

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

DIVISION OF ENVIRONMENTAL PUBLIC HEALTH PO Box 47820 1 Olympia, Washington 98504-7820 (360) 236-3000 1 711 Washington Relay Service

June 28, 2024

Greetings Honorable Tribal Leaders:

SUBJECT: Collaborative – Request for Comment- Department of Health Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Rulemaking to Define Disadvantaged Communities and Updates to Construction Loan Guidelines

I am reaching out to respectfully request your participation in the Washington State Department of Health (DOH) Tribal collaboration process regarding proposed definition and the upcoming updates to the DWSRF Construction Loan Guidelines, which will include subsidy criteria for eligible disadvantaged communities.

In accordance with <u>Chapter 43.376 RCW</u>, the <u>Washington State Centennial Accord of 1989</u>, and the <u>DOH Consultation and Collaboration Procedure</u> this notice provides that the Office of Drinking Water has <u>proposed</u> permanent changes to <u>Chapter 246-296 WAC</u> to implement <u>RCW 70A.125.160</u> and the <u>Federal Safe Drinking Water Act</u>. These changes, officially announced on May 29, 2024, update the definition of "disadvantaged community" to include service areas of public water systems owned and operated by federally recognized Tribes. Previous updates were communicated on November 6, 2023, and February 12, 2024.

Thank you for your time and consideration, for more information or questions please contact Christopher Pettit, DWSRF Program Manager at chris.pettit@doh.wa.gov or Candice Wilson, Executive Director, Office of Tribal Public Health & Relations (OTPHR) at (360) 819-7626 or candice.wilson@doh.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Lauren Jenks

Cauren Jules

Assistant Secretary, Environmental Public Health

cc: Lacy Fehrenbach, Chief of Prevention, Safety and Health
Kristopher Holiday, Chief of Strategic Partnerships, Department of Health
Elizabeth Perez, Chief of Public Affairs and Equity, Department of Health
Kristin Peterson, Chief of Policy, Planning & Evaluation, Department of Health
Umair A. Shah, MD, MPH, Secretary of Health, Department of Health
Jessica Todorovich, Chief of Staff, Department of Health
Candice Wilson – Quatz'tenaut (Lummi), Executive Director, OTPHR, Department of Health