Do you need help paying for your medical care?

You might qualify for Charity Care!
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What is Charity Care?

Charity Care is financial aid to help people pay hospital bills.
It can make your care free or reduced cost.

Charity Care can cover all necessary medical care. It may not cover some hospital-based providers.

Who can get Charity Care?

Patients who get necessary medical care in a hospital in Washington state. No matter your age,
insurance status, or immigration status. Your family income must be:

BELOW 200% BELOW 400%

OF THE FEDERAL POVERTY GUIDELINES TO GET DISCOUNTED CARE
TO GET FREE HEALTH CARE

with an
income of
$27,000
can get free
care at all
hospitals.

with an income
of $83,000 can
get free care at
some hospitals
or a 50%
discount at
other hospitals.
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Where is Charity Care offered?

Acute care and psychiatric hospitals must provide Charity Care by law. You can read more about the
laws here: RCW 70.170 and WAC 246-453. Sometimes hospitals associated with clinics will extend their
Charity Care. You can check these locations for information about the hospital's Charity Care policies:

P hospital's website P billing department
P registration areas P You can also find every hospital’s policy on the
P emergency department Department of Health Hospital Policies web page.

When should you apply?
You should apply as soon as possible after you receive medical care. You can also apply for care
you received in the past. Apply even if you don’t know if you qualify for Charity Care.

How to apply for Charity Care:

1. Contact the hospital billing department where you received care. Request a Charity Care
or financial aid application.

2. Complete the application.
3. Gather all the income documentation that the application asks for. This might include:

P A pay stub P Letters from state programs that you’ve applied to,
> W-2 such as Medicaid (Apple Health) or SNAP
» Tax form P If you don’t have any of these documents, you can

explain your income on a signed statement.

4. Submit the application and income documentation to the hospital. You should keep a copy of
the application and documents for your records.
5. Review your award letter received by the hospital.

6. If denied, you have 30 days to file an appeal. You will need to provide a letter of appeal
and/or extra income documentation.

For more information:
Contact the hospital's billing department. You can find contact information on your hospital bill.

If you have questions or want to file a Charity Care complaint, contact:

Washington State Department of Health
CharityCare@doh.wa.gov
or call 360-236-4210.

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127. Deaf or hard of hearing customers,
please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov.
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