

#### STATE OF WASHINGTON

**From**: The Department of Children, Youth and Families, the Department of Health,

and the Washington State Hospital Association

**To**: All Safe Haven locations in Washington state -- hospitals, staffed fire stations, and

rural health clinics

Date: September 8, 2023

**Subject**: All Safe Haven locations in Washington requested to update signs

# Safe Haven 24-hour Hotline has a new number: 1-888-510-2229

All Safe Haven locations in Washington requested to update signs.

Washington State Department of Health (DOH), Department of Children, Youth, and Families, and Washington State Hospital Association want to share the correct 24-hour Safe Haven Hotline.

### Please read the important information below:

- Correct Hotline (call or text): The correct Safe Haven Hotline number is: 1-888-510-2229. All designated drop-off locations in the state are requested to update or replace any signs posted at their facility or website. Mounting a Safe Haven sign with accurate information, including the phone number, could save the life of a vulnerable newborn. You can order new signs through the National Safe Haven Alliance.
- Limited availability for free Safe Haven signs for locations with financial need: We are committed to better supporting the health of all Washingtonians. If replacing the sign is a financial hardship for your organization, DOH has limited funding to purchase and mail the signs to you. Organizations with a financial need can complete the Safe Haven Signage Request Form (wa.gov).
- **Share information with partners:** Please share this critical change with your community partners.

Under Safe Haven law, parents in Washington may anonymously transfer their unharmed infant within 72 hours of birth to a qualified person at a designated drop-off location without being subject to criminal liability. The parent is not required to provide any identifying information to transfer the newborn. Call or text the 24/7 Hotline: 1-888-510-BABY(2229) for immediate assistance. In case of emergency, call 911.

### **Designated drop-off locations**

Parents must leave their infant with an on-duty staff member (also known as a qualified person) during a designated location's hours of operation or when it is open. They can transfer their unharmed baby to a qualified person at three types of locations where they won't be held criminally liable.

- Any hospital in the state of Washington -- the emergency department of a hospital is open 24 hours a day and is the safest drop-off location.
- A staffed fire station when open.
- A staffed rural health clinic when open.

# Order Safe Haven Signage and Supplies

- Signage (National Safe Haven Alliance)
- <u>Safe Haven Request Form</u> for locations with a financial need (limited availability).
- <u>Information card</u> (PDF)
- Pregnancy Resources (PDF)

# Legislation

• Revised Code of Washington 13.34.360 - Transfer of newborn to qualified person/ Criminal liability/Notification to child protective services/Definitions.

### **Questions or requests for more information**

Please email <u>WASafeHaven@doh.wa.gov</u> or the Department of Youth, Children, and Families at dcvf.communications@dcvf.wa.gov.