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CR-103P (October 2017) DATE: December 19, 2017

(Implements RCW 34.05.360) WSR 18-01-106

Agency: Department of Health- Dental Quality Assurance Commission

Effective date of rule:
Permanent Rules
X 31 days after filing.
[ ] Other (specify) (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should be
stated below)

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule?
[lYes [XINo If Yes, explain:

Purpose: WAC 246-817-110, 246-817-160, and 246-817-220, amended and repealing 246-817-155 dental licensure
rules. The rules implement Substitute House Bill 1411, (Chapter 100, Laws of 2017) which amended RCW 18.32.040 (3)(c)
by changing the dentist licensure eligibility requirements. The law allows dental residency in lieu of practical examination from
approved community based residencies to all Commission on Dental Accreditation general practice residency, advanced
education in general dentistry residency, and pediatric residency programs. The residency must be at least one year in length
and must be in a setting that serves predominantly low-income patients in Washington State.

Citation of rules affected by this order:
New: None
Repealed: WAC 246-817-155
Amended: WAC 246-817-110, 246-817-160, and 246-817-220
Suspended: None

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 18.32.002 and 18.32.0365

Other authority: RCW 18.32.040

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making)
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 17-16-143 on 08/01/2017 (date).
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: None

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by
contacting:

Name:
Address:
Phone:
Fax:
TTY:
Email:
Web site:
Other:
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Note: If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero.
No descriptive text.

Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note.
A section may be counted in more than one category.

The number of sections adopted in order to comply with:

Federal statute: New 0 Amended 0 Repealed 0
Federal rules or standards: New 0 Amended 0 Repealed 0
Recently enacted state statutes: New 0 Amended 3 Repealed 1
The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity:
New 0 Amended 0 Repealed 0
The number of sections adopted in the agency’s own initiative:
New 0 Amended 0 Repealed 0
The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures:
New 0 Amended 0 Repealed 0
The number of sections adopted using:
Negotiated rule making: New 0 Amended 0 Repealed 0
Pilot rule making: New 0 Amended 0 Repealed 0
Other alternative rule making: New 0 Amended 3 Repealed 1
Date Adopted: 12/19/2017 Signature:
Name: John Carbery, D.M.D. W A /M_l%’ D)
Title: Dental Quality Assurance Commission Chairperson {/ '
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 16-05-083, filed 2/16/16, effective
3/18/16)

WAC 246-817-110 Dental licensure—Initial eligibility and appli-
cation requirements. To be eligible for Washington state dental li-
censure, the applicant must provide:

(1) A completed application and fee. The applicant must submit a
signed application and required fee as defined in WAC 246-817-990;

(2) Proof of graduation from a dental school approved by the
DQAC:

(a) DQAC recognizes only those applicants who are students or
graduates of dental schools iIn the United States or Canada, approved,
conditionally or provisionally, by the Commission on Dental Accredita-
tion of the American Dental Association. The applicant must have re-
ceived, or will receive, a Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS) or Doctor of
Dental Medicine (DMD) degree from that school;

(b) Other dental schools which apply for DQAC approval and which
meet these adopted standards to the DQAC"s satisfaction may be ap-
proved, but 1t is the responsibility of a school to apply for approval
and of a student to ascertain whether or not a school has been ap-
proved;

(3) Proof of successful completion of the National Board Dental
Examination Parts | and 11, or the Canadian National Dental Examining
Board Examination. An original scorecard or a certified copy of the
scorecard shall be accepted. Exception: Dentists who obtained initial
licensure In a state prior to that state"s requirement for successful
completion of the national boards, may be licensed in Washington, pro-
vided that the applicant provide proof that their original state of
licensure did not require passage of the national boards at the time
they were initially licensed. Applicants need to meet all other re-
quirements for licensure;

(4) Proof of graduation from an approved dental school. The only
acceptable proof is an official, posted transcript sent directly from
such school, or in the case of recent graduates, a verified list of
graduating students submitted directly from the dean of the dental
school . Graduates of nonaccredited dental schools must also meet the
requirements outlined in WAC 246-817-160;

(5) A complete listing of professional education and experience
including college or university (predental), and a complete chronology
of practice history from the date of dental school graduation to
present, whether or not engaged in activities related to dentistry;

(6) Proof of completion of seven clock hours of AIDS education as
required iIn chapter 246-12 WAC, Part 8;

(7) Proof of malpractice insurance if available, i1ncluding dates
of coverage and any claims history;

(8) Written certification of any licenses held, submitted direct-
ly from another licensing entity, and including license number, issue
date, expiration date and whether applicant has been the subject of
final or pending disciplinary action;

(9) Proof of successful completion of ((anr—approved)):

(a) An__ approved practical/clinical examination under WAC
246-817-120; or

(b) A qualifying ((pestgraduate)) residency program((s—appreved

HH i i )) under RCW
18.32.040 (3)(c);
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(10) Proof of successful completion of an approved written juris-
prudence examination;

(11) A recent 2" x 2" photograph, signed, dated, and attached to
the application;

(12) Authorization for background inquiries to other sources may
be conducted as determined by the DQAC, including but not limited to
the national practitioner data bank and drug enforcement agency. Ap-
plicants are responsible for any fees incurred iIn obtaining verifica-
tion of requirements;

(13) Any other information for each license type as determined by
the DQAC.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 16-17-104, filed 8/19/16, effective
9/19/16)

WAC 246-817-160 Graduates of nonaccredited schools. (1) An ap-
plicant for Washington state dental licensure, who is a graduate of a
dental school or college not accredited by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation shall provide to the Dental Quality Assurance Commission
(commission):

(a) Materials listed in WAC 246-817-110 (1), (3), (5) through
(8), and (10) through (13);

(b) Official school transcript or diploma with dental degree lis-
ted transcribed to English if necessary;

(c) Evidence of successful completion of at least two additional
predoctoral or postdoctoral academic years of dental education.

(i) Additional predoctoral or postdoctoral dental education com-
pleted prior to July 1, 2018, must be obtained at a dental school in
the United States or Canada, approved, conditionally or provisionally,
by the Commission on Dental Accreditation.

(i1) Additional predoctoral or postdoctoral dental education com-
pleted after July 1, 2018, must be obtained in a dental program in the
United States or Canada, approved, conditionally or provisionally, by
the Commission on Dental Accreditation and include clinical training;
and

(d) An applicant for Washington state dental licensure must pro-
vide proof of successful completion of ((an—approved)):

(i) An_ approved practical/clinical examination under WAC
246-817-120; or

(ii) A qualifying ((pestgraduate)) residency program((-—approved

hortred
#1)) under RCW 18.32.040 (3)(c).

(2) Upon completion of the requirements in subsection (1)(a)
through (c) of this section, an applicant may be eligible to take the
practical examination as approved in WAC 246-817-120 (2) through (4).

(a) The commission may Iissue examination approval up to six
months before an applicant has completed the two additional predoctor-
al or postdoctoral academic years of dental education.

(b) An applicant must provide a letter from the school where the
two additional predoctoral or postdoctoral academic years is being ob-
tained indicating expected date of education completion.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 11-07-052, filed 3/17/11, effective
4/17/11)

WAC 246-817-220 Inactive license. (1) A dentist may obtain an
inactive license by meeting the requirements of WAC 246-12-090 and RCW
18.32.185.

(2) An inactive license must be renewed every year on or before
the practitioner®s Dbirthday according to WAC 246-12-100 and
246-817-990.

(3) If a license is inactive for three years or less, to return
to active status a dentist must meet the requirements of WAC
246-12-110, 246-817-440, and 246-817-990.

(4) If a license is inactive for more than three years, and the
dentist has been actively practicing in another United States juris-
diction, to return to active status the dentist must:

(a) Provide certification of an active dentist license, submitted
directly from another licensing entity. The certification shall iIn-
clude the license number, issue date, expiration date and whether the
applicant has been the subject of final or pending disciplinary ac-
tion;

(b) Provide verification of active practice in another United
States jurisdiction within the last three years; and

(c) Meet the requirements of WAC 246-12-110, 246-817-440, and
246-817-990.

(5 If a license is inactive for more than three years, and the
dentist has not been actively practicing in another United States ju-
risdiction, to return to active status the dentist must provide:

(a) A written request to change licensure status;

(b) The applicable fees according to WAC 246-817-990;

(c) Proof of successful completion of ((an—appreved))

(i) An_ approved practical/practice examination ((aceerding—te))
under WAC 246-817-120; or

(amn A quallfylng ((postgraduate)) residency program((s—appreved
)) under RCW
18.32.040 (3)(c);

(d) Written certification of all dental or health care licenses
held, submitted directly from the licensing entity. The certification
shall 1include the license number, issue date, expiration date and
whether the applicant has been the subject of final or pending disci-
plinary action;

(e) Written declaration that continuing education and competency
requirements for the two most recent years have been met according to
WAC 246-817-440;

() Proof of successful completion of an approved written juris-
prudence examination within the past year;

(g9) Proof of malpractice insurance if available, including dates
of coverage and any claims history; and

(h) Proof of AIDS education according to WAC 246-817-110, if not
previously provided.

REPEALER

The fTollowing section of the Washington Administrative Code 1is
repealed:
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WAC 246-817-155 Dental resident license to full dental
license—Conditions.
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