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Maternal Death Reporting and Death Investigation Requirements 

Washington State Department of Health 

Recent legislation now requires birthing hospitals and birth centers to report the deaths of women who 
are pregnant, or who have been pregnant within 42 days of death to the local coroner or medical 
examiner’s office. Once reported, local medicolegal systems are required to take jurisdiction of the 
death and conduct a full death investigation, with autopsy strongly recommended. Autopsies should use 
guidelines for maternal death autopsy published by DOH. The county may bill the state Forensic 
Investigation Fund for full reimbursement. 

For questions or more information, contact the Maternal Mortality Review Coordinator at 
maternalmortalityreview@doh.wa.gov. 

 

 

 

 

RCW 70.54.450

(Updated  2019 changes in SB 5425)

Woman pregnant within 42 
days of death

Hospital/birth center calls local county 
coroner/medical examiner to report maternal 

death

Coroner/medical examiner takes jurisdiction of 
death and conducts a full death investigation 

with autopsy strongly advised as outlined in the 
law

County can bill the Forensic Investigation Fund for 
autopsy costs as per county procedure

Woman pregnant 43 days or more of 
death

Follow hospital and county policy and 
procedures

mailto:civil.rights@doh.wa.gov
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/Pubs/350-030-MMRAutopsyGuidelines.pdf
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70.54.450
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2019-20/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/5425-S.SL.pdf
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Questions and Answers about the Maternal Mortality Review Law 

Q: How do I report a maternal death? 

The process of reporting these deaths should follow policies and procedures determined by the 
coroner or medical examiner’s office in your jurisdiction. Birthing hospitals and birth centers are 
encouraged to contact local coroner or medical examiner offices for death reporting procedures in 
your area and to develop internal policies for your facility. 

Q: What kind of maternal deaths should be reported? 

Any death that occurs during pregnancy or within 42 days from the end of pregnancy should be 
reported to local county coroner/medical examiner jurisdiction.  

Q: How will I know if a woman was pregnant or what if I don’t know a woman was pregnant? 

Your facility or practice should develop a screening process or policy and procedure to identify 
women who are pregnant, or who have recently been pregnant. This law is based on good faith 
efforts, if a provider or facility didn’t know a woman was pregnant, there are no repercussions. 

Q: Can a family decline an autopsy of a maternal death? 

Yes. The Maternal Mortality Review law does not require an autopsy for medical maternal deaths, 
however a death investigation is required under the law.  

Q: What is required by local county coroners/medical examiners after a death is reported? 

A coroner or medical examiner will follow local protocol and procedure to investigate a maternal 
death. The coroner or medical examiner who has jurisdiction determines the need for an autopsy as 
part of the death investigation. The Washington State Department of Health provides maternal death 
autopsy guidelines. The guidelines include additional recommendations for investigations of maternal 
deaths.  

Q: What reimbursements are allowed for the death investigation and autopsy? 

Costs related to investigating the deaths are not reimbursable. If an autopsy is conducted, county 
coroners or medical examiners can bill the Forensic Investigation Fund for autopsy costs.  

Q: Can academic institutions be reimbursed for autopsy procedures? 

No. Academic and medical institutions do not qualify for reimbursement of autopsies. Academic or 
medical institutions that conduct autopsies are encouraged to reach out to a local county coroner or 
medical examiner to discuss this new requirement and its implications in their community. 
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