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RULE-MAKING ORDER 
PERMANENT RULE ONLY 

 

 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 
 

 

CR-103P (December 2017) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency: Department of Health 

Effective date of rule: 
Permanent Rules 

     31 days after filing. 
     Other (specify) 03/15/2018 (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and 

should be stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 
 Yes      No     If Yes, explain:  

Purpose:       Chapter 246-824 WAC, regarding dispensing optician examination and licensure: WAC 246-824-035 (new), 
246-824-040 (amended), 246-824-045 (new), 246-824-071 (amended) and repealing WACs 246-824-060, 246-824-065, and 
246-824-070.  These adopted rules designate the American Board of Opticianry and National Contact Lens Examiners (ABO-
NCLE) as the examination requirement for dispensing optician licensure and repeal WAC 246-824-065, the requirement that 
the examining committee must administer the state licensing examination. The  adopted rules clarify licensure requirements 
by amending WAC 246-824-040 to add license eligibility and add WAC 246-824-045 to establish application requirements. 
These adopted rules also remove the requirement of the jurisprudence exam for out-of-state applicants and repeal sections 
related to the state administered exam. Finally, the adopted rules update the sections to be current and consistent with other 
rules for health professions under the authority of the Secretary of Health. 

Citation of rules affected by this order: 
New:    WAC 246-824-035, WAC 246-824-045 
Repealed: WACs 246-824-060, 246-824-065, 246-824-070 
Amended: WACs 246-824-040, 246-824-071 
Suspended: none 

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 43.70.040 

Other authority: Chapter 18.34 RCW 

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 17-18-088 on 09/05/2017 (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: In WAC 246-824-040 a new subsection (5) 
was added to read "and (5) Meet any other requirements by law." This change was made to inform license applicants that 
they must meet various other requirements as well as those in chapter 18.34 RCW.  
 
WAC 246-824-040 (3)(c) replaced "Practice as a dispensing optician in a state other than Washington for at least five 
years; except as provided in WAC 246-824-071;" with, "Been principally engaged in practicing as a dispensing optician 
not in the state of Washington for five years." to be consistent with RCW 18.34.070. 
If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting: 

Name: Debra Mendoza 

Address: Department of Health,PO Box 47852, Olympia, WA 98504-7852 

Phone: 360-236-4841 

Fax: 360-236-2901 

TTY: (360) 833-6388 or 711 

Email: debra.mendoza@doh.wa.gov 

Web site:  

Other:  
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Note:   If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. 
No descriptive text. 

 
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. 

A section may be counted in more than one category. 

The number of sections adopted in order to comply with: 

Federal statute:  New 0 Amended 0 Repealed 0  

Federal rules or standards:  New 0 Amended 0 Repealed 0  

Recently enacted state statutes:  New 0 Amended 0 Repealed 0  

 

The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity: 

New   0 Amended 0 Repealed 0  

 

The number of sections adopted in the agency’s own initiative: 

New   0 Amended 0 Repealed 0  

 

The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures: 

New   2 Amended 2 Repealed 3  

 

The number of sections adopted using: 

Negotiated rule making:  New 0 Amended 0 Repealed 0  

Pilot rule making:  New 0 Amended 0 Repealed 0  

Other alternative rule making:  New 2 Amended 2 Repealed 3  

 

Date Adopted: 02/06/2018 Signature: 

 

Name: John Wiesman, DrPH, MPH 

Title: Secretary of Health 

 



NEW SECTION

WAC 246-824-035  Examination.  The examining committee approves 
the examinations from the American Board of Opticianry and National 
Contact Lens Examiners (ABO-NCLE) for dispensing optician licensure.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 98-05-060, filed 2/13/98, effective 
3/16/98)

WAC 246-824-040  ((Application for examination.)) Licensure eli­
gibility.  (((1) An individual shall make application for examination, 
in accordance with RCW 18.34.070, on an application form prepared and 
provided by the secretary.

(2) The apprenticeship training requirement shall be supported 
with certification by the licensed individual (or individuals) who 
provided such training.

(3) If an applicant is unable to attend his or her scheduled ex­
amination, and so notifies the secretary in writing at least 7 days 
prior to the scheduled examination date, the applicant will be re­
scheduled at no additional charge. Otherwise, the fee will be forfei­
ted. (Emergencies considered.)

(4) If an applicant takes the examination and fails to obtain a 
satisfactory grade, he or she may be scheduled to retake the examina­
tion by submitting an application and paying the statutory examination 
fee.

(5) Applications and fees for examination and all documents re­
quired in support of the application must be submitted to the division 
of professional licensing, department of health, at least sixty days 
prior to the scheduled examination. Failure to meet the deadline will 
result in the applicant not being scheduled until the next scheduled 
examination.

(6) Apprenticeship training shall be completed prior to the ap­
plication deadline.)) To be eligible for licensure, applicants must:

(1) Be eighteen years or more of age;
(2) Graduate from an accredited high school or receive a general 

equivalency degree;
(3) Complete one of the following:
(a) At least six thousand hours of certified apprenticeship 

training that must be completed in no less than three years as re­
quired under chapter 18.34 RCW; or

(b) An accredited opticianry course as described in WAC 
246-824-050; or

(c) Been principally engaged in practicing as a dispensing opti­
cian not in the state of Washington for five years;

(4) Successfully pass one of the following examinations:
(a) The state examination offered on or before August 31, 2017;
(b) On or after June 1, 2015, the basic competency examination, 

basic contact lens examination, and the practical examinations from 
ABO-NCLE. This requirement can also be met by successfully passing the 
ABO-NCLE advanced competency examination, advanced contact lens exami­
nation, and the practical examinations on or after June 1, 2015; and

(5) Meet any other requirements in law.
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NEW SECTION

WAC 246-824-045  License application.  An applicant for a dis­
pensing optician license must submit the following:

(1) A completed application on forms provided by the department;
(2) Proof of eligibility under WAC 246-824-040;
(3) Verification of passing the examination under WAC 

246-824-040(4);
(4) Proof of completing four clock hours of AIDS education and 

training as required by chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 8; and
(5) Fees required under WAC 246-824-990.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 02-18-025, filed 8/23/02, effective 
9/23/02)

WAC 246-824-071  ((Licensure by endorsement.)) Applicants cur­
rently licensed in other states.  (((1) A license)) Before licensure 
to any individual currently licensed to practice as a dispensing opti­
cian ((may be issued without examination to an individual who is cur­
rently licensed in another state that has licensing standards substan­
tially equivalent to those currently applicable in Washington state.

(2) The department will issue a license by endorsement upon re­
ceipt of:

(a) A completed application and application fee;
(b) The applicant will provide documentation from the state in 

which the applicant is currently licensed sufficient to establish that 
the state's licensing standards are substantially equivalent to the 
licensing standards currently applicable in Washington state;

(c) A completed open-book state law questionnaire;
(d) Documentation of)) in another state, as provided in chapter 

18.34 RCW, applicants must provide evidence of:
(1) Verification of credential from any state and the state's 

substantially equivalent licensing standards;
(2) Completion of four clock hours of AIDS education as required 

in chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 8;
(((e))) (3) Verification from all states in which the applicant 

has ever held a license, whether active or inactive, indicating that 
the applicant is not subject to charges or disciplinary action for un­
professional conduct or impairment.

(((3) If licensure by endorsement is not granted, and the appli­
cant is otherwise qualified for the licensing examination, he or she 
may apply for licensure by examination in accordance with RCW 
18.34.070 and WAC 246-824-040.

(4) Endorsement application fees may be applied towards the ex­
amination fee if licensure by endorsement is not granted.))

REPEALER
The following sections of the Washington Administrative Code are 

repealed:
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WAC 246-824-060 Dispensing optician examination.
WAC 246-824-065 Duties and responsibilities of the 

dispensing optician examining 
committee.

WAC 246-824-070 Informal review of examination results.
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