

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

INTRODUCTION

The Individual Vaccine Requirements Summary (IVRS) is a companion piece to the <u>Vaccines Required</u> <u>charts</u> for child care/preschool and school entry. The purpose of the summary is to assist school and child care staff and those working with student information systems to understand state immunization requirements and the immunization schedule. Both the requirements and schedule are based on the recommendations of the national Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP).

Requirements are listed in alphabetical order by vaccine. In each section, you will find detailed information about the immunization schedule, the exceptions to the schedule and the catch-up schedule. Exceptions may apply when the ACIP recommendations are not followed.

Find the ACIP schedules here: www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/child-adolescent.html



HEALTH INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY **Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026**

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Click on page numbers to go to selected page.

VACCINES REQUIRED FOR CHILD CARE ATTENDANCE	3
VACCINES REQUIRED FOR SCHOOL, GRADES Preschool-12	4
DIPHTHERIA, TETANUS, PERTUSSIS (DTaP, DT, Td, Tdap)	5
HEPATITIS B	8
HAEMOPHILUS INFLUENZAE TYPE B (Hib)	10
Dose Chart for age 15 through 59 months	12
MEASLES, MUMPS, RUBELLA (MMR)	13
PNEUMOCOCCAL CONJUGATE (PCV)	15
Dose Chart for age 24 through 59 months	17
POLIO (IPV, OPV)	18
VARICELLA	20
LIST OF CHANGES TO THIS DOCUMENT EDOM THE DREVIOUS VERSION	22



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

VACCINES REQUIRED FOR CHILD CARE ATTENDANCE

Vaccines Required for Child Care Hepatitis B DTaP Polio **PCV** Varicella Hib (Diphtheria, Tetanus, (Pneumococcal (Measles, mumps (Chickenpox) (Haemophilus Pertussis) influenzae type B) Conjugate) rubella) By 3 Months 2 doses 1 dose 1 dose 1 dose 1 dose Not routinely Not routinely By 5 Months 2 doses 2 doses 2 doses 2 doses 2 doses given before 12 given before 12 months of age months of age By 7 Months 2 or 3 doses 2 doses 3 doses 2 doses 3 doses (depending on vaccine) By 16 Months 3 or 4 doses** 2 doses 3 doses 2 doses 4 doses** 1 dose 1 dose (depending on vaccine) By 19 Months 3 or 4 doses** 3 doses 4 doses 3 doses 4 doses** 1 dose 1 dose (depending on vaccine) By 7 years or Not routinely given Not routinely given preschool/ 5 doses** 4 doses** 3 doses to children age 5 to children age 5 2 doses 2 doses school entry at years and older years and older ≥ 4 years*

Children entering child care must get the required doses listed in this chart to be in compliance with immunization requirements. School-aged children (Preschool-12) in before and after-school programs must meet the immunization requirements for their grade in school, see the school chart on the next page. The requirements follow the national Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) Immunization Schedule.

To read the chart, find the row that is closest, but is not older than the child's age. Follow the row across to find the number of vaccine doses required by that age. For example, if a child is 6 ½ months old (not yet 7 months old), look at the row "By 5 months". A 6 ½ month old child needs a total of 2 doses of DTaP vaccine. By the time the child reaches 7 months, they will need 3 total doses (look at the DTaP column and row "By 7 months").

^{*}Children attending Preschool-12th grade must meet the immunization requirements for their grade in school.

^{**}Vaccine doses may be acceptable with fewer than listed depending on when they were given.



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

VACCINES REQUIRED FOR SCHOOL, GRADES Preschool-12

Vaccines Required for School: Preschool -12th

August 1, 2025 to July 31, 2026



	DTaP/Tdap (Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis)	Hepatitis B	Hib (Haemophilus influenzae type B)	MMR (Measles, mumps rubella)	PCV (Pneumococcal Conjugate)	Polio	Varicella (Chickenpox)
Preschool Age 19 months to <4 years on September 1st	4 doses DTaP	3 doses	3 or 4 doses** (depending on vaccine)	1 dose	4 doses**	3 doses	1 dose
Preschool/Kindergarten (including Transitional Kindergarten) Age =4* years on September 1st	5 doses DTaP**	3 doses	3 or 4 doses** (depending on vaccine) (Not required at age ≥5 years)	2 doses	4 doses** (Not required at age ≥5 years)	4 doses**	2 doses
Kindergarten through 6th Age >5 years on September 1st	5 doses DTaP**	3 doses	Not Required	2 doses	Not Required	4 doses**	2 doses
Grade 7 through 12	5 doses DTaP** Plus Tdap at age ≥10 years	3 doses	Not Required	2 doses	Not Required	4 doses**	2 doses

^{*}Must have additional DTaP/IPV/MMR/Varicella by the 1st day of school or within 30 days after 4th birthday, whichever is later.

Students entering school must get the required doses listed in this chart to be in compliance with the immunization requirements. School-aged children (Preschool-12) in before and after-school programs must meet the immunization requirements for their grade in school. The requirements follow the national Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) Immunization Schedule with requirements specified by grade level.

To find the doses required, look at the row that includes the student's grade and the column for the required vaccine. For example, a student entering Kindergarten needs 2 doses of MMR vaccine. The requirements and rules vary depending on the student's grade.

Children in Preschool <4 years of age on 09/01 who turn 4 during the school year do not need to meet the requirements for Preschool/Kindergarten age \geq 4 years until the following school year.

^{**}Vaccine doses may be acceptable with fewer than listed depending on when they were given.



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

DIPHTHERIA, TETANUS, PERTUSSIS (DTaP, DT, Td, Tdap)

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school through 12th grade must have documentation of vaccination against diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis disease or proof of acquired immunity (<u>WAC 246-105-030</u> and <u>WAC 246-105-040</u>).

Routine schedule for DTaP vaccine: 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, 15-18 months, and 4-6 years of age (before preschool/school entry).

Routine schedule for Tdap vaccine: 1 dose at 11-12 years of age.

Child Care By Age	DTaP (Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis)
By 3 Months	1 dose
By 5 Months	2 doses
By 7 Months	3 doses
By 16 Months	3 doses
By 19 Months	4 doses
By 7 years or preschool/school entry at \geq 4 years	5 doses

School By Grade	DTaP/Tdap (Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis)
Preschool Age 19 months to <4 years on Sept. 1 st	4 doses DTaP
Preschool/Kindergarten (Including Transitional Kindergarten) Age =4 years on Sept. 1st	5 doses DTaP
Kindergarten through 6th Age ≥5 years on Sept. 1 st	5 doses DTaP
Grade 7 through 12	5 doses DTaP Plus Tdap at age >10 years



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

DIPHTHERIA, TETANUS, PERTUSSIS (DTaP, DT, Td, Tdap), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

DTaP/DT/Tdap/Td (for children/students of all ages)

- 1. Health care provider documentation of a blood antibody titer sufficient for immunity to diphtheria and tetanus is acceptable.
- 2. There is currently no acceptable proof of immunity for pertussis by blood antibody titer.
- 3. The 4-day grace period can be applied if DTaP/DT/Tdap/Td was given within the 4 days before the recommended minimum interval or age.
- 4. Children/students with a history of documented pertussis disease must continue with a series of pertussis-containing vaccines, including the Tdap booster dose required in 7th-12th grades. Pertussis disease does not provide lifelong immunity.
- 5. Children/students with a medical contraindication to pertussis vaccine, e.g., severe allergic reaction, may have a medical exemption on file. If a parent chooses not to vaccinate against pertussis, then a personal/religious/religious membership exemption must be on file.

DTaP/DT/Td (used for children/students through age 6)

- 6. DTaP is licensed for children through age 6 years. As of 2024 DT is not available in the U.S.
- 7. The national schedule for DTaP vaccine: 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, booster #1 at 15-18 months and booster #2 at 4-6 years of age (before preschool/school entry).
 - a. Minimum age for dose 1 is >6 weeks of age.
 - b. Minimum interval between doses 1, 2, and 3 is ≥4 weeks each.
 - c. Minimum age for dose 4 is ≥12 months of age.
 - d. Minimum interval between dose 3 and dose 4 is ≥6 months.
 - i. **Exception**: A minimum interval of >4 months can be accepted when reviewing immunization records.
 - e. Minimum age for dose 5 is ≥4 years of age.
 - f. Minimum interval between dose 4 and dose 5 (or final dose) is >6 months.
 - i. **Exception**: dose 5 is not required if dose 4 was given at age ≥4 years AND has a minimum interval from dose 3 of >6 months.
- 8. If DT/Td was given instead of DTaP (see #4 and #5 above):
 - a. If dose 1 of DT/Td was given at <12 months of age, 4 total doses complete the series.
 - b. If dose 1 of DT/Td was given at >12 months of age, 3 doses complete the series.
 - c. Final dose must be at age ≥4 years AND be a minimum of 6 months after previous dose.
 - d. Minimum age and minimum intervals for DT/Td are the same as for DTaP.
- 9. Tdap given in error instead of DTaP:
 - a. If Tdap was given instead of DTaP for dose 1, dose 2, or dose 3, the dose is invalid and should be repeated with DTaP.
 - b. If Tdap was given instead of DTaP dose 4 or dose 5 at <7 years, the Tdap dose can be counted as valid, it does NOT need to be repeated with DTaP. However, this dose cannot be counted as the dose of Tdap booster required in grade 7 through 12.



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

DIPHTHERIA, TETANUS, PERTUSSIS (DTaP, DT, Td, Tdap), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

Tdap/Td (used for children/students age 7 and older)

- 1. A Tdap booster dose is required for all students in grades 7th-12th:
 - a. Minimum age is >10 years.
- 2. DTaP vaccine given in error instead of Tdap:
 - a. DTaP contains more vaccine antigen than Tdap (the capitol letters indicate a larger dose) therefore DTaP given in error instead of a Tdap may count as valid for the Tdap.
- 3. Students who received a Td instead of a Tdap must get a dose of Tdap or have an exemption to Pertussis in place.
- 4. The Tdap booster dose can be given regardless of the interval since the last tetanus or diphtheria toxoid—containing vaccine.
- 5. Catch-up immunization schedule for students ≥7 years of age not fully vaccinated with DTaP: Student must get one Tdap vaccine followed by additional doses of Td or Tdap if needed. If the Tdap is administered at age is ≥10 years it can also count as the Tdap booster in #1 above.
 - a. If 4 or more doses of DTaP given <4 years of age, but none at age 4 through 6 years, Tdap must be given >7 years of age.
 - b. If DTaP/DT/Td dose 1 was given <12 months of age, a minimum of 4 total doses of a combination of DTaP, Tdap, DT, or Td are needed. **Tdap at age >7 must be included**.
 - i. Minimum interval between dose 1, dose 2, and dose 3 is >4 weeks each.
 - ii. Minimum interval between dose 3 and dose 4 (or final dose) is >6 months.
 - c. If student has not received any DTaP/DT/Tdap/Td vaccines or if dose 1 was given ≥12 months of age, a minimum of 3 total doses of a combination of DTaP, Tdap, DT, or Td are needed. **Tdap at age >7 must be included**.
 - i. Minimum interval between dose 1 and 2 is >4 weeks each.
 - ii. Minimum interval between dose 2 and dose 3 (or final dose) is >6 months.



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

HEPATITIS B

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school through 12th grade must have documentation of vaccination against hepatitis B disease or proof of acquired immunity, (<u>WAC 246-105-030</u> and <u>WAC 246-105-040</u>).

Routine schedule for hepatitis B vaccine: birth, 1-2 months, and 6-18 months of age.

Child Care	Hepatitis B
By Age	
By 3 Months	2 doses
By 5 Months	2 doses
By 7 Months	2 doses
By 16 Months	2 doses
By 19 Months	3 doses
By 7 years or preschool/school entry at \geq 4 years	3 doses

School	Hepatitis B
By Grade	
Preschool Age 19 months to <4 years on Sept. 1 st	3 doses
Preschool/Kindergarten (Including Transitional Kindergarten) Age =4 years on Sept. 1 st	3 doses
Kindergarten through 6th Age ≥5 years on Sept. 1 st	3 doses
Grade 7 through 11	3 doses
Grade 12	3 doses



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

HEPATITIS B, continued

- 1. Documentation of immunity to hepatitis B by a completed vaccine schedule (as noted below) or by blood antibody titer (see #6 below) is required for all students, even those 19+ years old.
- 2. The national immunization schedule for hepatitis B vaccine is for a dose at birth, at 1-2 months, and dose 3 at 24 weeks of age.
 - a. Minimum interval between doses 1 and 2 is >4 weeks.
 - b. Minimum interval between doses 2 and 3 is >8 weeks.
 - c. Minimum interval between doses 1 and 3 is >16 weeks.
 - d. The minimum age for dose 3 (or final dose) is \geq 24 weeks. If dose 3 (or final dose) of hepatitis B vaccine was given before 24 weeks of age, this dose is NOT valid as the final dose in the series. A 4th dose is needed at \geq 24 weeks of age.
- 3. Some children vaccinated with Pediarix (DTaP, IPV, HepB) or Vaxelis (DTaP, IPV, HepB, Hib) combination vaccines may receive an extra hepatitis B dose at 4 months of age. This dose does not complete the series, it is considered an extra dose and is not included in the minimum intervals above (when 4 doses are administered, substitute "dose 4" for "dose 3" in the minimum interval calculations above). A dose at age ≥24 weeks is still required.
- 4. Catch-up immunization schedule
 - a. Students through age 19 complete the 3-dose series with the minimum intervals above with the ped/adol formulation of Engerix-B or Recombivax HB regardless of their height or weight. People 20 years of age and older receive the adult dose.
 - b. Students age 11 through 15 may complete the series with 2 adult strength doses of Recombivax HB®.
 - i. Each dose must be administered at age 11 through 15 years of age.
 - ii. Minimum interval between dose 1 and dose 2 is \geq 4 months.
 - iii. Both doses must have documentation that they are the adult strength dose of Recombivax HB[®].
 - c. Students age 18 years or older
 - i. may receive a 2-dose series of HepB (Heplisav-B®) at least 4 weeks apart, or
 - ii. may receive the combined HepA and HepB vaccine, Twinrix®, as a 3-dose series (0, 1, and 6 months) or 4-dose series (3 doses at 0, 7, and 21–30 days, followed by a booster dose at 12 months).
- 5. The 4-day grace period can be applied if Hepatitis B was given within the 4 days before the recommended minimum interval or age.
- 6. Health care provider documentation of a blood antibody titer sufficient for immunity to hepatitis B is acceptable.



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

HAEMOPHILUS INFLUENZAE TYPE B (Hib)

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school must have documentation of vaccination against *Haemophilus influenzae* type b (Hib) disease (<u>WAC 246-105-030</u> and <u>WAC 246-105-040</u>). Hib vaccine is not required for Kindergarten through 12th grade school entry.

Routine schedule for Hib vaccine: 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, and 12-15 months of age.

Child Care By Age	Hib (Haemophilus influenzae type B)
By 3 Months	1 dose
By 5 Months	2 doses
By 7 Months	2 or 3 doses (depending on vaccine)
By 16 Months	3 or 4 doses (depending on vaccine)
By 19 Months	3 or 4 doses (depending on vaccine)
By 7 years or preschool/school entry at \geq 4 years	Not routinely given to children age 5 years and older

School By Grade	Hib (Haemophilus influenzae type B)
Preschool Age 19 months to <4 years on Sept. 1 st	3 or 4 doses (depending on vaccine)
Preschool/Kindergarten (Including Transitional Kindergarten) Age =4 years on Sept. 1 st	3 or 4 doses (depending on vaccine) (Not required at age >5 years)
Kindergarten through 6 th Age >5 years on Sept. 1 st	Not Required
Grade 7 through 10	Not Required
Grade 12	Not Required



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

HAEMOPHILUS INFLUENZAE TYPE B (Hib), continued

- 1. Hib vaccines include:
 - a. PRP-T (ActHib, Hiberix, Pentacel*)
 - b. PRP-OMP (PedvaxHib, Vaxelis*)
 - c. *Pentacel and Vaxelis are combination vaccines that include Hib vaccine
- 2. The national immunization schedule for Hib vaccines is shown below:

Vaccine	2 Months	4 Months	6 Months	12-15 Months
PRP-T (ActHib, Hiberix, Pentacel)	dose 1	dose 2	dose 3	Booster
PRP-OMP (PedvaxHib, Vaxelis)	dose 1	dose 2		Booster

- a. Minimum age for dose 1 is >6 weeks of age.
- b. Minimum intervals between doses given <12 months of age is ≥4 weeks each.
- 3. Children who only receive PRP-OMP vaccine do not need a dose at age 6 months.
- 4. Children who receive a PRP-T Hib vaccine at 2 and/or 4 months of age need a third dose of either brand at 6 months of age.
- 5. A booster dose is recommended at 12–15 months of age regardless of which vaccine was used for the primary series.
 - a. Minimum age is \geq 12 months of age
 - b. Minimum interval is >8 weeks after the previous dose.
- 6. Exception: unvaccinated children 7 months of age and older may not require a full series of 3 or 4 doses. The number of doses a child needs to complete the series depends on the child's current age. See the Hib Doses Required Chart on the next page to determine the total number of doses required.
- 7. The 4-day grace period can be applied if Hib vaccine was given within the 4 days before the recommended minimum interval or age.
- 8. For information on the catch-up schedules see: https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/catchup.html
- 9. Hib vaccine is not recommended for children ≥5 years of age unless the child has a high-risk medical condition. Children ≥5 years of age are not required to have doses of Hib vaccine.
- 10. Health care provider documentation of a blood antibody titer sufficient for immunity to Hib is acceptable.



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

HAEMOPHILUS INFLUENZAE TYPE B (Hib), continued

Hib Doses Required Chart for Children 12 through 14 Months of Age

The final booster dose should be given >12 months and >8 weeks after the previous dose.

Doses <12 months	Dose 12 through 14 months	Status
2 or more	1	Complete IF final dose <a>> weeks after previous dose
2 or more	0	Needs final dose ≥8 weeks after previous dose
1	0	Needs dose 2 >4 weeks after dose 1 and dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2
1	1	Needs final dose 3 ≥8 weeks after dose 2
0	1	Needs final dose 2 ≥8 weeks after previous dose
0	2	Complete IF ≥8 weeks between doses
0	0	Needs dose 1 now and dose 2 ≥8 weeks after dose 1

Hib Doses Required Chart for Children 15 through 59 Months of Age

The final booster dose should be given ≥12 months and ≥8 weeks after the previous dose.

Doses <12 months	Dose 12 through 14 months	Dose 15 through 59 months	Status
2 or more	1	0	Complete IF final dose ≥8 weeks after previous dose
1 or more	0	1	Complete
1 or more	1	1	Complete IF final dose <u>></u> 8 weeks after previous dose
1 or more	0	0	Needs final dose now
1	1	0	Needs final Dose >8 weeks after previous dose
0	1	0	Needs final Dose >8 weeks after previous dose
0	2	0	Complete IF <u>></u> 8 weeks between doses
0	1	1	Complete IF <u>></u> 8 weeks between doses
0	0	1	Complete
0	0	0	Needs one final dose now



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

MEASLES, MUMPS, RUBELLA (MMR)

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school through 12th grade must have documentation of vaccination against measles, mumps and rubella disease or proof of acquired immunity (WAC 246-105-030 and WAC 246-105-040).

Routine schedule for MMR vaccine: 12-15 months and 4-6 years of age (before preschool/school entry).

Child Care By Age	MMR (Measles, Mumps Rubella)
By 3 Months	Not routinely
By 5 Months	given before 12 months of age
By 7 Months	
By 16 Months	1 dose
By 19 Months	1 dose
By 7 years or preschool/school entry at \geq 4 years	2 doses

School By Grade	MMR (Measles, Mumps Rubella)
Preschool Age 19 months to <4 years on Sept. 1 st	1 dose
Preschool/Kindergarten (Including Transitional Kindergarten) Age =4 years on Sept. 1 st	2 doses
Kindergarten through 6 th Age >5 years on Sept. 1 st	2 doses
Grade 7 through 11	2 doses
Grade 12	2 doses



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

MEASLES, MUMPS, RUBELLA (MMR), continued

- 1. The national immunization schedule for MMR is a dose at 12-15 months and 4-6 years of age (before preschool/school entry).
 - a. Minimum age for dose 1 is \geq 12 months of age.
 - i. If dose 1 was given <12 months of age, the dose is not valid, and the dose must be repeated. The 4-day grace period may be applied.
 - b. Minimum age for dose 2 is ≥13 months of age.
 - c. Minimum interval between dose 1 and dose 2 is ≥4 weeks.
- 2. If not given on the same day, the minimum interval between MMR and other injected or intranasal live virus vaccines (such as Varicella, Flumist and Yellow Fever) must be >28 days.
 - a. A second live virus vaccine given <28 days after another live vaccine may not produce the desired immune response and is therefore not valid and must be repeated.
- 3. A 4-day grace period can be applied between doses of the same live vaccine, such as MMR and MMR. The 4-day grace period **cannot** be applied between doses of different live vaccines, such as between MMR and varicella.
- 4. There are no single antigen vaccines for measles, mumps, and rubella available in the U.S. Only MMR and MMRV (measles, mumps, rubella, and varicella) vaccine is available.
- 5. MMR or MMRV can be used to complete the vaccination series.
- 6. Health care provider documentation of a blood antibody titer sufficient for immunity to measles, mumps, and rubella (must have all three) is acceptable.
- 7. A history of measles, mumps, or rubella disease without blood antibody titer sufficient for immunity is not acceptable.



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

PNEUMOCOCCAL CONJUGATE (PCV)

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school must have documentation of vaccination against pneumococcal disease (WAC 246-105-030 and WAC 246-105-040).

Pneumococcal vaccine is not required for Kindergarten through 12th grade school entry.

Routine schedule for Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV): 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, and 12-15 months of age

Child Care By Age	PCV (Pneumococcal Conjugate)
By 3 Months	1 dose
By 5 Months	2 doses
By 7 Months	3 doses
By 16 Months	4 doses
By 19 Months	4 doses
By 7 years or preschool/school entry at <u>></u> 4 years	Not routinely given to children age 5 years and older

School By Grade	PCV (Pneumococcal Conjugate)
Preschool Age 19 months to <4 years on Sept. 1 st	4 doses
Preschool/Kindergarten (Including Transitional Kindergarten) Age =4 years on Sept. 1 st	4 doses (Not required at age ≥5 years)
Kindergarten through 6th Age ≥5 years on Sept. 1 st	Not Required
Grade 7 through 11	Not Required
Grade 12	Not Required



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

PNEUMOCOCCAL CONJUGATE (PCV), continued

- 1. The national immunization schedule for Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV13, PCV 15 or PCV20 is acceptable): 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, and 12-15 months of age.
 - a. Minimum age for dose 1 is >6 weeks of age.
 - b. Minimum interval between doses 1, 2, and 3 is ≥4 weeks each.
 - c. Minimum interval between dose 3 and dose 4 is ≥8 weeks.
 - d. Minimum age for dose 4 (or final dose) is 12 months.
- 2. **Exception**: Unvaccinated children 7 months of age and older may not require a full series of 4 doses. The number of doses a child needs to complete the series depends on the child's current age and risk factor. **See the PCV Doses Required Chart on the next page to determine the total number of doses required**.
- 3. The 4-day grace period can be applied if PCV was given within the 4 days before the recommended minimum interval or age.
- 4. For information on the catch-up schedules see: https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/catchup.html
- 5. PCV is not recommended for children >5 years of age unless the child has a high-risk medical condition. Children >5 years of age are not required to have doses of PCV vaccine.



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

PNEUMOCOCCAL CONJUGATE (PCV), continued

PCV Doses Required Chart for Children 12 through 23 Months of Age

The final booster dose should be given >12 months and >8 weeks after the previous dose.

Doses <12 months	Doses >12 months	Status
0	0	Needs dose 1 now and dose 2 ≥8 weeks after dose 1
0	1	Needs final dose 2 <u>></u> 8 weeks after dose 1
0	2	Complete IF doses separated by <u>></u> 8 weeks
1	0	Needs dose 2 <u>></u> 4 weeks after dose 1 and dose 3 <u>></u> 8 weeks after dose 2
1	1	Needs final dose 3 ≥8 weeks after dose 2
1	2	Complete IF dose 3 <u>></u> 8 weeks after dose 2
2 or more	0	Needs final dose ≥8 weeks after previous dose
2 or more	1	Complete IF final dose <a>> 8 weeks after previous dose

PCV Doses Required Chart for Children 24 through 59 Months of Age

The final booster dose should be given >12 months and >8 weeks after the previous dose.

Doses <12 months	Dose 12 through 23 months	Dose 24 through 59 months	Status
0	0	0	Needs one final dose now
0	1	0	Needs final dose 2 <u>></u> 8 weeks after dose 1
0	2	0	Complete IF <u>></u> 8 weeks between doses
0	1	1	Complete IF <u>></u> 8 weeks between doses
0	0	1	Complete
1	1	0	Needs final dose 3 <u>></u> 8 weeks after dose 2
1 or more	1	1	Complete IF final dose <u>></u> 8 weeks after previous dose
1 or more	0	0	Needs final dose now
1 or more	0	1	Complete
2 or more	1	0	Complete IF last dose <u>></u> 8 weeks after previous dose



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

POLIO (IPV, OPV)

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school through 12^{th} grade must have documentation of vaccination against polio disease or proof of acquired immunity, (<u>WAC 246-105-030</u> and <u>WAC 246-105-040</u>).

Routine schedule for IPV vaccine: 2 months, 4 months, 6-18 months, and 4-6 years (before preschool/school entry).

Child Care	Polio
By Age	
By 3 Months	1 dose
By 5 Months	2 doses
By 7 Months	2 doses
By 16 Months	2 doses
By 19 Months	3 doses
By 7 years or preschool/school entry at <u>></u> 4 years	4 doses

School By Grade	Polio
Preschool Age 19 months to <4 years on Sept. 1 st	3 doses
Preschool/Kindergarten (Including Transitional Kindergarten) Age =4 years on Sept. 1 st	4 doses
Kindergarten through 6 th Age <u>></u> 5 years on Sept. 1 st	4 doses
Grade 7 through 11	4 doses
Grade 12	4 doses



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

POLIO (IPV, OPV), continued

- 1. Documentation of immunity to polio by a completed vaccine schedule (as noted below) or by blood antibody titer (see #6 below) is required for all students, even those 18+ years old.
- 2. ACIP polio recommendations changed on August 7, 2009. This date is used in the polio immunization requirement and by the WA Immunization Information System to calculate doses in its forecasting. The rules differ by the date of 4th (or final) dose.
- 3. The national immunization schedule for polio is: 2 months, 4 months, 6-18 months, and 4-6 years (before preschool/school entry). If any doses are OPV see number 4 below.
 - a. Minimum age for dose 1 is \geq 6 weeks of age.
 - b. Minimum interval between doses 1, 2, and 3 is >4 weeks each.
 - c. Dose 4 (or final dose)
 - i. Administered on or after 08/07/2009:
 - 1. Minimum age is >4 years of age
 - 2. Minimum interval from previous dose is \geq 6 months.
 - ii. Administered before 08/07/2009:
 - 1. Minimum age is >18 weeks of age
 - 2. Minimum interval from previous dose is ≥4 weeks.
 - d. Exception: Dose 4 is not required if dose 3 was given on or after the 4th birthday AND
 - i. If administered on or after 08/07/2009: minimum interval from dose 2 is ≥ 6 months.
 - ii. If administered before 08/07/2009: minimum interval from dose 2 is >4 weeks.
- 4. Since 2000 the United States has only used IPV for polio vaccination. Students vaccinated in another country may have had doses of OPV. OPV doses given on or after 04/01/2016 do not protect against poliovirus type 2 and are not valid in the U.S schedule. Do not consider doses of OPV administered on or after 04/01/2016 when calculating minimum intervals between doses. Schools are not required to do a retrospective review of all students currently enrolled. If schools find a currently enrolled student with an invalid OPV, follow-up with the family to get additional IPV doses, if needed, to complete the series.
- 5. The 4-day grace period can be applied if polio vaccine was given within the 4 days before the recommended minimum interval or age.
- 6. Health care provider documentation of a blood antibody titer sufficient for immunity is acceptable only if there is documentation of immunity to all three types of polioviruses. Testing for poliovirus type 2 has not been available since 2016.



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

VARICELLA

All children/students entering child care, preschool, and school through 12th grade must have documentation of vaccination against varicella (chickenpox) disease or proof of acquired immunity (<u>WAC 246-105-030</u> and <u>WAC 246-105-040</u>).

Routine schedule for varicella vaccine: 12-15 months and 4-6 years of age (before preschool/school entry).

Child Care By Age	Varicella (Chickenpox)
By 3 Months	
By 5 Months	Not routinely given before 12 months of age
By 7 Months	
By 16 Months	1 dose
By 19 Months	1 dose
By 7 years or preschool/school entry at \geq 4 years	2 doses

School By Grade	Varicella (Chickenpox)
Preschool Age 19 months to <4 years on Sept. 1 st	1 dose
Preschool/Kindergarten (Including Transitional Kindergarten) Age =4 years on Sept. 1 st	2 doses
Kindergarten through 6th Age ≥5 years on Sept. 1 st	2 doses
Grade 7 through 11	2 doses
Grade through 12	2 doses



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

VARICELLA, continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

- 1. The national immunization schedule for varicella is: 12-15 months and 4-6 years of age (before preschool/school entry).
 - a. Minimum age for dose 1 is \geq 12 months.
 - i. If dose 1 was given <12 months of age, the dose is not valid, and the dose must be repeated. The 4-day grace period may be applied.
 - b. Minimum interval between dose 1 and dose 2:
 - i. Children age 12 months through 12 years: >3 months between dose 1 and 2.
 - 1. A minimum interval of >3 months between dose 1 and dose 2 is recommended when scheduling dose 2.
 - 2. A minimum interval of >4 weeks can be accepted when reviewing immunization records.
 - ii. Students 13 years and older: >4 weeks between Dose 1 and 2.
- 2. If not given on the same day, the minimum interval between Varicella and other live virus vaccines, (such as MMR, Flumist and Yellow Fever) is >28 days.
 - a. A second live virus vaccine given <28 days after another live vaccine may not produce the desired immune response and is therefore not valid and must be repeated.
- 3. A 4-day grace period can be applied between doses of the same live vaccine such as varicella and varicella. The 4-day grace period **cannot** be applied between doses of different live vaccines if not given on the same day, such as between MMR and varicella.
- 4. Health care provider documentation of a blood antibody titer sufficient for immunity to varicella is acceptable.

Varicella Disease Verification Details

Health care provider documentation of history of varicella disease is acceptable to meet the requirement for full immunity.

The following are acceptable as provider verification of disease:

- CIS printed from the WAIIS or MyIR indicating history of varicella (chickenpox) disease
- Hardcopy CIS with history of varicella (chickenpox) disease checked and signed by a healthcare provider
- A letter from a health care provider that verifies history of varicella (chickenpox) disease



Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care and School Entry in Washington State SCHOOL YEAR 2025-2026

LIST OF CHANGES TO THIS DOCUMENT FROM THE PREVIOUS **VERSION**

Page(s)	Content
4	Updated Requirements Chart to the current school year.
6	Added Td to all DT references
5, 7	Roll up of grade-level Tdap requirements