

## **Concise Explanatory Statement**

Summary of comments and agency responses regarding for birth doula filed under WSR 24-23-062 impacting WAC 246-835-040 to remove certification barriers and update rule to align with recent legislation.

## **Background**

The Department of Health (department) is adopting amendments to WAC 246-835-040 to implement RCW 18.130.077, removing barriers and shortening the credentialing process. Specifically, the department is adopting revisions to WAC 246-835-040 to waive education and exam requirements as directed and allowed under the statute. To comply with this bill, the department is adopting rule amendments that:

- Remove the requirement of submitting proof of 10 hours of continuing education (CE) for out-of-state applicants that have been credentialed as a birth doula in another state or jurisdiction with standards that are substantially equivalent to Washington's standards.
- Maintain the requirement of submitting proof of 10 hours of CE for out-of-state
  applicants who have been credentialed for more than two years, if they have been
  credentialed in a state or jurisdiction that does not have standards that are substantially
  equivalent to Washington.
- Clarify in rule that applicants who have been credentialed for less than two years in a state or jurisdiction with standards that are not substantially equivalent may apply for certification through the initial application pathway in WAC 246-835-030.

The rule implements the intent of RCW 18.130.077 by removing barriers to entering and remaining in the health care workforce and shortening the credentialing process.

## **General Comments and Recommendations**

No comments received regarding the adopted rules.

December 2024 To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127. Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email <a href="mailto:doh.information@doh.wa.gov">doh.information@doh.wa.gov</a>.