

STATE OF WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Olympia, Washington 98504

Guidance Document: Dispensing Optician Apprentice

June 2022



DOH 600-090 September 2022

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127. Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov.

Para solicitar este documento en otro formato, llame al 1-800-525-0127. Las personas con sordera o problemas de audición deben llamar al 711 (servicio de relé de Washington) o enviar un correo electrónico a civil.rights@doh.wa.gov.

The purpose of this document is to provide guidance and resource information on dispensing optician apprenticeship in Washington State.

Apprenticeship is one of three methods used to gain eligibility for dispensing optician licensure. A person must be registered with the secretary of the Department of Health before working as an apprentice dispensing optician. To be eligible for dispensing optician licensure, an apprentice must complete at least 6,000 hours of certified apprenticeship training in no less than three years, but no more than six years. The apprentice registration credential is for a six-year period from the date the credential is active. For example, if an apprentice credential is active on 12/01/2022 - 12/01/2028. The apprentice credential is not renewable after the six-year allotted period.

Sections:

- 1) Recommended Training Plan Options 3-6 Years
- 2) Training Tools
 - a) Informal assessments to measure apprentice progress, knowledge, and skill level
 - b) Establish a periodic review of apprenticeship hours completed
 - c) Exam Preparation
- 3) Important Information for both apprentices and supervisors
- 4) Statutes and Rules (RCW/WAC)
- 5) Applications and Forms
- 6) Resources

Recommended Training Plan Options 3 – 6 Years

Frequently referenced statutes and rules related to apprentices begin on page 13 of this guideline.

Recommended Training Topics and Tasks Adjust Plan 3 – 6 years as needed						
Year	Month 1-2	Month 3-4	Month 5-6	Month 7-8	Month 9-10	Month 11-12
Year 1 Monthly review of apprenticeship hours with	Ocular Anatomy & Basic principles / Ocular conditions and related visual	Lens Parameter Power/material Measurement for	Informal assessment/ frame section, frame parts, materials, proper	Measuring for prism, progressive additional lenses, lined bifocals,	Troubleshooting glasses prescription, and fittings	Informal assessment for training received to date Review
Supervisor	symptoms Review of the ANSI standards Review of the math requirements Review RCW 18.34/WAC 246- 824 applicable	segment height/width, optical center, base curve, pupillary distance Introduction to lensometer ABO-NOCE Practice Exam	frame, and prescription Submit hours to DOH	single and near vision distance ABO-NOCE Practice Exam	Introduction to soft and hard contact lenses (CL)	apprenticeship hours Full time/Part time 2000 hrs./1000 hrs. Pass ABO-NOCE Exam Submit hours to DOH
Year 2	laws Optical and Contact Lens (CL) terminology, and basic science, physiology, and chemistry	Eyeglass identification and CL identification Application to hard lenses, CL	CL design and materials Orientation and general knowledge in fitting	Introduction to slit lamp, keratometer, radiuscope, hands on glasses, and CL practical	Methods of Illumination Use of fluorescein for CL recognizing common corneal	Informal assessment for glasses and contact lenses training received to date Review apprenticeship hours,

	Application to soft lenses. CL cleaning and specifications CL optics and application	cleaning and specifications NCLE Practice Exam	Submit hours to DOH	NCLE Practice Exam	stains, lens- corneal relationships, and slit lamp illuminations	determine if on target for completion within 3 or 6 years Full time/Part time 4000 hrs./ 2000 hrs.
	Daview DOW					Submit hours to DOH
	Review RCW 18.34/WAC 246- 824 applicable laws					Confirm with DOH the number of completed hours reported
						Pass NCLE Exam
Year 3	Review:	Review:	Review:	Review:	Review:	Assessment for complete training to
	Ocular anatomy and Basic	Frame section, frame parts,	Measuring for prism,	CL optics and application of	Equipment	date
	principles	materials, proper frame	progressive additional lenses,	soft and hard lenses	Methods of illumination	Review apprenticeship hours,
	Ocular conditions and related visual	prescription	lined bifocals, single and near	CL design and		determine if on target for completion within
	symptoms	Power/material. Measurement for	vision distance	materials		3 or 6 years
	Lens Parameter	Segment height/width,	Troubleshooting	General knowledge fitting		Full time/Part time 6000 hrs./ 3000 hrs.
	Review RCW 18.34/WAC 246-	optical center, base curve,	Submit hours to	CL, cleaning, identification		Pass Practical ABOP
	824 applicable laws	pupillary distance	DOH			Exam

		Practical ABOP Practice Exam		Practical ABOP Practice Exam	Submit hours to DOH Confirm with DOH the number of completed hours reported
Year 4	Review RCW 18.34/WAC 246- 824 applicable laws		Submit hours to DOH		Review apprenticeship hours, determine if on target for completion within 6 years Part time/4000 hrs.
Year 5	Review RCW 18.34/WAC 246- 824 applicable laws		Submit hours to DOH		Submit hours to DOHReviewapprenticeship hours, determine if on target for completion within 6 yearsPart time/5000 hrs.Submit hours to DOH
Year 6 – Apprentice Credential Expires at 6 years. Apprentice must complete 6000 hours and	Review RCW 18.34/WAC 246- 824 applicable laws		Submit hours to DOH		Verify completed hours Submit Apprentice Training Certificate Confirm with DOH the number of

become licensed within the 6-years			completed hours reported
			Part time/6000 hrs.
			Apply for Dispensing Optician License

Apprenticeship Training

WAC 246-824-020 Registration of apprentices.

(1) The primary supervisor shall apply for registration of an apprentice on forms provided by the secretary.

- On Paper: <u>Apprentice License Application Packet (PDF)</u>
- Online: Dispensing Optician Apprentice Apply Online

(2) Separate registrations shall be required if an individual receives his or her apprenticeship training from more than one primary supervisor.

(3) Once registered by the primary supervisor, the apprentice may thereafter, at the business or place of employment of the primary supervisor, receive training and direct supervision from a physician, optometrist, or dispensing optician. No physician, optometrist or dispensing optician may have more than two apprentices in training or under their direct supervision at any one time.

(4) Only the apprenticeship training received subsequent to the date the apprentice was formally registered with the secretary will be credited toward the required 6,000 apprenticeship hours. No apprentice may engage in the work of a dispensing optician unless formally registered as an apprentice with the secretary. An apprentice must complete his or her apprenticeship training in no less than three or no more than six years.

(5) An individual registered by the Washington State Apprenticeship and Training Council or other similar program with substantially equivalent standards administered by an agency of the state of Washington may have dispensing optician training hours credited toward the required 6,000 apprenticeship hours, if:

- (a) The program is approved by the secretary;
- (b) The apprentice received training and direct supervision from a licensed physician, optometrist or dispensing optician; and

(c) The apprentice is formally registered as an apprentice with the secretary by the licensed physician, optometrist or dispensing optician who has provided or does provide the supervision referred to in (b) of this subsection.

(6) The primary supervisor and registered apprentice shall maintain a record of all apprenticeship hours. This record shall be verified by initial of both the primary supervisor and apprentice and shall be available upon request by the secretary or secretary's designee.

• Apprenticeship Log (PDF)

(7) The primary supervisor shall notify the secretary whenever the apprenticeship training is terminated and provide the total number of apprenticeship hours accumulated during the training period.

• <u>Apprentice Training Certification (PDF)</u>

WAC <u>246-824-010</u> Definitions.

(1) "Secretary" means the secretary of the department of health.

(2) "Primary supervisor" is a physician licensed under chapter <u>18.57</u> or <u>18.71</u> RCW, an optometrist licensed under chapter <u>18.53</u> RCW, or a dispensing optician licensed under chapter <u>18.34</u> RCW, who is responsible for the acts of the apprentice and provides the majority of the training and direct supervision received by the apprentice.

(3) "One year of apprenticeship" is 2,000 hours of training under the supervision of a licensed physician, optometrist, or dispensing optician.

(4) "Direct supervision" means the supervising optometrist, physician, or dispensing optician shall:(a) Inspect a substantial portion of the apprentice's work;

(b) Be physically present on the premises where the apprentice is working and available for consultation with the apprentice a minimum of 80% of the time claimed as apprenticeship training; and

(c) When fitting or adjusting contact lenses, "direct supervision" means the supervising optician, optometrist, or physician inspect all the apprentice's work and be physically present on the premises at all times.

Training Tools

Informal assessments to measure apprentice progress, knowledge, and skill level

- Semiannual
- Annual

Establish periodic review of apprenticeship hours completed:

- Primary supervisor submits completed Apprenticeship Training Certificate to the Department of Health every six months. Use Apprenticeship Log to track hours.
- Apprentice may verify total hours reported from current and previous supervisors by contacting the Department of Health.

Examination Preparation

ABO-NCLE Examination Preparation

NAO Examination Preparation

American Board of Opticianry Practice Exam (ABOP) https://abop.org/

National Academy of Opticianry's (NAO) Career Progression Program

• NAO EDUCATION & TESTING MATERIALS – NAO

ABO-NCLE Examination Study Materials (abo-ncle.org)

American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Prescription Ophthalmic Lenses

• ANSI Quick Reference Guide - 2020

Important Information

Apprentice

• Apprentice Registration

An application and fee for registration is required. Registration of an apprentice must be requested by a physician licensed under <u>chapter 18.57</u> or <u>chapter 18.71</u> RCW, an optometrist licensed under <u>chapter 18.53</u> RCW, or a dispensing optician licensed under <u>chapter 18.34</u> RCW. It is a joint application of the primary supervisor and apprentice.

• Apprentice Responsibilities

- Submit new application and fee every time there is change in primary supervisor.
- Confirm with the Department of Health that the new primary supervisor has been approved and active. New supervisor must be approved before counting hours under new supervisor.
- Verify and approve completed logged hours with primary supervisor.
- Verify Apprentice Training Certificate was submitted to Department of Health when change in primary supervisor.
- Submit completed apprentice hours every six months, using the <u>Apprentice Training</u> <u>Certification and completed logged hours form</u>.
- Ensure primary supervisor is physically present on the premises where the apprentice is working and available for consultation with the apprentice a minimum of 80% of the time claimed as apprenticeship training.
- Ensure primary supervisor is physically present on the premises at all times and inspect work when fitting or adjusting contact lenses.

• Change in Primary Supervisor

An individual must be registered under a primary supervisor to work as an apprentice. If the primary supervisor is no longer able to act as the apprentice's primary supervisor for any reason, you may not continue to work as an apprentice. A new application and fee must be submitted to the Department of Health to register the apprentice under a new primary supervisor. The secretary of health must approve the application before the apprentice may begin working as an apprentice under the new primary supervisor. It is recommended that the apprentice confirm with the Department of Health that the new primary supervisor has been approved and active. You may add a new primary supervisor prior to removing a primary supervisor so you can continue counting apprenticeship hours.

When the supervisor will no longer act as the primary supervisor, they must complete, and send in, the <u>Apprentice Training Certification</u> to the Department of Health. The training certification must show the beginning and ending dates that the apprentice was under that person's supervision and must provide the number of apprenticeship hours completed during that time. To remove an apprentice from a supervisor's license, they must select the box to remove an apprentice from their license.

An apprentice may have more than one primary supervisor. Separate registrations are required if an individual receives their apprenticeship training from more than one primary supervisor. Once the Department of Health has approved the primary supervisor, the apprentice may

thereafter, at the business or place of employment of the primary supervisor, receive training and direct supervision.

• Apprentice Extension Process - RCW <u>18.34.030</u> Apprentices

RCW 18.34.030 requires apprentices complete their apprenticeship in six years and shall not work longer as an apprentice unless the secretary determines, after a hearing, that the apprentice was prevented by causes beyond their control from completing their apprenticeship and becoming a licensee hereunder in six years. An apprentice may request an extension of their apprenticeship and be granted approval if they meet the requirements under RCW 18.34.030.

To request an extension, an apprentice must provide a letter of request that contains the following information:

- ✓ Specific reason(s) for not completing apprenticeship and becoming licensed within six years;
- \checkmark Start and end date(s) applicant was unable to work as an apprentice; and
- \checkmark Amount of time that is being requested.

If there is a change in supervisor, an application and fee are required in addition to the written request for extension. For no change in supervisor, only the written request for the extension is required. The apprentice is notified when a determination has been made.

• Exemptions – Hours do not count towards apprenticeship

Work hours earned by an individual working under an exemption as described under RCW <u>18.34.010</u>, do not count towards an apprenticeship.

• Starting a New Apprenticeship

There is nothing in law that prohibits an apprentice from starting a new apprenticeship. When an apprentice completes an application to start a new apprenticeship, all hours earned under a previous apprenticeship will not be carried over or counted under the new apprenticeship.

Supervisor

• Primary Supervisor Registration

An application and fee for registration is required. Registration of an apprentice must be requested by a physician licensed under <u>chapter 18.57</u> or <u>chapter 18.71</u> RCW, an optometrist licensed under <u>chapter 18.53</u> RCW, or a dispensing optician licensed under <u>chapter 18.34</u> RCW. It is a joint application of the primary supervisor and apprentice.

• Primary Supervisor Responsibilities

- Verify and approve completed logged hours of the apprentice.
- Submit <u>Apprentice Training Certificate</u> to the Department of Health when no longer primary supervisor.
- It is recommended to submit completed apprentice hours every six months, using the <u>Apprentice Training Certification</u> and <u>completed logged hours form</u>.
- No supervisor may have more than two apprentices under their direct supervision at any one time.

- Be physically present on the premises where the apprentice is working and available for consultation with the apprentice a minimum of 80% of the time claimed as apprenticeship training.
- Be physically present on the premises at all times and inspect work when fitting or adjusting contact lenses.
- Ensure apprentice is completing didactic training.
- Be familiar with applicable RCW and WACs.
- Review applicable dispensing optician and apprenticeship RCWs and WACs with apprentice on regular schedule.

• Change in Primary Supervisor

When the supervisor will no longer act as the primary supervisor, they must complete, and send in, the <u>Apprentice Training Certification</u> to the Department of Health. The training certification must show the beginning and ending dates that the apprentice was under that person's supervision and must provide the number of apprenticeship hours completed during that time. To remove an apprentice from a supervisor's license, they must select the box on the form to remove an apprentice from their license. It is recommended you add a new primary supervisor prior to removing a primary supervisor so you can continue counting apprenticeship hours.

An apprentice may have more than one primary supervisor. Separate registrations are required if an individual receives their apprenticeship training from more than one primary supervisor. Once the Department of Health has approved the primary supervisor, the apprentice may thereafter, at the business or place of employment of the primary supervisor, receive training and direct supervision.

A new application and fee must be submitted to the Department of Health to register the apprentice under a new primary supervisor. The secretary of health must approve the application before the apprentice may begin working as an apprentice under the new primary supervisor. It is recommended that the apprentice confirm with the Department of Health that the new primary supervisor has been approved and active.

Examinations

• Examinations

Candidates will need to register for examinations directly through the ABO and NCLE. ABO, NCLE, and combined examination information is available <u>online</u>. Examination <u>Registration</u> <u>information is online</u>.

Statutes and Rules

The RCW and WAC that directly relate to dispensing opticians:

Revised Code of Washington (RCW):

- Dispensing Opticians: <u>Chapter 18.34 RCW</u>
- Consumer Access to Vision Care Act: <u>Chapter 18.195 RCW</u>

Washington Administrative Code (WAC):

- Dispensing Opticians: <u>Chapter 246-824 WAC</u>
- Consumer Access to Vision Care: <u>Chapter 246-852 WAC</u>

Frequently referenced statutes and rules related to apprentices:

	Statutes
RCW <u>18.34.010</u>	RCW <u>18.34.010</u> Licensing—Exemptions—Limitations.
Licensing—	Nothing in this chapter shall:
Exemptions—	(1) Be construed to limit or restrict a duly licensed physician or optometrist or
Limitations.	 (1) Be construct to mint of restrict a duly neclised physician of optometrist of employees working under the personal supervision of a duly licensed physician or optometrist from the practices enumerated in this chapter, and each such licensed physician and optometrist shall have all the rights and privileges which may accrue under this chapter to dispensing opticians licensed hereunder; (2) Be construed to prohibit or restrict practice by a regularly enrolled student in a prescribed course in opticianry in a college or university approved by the secretary whose performance of services is pursuant to a regular course of instruction or assignments from an instructor and under the supervision of a licensed dispensing optician, optometrist, or ophthalmologist: PROVIDED, That persons practicing under this section must be clearly identified as students; (3) Be construed to prohibit an unlicensed person from performing mechanical work upon inert matter in an optical office, laboratory, or shop; (4) Be construed to prohibit an unlicensed person from engaging in the sale of spectacles, eyeglasses, magnifying glasses, goggles, sunglasses, telescopes, binoculars, or any such articles which are completely preassembled and sold only as merchandise; (5) Be construed to authorize or permit a licensee hereunder to hold himself or herself out as being able to, or to offer to, or to undertake to attempt, by any manner of means, to examine or exercise eyes, diagnose, treat, correct, relieve, operate, or prescribe for any human ailment, deficiency, deformity, disease, or injury.
D CIVI 10 24 020	
RCW <u>18.34.020</u> Definitions.	RCW <u>18.34.020</u> Definitions. The term "secretary" wherever used in this chapter shall mean the secretary of health of the state of Washington. The term "apprentice" wherever used in this chapter shall mean a person who shall be designated an apprentice in the records of the secretary at the request of a physician, registered optometrist, or licensee hereunder, who shall thereafter be the primary supervisor of the

	apprentice. The apprentice may thereafter receive from a physician, registered optometrist, or licensee hereunder training and direct supervision in the work of a dispensing optician.
RCW <u>18.34.030</u> Apprentices.	RCW <u>18.34.030</u> Apprentices. No licensee hereunder may have more than two apprentices in training or under their direct supervision at any one time. However, the primary supervisor shall be responsible for the acts of his or her apprentices in the performance of their work in the apprenticeship program and provide the majority of the training and direct supervision received by the apprentice. Apprentices shall complete their apprenticeship in six years and shall not work longer as an apprentice unless the secretary determines, after a hearing, that the apprentice was prevented by causes beyond his or her control from completing his or her apprenticeship and becoming a licensee hereunder in six years.
RCW <u>18.34.060</u> Dispensing optician.	RCW <u>18.34.060</u> Dispensing optician. A dispensing optician is a person who prepares duplications of, or prepares and dispenses lenses, spectacles, eyeglasses and/or appurtenances thereto to the intended wearers thereof on written prescriptions from physicians or optometrists, and in accordance with such prescriptions, measures, adapts, adjusts and fabricates such lenses, spectacles, eyeglasses and/or appurtenances thereto to the human face for the aid or correction of visual or ocular anomalies of the human eye: PROVIDED, HOWEVER, That contact lenses may be fitted only upon a written prescription of a physician or optometrist.
RCW <u>18.34.070</u> Dispensing optician.	 RCW <u>18.34.070</u> Applicants—Eligibility for examination—Fee. Any applicant for a license shall be examined if he or she pays an examination fee determined by the secretary as provided in RCW 43.70.250 and certifies under oath that he or she: (1) Is eighteen years or more of age; and (2) Has graduated from an accredited high school; and (3) Is of good moral character; and (4) Has either: (a) Had at least three years of apprenticeship training; or (b) Successfully completed a prescribed course in opticianry in a college or university approved by the secretary; or (c) Been principally engaged in practicing as a dispensing optician not in the state of Washington for five years.
WAC <u>246-824-</u>	Rules WAC 246-824-010 Definitions.
010 Definitions.	 (1) "Secretary" means the secretary of the department of health. (2) "Primary supervisor" is a physician licensed under chapter <u>18.57</u> or <u>18.71</u> RCW, an optometrist licensed under chapter <u>18.53</u> RCW, or a dispensing optician licensed under chapter <u>18.34</u> RCW, who is responsible for the acts of the apprentice and

-	avail clain (c) V
e. le toward the e work of a le ing in no and nt nave nsed retary by wided or	020 Registration of apprentices.(1) T prov (2) S appr (3) C the b and c physic appr (4) C appr requ disposed secret less (5) A Train stand disposed (a) T (b) T physic (c) T the l does
s or h reafte e trainician. e. e. towar ing in and nt nave msed retary ovideo	WAC 246-824- 020 Registration of apprentices.WAA (1) T prov (2) S appr (3) C the b and c physic appr (4) C appr requidispone secret less (5) A Train stand dispone secret less (5) A Train stand dispone (a) T (b) T physic (c) T the 1 does (6) T all appr

WAC <u>246-824-</u> <u>030</u> Comments.	 (7) The primary supervisor shall notify the secretary whenever the apprenticeship training is terminated and provide the total number of apprenticeship hours accumulated during the training period. WAC <u>246-824-030</u> Comments. In order to facilitate comments on the apprentice's performance, the name, business address and business telephone number of the departmental supervisor or the supervising optician, optometrist or physician shall be posted in public view on the premises where the apprentice works.
WAC <u>246-824-</u> <u>040</u> Licensure eligibility.	 WAC 246-824-040 Licensure eligibility. To be eligible for licensure, applicants must: Be eighteen years or more of age; Graduate from an accredited high school or receive a general equivalency degree; Complete one of the following: At least six thousand hours of certified apprenticeship training that must be completed in no less than three years as required under chapter <u>18.34</u> RCW; or An accredited opticianry course as described in WAC <u>246-824-050</u>; or Been principally engaged in practicing as a dispensing optician not in the state of Washington for five years; Successfully pass one of the following examinations: The state examination offered on or before August 31, 2017; On or after June 1, 2015, the basic competency examination, basic contact lens examination, and the practical examinations from ABO-NCLE. This requirement can also be met by successfully passing the ABO-NCLE advanced competency examination, advanced contact lens examination, and the practical examinat
WAC <u>246-824-</u> <u>045</u> License application.	 WAC 246-824-045 License application. An applicant for a dispensing optician license must submit the following: (1) A completed application on forms provided by the department; (2) Proof of eligibility under WAC 246-824-040; (3) Verification of passing the examination under WAC 246-824-040(4); and (4) Fees required under WAC 246-824-990.

Applications and Forms

Dispensing optician apprentice

Apply online:

• Dispensing Optician Apprentice Apply Online

Forms

- <u>Approved Supervisor Statement (PDF)</u> Form is used when an applicant applies online (a supervisor's signature is required to be on file).
- <u>Apprentice Training Certification (PDF)</u>
- <u>Apprenticeship Log (PDF)</u>

Apply on Paper:

Application Packet

• Apprentice License Application Packet (PDF)

Forms

- <u>Apprentice Training Certification (PDF)</u>
- <u>Apprenticeship Log (PDF)</u>

Resources

Washington State Dispensing Optician Apprentice Registration and Dispensing Optician Licensure

Department of Health, Dispensing Optician Profession <u>https://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/Disp</u> <u>ensingOptician</u>

Dispensing Optician Examining Committee | Washington State Department of Health

Frequently Asked Questions | Washington State Department of Health

Laws | Washington State Department of Health

Licensing Information | Washington State Department of Health

Fees <u>WAC 246-824-990</u>:

<u>Sign up for GovDelivery</u> to receive important program updates, like rule changes that may modify license or apprenticeship requirements.

Department of Health contact information

National Examinations

American Board of Opticianry – National Contact Lens Examiners (ABO-NCLE) <u>https://www.abo-ncle.org/</u>

ABO-NCLE examination information

National Opticianry Competency Examination (NOCE)

- I. Ophthalmic Optics (25%)
- II. Ocular Anatomy, Physiology, and Pathology, and Refraction (10%)
- III. Ophthalimic Products (20%)
- IV. Instrumentation (15%)
- V. Dispensing Procedures (20%)
- VI. Laws, Regulations, and Standards (10%)

Contact Lens Registry Examination (CLRE)

- I. Ocular Anatomy, Physiology, and Pathology (12%)
- II. Refractive Errors (5%)
- III. Instrumentation for Measurement and Observation (12%)
- IV. Prefitting (15%)
- V. Diagnostic Fitting (11%)
- VI. Dispensing (20%)

VII. Follow-up (20%)

VIII. Regulatory and Administrative (5%)

American Board of Opticianry Practice Exam (ABOP) https://abop.org/

National Academy of Opticianry's (NAO) Career Progression Program

• NAO EDUCATION & TESTING MATERIALS – NAO

ABO-NCLE Exam Study Materials (abo-ncle.org)

American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Prescription Ophthalmic Lenses

• ANSI Quick Reference Guide - 2020

National Organizations

Commission on Opticianry Accreditation (coaccreditation.com)

Opticians Association of Washington https://www.oaw.org/

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127. Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov. View translated versions of this statement here