Health News Release

For immediate release: September 23, 2022 (22-147)

Contact: Sharon Moysiuk, Communications 360-549-6471

Public inquiries: Health Systems Customer Service 360-236-4700

State disciplines health care providers

OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or withdrawn charges against the following health care providers in our state.

The department's Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions, and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., dentists, nurses, counselors). Information about disciplinary action taken against medical doctors and physician assistants can be found on the Washington Medical Commission (WMC) website. Questions about WMC disciplinary actions can be sent to medical@wmc.wa.gov.

Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on "Look up a health care provider license" in the "How Do I?" section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov). The site includes information about a health care provider's license status, the expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and report their complaint.

Benton County

In July 2022 the Pharmacy Commission denied the pharmacy technician credential application of **Briana Ang Gutierrez** (VB61079103). In 2020, Gutierrez was charged with driving under the influence, reckless endangerment, and resisting arrest in Yakima County District Court. Gutierrez did not return an agreement requiring conditions on her license.

Clark County

In August 2022 the Certified Counselor and Substance Use Disorder Programs ordered that the certified counselor and substance use disorder professional license of **Jesse Allen James** (CL61019010, CP00006269) be placed on at least 24 months probation. James may not engage in solo practice as a counselor for 24 months, must pay a \$500 fine, submit to quarterly review, and complete 12 hours of continuing education in the area of law and ethics. In 2021 James was found by audit to have inaccurately recorded time spent with patients.

In September 2022 the Nursing Commission charged licensed practical nurse **Simon Peter Walusimbi** (LP60829583) with unprofessional conduct. In 2022, Walusimbi was convicted of failing to perform the duties of a driver (property damage) in the state of Oregon.

Disciplinary actions September 23, 2022 Page 2

Cowlitz County

In August 2022 the Nursing Commission ended conditions on the registered nurse credential of **Thomas Lloyd Jones Jr.** (RN60222011).

Grays Harbor County

In August 2022 the Nursing Commission ended conditions on the advanced registered nurse practitioner and registered nurse credentials of **Jennifer A. Clingenpeel** (AP30007086, RN00158720).

Kitsap County

In August 2022 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse **Beverly Michelle Johnson** (RN60657980) with unprofessional conduct. In 2021, Johnson allegedly returned from her lunch break at a skilled nursing facility impaired by alcohol use.

King County

In September 2022 the Nursing Commission charged licensed practical nurse **Absolom Ngomi Wangige** (LP00058906) with unprofessional conduct. Wangige allegedly practiced as a licensed practical nurse while this credential was expired and failed to respond to the Commission's requests for a statement and documents.

Pierce County

In August 2022 the secretary of health granted with conditions the respiratory therapist credential of **Anthony Bryant** (LR61280911). Bryant agreed to the conditions, which include participation in a recovery program with one to five years of substance screening. From 2016 to 2018, Bryant was charged with three counts of driving under the influence, one count of driving without an ignition interlock device, and one count of alteration of identifying marks on a firearm.

Spokane County

In July 2022 the secretary of health denied the substance use disorder professional trainee credential application of **Amanda Louise Carrell** (CO61279480). In 2019 Carrell pled guilty to attempted theft and vehicle prowling.

In September 2022 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse **Brandelyn Lynette Betts** (RN60401556) with unprofessional conduct. In 2019, Betts allegedly removed controlled substances for patients without documenting any administration and, in 2020, was convicted of eluding, and possession of a controlled substance in Idaho.

Thurston County

In August 2022 the secretary of health granted with conditions the agency affiliated counselor credential of **Reggie Renido Parker** (CG61278133). Parker agreed to 24 months probationary supervision. In 2018 Parker was convicted of two counts of driving under the influence.

Disciplinary actions September 23, 2022 Page 3

In August 2022 the secretary of health issued a cease-and-desist order to **Chelsea Alysse Headrick**. Headrick is ordered to no longer engage in the practice of massage unless she obtains appropriate licensure, and to pay a fine of \$1,000.

In August 2022 the secretary of health issued a cease-and-desist order to **Cheng Liu**. Liu is ordered to no longer engage in the practice of massage without appropriate licensure, and to pay a fine of \$1,000.

Whatcom County

In August 2022 the secretary of health denied the pharmacy assistant credential application of **Emily Ann Skondin** (VB61253966). From 2015 to 2019, Skondin was convicted of theft, driving under the influence under 21, and reckless driving. Skondin did not comply with a substance use evaluation required with her application.

Out of State

Kansas: In July 2022 the secretary of health denied the surgical technologist credential application of **Nicholas James Henry** (ST61214753). Between 2009 and 2019, Henry was convicted of three counts of driving under the influence. Henry did not comply with a substance use evaluation required with his application.

North Carolina: In September 2022 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse **Kristy Ann Linerud** (RN00124887) with unprofessional conduct. In 2020, Linerud allegedly agreed to participate in a substance use monitoring program and, in 2021, allegedly failed to report to the Commission a 2021 conviction for driving under the influence.

Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing.

The <u>DOH website</u> is your source for *a healthy dose of information*. <u>Find us on Facebook</u> and <u>follow us on Twitter</u>. Sign up for the DOH blog, <u>Public Health Connection</u>.

###