STATE OF WASHINGTON

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

PO Box 47890 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7890
Tel: 360-236-4030 ¢ TDD Relay Service: 800-833-6388

August 11, 2025
To Whom It May Concern,

The Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission (commission) works with the Department of Health
(department) to protect and improve the health of all people in Washington State. The commission
protects the health, safety, and welfare of Washingtonians by ensuring that practitioners credentialed
by the commission meet all licensure requirements, administering the disciplinary process promptly,
fairly, and efficiently, and providing regular communications with the public and profession. The
commission accomplishes this work, in part, through regulation of chiropractors and chiropractic x-ray
technicians (chapter 18.25 RCW).

State law, RCW 43.70.250 requires license fees for professions, occupations, and businesses, to fully
fund the work of licensing and regulating health care professions. The current fee amounts in WAC
246-808-990 - Chiropractic fees and renewal cycle does not generate sufficient revenue to recover
operating expenditures for the commission.

The commission ended fiscal year (FY) 2024 with a fund balance of $95,000 and a revenue shortfall of
$403,000. The commission is forecasted to continue operating at a deficit, contributing to further
decline of the fund balance through FY2032.

Considering the commission’s financial forecast, the department is adopting a fee increase to bring
revenue into alignment with the cost of licensing and regulating chiropractic professions.

One comment regarding the proposed fees was received. The comment stated the proposed annual
renewal for the Chiropractor license will be the most expensive of all the health professions in the
state. Instead of raising the annual fees for all chiropractors, why don't you raise the fines for the
chiropractors who are causing problems and not following the rules in the state.

RCW 18.130.160(8) limits fines, not to exceed $5,000 per violation, which often is not enough to
cover the costs associated with the conduct being charged. As part of the disciplinary process the
Commission may also investigate complaints that lead to no action, but to ensure patient safety, the
allegations needed to be investigated.


https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?Cite=18.25

As of July 2024, the program licensed 2,651 active chiropractors and 232 chiropractic x-ray
technicians in Washington state. 41% of the Commission’s total budget is related to enforcement;
because of the smaller number of licensees compared to a larger profession, enforcement has a larger
impact on the corresponding fees.

No changes to the proposed rule will be recommended based on this comment.

Any questions regarding this rule adoption should be directed to Betty Moe, Deputy Executive
Director at cqac@doh.wa.gov.






