 15 5 0 0 5 40 
Pharmacist Intern 0 0 0 0 0 15 15 
Pharmacy Assistant 4 3 5 0 0 23 35 
Pharmacy Technician 13 6 11 0 0 1 31 
Physical Therapist 0 4 1 3 0 0 8 
Physical Therapy Assistant 3 1 1 0 0 1 6 
Physician 100 11 14 9 3 0 137 
Physician Assistant 15 3 4 0 0 0 22 
Podiatric Physician 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 
Psychologist 4 7 3 0 0 0 14 
Radiological Technologist 2 0 2 2 0 0 6 
Radiologist Assistant 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Recreational Therapist 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 
Reflexologist 0 0 0 1 0 0 1 
Registered Nurse 60 28 82 4 1 30 205 
Respiratory Care Practitioner 2 1 1 1 0 1 6 
Retired Volunteer Medical Worker 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 
Sex Offender Treatment Provider 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 
Sex Offender Treatment Provider Affiliate 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Social Worker Advanced 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Social Worker Associate Advanced 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Social Worker Associate Independent 
Clinical 3 0 1 0 0 3 7 
Social Worker Independent Clinical 8 5 2 1 0 0 16 
Speech Language Pathologist 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 
Speech Language Pathology Assistant 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Substance Use Disorder Professional 15 5 10 0 0 5 35 
Substance Use Disorder Professional 
Trainee 21 0 8 2 0 35 66 
Surgical Technologist 2 2 0 0 0 1 5 
Veterinarian 47 3 3 2 5 0 60 
Veterinary Medication Clerk 0 0 2 0 0 0 2 
Veterinary Technician 26 3 9 0 0 0 38 
X-Ray Technician 1 1 2 0 0 0 4 
Totals 675 315 443 73 32 289 1827 
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Background Checks 
RCW 18.130.310 requires the department to provide data on background check activities 
conducted under RCW 18.130.064 and the effectiveness of those activities in identifying 
potential license holders who may not be qualified to practice safely. 
 
RCW 18.130.064 authorizes the department to receive criminal history record information and 
non-conviction data for determining the eligibility of applicants for licensure or renewal, or to 
determine whether to proceed with an investigation of a complaint against a license holder. It 
requires the department to conduct a state background check through the Washington State 
Patrol on all new applicants and conduct an annual review of a representative sample of all 
license holders.  
 
The statute allows the department to include a fingerprint-based check where the state patrol 
background check is inadequate, such as out-of-state applicants or applicants with a criminal 
record in Washington.  
 
Types of Background Checks 

The department works with three databases to obtain criminal and disciplinary data on 
applicants. For all new applications, the background check process involves checking two 
separate databases: 

o Washington Access to Criminal History (WATCH) database operated by the 
Washington State Patrol (WSP). It provides records of criminal convictions in the 
state of Washington. It is used for all new applicants. 

o The National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) is administered by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services to obtain disciplinary data from other 
states on all applicants. This national databank contains disciplinary information, 
including adverse actions, about health professionals. 

For out-of-state applicants or applicants with a criminal history, the process includes an FBI 
fingerprint-based national background check process through the FBI and WSP. 
 
The FBI fingerprint process can be lengthy, especially when prints are unreadable and need to 
be re-collected. As a result, the department, boards, and commissions may grant temporary 
practice permits to applicants who satisfy all licensing requirements but are still awaiting FBI 
results to help improve access to care by avoiding delays. The temporary practice permit 
expires if criminal history is identified, and a notice of decision (NOD) is issued. 
  

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.130.310
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.130.064
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Figure 4: DOH Background Check Activity Summary – 2019-21 Biennium 

 
Disciplinary Action for Applicants 

The department issues a notice of decision when the disciplining authority denies an 
application for licensure, or grants the license with conditions, pursuant to RCW 18.130.055. 
Common application issues include discipline in another state or criminal conviction activity 
identified on an application or found in a background check. The notice has detailed 
instructions for the applicant, which explains what to do if they want to contest the decision. 
This includes notice of the right to request a hearing on the decision to prove they are qualified 
and can practice safely. The department issued 289 NODs during the 2019-21 biennium. 
 
Effectiveness of Background Check Activities 

As the above table demonstrates, nearly half of the applicants with returned background check 
reports did not disclose their criminal history on the application. We are unsure how many of 
these omissions were intentional. However, had we not conducted background checks, we 
would not have identified this history, and the applicants may have been fully licensed without 
conditions. This demonstrates that background checks were effective in identifying 158 
potential license holders who may not be qualified to practice safely, and we were able to deny 
a license or grant a license with conditions to protect the public. 

Table 5 on the next page shows details of background check activity by profession. 

 
 

Total Applicants 139,689 
Applicants with returned   background reports6  

2,858 
Cases opened on applicants with   returned background reports  

438 
Applicants who disclosed criminal or disciplinary history (% of cases)  

1,471 (51%) 
Applicants not disclosing criminal or disciplinary history (% of cases)  

1,387 (49%) 
Actions taken to restrict or deny a license application  

158 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.130.055
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Table 5: Background Reports – 2019-21 Biennium 

Profession 

Total 
Applicant 
Checks 
Made 

WATCH 
Reports 
Produced 

Cases 
Opened on 
Applicants 

Self-Disclosed 
Yes           No 

% 
Disclosed* 

Actions 
Taken 

Acupuncture & Eastern Medicine Practitioner 134 1 1 1 0 100% 0 
Advanced Emergency Medical Technician 47 2 0 0 2 0% 0 
Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner 3033 19 0 12 7 63% 0 
Animal Massage Practitioner 32 1 0 0 1 0% 0 
Athletic Trainer 202 1 1 1 0 100% 0 
Audiologist 77 0 1 0 0 - 0 
Cardiovascular Invasive Specialist 66 2 0 1 1 50% 0 
Certified Behavior Technician 3139 64 11 27 37 42% 4 
Chiropractic X-Ray Technician 97 4 0 3 1 75% 0 
Chiropractor 257 7 2 4 3 57% 0 
Counselor, Agency Affiliated 5106 383 73 241 142 63% 27 
Counselor, Certified 45 2 0 0 2 0% 0 
Dental Anesthesia Assistant 75 3 0 1 2 33% 0 
Dental Assistant 5684 123 21 47 76 38% 5 
Dental Hygienist 694 17 1 7 10 41% 1 
Dentist 897 6 1 3 3 50% 0 
Denturist 9 0 0 0 0 - 0 
Dietitian/Nutritionist 513 2 0 1 1 50% 0 
Dispensing Optician 80 1 0 1 0 100% 0 
Dispensing Optician Apprentice 307 7 1 3 4 43% 1 
Emergency Medical Responder 64 3 0 2 1 67% 0 
Emergency Medical Technician 3028 76 4 45 31 59% 2 
Expanded Function Dental Auxiliary 91 4 0 2 2 50% 0 
Genetic Counselor 145 0 0 0 0 - 0 
Hearing aid Specialist 55 1 4 1 0 100% 2 
Home Care Aide 10796 18 32 7 11 39% 13 
Hypnotherapist 153 8 1 2 6 25% 1 
Licensed Assistant Behavior Analyst 184 4 0 3 1 75% 0 
Licensed Behavior Analyst 383 3 0 2 1 67% 0 
Licensed Practical Nurse 2061 31 1 21 10 68% 0 
Marriage and Family Therapist 331 2 0 1 1 50% 0 
Marriage and Family Therapist Associate 369 9 1 8 1 89% 1 
Massage Therapist 1244 40 16 26 14 65% 7 
Medical Assistant 12562 430 28 161 269 37% 12 
Medical Marijuana Consultant 409 39 1 0 39 0% 0 
Mental Health Counselor 1358 28 5 20 8 71% 1 
Mental Health Counselor Associate 1595 36 3 24 12 67% 2 
Midwife 52 0 0 0 0 - 0 
Naturopathic Physician 214 2 0 1 1 50% 0 
Nursing Assistant 26089 600 53 208 392 35% 17 
Nursing Home Administrator 72 4 1 2 2 50% 0 
Nursing Technician 989 18 0 12 6 67% 0 
Occupational Therapist 666 2 1 2 0 100% 0 
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Profession 

Total 
Applicant 
Checks 
Made 

WATCH 
Reports 
Produced 

Cases 
Opened on 
Applicants 

Self-Disclosed 
Yes           No 

% 
Disclosed* 

Actions 
Taken 

Occupational Therapy Assistant 200 3 2 3 0 100% 0 
Optometrist 151 1 0 1 0 100% 0 
Orthotist/ Prosthetist 40 1 0 1 0 100% 0 
Osteopathic Physician 800 6 5 3 3 50% 0 
Osteopathic Physician Assistant 50 0 0 0 0 - 0 
Paramedic 454 4 0 3 1 75% 0 
Pharmacist 1227 6 4 4 2 67% 1 
Pharmacist Intern 920 5 3 5 0 100% 1 
Pharmacy Assistant 5912 124 35 48 76 39% 14 
Pharmacy Technician 1030 24 4 16 8 67% 1 
Physical Therapist 1176 1 1 1 0 100% 0 
Physical Therapist Assistant 410 0 1 0 0 - 0 
Physician 5056 3 0 0 3 0% 0 
Physician Assistant 1047 3 0 0 3 0% 0 
Podiatric Physician 61 2 0 1 1 50% 0 
Psychologist 1249 1 0 1 0 100% 0 
Radiological Technologist 1082 14 0 11 3 79% 0 
Recreational Therapist 61 1 1 0 1 0% 1 
Reflexologist 18 0 0 0 0 - 0 
Registered Nurse 25543 159 21 100 59 63% 8 
Respiratory Care Practitioner 582 6 3 4 2 67% 1 
Sex Offender Treatment Provider 8 0 0 0 0 - 0 
Sex Offender Treatment Provider Affiliate 6 0 0 0 0 - 0 
Social Worker Advanced 25 0 0 0 0 - 0 
Social Worker Associate Advanced 263 7 0 4 3 57% 0 
Social Worker Associate Independent 
Clinical 1337 35 3 30 5 86% 0 
Social Worker Independent Clinical 984 14 0 12 2 86% 0 
Speech Language Pathologist 1036 6 0 2 4 33% 0 
Speech Language Pathology Assistant 81 0 1 0 0 - 0 
Substance Use Disorder Professional 407 101 13 87 14 86% 4 
Substance Use Disorder Professional 
Trainee 1100 227 70 189 38 83% 31 
Surgical Technologist 985 28 5 12 16 43% 0 
Veterinarian 553 2 1 0 2 0% 0 
Veterinary Medication Clerk 1232 31 0 16 15 52% 0 
Veterinary Technician 395 10 0 4 6 40% 0 
X-Ray Technician 804 30 1 10 20 33% 0 
Totals 139689 2858 438 1471 1387 51% 158         

* Percentage of applicants with WATCH reports produced who self-disclosed the conviction 
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Case Distribution to Investigators and Staff Attorneys 
RCW 18.130.310 requires the department to “summarize the distribution of the number of 
cases assigned to each attorney and investigator for each profession.” The law also requires 
that the identities of staff attorneys and investigators remain anonymous.  

The number of cases for each investigator and staff attorney varies greatly due to several 
factors that may impact the amount of investigative and legal resources for a case (and how 
work is distributed). These factors include: 

• The nature and complexity of the complaint  
• The complexity of the profession  
• Availability of records and other information 
• If there are companion cases with other professions  
• How many months the staff worked during the biennium  
• Involvement of other entities such as law enforcement 

Tables 6 and 7 provide case distributions by staff attorney and investigator. Numbers ranged 
from 1 to 645 cases per attorney and 1 to 318 investigations per investigator. Breakdowns by 
profession are not included in this biennium’s report because we are evaluating our methods 
for producing this information. 
 
Please note on the following tables: 

• To preserve anonymity, individual staff members are indicated by a number. 
• The number of cases shown includes any case worked during the biennium. 
• The number of cases shown differs from the number of cases received or closed since it 

includes cases at any point in the investigative or legal process. 
• The number of months each staff member worked for the department during the 2017-19 

biennium is indicated in the bottom row of each chart. 

  

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.130.310
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Table 6:  Distribution of Staff Attorney Caseload 
2019-21 Biennium 

Staff Attorney 
Months Worked in 

Biennium 
Number of 

Cases 
1 24 3 
2 24 426 
3 24 285 
4 24 157 
5 11 127 
6 24 133 
7 23 1 
8 11 168 
9 13 153 

10 23 154 
11 24 401 
12 2 15 
13 24 285 
14 23 3 
15 24 129 
16 24 395 
17 24 645 
18 24 4 
19 13 93 
20 22 1 
21 24 324 
22 24 409 
23 24 217 
24 23 300 
25 13 1 
26 24 152 
27 9 88 
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Table 7:  Distribution of Investigator Caseload 
2019-21 Biennium 

Investigator 
Months Worked 

in Biennium 
Number of 

Investigations 
1 23 2 
2 22 195 
3 22 168 
4 24 159 
5 18 74 
6 24 145 
7 4 31 
8 24 114 
9 24 210 

10 6 53 
11 24 206 
12 24 248 
13 24 153 
14 24 249 
15 22 139 
16 24 128 
17 24 12 
18 22 176 
19 24 246 
20 24 183 
21 6 67 
22 24 173 
23 22 202 
24 18 126 
25 24 96 
26 24 120 
27 24 101 
28 24 215 
29 24 160 
30 22 184 
31 20 119 
32 24 127 
33 24 196 
34 22 103 
35 24 216 
36 24 104 
37 24 127 
38 22 220 
39 19 1 
40 24 185 
41 3 17 
42 24 138 
43 11 51 
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Investigator 
Months Worked 

in Biennium 
Number of 

Investigations 
44 24 2 
45 24 108 
46 24 318 
47 24 162 
48 8 126 
49 18 182 
50 24 4 
51 24 140 
52 19 113 
53 24 208 
54 24 173 
55 22 180 
56 24 173 
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Appendices 
Appendix A: Definitions is a glossary of terms used throughout this report, including 
clarifications and abbreviated versions of longer terms. 
 
Appendix B: Licensee Counts by Professions details the number of licensees for each 
profession over the last seven fiscal years, as well as a compounded annual growth rate over 
four years whenever possible. 
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Appendix A: Definitions 
 
Agreed Order: The document, formally called Stipulated Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, 
and Agreed order, is a negotiated settlement between the health care provider and 
representatives of the agency. It states the substantiated violations of law and the sanctions 
being placed on the health care provider’s credential. The health care provider agrees to the 
conditions in the order. The Agreed order is presented to the disciplinary authority and, if 
approved, becomes final. The order is reported to national data banks and the public through a 
press release. 

Board or Commission: A board or commission is a part-time, statutory entity that has 
rulemaking authority, performs quasi-judicial functions, has responsibility for the 
administration or policy direction of a program, or performs regulatory or licensing functions 
with respect to a specific profession. See also Chapter 43.03 RCW. 

Certification: This credential demonstrates that the professional has met certain qualifications. 
The regulatory authority – a board, commission, or the secretary of health – sets the 
qualifications. In some professions, someone who isn’t certified may perform the same tasks, 
but may not use “certified” in their title. 

Default Orders: A Default order is issued when the credentialed health care provider is given 
notice, but either fails to answer the allegations or fails to participate in the adjudicative 
process as required by law. 

Final Order: The document is formally called Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order. 
This document is issued after a formal hearing has been held. The hearing may be held before a 
health law judge representing the secretary as the decision-maker or before a panel of board or 
commission members, with a health law judge acting as the presiding officer. The document 
identifies the proven facts, violations of law, and the sanctions being placed on the health care 
provider’s credential. The health care provider has the right to ask for administrative review of 
an initial order. Final orders are subject to reconsideration of the decision or to appeal to a 
superior court. The order is reported to national data banks and released to the public through 
a press release. 

License: This credential allows people to practice if they meet certain qualifications. Practicing 
without a license is illegal. Licensing regulates what practitioners are trained and authorized to 
do. 

Notice of Decision (NOD): This document is issued pursuant to RCW 18.130.055, when the 
disciplining authority decides to deny an application for licensure or grant the license with 
conditions. 

Registration: The state keeps an official register of the names and addresses of the people in 
each profession. This credential signifies the professional is on that register. If required, a 
description and the location of the service are included; however, registrations do not include 
training, examination, or continuing education requirements. 
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Informal Order - Stipulation to Informal Disposition: A Stipulation to Informal Disposition 
(STID) is an informal resolution. If the health care provider agrees to sign the STID, the provider 
does not admit to unprofessional conduct, but does agree to corrective action. STIDs are 
reported to national data banks, but because they are informal, they do not result in a press 
release. 
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Appendix B: Licensee Counts by Profession – 2017-19 Biennium 
Profession 2013-15 2015-17 2017-19 2019-21 

Acupuncture and Eastern Medicine 
Practitioner 1,387 1,537 1,606 1560 

Advanced Emergency Medical Technician 362 367 364 350 

Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner 6,404 7,759 9,169 11,311 

Animal Massage Practitioner 59 81 108 112 

Athletic Trainer 587 669 789 818 

Audiologist 409 430 465 497 

Cardiovascular Invasive Specialist 224 292 338 345 

Certified Behavior Technician - - 2435 3491 

Chiropractic X-Ray Technician 209 218 206 198 

Chiropractor 2,467 2,534 2,605 2598 

Counselor, Agency Affiliated 7,611 9,354 9092 9279 

Counselor, Certified 630 550 471 391 

Counselor, Certified Advisor 3 3 2 2 

Dental Anesthesia Assistant 117 174 215 240 

Dental Assistant 13,692 14,510 15677 16522 

Dental Hygienist 6,056 6,332 6,526 6666 

Dentist 6,355 6,647 6738 6870 

Denturist 143 145 156 144 

Dietitian/Nutritionist 1,733 2,065 2,329 2457 

Dispensing Optician 1,048 1,012 1006 982 

Dispensing Optician Apprentice 966 1,051 1051 1001 

Emergency Medical Responder 394 371 342 348 

Emergency Medical Technician 12,870 13,032 13304 14075 

Expanded Function Dental Auxiliary 212 240 286 359 

Genetic Counselor 136 220 298 400 

Hearing Aid Specialist 302 316 328 332 

Home Care Aide 10,708 18,034 26,620 26653 

Humane Society 18 19 18 33 

Hypnotherapist 788 749 744 697 

Licensed Assistant Behavior Analyst - - 85 154 

Licensed Behavior Analyst - - 733 988 

Licensed Practical Nurse 11,944 11,768 11558 11189 

Marriage and Family Therapist 1,486 1,603 1,824 2033 

Marriage and Family Therapist Associate 466 569 609 612 

Massage Therapist 13,656 13,889 13824 12438 

Medical Assistant 31,291 35,612 38,688 40486 

Medical Marijuana Consultant - - - 583 

Mental Health Counselor 6,059 6,803 7646 8501 

Mental Health Counselor Associate 1,789 1,813 2,014 2305 

Midwife 161 175 182 199 

Naturopathic Physician 1,231 1,398 1474 1571 

Nursing Assistant 76,056 76,173 75,231 73392 
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Nursing Home Administrator 441 441 439 403 

Nursing Pool Operator 158 189 284 307 

Nursing Technician 396 488 558 690 

Occupational Therapist 3,271 3,565 3909 4022 

Occupational Therapy Assistant 956 1,090 1189 1194 

Ocularist 10 11 11 9 

Optometrist 1,547 1,637 1676 1678 

Orthotist/ Prosthetist 330 334 350 355 

Osteopathic Physician 1,769 2,194 2,624 3130 

Osteopathic Physician Assistant 59 88 128 126 

Paramedic 2,568 2,662 2760 3095 

Pharmacies and Other Pharmaceutical Firms 4,190 4,544 4,985 5108 

Pharmacist 9,627 10,232 10716 11046 

Pharmacist Intern 1,394 1,579 1777 1588 

Pharmacy Assistant 10,299 10,546 7,422 8049 

Pharmacy Technician 8,867 8,910 8748 8631 

Physical Therapist 6,188 6,795 7,507 7562 

Physical Therapist Assistant 1,971 2,271 2,455 2483 

Physician 27,692 29,532 30,450 31226 

Physician Assistant 3,018 3,587 4,091 4654 

Podiatric Physician 353 377 377 380 

Psychologist 2,796 2,996 3,254 3995 

Radiological Technologist 6,200 6,415 6,685 6967 

Radiologist Assistant 8 8 9 8 

Recreational Therapist 146 144 168 162 

Registered Nurse 87,097 99,474 106,569 115007 

Reflexologist 248 255 260 245 

Respiratory Care Practitioner 2,794 2,915 3,028 3186 

Retired Volunteer Medical Worker 4 2 1 9 

Sex Offender Treatment Provider 99 97 97 97 

Sex Offender Treatment Provider Affiliate 30 26 27 23 

Social Worker Advanced 119 139 154 155 

Social Worker Associate Advanced 201 210 247 328 

Social Worker Associate Independent Clinical 1,346 1,632 1,952 2365 

Social Worker Independent Clinical 3,858 4,173 4,712 5373 

Speech Language Pathologist 2,508 2,835 3,249 3536 

Speech Language Pathology Assistant 209 230 242 254 

Substance Use Disorder Professional 2,878 2,919 3,026 3,045 

Substance Use Disorder Professional Trainee 1,446 1,619 1804 1,588 

Surgical Technologist 2,980 3,062 3,141 3388 

Veterinarian 3,586 3,843 4,076 4273 

Veterinary Medication Clerk 825 1,086 1,347 1751 

Veterinary Technician 2,027 2,183 2,302 2434 

X-Ray Technician 1,580 1,509 1,563 1417 

Total 428,118 467,358 497,525 518,524 



 

 

Board and Commission Supplemental Reports 
RCW 18.130.310(2) allows health professions boards and commissions to prepare a biennial report 
to complement the UDA report. The reports may provide additional information about disciplinary 
activities, rulemaking and policy activities, and receipts and expenditures. 
 
The following reports were prepared by the 17 boards and commissions with regulatory authority 
for health professions. Note that the Board of Massage is a dual authority board, where certain 
licensing and/or examination functions are the authority of the board, while disciplinary authority 
resides with the department. 
 
Please note that Senate Bill 5229 was passed in 2021. This bill requires the disciplining authority 
for each health profession licensed under Title 18 RCW subject to continuing education 
requirements, to adopt rules requiring licensees to complete health equity continuing education 
training at least once every four years. 

 

Reviewing the Disciplinary Graphs 
The report for each full authority board or commission includes two graphs: 

1) The first summarizes the number of complaints received and investigations completed over 
the last three biennia. 

2) The second depicts the types of disciplinary case outcomes for each board or commission 
over the past three biennia. 

 

For a complete list of definitions, please see Appendix A.

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.130.310
https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/5229-S.SL.pdf?q=20211118122159


 

 

Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission  

The Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission (CQAC) protects the public by credentialing and 
disciplining chiropractors and chiropractic x-ray technicians. The commission regulates the 
professions by developing rules, policies, and guidelines. CQAC is made up of 14 commission 
members (11 chiropractors and 3 public members) appointed by the governor. Chiropractic 
commission members must be licensed to practice in Washington for five years prior to 
appointment. 

 

The number of complaints in 
the 19-21 biennium was much 
higher than the 15-17 and 17-
19 biennia. This is because the 
commission received a 
significant amount of 
complaints regarding 
compliance with COVID-19 
proclamations. This resulted in 
more investigations 
completed.  

 

The total number of 
disciplinary actions taken in 
the 19-21 biennium was 
slightly lower than average.  
COVID-19 caused many delays 
in various steps of the process 
and many hearings had to be 
continued. Agreed orders are 
most likely to be reached 
close to a scheduled hearing 
and because of this, there 
were fewer Agreed orders and 
Final Orders.   

 
Legislation 

The commission implemented provisions of Senate Bill 5817 that allow students in their senior 
year of chiropractic college to adjust patients under the supervision of a licensed chiropractor 
preceptor. 

Rulemaking 

During the 2019 – 2021 Biennium, the Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission continued to 
review and update the full chapter of chiropractic regulations in 246-808 WAC. 
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Of note were the commission’s establishment of and standards for an Early Remediation 
Program to address minor chiropractor practice deficiencies that have not resulted in patient 
harm, as well as updates to chiropractic standards of practice and chiropractic college 
requirements.  



 

 

Dental Quality Assurance Commission  

The Dental Quality Assurance Commission (dental commission) protects the public by 
credentialing and disciplining dentists, expanded-function dental auxiliaries, dental assistants, 
and dental anesthesia assistants. The commission regulates the professions by developing 
rules, policies, and guidelines. The governor appoints 16 commission members: 12 dentists, 2 
expanded function dental auxiliaries, and 2 public members. All serve four-year terms. 

 

Complaints received and 
investigations completed 
increased over the 2019-21 
biennium due to governor 
COVID mandate-related 
complaints. 

 

The number of final orders 
decreased due to delayed 
disciplinary hearings because 
of COVID limitations. Agreed 
orders increased as a result of 
utilizing settlement 
negotiation strategies. 

 

Rulemaking and Policy Activity  
 
Legislation 
The Washington State legislature passed: 

• Senate Bill 6061 in 2020 requiring telemedicine training for all health professions 
• Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill 5229 in 2021 requiring health equity continuing 

education for health care professionals 
• Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill 5092 in 2021 granting $50,000 for a task force to 

evaluate Dental Therapy 
 
The commission also reviewed multiple legislative bills, including: 
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• Substitute House Bill 1317 in 2020 and Senate Bill 5142 in 2021 – Establishing the 
profession of dental therapist 

• Substitute House Bill 2531 in 2020 – Protecting patients from certain unsafe dental 
practices 

• Senate Bill SB 6330 in 2020 – Health carriers offering dental-only coverage 
• Second Substitute House Bill 1018 in 2020 – Fair dental insurance practices 

 
Rules and Policies 
The dental commission issued a statement authorizing coronavirus screenings as within the 
scope of dentistry practice under RCW 18.32.020(4). 
 
The dental commission filed an interpretive statement for dentists clarifying that the ordering 
and administration of novel coronavirus disease 2019 vaccine is within the scope of dentistry 
practice under RCW 18.32.020. 
 
The dental commission is considering amendments to update general requirements for 
administering anesthetics for dental procedures in WAC 246-817-701 through 790. The 
commission is considering 24-hour on-call availability, on-site inspections for sedation permit 
holders, and creating a pediatric sedation endorsement. The Dental Anesthesia Committee held 
open public meetings with stakeholders to discuss rule modifications. 

 
The dental commission is considering permanent rulemaking to allow dentists to delegate 
administration of novel coronavirus disease 2019 vaccination in WAC246-817-581 to licensed 
dental hygienists with close supervision and demonstration of competency. An emergency rule 
is in place while permanent rulemaking proceeds. 

 
The dental commission is considering rule amendments for the number of hours allowed under 
self-study methods in WAC 246-817-440. 

 
The dental commission is considering rule amendments to determine if placing and finishing 
amalgam restoration on clinical patients for EFDA licensure is necessary during education in 
WAC 246-817-195. 
 
The dental commission is considering rule amendments to update the continuing education 
requirement for retired status dentists in WAC 246-817-230. 

 
The commission completed and implemented the following rule amendments: 

• Covid-19 screening delegation – WAC 246-817-580 – effective August 21, 2021 
• Dental infection control standards – WAC 246-817-601 through new 246-817-660 – 

effective January 23, 2021 
• Patient Notification for opioid prescribing – WAC 246-871-907 – effective March 5, 2020 
• Delegation to dental hygienist under general supervision – WAC 246-817-550 – effective 

October 5, 2019 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1317&Initiative=false&Year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=5142&Initiative=false&Year=2021
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=2531&Initiative=false&Year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=6330&Initiative=false&Year=2019
https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1018&Initiative=false&Year=2019


 

 

• Specialty representation – WAC 246-817-420 – effective July 3, 2021 
• Examination content – WAC 246-817-120 – effective April 8, 2021 
• Repeal of AIDS education and training – effective January 23, 2021 

 

 
 



 

 

Board of Denturists  

The Board of Denturists (board) protects the public by examining, credentialing, and disciplining 
Denturists. The board regulates the profession by developing rules, policies, and guidelines. The 
secretary appoints 7 board members: 4 denturists, 1 dentist, and 2 public members. Neither 
public member may be affiliated with a health care profession or facility. At least one of the 
public members must be over the age of 65 to represent the senior population. 

 

Complaints received 
decreased in the 19 – 21 
biennia due to COVID and the 
denturist clinics being closed 
for a time and having to 
follow the safety protocols 
that were put in place. The 
number of investigations 
increased with additional 
investigators and the average 
investigative days decreased. 

 

With fewer complaints, there 
were fewer cases to take 
disciplinary action on. The 
board continues to conclude 
disciplinary cases through 
settlement by informal 
resolutions known as 
stipulations to informal 
dispositions (STIDs) and with 
Agreed orders. 

 

Rulemaking and Policy Activity  

The board reviewed and re-adopted their policies during the 2019-21 biennium. In mid-2020 
through 2021, the board adopted a policy that allowed all licensed denturists to obtain their 15 
hours of continuing competency by online methods. This policy was only effective until 
December 31, 2021. 

Legislation 

There was no legislation passed that affected the Denturist profession. 

Rules and Policies 
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The board schedules two practical (clinical) exams a year; however, their policy requires a 
minimum of five applicants to administer the practical exams. From July 1, 2019, through June 
30, 2021, the board administered 3 practical exams, and staff administered 3 written 
(computerized) exams. There were fewer clinical and written exams due to COVID and being 
allowed to give the clinical exams at Bates. The table below depicts a five-year exam summary 
based on a fiscal year. 

Fiscal Year # of applicants 
for written exam 

# passing 
written exam 

# of applicants for 
practical exam 

# passing 
practical exam 

2016   1   1                 0               0 
2017                14 14               14 11 
2018 14 14 19 13 
2019 10 10 13 8 
2020 3 2 0 0 

  



 

 

Board of Hearing and Speech 

The Board of Hearing and Speech protects the public by credentialing and disciplining hearing 
and speech professions. The board develops rules, policies, and guidelines that regulate the 
practice of audiologists, hearing aid specialists, speech-language pathologists, and speech-
language pathology assistants. The governor appoints 11 board members to serve three-year 
terms. The board consists of 2 audiologists, 2 hearing aid specialists, 2 speech-language 
pathologists, 3 public members, 1 advisory medical physician, and 1 non-voting speech-
language pathology assistant. 

 

Between  2017 – 2019 the 
board sent more notifications 
to health professionals about 
issues to be aware of and 
maintaining their continuing 
education requirements. The 
number of complaints and 
investigations authorized 
decreased slightly between 
2019 – 2021 due to the partial 
closure caused by  COVID. 

 

Most cases are settled 
through a Stipulation to 
Informal Disposition (STID), an 
informal resolution, or an 
Agreed order. When the 
board issues a Statement of 
Charges (SOC) against a 
licensee, the licensee has 20 
days in which to respond. If 
the licensee doesn’t respond, 
it is considered a default. 
There were only 2 Agreed 
Charges action during the 19-
21 biennium. This is a little out 
of normal for the profession. 

  
Rulemaking and Policy Activity  

Legislation 

The Department of Health (department), in consultation with the Board of Hearing and Speech 
(board), is considering amending WAC 246-828-025, 246-828-290, and creating a new section 
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(s) to implement ESB 5210 (chapter 183, Laws of 2019) addressing consumer notification. The 
department may also consider making technical changes or changes to improve clarity. 

The department is considering creating rules requiring health professions licensed under Title 
18 RCW to complete health equity CE training and establishing minimum standards for health 
equity CE programs to implement ESSB 5229 (Chapter 276, Laws of 2021). 
 
Engrossed Substitute House Bill (ESHB) 1551 (Chapter 76, Laws of 2020) repealed statutes 
concerning AIDS education and training for emergency medical personnel, health professionals, 
and health care facility employees. 

The purpose of this Interpretive Statement is to clarify that health care providers licensed under 
RCW 18.130.040 must take telehealth training on or after January 1, 2021, as required by RCW 
43.70.495. RCW 43.70.495 tasked the Collaborative for the Advancement of Telemedicine 
(collaborative) with designing a training program to teach health care professionals about 
telemedicine and proper billing. Substitute Senate Bill (SSB) 6061 amended the law to require 
health care professionals who provide clinical services through telemedicine to complete the 
telemedicine training designed by the collaborative or an alternative telemedicine training, as 
defined by RCW 43.70.495 (4)(a), beginning January 1, 2021. If a health care professional 
completes training, they must sign and retain an attestation.  
 
RCW 43.70.495 (2) states, “..beginning January 1, 2021, a health care professional who provides 
clinical services through telemedicine, other than a physician licensed under chapter 18.71 RCW 
or an osteopathic physician licensed under chapter 18.57 RCW, shall complete a telemedicine 
training.”  
 
The department interprets the language to mean that providers must take the training on or 
after January 1, 2021. 

Rules and Policies 

In addition to implementing ESB 5210, the board is clarifying rules to make minor updates to 
the following: WAC 246-828-020, 246-828-025, 246-828-04503, 246-828-075, 246-828-300, and 
246-828-900. 

  



 

 

Board of Massage  

The Board of Massage protects the public’s health and safety by regulating the competency and 
quality of licensed massage therapists. The governor appoints 4 massage therapists and 1 public 
member to four-year terms. The professional members must have at least three years of 
experience as a massage therapist immediately preceding the appointment. The public member 
cannot be an employee of the state or a present or former member of another licensing board. 

 

 

The department received 119 
reports alleging COVID-19 
mask violations.  Despite the 
significant number of COVID-
19 mask violations, the 
number of complaints 
decreased because the 
majority of massage therapists 
were not practicing during 
lockdown. 

 

 

 

Rulemaking and Policy Activity 

In August 2020, the board adopted rules that increased the education and training hours, 
amended the rules for transfer programs, licensure by endorsement and continuing education, 
made student clinic mandatory for training programs, and reduced the clinic supervisor to 
student ratio. To give schools time to come into compliance with the new education and 
training rule, the board set the rules’ effective date as September 1, 2021. 

In April 2021, the board opened five sections of the massage therapy rules, notifying the public 
of its intent to consider some housekeeping revisions. 

The board issued a policy statement to address the issue of massage therapists being unable to 
access in-person continuing education courses due to the COVID-19 pandemic response. 
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Legislation 

Legislation passed in 2020 requires licensed massage therapists and certified reflexologists to 
have government-issued photo identification on their person or available for inspection at all 
times while they are practicing massage or reflexology. 

 

 

  



 

 

Board of Naturopathy  

The Board of Naturopathy (board) protects public health, enhances patient safety, and fosters 
the integrity of the naturopathic physician profession. This is accomplished through licensing, 
disciplinary action, rulemaking, and education. The governor appoints 7 board members: 5 
naturopathic physicians and 2 public members. Neither public member may be affiliated with a 
health care profession or facility. 

 

The board received 36 reports 
alleging COVID-19 mask 
violations, which accounts for 
the increase in complaints for 
the 19-21 biennium. 

 

 

 
Rulemaking and Policy Activity 

Legislation 

Legislation passed during 2021 created the colon hydrotherapist profession under the authority 
of the board. The board is required to establish rules regarding education, training, and 
examination requirement, as well as a process for authorizing affiliation relationships between 
naturopathic physicians and colon hydrotherapists. 

Rules and Policies 

The board issued a policy statement to address the problem of naturopathic physicians being 
unable to access in-person continuing education courses due to the COVID-19 pandemic 
response. 
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The board received several rule petitions in 2020 and 2021 requesting amendments to the 
continuing education (CE) rules. The board granted the petitions and has started rulemaking to 
address the issues identified in the petitions, including the low number of recognized 
naturopathic CE organizations and how to properly document completion of the pharmacology 
hour requirement. 

The board has also restarted rulemaking to determine which nonsurgical cosmetic procedures 
are appropriate for naturopathic physicians to perform, as well as establish corresponding 
education and training requirements. 

  



 

 

Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission  

The Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission (NCQAC) protects the public’s health and 
safety by regulating the competency and quality of licensed practical nurses, registered nurses, 
advanced registered nurse practitioners, and nursing technicians. The purpose of the NCQAC 
includes establishing, monitoring, and enforcing licensing, consistent standards of practice, 
continuing competency mechanisms, and discipline. The governor appoints 15 commission 
members to four-year terms: 3 licensed practical nurses, 7 registered nurses, 2 advanced 
registered nurse practitioners, and 3 public members. 

 

Complaints in FY 19-21 are 
beginning to trend down 
slightly as NCQAC partnered 
with OILS to resolve duplicate 
reporting from DSHS divisions.  
However, NCQAC has seen an 
uptick in COVID-19-related 
cases since March 2020, with 
more cases opened for 
investigation at the close of 
this biennium.    

 

Additional investigators and 
staff attorneys hired at the 
very beginning of this 
biennium, (from a decision 
package in the 2019 legislative 
session,) helped resolve the 
backlog of aged cases.  While 
NCQAC does not consistently 
meet investigative timelines, 
we excel at meeting 
investigations completed, 
passing on that work to 
NCQAC Legal for adjudication.    

  

Washington Health Professional Services (WHPS) 2019-2021 Biennium Total 

Profession Total 
Mandated 

Total 
Voluntary 

Total Enrolled 
in Biennium 

Successful 
Completions 

Registered Nurse 350 44 394         108 

Licensed Practical Nurse 39 4 43           13 
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Advanced Registered Nurse 
Practitioner 12 7 19 5 

Certified Registered Nurse 
Anesthetist 8 2 10 1 

 

Nurse Technician 1 0 1 1 

 

Nursing Education 

The NCQAC approves and reviews all nursing education programs in the state of Washington and 
out-of-state distance learning programs that have clinical practice experiences. This includes 
nursing assistant training programs, alternative nursing assistant training programs, refresher 
courses, professional vocational relationship courses, undergraduate and graduate nursing 
education programs. 

The total number of nursing education programs (746) includes: 

 In-state 
 7 LPN 
 25 ADN 
 12 BSN 
 17 RNB 
 120 Post-BSN Programs 
 7 Refresher Course Programs 
 2 Professional Vocational Relationship Courses 

 

 Out-of-state programs/tracks 
 24 RN to BSN 
 2 LPN to BSN 
 411 Other graduate and undergraduate tracks 

 

 In-state 
 181 Traditional Nursing Assistant (NA) programs 
 15 Home Care Aide to NA programs 
 9 Medication Assistant to NA programs 
 4 Medication Assistant-Certified training programs 

 

Rulemaking and Policy Activity 

Legislation 

Legislation was passed in 2018 directing the NCQAC to assess the need for nurses, including 
nursing assistants, in long-term care (LTC) settings. There is an ongoing shortage of LTC 
providers in skilled nursing facilities, assisted-living facilities, and adult family homes. The 



 

 

commission was directed to make recommendations regarding recruitment, training, and 
retention challenges. The LTC Workforce Steering Committee was created and a final report 
was submitted to the Washington State Legislature in June 2021. Long-term Care Workforce 
Development Final Report (wa.gov). Because the commission regulates training for nursing 
assistants, and with appropriated funding (see ESSB 5092 below), the NCQAC will develop and 
implement the Home Care Aide to Nursing Assistant to Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) 
apprenticeship pathway. Other work to be done includes curriculum changes, providing 
technical assistance for existing nursing assistant training programs, changing student testing 
methods, working with interested parties on rules, and beginning to implement the LPN 
apprenticeship pathway.  
 
In 2020, there were no bills passed with a significant impact on the NCQAC. The following are 
the 2021 bills with implications for the commission. 
 

Profession WAC Sections Purpose Status 

Advanced Registered 
Nurse Practitioner 

 

Legislation 

SHB 1445 

Effective 7/25/2021 

N/A 1445-S.PL.pdf (wa.gov) 
The definition of 
compounding for 
pharmacy practice  

Both the patient and the 
prescriber must authorize 
the use of a compounded 
product before it can be 
substituted for a 
commercially available 
product. 

 

Note: The law may 
require a new NCQAC 
advisory opinion. 

Nursing Assistants 

 

Legislation 

ESHB 1120 effective 
5/10/2021 

 

(Standard rulemaking) 

Chapter 246-841 WAC 
amend 

Chapter 246-842 WAC 
repeal 

1120-S.SL.pdf (wa.gov) 
Emergency operations 
impacting long-term 
services and supports 

 

CR-101 

WSR: 21-05-021 

Filed: 2/8/2021 

 

Note: The Nursing 
Assistant Program 
Approval Panel (NAPAP) 
is drafting language for 
interested parties to 
consider in public 
workshops. The language 
will align with legislation 
and federal timeline 
requirements.  

 

Advanced Registered 
Nurse Practitioners 

N/A 1196-S.SL.pdf (wa.gov) 
Audio-Only Telemedicine 

The Office of the 
Insurance Commissioner 

https://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/6000/2021LTCWorkforceDevelopmentReport.pdf
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/6000/2021LTCWorkforceDevelopmentReport.pdf
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/House%20Passed%20Legislature/1445-S.PL.pdf?q=20210616122510
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/1120-S.SL.pdf?q=20210616114125
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2021/05/21-05-021.htm
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/1196-S.SL.pdf


 

 

 

Legislation 

ESHB 1196 effective 

7/25/2021 

 (OIC) is engaged in 
rulemaking. The DOH and 
independent 
commissions are being 
asked to be part of the 
process.  

 

Registered Nurses, 
Licensed Practical Nurses, 
Advanced Registered 
Nurse Practitioners, 
Nurse Technicians 

 

Legislation 

ESSB 5229 effective 
7/25/2021 

 

(Standard rulemaking) 

 

N/A 5229-S.SL.pdf (wa.gov) 
Health Equity & 
Continuing Competency 

 

CR-101  

WSR# 21-20-011 

Filed: 9/23/2021 

 

Note: HSQA is taking the 
lead and a 
representative(s) of 
NCQAC is participating in 
development.  

Health Care Assistants, 
Nursing Assistants 
Certified, Licensed 
Practical Nurses  

 

Legislation 

ESSB 5092 effective 
5/18/2021 

 

N/A 5092-S.SL.pdf (wa.gov) 
Operating Budget: 
Apprenticeship Pathway 

$450,000 of the general 
fund—state 
appropriation for fiscal 
year 2022 is provided 
solely for the nursing care 
quality assurance 
commission, in 
collaboration with the 
workforce training and 
education coordinating 
board, and the 
Department of Labor and 
Industries, to plan a 
home care aide to 
nursing assistant certified 
to licensed practical 
nurse (HCA-NAC-LPN) 
apprenticeship pathway.  

 

Registered Nurses, 
Licensed Practical Nurses, 
Advanced Registered 
Nurse Practitioners, 
Nurse Technicians 

 

Legislation 

N/A 5092-S.SL.pdf (wa.gov) 
Operating Budget: 
NCQAC Performance 
Audit 

The Washington nursing 
commission will contract 
with the state auditor’s 
office to conduct 
a performance audit 
addressing the length of 
time required to license 

http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/5229-S.SL.pdf?q=20210616111728
https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2021/20/21-20-011.htm
https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/5092-S.SL.pdf?q=20211014114117
https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/5092-S.SL.pdf?q=20211014114117


 

 

ESSB 5092 effective 
5/18/2021 

 

individuals who come 
from other states.  

Registered Nurses, 
Licensed Practical Nurses, 
Advanced Registered 
Nurse Practitioners, 
Nurse Technicians 

 

Legislation 

ESSB 5092 effective 
5/18/2021 

 

N/A 5092-S.SL.pdf (wa.gov) 
Operating Budget: 
Timely Licensure 
Processing 

The commission must 
hire sufficient staff to 
process applications for 
nursing licenses so that 
the time required for 
processing does not 
exceed seven days 

 
Rules  

Profession WAC Sections Purpose Status 

NT, LPN, RN, ARNP, NA 

 

Aids Education & Training 

 

(Expedited rulemaking) 

 

WAC 246-840-025, 030, 
045, 090, 539, 541, 860, 
905, 246-841-490, 
578,585 and 610 

Section 22, paragraph 
(11) of ESHB 1551 repeals 
RCW 70.24.270-Health 
Professionals-Rules for 
AIDS education and 
training. 

CR-103P 

WSR: 21-04-016 

Filed: 1/22/2021 

Effective 

2/22/2021 

NT, LPN, RN 

 

Continuing Competency 

 

(Standard rulemaking) 

WAC 246-840-111, 120, 
125, and 200 through 260 

Adopted amendments to 
the continuing 
competency rules and 
requirements for active, 
inactive, expired, and 
retired active credential 
statuses.  

 

CR-103P 

WSR: 21-11-032 

Filed: 5/12/2021 

Effective 

6/12/2021 

NT, LPN, RN, ARNP 

 

Emergency to Permanent 
Rules 

 

(Standard rulemaking) 

WAC 246-840-365, 367, 
533, 930 

Create permanent rules 
from some of the 
previous emergency 
rules. The NCQAC first 
adopted emergency rules 
in response to COVID-19 
in April 2020. They were 
refiled six more times and 
will be filed again in 
January 2022.  

 

CR-101 

WSR: 21-19-104 

Filed: 9/17/2021 

 

https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/5092-S.SL.pdf?q=20211014114117
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2021/04/21-04-016.htm
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2021/11/21-11-032.htm
https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2021/19/21-19-104.htm


 

 

NT, LPN 

 

Practice Opportunities 

 

(Standard rulemaking) 

WAC 246-840-010, 840, 
850, 860, 905  

Allow LPN students 
practice opportunities as 
nurse technicians.  

CR-102 

WSR 21-20-058 

Filed: 9/28/2021 

 

Note: Workshops 10/5, 
9/2020. 

NCQAC approved rule 
language for (CR-102) on 
3/12/2021. A hearing is 
scheduled for 
11/12/2021. 

 

NA Standards of Practice 
&  

 

NAC Training Program 
Standards 

 

(Standard rulemaking) 

Chapter 246-841 WAC 
(amend) 

 

Chapter 246-842 WAC 
(repeal) 

Legislated work by 
NCQAC with key 
interested parties in 
2018-2020, resulting in a 
final Long-Term Care 
Report to the Legislature 
(June 2021) confirmed 
the need for updating 
rules.  

 

CR-101 

WSR: 21-05-021 

Filed: 2/8/2021 

 

Note: The Nursing 
Assistant Program 
Approval Panel (NAPAP) 
is drafting language for 
interested parties to 
consider in public 
workshops. 

 

ARNP, 

LPN, RN 

 

 

Scope of Practice 

 

(Standard rulemaking) 

WAC 246-840-300, 700 
through 710, other 
related sections in 246-
840 WAC 

The rules were opened in 
response to an April 3, 
2018, petition regarding 
an advisory opinion on 
medical acupuncture: 
Scope of practice for 
advanced registered 
nurse practitioners 
(NCAO 12.00), requesting 
the commission allow 
additional stakeholder 
involvement and consider 
adopting enforceable 
rules.  

 

CR-101 

WSR: 19-15-092 

Filed: 7/22/2019 

 

Note: Advanced Practice 
Subcommittee receiving 
feedback from the Long-
term Care community. 

RN, LPN, ARNP, NA, NT 

 

Legislation 

N/A 5229-S.SL.pdf (wa.gov) 
Health Equity & 
Continuing Competency 

The law requires 
rulemaking authorities 
for each health 

CR-101 

WSR# 21-20-011 

Filed: 9/23/2021 

 

https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2021/20/21-20-058.htm
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2021/05/21-05-021.htm
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2019/15/19-15-092.htm
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/5229-S.SL.pdf?q=20210616111728
https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/law/wsr/2021/20/21-20-011.htm


 

 

ESSB 5229 effective 
7/25/2021 

 

(Standard rulemaking) 

profession to adopt rules 
requiring a licensee to 
complete health equity 
continuing education 
training at least once 
every 4 years.  

 

Note: HSQA is taking the 
lead and a 
representative(s) of 
NCQAC is participating in 
development. After 
model rules are 
developed, NCQAC will 
begin a rulemaking 
process. 

 

NT, LPN, RN, ARNP 

 

Fees 

 

(Standard rulemaking) 

 

WAC 246-840-990 The Secretary of the 
Department of Health, in 
consultation with NCQAC, 
is considering an increase 
in licensure fees for 
professions under its 
regulation.  

CR-101 to be filed in 2021 

WSR: 

Filed: 

 

Note: The NCQAC voted 
at the 9/9/2021 meeting 
to begin the standard 
rulemaking process. 

 

ARNP 

 

Prescriptive Authority 
included in Licensure 

 

(Standard rulemaking) 

 

 Prescriptive authority for 
Advanced Registered 
Nurse Practitioners would 
be an opt-out option 
instead of a request for 
the authority at the time 
of licensure, as it is now. 

CR-101 to be filed in 2021 

WSR: 

Filed: 

 

Note: The NCQAC voted 
at the 9/9/2021 meeting 
to begin the standard 
rulemaking process. 

 

 

 

 

  



 

 

Board of Nursing Home Administrators  

The mission and purpose of the Board of Nursing Home Administrators is to protect the health 
of the people of Washington. The board does this through the proper licensing of nursing home 
administrators, and by enforcing the nursing home administrators practice act and other laws 
governing the professional behavior of its licensees. The board consists of 4 licensed nursing 
home administrators, 4 health care professionals and 1 public member, who all serve five-year 
terms. 

 

Complaints are received from 
many sources, including 
patients or patients’ relatives, 
other health care 
professionals, facility surveys, 
and complaints made to other 
agencies and forwarded to the 
board. The decrease in the 
number of complaints for FY 
19-21 may be due to relatives 
not being in the nursing home 
setting during COVID, as well 
as DSHS suspending surveys 
for a while during the COVID 
pandemic. 

 

The board had a smaller 
number of actions during FY 
19-21. This is likely because 
the number of complaints was 
down during this time frame, 
as well as the suspension of 
continuing education audits 
during the COVID pandemic. 

 

Rulemaking and Policy Activity  

Legislation 

No legislation passed during the 19-21 biennium related specifically to the board. However, 
ESSB 5229, passed by the legislature in 2021, does require all health care professions to adopt 
rules relating to continuing education relating to equity and the board will work on this during 
the 21-23 biennium. 
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Rules and Policies 

During the COVID 19 pandemic, the board adopted emergency rules to allow the board to 
accept continuing education related to pandemic response and compliance measures. Until 
December 31, 2022, if proof of course completion is not provided for pandemic response and 
compliance measure courses earned under self-study programs, the licensee may sign an 
attestation on a form provided by the department. This rule became permanent on October 10, 
2021. 

 

  



 

 

Board of Occupational Therapy Practice  

The mandate of the Occupational Therapy Practice Board is to protect the public’s health and 
safety and to promote the welfare of the state by regulating the competency and quality of 
professional health care providers under its jurisdiction. The board accomplishes this mandate 
through a variety of activities. The governor appoints 5 members: 3 occupational therapists, 1 
occupational therapy assistant, and 1 public member. The professional members must have 
been in active practice in occupational therapy for at least five years immediately preceding 
appointment. All members must be residents of Washington State. 

 

The number of complaints has 
dropped in the past two years 
while the number of 
authorized investigations grew 
slightly. 

 

Most cases are settled through a 
Stipulation to Informal 
Disposition (STID), an informal 
resolution, or through an Agreed 
order. When the board issues a 
Statement of Charges (SOC) 
against a licensee, the licensee 
has 20 days in which to respond. 
If the licensee doesn’t respond, it 
is considered a Default order.  
 

 

Rulemaking and Policy Activity  

Legislation 

No legislation in the past two years.  

Rules and Policies 

The board amended WAC 246-847-125 to clarify the requirements for an occupational 
therapist or occupational therapy assistant applicant who has been licensed in another 
state or jurisdiction for less than two years. Previous licensing standards broadly stated that 
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30 hours of continued competency for all out-of-state applicants is required. However, the 
continued competency requirements are not required until a licensee has been licensed for 
two years.  
 
The amendments clarified that those licensed in another state or jurisdiction for less than 
two years do not need to obtain 30 hours of continued competency prior to obtaining state 
licensure. New rule language is clearer and allows Washington licensees and out-of-state 
applicants to have the same standard for continued competency. 

 
The OT Board also repealed rules related to AIDS prevention and information education due 
to Engrossed Substitute House Bill (ESHB) 1551, chapter 76, Laws of 2020, which repealed 
AIDS education and training requirements for health professionals obtaining registration, 
certification, and licensure. 

 



 

 

Board of Optometry  

The Board of Optometry protects the public by credentialing and disciplining optometrists. The 
board regulates the profession by developing rules, policies, and guidelines. The governor 
appoints 6 members (5 licensed optometrists and 1 public member) to serve three-year terms 
with the option of a consecutive three-year term. 

 

The board receives fewer 
complaints than many other 
professions. During the 
COVID-19 pandemic, though, 
the board received more 
complaints than usual.  

 

The board takes few 
enforcement actions and 
cases rarely go to a hearing. 
Cases are generally settled 
through a stipulation to 
informal disposition (STID), an 
informal resolution, or 
through an Agreed order. 

 

Rulemaking and Policy Activity  

The Board of Optometry adopted a new rule to implement House Bill 2411 that requires 
optometrists to take a one-time training in suicide assessment that is at least three hours in 
length. This training must be completed by the end of the first full 2-year continuing education 
reporting period that starts after August 1, 2021. Acceptable training must be on the 
department's model list as authorized in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 14. The rule became 
effective on October 1, 2021.   

The Board of Optometry adopted a policy about the completion of continuing education 
requirements during the COVID-19 Response. The policy became effective May 18, 2020. 
Licensees may accrue up to 50 hours of CE through unrestricted use of live courses attended 
remotely or self-directed study during the state declared emergency.  
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Legislation 

In 2020, the legislature passed House Bill 2411, which requires the Board of Optometry to 
adopt rules that require optometrists to take a one-time training in suicide assessment after 
August 1, 2021. Acceptable trainings must be on the department's model list of Suicide 
Prevention Trainings for Health Professionals.   

In 2021, the legislature passed Senate Bill 5229, which requires optometrists and other health 
professionals to complete continuing education in health equity at least once every four years. 
It requires health equity courses to teach skills that enable a health care professional to care 
effectively for patients from diverse cultures, groups, and communities, varying in race, 
ethnicity, gender identity, sexuality, religion, age, ability, and socioeconomic status. The 
rulemaking authority determines the education subject matter, the minimum and maximum 
number of hours in specified subject matter, and how to obtain approved continuing education 
programs. 

 

 

  



 

 

Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery  

The mission and purpose of the Washington State Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery 
is to protect the health of the people of Washington through the proper licensing of 
osteopathic physicians and osteopathic physician assistants. This is accomplished through the 
objective enforcement of the Osteopathic Medical Practice Act or other laws governing the 
professional behavior of its licensees. The board consists of 8 practicing osteopathic physicians, 
1 practicing osteopathic physician assistant, and 2 public members, who all serve five-year 
terms. 

 

The board received 38 
complaints related to COVID-
19 violations. This accounts 
for most of the increase in 
complaints during the 2019 to 
2021 biennium. Though 
complaints increased, the 
board authorized fewer 
investigations, which indicates 
the complaints received had 
fewer actual violations. 

 

It appears the board has an 
equal number of informal 
discipline and formal Agreed 
orders. Most cases appear to 
be settling outside of formal 
hearings, which lends to fewer 
final orders. 

 

Rulemaking and Policy Activity 

Legislation 

During the 2020 legislative session, Substitute House Bill 2378 (Chapter 80, Laws of 2020) was 
passed. This legislation moved the regulation for the osteopathic physician assistants from the 
Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery to the Washington Medical Commission (WMC). 
This legislation also removed the requirement that WMC approve delegation agreements 
between the delegating physician and the physician assistant. Rather than a delegation 
agreement, the physician and physician assistant must complete a practice agreement that is 
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maintained by the physician assistant’s employer. The legislation also provides the details that 
must be included in the practice agreement and limits the number of physician assistants that a 
physician may supervise to no more than 10. During the 2021 legislative session, Substitute 
Senate Bill 5423 (Chapter 247, Laws of 2021) was passed. This legislation allowed for 
telemedicine consults between a Washington physician and an out-of-state physician without 
requiring the out-of-state physician to hold a Washington license. 

Rules and Policies 

The board is considering adding a new rule section, WAC 246-853-655, to regulate the provision 
of anesthesia in a dental setting. 

The board is considering changes to WAC 246-853-650, which addresses safe and effective 
analgesia and anesthesia administration in office-based settings. These rule amendments would 
be to align the rules with Washington Medical Commission rules. 

In 2021, the board will be implementing SHB 2378 by repealing Chapter 246-854 WAC 
Osteopathic physicians’ assistants and Chapter 246-855 WAC Osteopathic physicians’ 
acupuncture assistants rules.  

 

 

 

 

https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/5423-S.SL.pdf?q=20211011144347
https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/5423-S.SL.pdf?q=20211011144347
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-853-650
https://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/2378-S.SL.pdf?q=20211011152236


 

 

Pharmacy Quality Assurance Commission  

The Pharmacy Quality Assurance Commission (commission) protects public health, safety, and 
welfare through licensing, regulations, and discipline of pharmacists, pharmacy interns, 
pharmacy technicians, pharmacy assistants, and a variety of pharmaceutical firms. The 
commission regulates the profession by adopting rules to establish qualifications, 
competencies, and standards of practice for dispensing, distribution, delivery, wholesaling, and 
manufacturing of drugs and devices.  

The practice of pharmacy has evolved significantly in the last 20 years, mostly due to the use of 
new technology in the delivery of health care. The commission is developing guidance 
documents for the use of innovative technology or pharmacy practices that are not specifically 
addressed in law or rule. Some requests may be slight variations of previous approvals. The 
commission plans to re-write pharmacy rules to allow pharmacists to provide care that 
improves patient outcomes and protects patient safety. The rules will be broad and flexible 
enough to not create barriers to innovation in pharmacy practice. 

 

The commission has received a 
steady number of complaints over 
the last three biennia, with a slight 
uptick observed after the 2015-
2017 biennium. In the 2019-2021 
FY, there was an increase in the 
number of investigations 
completed, compared to the 
previous biennium, because the 
nature of the complaints rose to 
the level that the commission felt 
public protection necessitated an 
investigation. 

 

The chart represents investigations 
that resulted in a request by the 
commission for legal action. The 
disposition of these cases shows an 
overall decrease in informal 
resolutions, Agreed orders, default 
orders, with no significant change 
in final orders issued since the 
2015-2017 FY.  

Decreases in the number of cases 
considered for action often results 
when violations are found to be 
below threshold and unlikely to 
reoccur and there was no patient 
harm. 
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Rulemaking and Policy Activity   

Chapter Rewrite Project: The Pharmacy Quality Assurance Commission (commission) completed 
a project to consolidate all rules in its authority into a single new chapter (chapter 246-945 
WAC), effective July 1, 2020.  

WAC 246-945-014, Electronic prescribing mandate waiver. The commission and the 
Department of Health (department) jointly adopted a new section of rule to outline the 
electronic prescribing mandate, exceptions allowing a waiver, and related waiver process as 
required by Substitute Senate Bill (SSB) 5380 passed during the 2019 legislative session. 

WAC 246-945-990 - Pharmaceutical licensing fees and renewal cycle, WAC 246-945-991 - 
Hospital pharmacy associated clinics fees and renewal cycle, and WAC 246-945-992 - Fee 
payment. The department, in consultation with the commission, adopted changes and 
recodified three sections of rule to move fees for all license types collected by the commission 
into the recently created chapter 246-945 WAC. The adopted rules also change professional 
licenses to a two-year renewal cycle and add a new fee for the registration of a remote 
dispensing site created by the passage of Substitute Senate Bill (SSB) 6086. 
 
Policies 

Policy- Enforcement of AIDS Education and Training Rules -July 1, 2020 

Guidance- Enforcement of Intern Registration Renewal Limit- October 1, 2020 

Guidance- New CE rules – Delayed Effective Date Guidance Document – July 1, 2020 

Legislation 

2020 

HB2251 (amends RCW 69.41.103) the law extends the notification requirement for pharmacists 
substituting interchangeable biological products from August 1, 2020, to August 1, 2025. 

SSB 6061 (amends RCW 43.70.945) Beginning January 1, 2021, pharmacists who provide clinical 
services through telemedicine, other than physicians and osteopathic physicians, must 
complete either a telemedicine training made available by the telemedicine collaborative; or an 
alternative telemedicine training developed by a health professional board or commission. A 
pharmacist must sign and retain an attestation that they completed the training. 

SHB2378 Eliminates the osteopathic physician assistant profession. Amends the definition of 
practitioner in RCW 69.50.101 and RCW 69.41.030, effective July 1, 2022. 

E2SSB6087 Cost-sharing requirements for coverage of insulin products. The Health Care 
Authority will monitor the price of insulin. 

ESHB2662 Reducing the total cost of insulin. Establishes a workgroup to include the pharmacy 
commission and association representing independent pharmacies, chain pharmacies, and 
others to review and design strategies to reduce the cost of and total expenditures on insulin. 

SSB6086  (RCW 18.64.600) The license of location for a pharmacy may be extended to a 
registered remote dispensing site that uses technology to dispense federally-approved 

https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-945
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-945
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-945-014
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-945-990
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-945-991
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-945-992
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/2251.SL.pdf?q=20210123180550
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/6061-S.SL.pdf?q=20210123181206
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/2662-S2.SL.pdf?q=20210123183536
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/6087-S2.SL.pdf?q=20210123181652
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/House/2662-S2.SL.pdf?q=20210123183536
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/6086-S.SL.pdf?q=20210123184627
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.64.600


 

 

medications for the treatment of opioid use disorder. The pharmacy must register each remote 
dispensing site with the commission.  The commission must adopt rules. 

SSB6088 Establishes the Prescription Drug Affordability Board (subject to appropriations). 

SSB6526 (18.64.610 and 69.70.110 ) the commission will adopt rules allowing the DOC 
pharmacy to accept returns of unit dose packages, or full or partial multiple-dose medication 
cards, from the facilities it serves and reuse the unexpired medication. The commission may 
also adopt rules to allow for the safe donation of prescription drugs, including but not limited to 
allowing pharmacy to pharmacy donations 

2019 

RCW 18.64.360 – Nonresident pharmacies. As a prerequisite to licensure and renewal, 
nonresident pharmacies must provide a copy of an inspection that has taken place within the 
last two years.  The inspection must be conducted by a program approved by the commission 
as having substantially similar standards as those conducted by the commission. 

RCW 69.50.312 – Opioid Use Disorder treatment, prevention, and related services.  Specific to 
pharmacy practice, the law allows a partial fill of opioids, and permits a pharmacist to dispense 
opioid overdose reversal medication per a collaborative drug therapy agreement, standing 
order, or protocol.  The Pharmacy Quality Assurance Commission will no longer approve 
electronic prescription communication systems in use in Washington. The electronic 
communicated prescription information must comply with state and federal laws, rules and 
regulations regarding the form, content, recordkeeping, and processing. Additionally, effective 
January 21, 2021, all prescriptions issued for controlled substances shall be transmitted 
electronically. The law includes exemptions as well as a waiver process.  A pharmacist receiving 
a written, oral, or faxed prescription is not required to verify that a prescription meets any 
exemptions and may continue to dispense and deliver the medication. 

RCW 18.64.253 – The law allows pharmacy interns as well as students of nursing, osteopath, 
and medicine to provide volunteer services direct supervision of a licensed pharmacist, licensed 
allopathic or osteopathic physician, registered nurse, or advanced registered nurse practitioner; 
provided the services are within the scope of practice of the student and the supervisor. 
Additional conditions apply. 

WAC 246-901-130 – Pharmacist to pharmacy technician ratio. The rule eliminates the standard 
ratio of three technicians to one pharmacist for all practice settings. The rule will allow 
responsible pharmacy managers to use their professional judgment to determine the 
appropriate staffing levels for their practice setting. Staffing levels must ensure satisfactory 
supervision of ancillary personnel for the safe and appropriate delivery of patient care –
effective September 14, 2019. 

Chapter 246-873A Hospital Pharmacy Associated Clinics (emergency rules) (PDF) – effective July 
22, 2019. 

  

http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/Senate%20Passed%20Legislature/6088-S.PL.pdf?q=20210123182035
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/6526-S.SL.pdf?q=20210123185057
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.64.610
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.70.110
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.64.360
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.50.312
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=18.64.253
https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=246-901-130
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/2300/2016/OTS-8053.pdf


 

 

Board of Physical Therapy  

The mandate of the Board of Physical Therapy is to protect the public’s health and safety and to 
promote the welfare of the state by regulating the competency and quality of professional 
health care providers under its jurisdiction. The board accomplishes this through a variety of 
activities. The Board of Physical Therapy is made up of 6 governor-appointed members: 4 
physical therapists, 1 physical therapist assistant, and 1 public member. The board typically 
meets every 8 weeks. 

 

During the biennium, the 
board received 77 complaints 
alleging COVID-19 related 
violations. 

 

 

 

 

Legislation 

In 2017, the Washington State Legislature passed a bill authorizing the state to participate in 
the Physical Therapy (PT) Compact. Following rulemaking by the board and implementation 
work by the department, the PT Compact began issuing privileges for physical therapists and 
physical therapist assistants to work in Washington in September 2019. As of October 2021, a 
total of 497 privileges to work in Washington have been issued, 390 of which are currently 
active. The board conducts rulemaking as necessary to keep WAC 246-915A-101 up to date 
with PT Compact rule changes.  
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The legislature passed ESHB 1551 in 2020, which included a provision removing the 
requirement for AIDS education and training for health professionals, including PTs and PTAs.  
 
Rules and Policies 

In 2019 the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) discontinued certain 
continuing competency service products that were written into WAC 246-915-085 Continuing 
competency rules. In addition, responding to public and stakeholder questions on continuing 
competency requirements, the board conducted rulemaking to address the FSBPT changes and 
to provide clarity to some of the continuing education activities. Rulemaking was concluded in 
September 2021. 
 
Rulemaking was completed to repeal WAC 246-915-110 AIDS education and training, to comply 
with ESHB 1551. While rulemaking was taking place, the board issued a policy statement saying 
that it would not enforce the HIV/AIDS training education requirements while rules were being 
repealed to comply with ESHB 1551. 
 
Rulemaking was initiated to comply with HB 2446 Physical Therapy Assistive Personnel - 
Supervision. The law modifies the definition of “physical therapy aide,” makes changes to the 
patient reevaluation schedule, and changes the supervisor-assistive personnel ratio. 
 
ESHB 2160 Physical therapists—Spinal Manipulation, which passed in 2014, included a sunset 
clause that removed the ability for PTs to receive the supervised clinical practical experience in 
spinal manipulative procedures from an out-of-state clinical supervisor who holds an 
endorsement or advanced certification. To address the change in the law, the board began 
rulemaking to repeal WAC 246-915-380 and WAC 246-915-382. The board also completed a 
required legislative report regarding the practice of spinal manipulation. The report reviewed 
five years of complaints since the endorsement was created and found no physical therapists 
have had disciplinary action taken against them for the performance of spinal manipulation that 
resulted in physical harm to a patient.  
 
A petition was received in 2020 to change the requirement of passing the TOEFL exam in a 
single sitting to submitting accumulative passing scores over a two-year period. The board 
granted the petition and started rulemaking to consider the change.  
 
  



 

 

Podiatric Medical Board  

The mission and purpose of the Podiatric Medical Board is to protect the public’s health and 
safety and promote the welfare of the state by regulating the competency and quality of 
podiatric physicians and surgeons. This is accomplished by establishing and enforcing 
qualifications for licensure and standards of practice, and where appropriate, by disciplining 
and monitoring practitioners. Only individuals who meet and maintain prescribed standards of 
competence and conduct shall be allowed to engage in the practice of podiatry as defined and 
authorized by Chapter 18.22 RCW. The board consists of 5 practicing podiatric physicians and 2 
public members, who all serve five-year terms and cannot serve more than two consecutive 
terms. 

 

The board received several 
complaint cases involving a 
potential fraud scheme. The 
board also received several 
reports alleging COVID-19 
mask violations. These factors 
account for the increase in 
complaints for the 19-21 
biennium. 

 

 

 

Rulemaking and Policy Activity  

Legislation 

Legislation passed during 2020 added one professional member and one public member to the 
board. 

Rules and Policies 
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The board issued a policy statement to address the problem of podiatric physicians being 
unable to access in-person continuing medical education courses due to the COVID-19 
pandemic response. 

For rulemaking, the board is considering amendments to their continuing medical education 
rules to address issues of clarification, as well as to recognize the shift in how specialty boards 
are structuring maintenance of certification.  



 

 

Examining Board of Psychology  

The mission of the board is to protect the public. This mission is accomplished through licensing 
and disciplining psychologists. The board also develops rules, policies, and guidelines regulating 
the practice of psychology. The governor appoints 9 board members to serve five-year terms. 
The board consists of 7 psychologists and 2 public members. 

 

The number of complaints and 
investigations increased 
during biennium 17-19 and 
decreased during biennium 
FY19-21. 

 

The board has few formal 
hearings.  Cases are generally 
settled through a Stipulation 
to Informal Disposition (STID) 
or through an Agreed order.  
Both the STID and the Agreed 
order are subject to national 
data bank reporting.  
Psychology cases tend to 
require expert witnesses.   

 

Rulemaking and Policy Activity  

Legislation 

In 2020, the legislature passed ESHB 1551, which repealed the statute requiring AIDS training 
for multiple professions, including psychologists. The legislature also passed ESHB 2411, which 
sets standards for the second required continuing education class on suicide intervention.   

In 2021, the legislature passed SB 5229, which requires a health equity continuing education 
class for multiple health professions, including psychology.  The board is currently working with 
the other impacted health professions to write administrative rules to implement the bill. 

Rules and Policies 
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The CR-103 to implement ESHB 1551 and ESHB 2411 was filed on June 1, 2020.  It repealed the 
AIDS training requirement and put into administrative rule specific requirements for the second 
required continuing education on suicide intervention. 

The CR-103 to implement ESHB 1768 and SB 5054 was filed on April 12, 2021. The CR-103 also 
included administrative rules governing telemedicine and licensure requirements for practicum, 
exams, and temporary permits. These changes improve the licensure process for applicants 
while ensuring consistent licensure standards for the safety of Washington state residents. 

 

  



 

 

Washington Medical Commission  

The Washington Medical Commission (WMC) promotes patient safety and enhances the 
integrity of the profession through licensing, discipline, rulemaking, and education. The 
governor appoints 21 commission members to four-year terms: 13 physicians, 2 physician 
assistants, and 6 public members to pursue work furthering the governor’s goal of healthy and 
safe communities. Complaints come from a variety of sources. These sources include: the 
public, mandatory medical malpractice reports from insurance companies, adverse action 
reports from medical societies, hospitals, medical service bureaus, professional standards 
review organizations, federal, state, and local agencies.  
 

 

In this biennium, the WMC 
received and presented 3,148 
complaints for assessment, 33.7 
percent of which were authorized 
for investigation. The WMC 
completed 1,063 investigations 
during this period, which is 28.5% 
fewer cases completed. Fewer 
investigations were completed 
this biennium due to the 
complications imposed by COVID.  

 

During this biennium, the WMC 
issued 115 Stipulation to Informal 
Dispositions (STIDs), which do not 
require admission of wrongdoing 
by the licensee. Ninety-nine 
percent of the orders issued 
(formal discipline) complied with 
the sanction schedule guidelines, 
which makes for clearer and more 
consistent regulatory outcomes. 

 

Rulemaking and Policy Activity  

• The WMC issued a position statement on racism in all its forms being a public health 
issue.  

• The WMC completed rulemaking and reformed policies and procedures to 
accommodate the new physician assistant laws. This includes the removal of the WMC 
requirement to approve practice agreements.  
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• The WMC adopted amendments to establish patient notification, documentation, 
counseling requirements, and the right to refuse an opioid prescription or order for any 
reason when prescribing opioids. 

• The WMC is considering creating new rule sections to regulate the use of stem cell 
therapy. 

Legislation 

• Launched the Clinical Experience license created by 2021 House Bill 1129. 
• ESHB 1551 Repeal of HIV/AIDS Training Requirements 

  



 

 

Veterinary Board of Governors  

The Veterinary Board of Governors protects the public by credentialing and disciplining 
veterinarians, veterinary technicians, and veterinary medication clerks. The board regulates the 
professions by developing rules, policies, and guidelines. The governor appoints 7 members – 5 
licensed veterinarians, 1 licensed veterinary technician, and 1 public member – to serve five-
year terms. 

 

The number of complaints 
received and investigated 
steadily increased during the 
past 4 years. 

 

Most cases are settled 
through a Stipulation to 
Informal Disposition (STID) or 
through an Agreed order. The 
number of these disposition 
documents has been 
increasing from biennium to 
biennium.  

 

Rulemaking and Policy Activity  

The Veterinary Board of Governors adopted a policy regarding the completion of continuing 
education requirements during the COVID-19 response. Veterinarians and veterinary 
technicians can use an unrestricted number of hours through teaching or preprogrammed 
materials to meet the CE requirements. The policy became effective in May 2020 and is 
currently effective until the end of the declared state emergency.  

The Veterinary Board of Governors adopted a policy that became effective May 18, 2020, 
regarding the establishment of a veterinary-client-patient relationship (VCPR). In the current 
rule (WAC 246-933-200(2)) veterinarians are prohibited from establishing a VCPR solely through 
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telemedicine and they are required to have examined the animal patient within the previous 
year. For the duration of the COVID-19 state declared emergency, the board does not intend to 
strictly enforce the requirement in WAC 246-933-200(2). Even so, veterinarians must exercise 
professional judgment to determine whether establishing a VCPR remotely is appropriate. For 
example, diagnosing and treating a condition that may not require a hands-on examination 
could be reasonable; diagnosing and treating a condition that requires a hands-on examination 
or diagnostic testing is probably not.  

Legislation 

In 2020, the legislature passed House Bill 2411, which requires the Veterinary Board of 
Governors to adopt rules that require veterinarians to take a one-time training in suicide 
assessment after August 1, 2021. Acceptable trainings must be on the department's model list 
of Suicide Prevention Trainings for Health Professionals.   

In 2020, the legislature passed Senate Bill 5004, which allows animal care and control agencies 
and nonprofit humane societies to provide additional veterinary services to low-income 
households. It required The Veterinary Board of Governors to establish annual reporting 
requirements demonstrating that animal care and control agencies and nonprofit humane 
societies are serving only low-income households. 

In 2021, the legislature passed Senate Bill 5229, which requires optometrists and other health 
professionals to complete continuing education in health equity at least once every four years. 
Requires health equity courses to teach skills that enable a health care professional to care 
effectively for patients from diverse cultures, groups, and communities, varying in race, 
ethnicity, gender identity, sexuality, religion, age, ability, and socioeconomic status. The 
rulemaking authority determines the education subject matter, the minimum and maximum 
number of hours in specified subject matter, and how to obtain approved continuing education 
programs. 
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