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Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022

INTRODUCTION

The Individual Vaccine Requirements Summary (IVRS) is a companion piece to the Vaccines Required
charts for child care/preschool and school entry. The purpose of the summary is to assist school and
child care staff and those working with student information systems to understand state immunization
requirements and the immunization schedule. Both the requirements and schedule are based on the
recommendations of the national Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP).

Requirements are listed in alphabetical order by vaccine. In each section, you will find detailed
information about the immunization schedule and the exceptions to the schedule. Exceptions may apply
when vaccine administration errors occur or when the ACIP recommendations are not followed.

Find the ACIP schedules here: www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/child-adolescent.html
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Hepatitis B DTaP Hib Polio PCV MMR Varicella
(Diphtheria, Tetanus, (Haemophilus (Pneumococcal (Measl (Chick )
Pertussis) influenzae type B) Conjugate) rubella)
By 3 Months
2 doses 1 dose 1 dose 1 dose 1 dose
By5 Noutls Not routinely | Not routinely
2 doses 2 doses 2 doses 2 doses 2 doses _given before 12 | given before 12
By 7 Months
2 doses 3 doses 3 doses 2 doses 3 doses
By 16 Months
2 doses 3 doses 4 doses 2 doses 4 doses 1 dose 1 dose
By 19 Months
3 doses 4 doses 4 doses 3 doses 4 doses 1 dose 1 dose
By 7 years or Not routinely given
Kindergarten 3 doses 5 doses to children age 5 4 doses 2 doses 2 doses
entry years and older
School aged children (K-12) in before and after-school programs must meet the immunization requirements for their grade in school.
Find information on other vaccines that are recommended, but not required, for child care/preschool attendance at: www immunize ore/cdc/schedyles.
Review the Individual Vaccine Requirements Summary for more detailed information, located on our web page: hitps://www doh wa sov/scci.
To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127.
Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov. DOH 348-053 Nov 2020

Children entering child care or preschool must get the required doses listed in this chart to be in
compliance with immunization requirements. School-aged children (K-12) in before and after-school
programs must meet the immunization requirements for their grade in school. The requirements follow
the national Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) Immunization Schedule.

To read the chart, find the row that is closest, but is not older than the child’s age. Follow the row across
to find the number of vaccine doses required by that age. For example, if a child is 6 ¥ months old (not
yet 7 months old), look at the row “By 5 months”. A 6 % month old child needs a total of 2 doses of DTaP
vaccine. By the time the child reaches 7 months, they will need 3 total doses (look at the DTaP column
and row “By 7 months”).

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127.
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VACCINES REQUIRED FOR SCHOOL ATTENDANCE, GRADES K-12

Vaccines Required for School Attendance, K-12

August 1, 2021 to July 31, 2022

VACCINE Kindergarten - 6th Grade 7th - 10th Grade 11th and 12th Grade
Hepatitis B 3 doses
Last dose must be given on or after 24 weeks of age.
DTaP
5 doses
(Diphtheria, Tetanus,

4 doses are acceptable only IF dose 4 is given on or after the 4th birthday AND at least 6 months after dose 3.
and Pertussis)

Tdap

(Diphtheria, Tetanus, Not Required

and Pertussis)

1 dose Tdap

(see page 2 for more details)

1PV 4 doses 4 doses
(Polio, for OPV see

3 doses are acceptable only IF dose 3 is given on or after the 4th birthday. If dose 4 was given on or 3 doses are acceptable only IF dose 3 is given on or

page 2) after August 7, 2009, it must be on or after the 4th birthday AND at least 6 months after dose 3. after the 4th birthday.
MMR
(Measles, Mumps, 2 doses
and Rubella)
: 2 doses
Varicella o
(Chickenpox)

Health care provider verified disease history

e Look at the Minimum Age and Interval Table on page 2 for recommended minimum age and spacing information.

e  For more detailed information see the Individual Vaccine Requirements Summary in the Vaccine Requirements section of: https://www.doh.wa_gov/SCCI

Wirstrington State Department of

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127. l H eal th
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Students entering school must get the required doses listed in this chart to be in compliance with
immunization requirements. The requirements follow the national Advisory Committee on
Immunization Practices (ACIP) Immunization Schedule with requirements specified by grade level.

To find the doses required, look at the column that includes the student’s grade and the row for the
required vaccine. For example, a student entering Kindergarten needs 2 doses of MMR vaccine. The
requirements and rules vary depending on the student’s grade.
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DIPHTHERIA, TETANUS, PERTUSSIS (DTaP, DT, Td, Tdap)

All children/students entering child care/preschool and Kindergarten through 12" grades must get
vaccinated against diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis (WAC 246-105-030).

Routine schedule for DTaP vaccine: 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, 15-18 months, and 4-6 years of age.
Routine schedule for Tdap vaccine: 1 dose at 11-12 years of age.

Child Care/Preschool Entry

DTaP

(Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis)

By 3 Months 1 dose
(on or before last day of month 2)

By 5 Months 2 doses
(on or before last day of month 4)

3 doses

By 7 Months May get dose 3 as early as 6 months of age

(on or before last day of month 6)

By 16 Months 3 doses
(on or before last day of month 15)
4 doses
By 19 Months May get dose 4 as early as 12 months as long as 6
(on or before last day of month 18) months separate dose 3 and dose 4
By 7 Years
(on or before last day of year 6 or > doses
by Kindergarten entry)
School Entry
VACCINE Kindergarten through 6" Grade 7' through 12*" Grade

DTaP
(Diphtheria, Tetanus
and Pertussis)

5 doses (4 doses only IF dose 4 given on or after 4™ birthday AND a minimum interval of 6
months from the previous dose)

Tdap
(Tetanus, Diphtheria, Not Required 1 dose
and Pertussis
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DIPHTHERIA, TETANUS, PERTUSSIS (DTaP, DT, Td, Tdap), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

DTaP/DT/Tdap/Td (for children/students of all ages)
1. The 4-day grace period can be applied if DTaP/DT/Tdap/Td was given within the 4 days before
the recommended minimum interval or age.
2. Students who have completed a series of DTaP/DT/Tdap/Td vaccines are recommended, but
not required, to have a Td booster dose every 10 years.
3. Children/students with a history of documented pertussis disease:

a. Must continue with a series of pertussis-containing vaccines, including the Tdap
booster required in 7t-12t" grades. Pertussis disease does not provide lifelong
immunity.

b. There is currently no acceptable proof of immunity for pertussis by blood titer.

4. Children/students with a medical contraindication to pertussis vaccine, e.g. severe allergic
reaction, may have a medical exemption on file. If a parent chooses not to vaccinate against
pertussis, then a personal/religious/religious membership exemption must be on file.

DTaP/DT (used for children/students through age 6)

5. DTaPis licensed for children through age 6.
6. 5 doses of DTaP required for school entry
a. Intervals between doses 1, 2, and 3 must be >4 weeks each.
b. Interval between dose 3 and dose 4 must be 26 months.
= Exception: dose 4 need not be repeated if there is at least a 4-month minimum
interval from dose 3.

c. Dose 4 must be given 212 months of age.

d. Interval between dose 4 and dose 5 must be >6 months.

e. Dose 5 must be given >4 years of age.

= Exception: dose 5 is not required if dose 4 was given at age >4 years and the
minimum interval of 6 months from the previous dose has been met.
7. If DT was used instead of DTaP (see #4 above):

a. Ifdose 1 of DT was given at <12 months of age, 4 total doses complete the series.

b. If dose 1 of DT was given at >12 months of age, 3 doses complete the series. Dose 3 must
be a minimum of 6 months after dose 2.

c. Minimum age and minimum intervals for DT are the same as for DTaP.

8. Exceptions

a. If Tdap was given instead of DTaP for dose 1, dose 2, or dose 3, the dose is invalid and
should be repeated with DTaP.

b. If Tdap was given instead of DTaP dose 4 or dose 5 to a child aged <7 years, the Tdap
dose should be counted as valid, it does NOT need to be repeated with DTaP. However,
this dose cannot be counted as the dose of Tdap needed to meet the grade 7 through
12 requirement.

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127.
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Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022
DIPHTHERIA, TETANUS, PERTUSSIS (DTaP, DT, Td, Tdap), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

Tdap/Td (used for children/students age 7 and older)
1. The Tdap booster dose recommended at age 11 is required for all students in grades 7th-12th.

a. Studentsin 7" and 8t grade: Tdap (or DTaP given in error) is acceptable if given on or
after 10 years of age.

b. Studentsin 9™ -12% grades: Tdap (or DTaP given in error) is acceptable if given on or
after 7 years of age.

2. Students who got a Td inadvertently instead of a Tdap must get a dose of Tdap.

3. Tdap can be given regardless of the interval since the last dose of DTaP, DT, Tdap or Td.
Students do NOT need to wait 5 years to get Tdap after a dose of DTaP, DT, Tdap or Td.

4. Catch-up immunization schedule for students >7 years of age not fully vaccinated with DTaP:
Student must get one Tdap vaccine followed by additional doses of Td or Tdap if needed. DTaP
given in error to a student >7 years of age in a catch-up schedule is valid for the Tdap.

a. A student who has not received any DTaP/DT vaccines before the age of 7 must get
one dose of Tdap followed by 2 doses of Td or Tdap.
i. The interval between dose 1 and dose 2 must be >4 weeks.
ii. The interval between dose 2 and dose 3 must be >6 months.
b. If DTaP/DT dose 1 was given <12 months of age, a minimum of 4 total doses of a
combination of DTaP, Tdap, or Td are needed. Tdap must be included.
i. The interval between dose 1, dose 2, and dose 3 must be >4 weeks each.
ii. The interval between dose 3 and dose 4 must be >6 months.
iii. If 4 or more doses of DTaP given <4 years of age, but none >4 years, Tdap must
be given >7 years of age.
c. If DTaP/DT/Tdap/Td dose 1 was given >12 months of age, a minimum of 3 total doses
of a combination of DTaP, Tdap, or Td are needed. Tdap must be included.
i. Interval between dose 1 and 2 must be >4 weeks each.
ii. Interval between dose 2 and dose 3 must be >6 months.
iii. If 4 or more doses of DTaP given <4 years of age, but none >4 years, Tdap must
be given >7 years of age.
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SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022

HEPATITIS B

All children/students entering child care/preschool and Kindergarten through 12t grade must get
vaccinated against hepatitis B (WAC 246-105-030).

Routine schedule for hepatitis B vaccine: birth, 1-2 months, and 6-18 months of age.

Child Care/Preschool Entry

Hepatitis B

2 doses

B
¥ 3 Months May get Dose 1 at birth and Dose 2 as early as 1 month of age.

(on or before last day of month 2)

By 5 Months 2 doses
(on or before last day of month 4)

By 7 Months 2 doses
(on or before last day of month 6)

By 16 Months 2 doses
(on or before last day of month 15)

By 19 Months 3 doses
(on or before last day of month 18)

By 7 Years

(on or before last day of year 6 or by 3 doses
Kindergarten entry)
School Entry
VACCINE Kindergarten-12* Grade

Hepatitis B 3 doses
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SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022
HEPATITIS B, continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

1. The national immunization schedule for hepatitis B vaccine is for a dose at birth, at 1-2
months, and dose 3 at 24 weeks of age for children through 18 years of age.
a. The interval between doses 1 and 2 must be >4 weeks.
b. The interval between doses 2 and 3 must be >8 weeks.
c. Theinterval between doses 1 and 3 must be >16 weeks.
d. The minimum age for dose 3 is >24 weeks. If dose 3 of hepatitis B vaccine was given
before 24 weeks of age, this dose is NOT valid and needs to be repeated
2. Some children vaccinated with Pediarix combination vaccine (DTaP, IPV, HepB) may receive a
hepatitis B dose at 4 months of age. This dose does not complete the series, it is considered an
inadvertent dose and is not included in the minimum intervals above. A dose at age >24 weeks
is still required.
3. Completing the Hepatitis B series is recommended but not required for students 19 years of
age and older.
4. Students may get 2 adult doses of Recombivax HB® to meet the school requirement.
a. Each dose must be administered at age 11 through 15 years.
b. Dose 1 and dose 2 must be separated by >4 months.
c. Parent must provide documentation of the adult dose of Recombivax HB® for both
doses.
5. The 4-day grace period can be applied if Hepatitis B was given within the 4 days before the
recommended minimum interval or age.
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SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022
HAEMOPHILUS INFLUENZAE TYPE B (Hib)

All children/students less than 5 years of age entering child care/preschool must get vaccinated against
Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) (WAC 246-105-030). Hib vaccine is not required for Kindergarten
through 12t grade school entry.

Routine schedule for Hib vaccine: 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, and 12-15 months of age.

Child Care/Preschool Entry

Hib (Haemophilus influenzae type B)

By 3 Months 1 dose
(on or before last day of month 2)

By 5 Months 2 doses
(on or before last day of month 4)

2 or 3 doses

By 7 Months (depending on vaccine used)

(on or before last day of month 6)

3 or 4 doses

By 16 Months (depending on vaccine used)

(on or before last day of month 15)

3 or 4 doses

By 19 Months (depending on vaccine used)

(on or before last day of month 18)

By 7 Years
(on or before last day of year 6 or
by Kindergarten entry)

Not given routinely to children 5 years of age
and older

School Entry

Hib vaccine is not required for Kindergarten through 12t grade school entry.

10

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127.
Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov. DOH 348-284 November 2020


http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-105-030

INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY
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SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022
HAEMOPHILUS INFLUENZAE TYPE B (Hib), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

1. Hib vaccines include: PRP-T (ActHib®, Hiberix®) and PRP-OMP (PedvaxHib®). Pentacel® is a
combination vaccine that contains DTaP, IPV, and Hib vaccines).
2. The recommended immunization schedule for Hib vaccines is shown below:

Vaccine 2 Months 4 Months 6 Months 12-15 Months
PRP-T (ActHib, Hiberix) dose 1 dose 2 dose 3 Booster
PRP-OMP (PedvaxHib) dose 1 dose 2 Booster

1. Hib vaccine is not recommended for children >5 years of age unless the child has a high-risk
medical condition. Children >5 years of age are not required to have doses of Hib vaccine.

3. The minimum age for dose 1 is >6 weeks.

4. The minimum intervals between doses given <12 months of age is 24 weeks each.

5. If a child got different brands of Hib vaccine at 2 and 4 months of age, a third dose of either
brand is needed at 6 months of age to complete the primary series.

6. Children who received only PedvaxHib® need a total of 3 doses including the booster dose.

7. Abooster dose is recommended at 12—15 months regardless of which vaccine was used for
the primary series.

a. The final booster dose should be given no earlier than age 12 months and a minimum
of 8 weeks after the previous dose.

8. Exception: unvaccinated children 7 months of age and older may not require a full series of 3
or 4 doses. The number of doses a child needs to complete the series depends on the child’s
current age. See the Hib Doses Required Chart on the next page to determine the total
number of doses required.

9. For information on the catch-up schedules see:
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/catchup.html

10. The 4-day grace period can be applied if Hib vaccine was given within the 4 days before the
recommended minimum interval or age.
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HAEMOPHILUS INFLUENZAE TYPE B (Hib), continued
Hib Doses Required Chart for Children 12-14 Months of Age

The final booster dose should be given >12 months and >8 weeks after the previous dose.

Doses Dose 12 through Status
<12 months 14 months

2 or more 1 Complete IF final dose >8 weeks after previous dose

2 or more 0 Needs final dose >8 weeks after previous dose
1 0 Needs dose 2 >4 weeks after dose 1 and dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2
1 1 Needs final dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2
0 1 Needs final dose 2 >8 weeks after previous dose
0 2 Complete IF >8 weeks between doses
0 0 Needs dose 1 now and dose 2 >8 weeks after dose 1

Hib Doses Required Chart for Children >15 - 59 Months of Age

The final booster dose should be given >12 months and >8 weeks after the previous dose.

Doses Dose 12 through | Dose 15 through Status
<12 months 14 months 59 months
2 or more 1 0 Complete IF final dose >8 weeks after previous dose
1 or more 0 1 Complete
1 or more 1 1 Complete IF final dose >8 weeks after previous dose
1 or more 0 0 Needs final dose now
1 1 0 Needs final Dose >8 weeks after previous dose
0 1 0 Needs final Dose >8 weeks after previous dose
0 2 0 Complete IF >8 weeks between doses
0 1 1 Complete IF >8 weeks between doses
0 0 1 Complete
0 0 0 Needs one final dose now

12

e —
To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127.
Deaf or hard of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov. DOH 348-284 November 2020



%’H@ﬂlﬂ’l INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State
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MEASLES, MUMPS, RUBELLA (MMR)

All children/students entering child care/preschool and Kindergarten through 12t grade must get
vaccinated against measles, mumps, and rubella (WAC 246-105-030).

Routine schedule for MMR vaccine: 12-15 months and 4-6 years of age.

Child Care/Preschool Entry

MMR

(Measles, Mumps, Rubella)

By 3 Months
(on or before last day of month 2)

Not routinely given before 12 months of age
By 5 Months
(on or before last day of month 4)

By 7 Months
(on or before last day of month 6)

1 dose

By 16 Months (may get dose 1 as early as 12 months of age)

(on or before last day of month 15)

By 19 Months 1 dose
(on or before last day of month 18)

By 7 Years

2
(on or before last day of year 6 or doses
by Kindergarten entry)
School Entry
VACCINE Kindergarten-12* Grade

MMR
(Measles, Mumps,
and Rubella)

2 doses
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Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022
MEASLES, MUMPS, RUBELLA (MMR), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

1. A blood test showing immunity to measles, mumps, and rubella is acceptable.
2. A history of measles, mumps, or rubella without proof of immunity is not acceptable.
3. There are no single antigen vaccines for measles, mumps and rubella available in the U.S. Only
MMR and MMRYV (measles, mumps, rubella, and varicella) vaccine is available.
4. MMR or MMRYV can be used to complete the vaccination series.
5. 2 doses of MMR are required for school entry.
a. The minimum age for dose 1 is >12 months.
i. Ifdose 1 was given <12 months of age, the dose is not valid, and the dose must
be repeated. The 4-day grace period may be applied.
b. The minimum interval between dose 1 and dose 2 must be 24 weeks.
c. The minimum age for dose 2 is >13 months.
6. If not given on the same day, the minimum interval between MMR and other injected or
intranasal live virus vaccines (such as Varicella or Flumist) must be >28 days.
a. Asecond live virus vaccine given <28 days after another live vaccine may not produce the
desired immune response and is therefore not valid and must be repeated.
7. A 4-day grace period can be applied between doses of the same live vaccine, such as MMR and
MMR. The 4-day grace period CANNOT be applied between doses of different live vaccines, such
as between MMR and varicella.
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Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022

PNEUMOCOCCAL CONJUGATE (PCV)

All children/students less than 5 years of age entering child care/preschool must get vaccinated against
pneumococcal disease (WAC 246-105-030). Pneumococcal vaccine is not required for Kindergarten
through 12t grade school entry.

Routine schedule for Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV): 2 months, 4 months, 6 months, and 12-15
months of age.

Child Care/Preschool Entry

PCV (Pneumococcal Conjugate)

By 3 Months 1 dose
(on or before last day of month 2)

By 5 Months 2 doses
(on or before last day of month 4)

By 7 Months 3 doses
(on or before last day of month 6)

By 16 Months 4 doses
(on or before last day of month 15)

By 19 Months 4 doses
(on or before last day of moth 18)

By 7 Years
(on or before last day of year 6 or
by Kindergarten entry)

Not given routinely to children 5 years of age
and older

School Entry

PCV is not required for Kindergarten through 12 grade school entry.
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th INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY

Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022

PNEUMOCOCCAL CONJUGATE (PCV), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

w

PCV is not recommended for children >5 years of age unless the child has a high-risk medical
condition. Children >5 years of age are not required to have doses of PCV vaccine.

Minimum intervals between doses 1, 2, and 3 must be 24 weeks each.

The minimum interval between dose 3 and dose 4 must be >8 weeks.

Exception: Unvaccinated children 7 months of age and older may not require a full series of 4
doses. The number of doses a child needs to complete the series depends on the child’s
current age and risk factor. See the PCV Doses Required Chart on the next page to determine
the total number of doses required.

For information on the catch-up schedules see:
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/catchup.html

The 4-day grace period can be applied if PCV was given within the 4 days before the
recommended minimum interval or age.
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Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022

PNEUMOCOCCAL CONJUGATE (PCV), continued

PCV Doses Required Chart for Children 12-23 Months of Age

The final booster dose should be given >12 months and >8 weeks after the previous dose.

Doses Doses >12 Status
<12 months months

0 0 Needs dose 1 now and dose 2 >8 weeks after dose 1
0 1 Needs final dose 2 >8 weeks after dose 1
0 2 Complete IF doses separated by >8 weeks
1 0 Needs dose 2 >4 weeks after dose 1 and dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2
1 1 Needs final dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2
1 2 Complete IF dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2

2 or more 0 Needs final dose >8 weeks after previous dose

2 or more 1 Complete IF final dose >8 weeks after previous dose

PCV Doses Required Chart for Children >24 - 59 Months of Age

The final booster dose should be given >12 months and >8 weeks after the previous dose.

Doses Dose 12 through Dose 24 through Status
<12 months 23 months 59 months
0 0 0 Needs one final dose now
0 1 0 Needs final dose 2 >8 weeks after dose 1
0 2 0 Complete IF >8 weeks between doses
0 1 1 Complete IF >8 weeks between doses
0 0 1 Complete
1 1 0 Needs final dose 3 >8 weeks after dose 2
1 or more 1 1 Complete IF final dose >8 weeks after previous
dose
1 or more 0 0 Needs final dose now
1 or more 0 1 Complete
2 or more 1 0 Complete IF last dose >8 weeks after previous
dose
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Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022

POLIO (IPV, OPV)

All children/students entering child care/preschool and Kindergarten through 12t grade must get
vaccinated against polio (WAC 246-105-030).
Routine schedule for IPV vaccine: 2 months, 4 months, 6-18 months, and 4-6 years.

Child Care/Preschool Entry

Polio
By 3 Months 1 dose

(on or before last day of month 2)
2 doses

By 5 Months

(on or before last day of month 4) May get Dose 2 as early as 4 months of age.

By 7 Months 2 doses
(on or before last day of month 6)

By 16 Months 2 doses
(on or before last day of month 15)

By 19 Months 3 doses
(on or before last day of month 18)

By 7 Years 4 doses
(on or before last day of year 6 or
by Kindergarten entry)
School Entry
VACCINE Kindergarten-10*" Grade 11t and 12*" Grade

4 doses (3 doses only IF 3rd dose given on or 4 doses (3 doses only IF 3rd dose given on
after 4th birthday) or after 4th birthday)

IPV or OPV

(Polio) The final dose given on or after August 7, 2009,

must be given on or after 4 years of age AND a
minimum of 6 months from the previous dose.

OPV administered on or after April 1, 2016 is not a valid dose
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY
Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022

POLIO (IPV, OPV), continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

1. The 4-day grace period can be applied if polio vaccine was given within the 4 days before the
recommended minimum interval or age.

2. Since the year 2000 the United States has only used IPV for polio vaccination. Students coming
from a foreign country may have had doses of OPV. Only OPV administered before April 1,
2016 can be counted as a valid dose in the series. Any OPV doses given on or after 4/1/16 are
not valid. Schools are NOT required to do a retrospective review of all students currently
enrolled. If schools find a currently enrolled student with an invalid OPV, follow-up with the
family to get additional IPV doses if needed to complete the series.

3. Polio vaccine is not recommended for routine administration to persons >18 years of age.
Students >18 years of age are not required to get doses of polio vaccine but may choose to
complete the series. Persons at high risk are recommended to complete the polio series.

4. Students must have documentation of immunity to all three types of poliovirus to be
considered immune by laboratory antibody titer tests.

5. The Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) updated polio recommendations on
August 7, 2009. This date is used in the school immunization requirement and by the WA State
Immunization Information System to calculate future doses in its forecasting algorithm. The
school rules differ by grade and date of 4t dose.

6. Kindergarten through 10th grade (if any doses are OPV see number 2 above):

a. Ifastudent got dose 4 on or after Aug 7, 2009:
i. Dose 1 must be given >6 weeks of age.
ii.  Theinterval between doses 1, 2, and 3 must be >4 weeks each.
iii. Dose 4 (or final dose) must be given >4 years of age.
iv.  Dose 4 (or final dose) must be separated from previous dose by >6 months.
v. Exception: Dose 4 is not required if dose 3 was given on or after the 4th
birthday AND separated from previous dose by >6 months.
b. If a student got Dose 4 before Aug 7, 2009:
i. Dose 1 must be given >6 weeks of age.
ii. Interval between doses 1, 2, 3, and 4 must be >4 weeks each.
iii. Dose 4 must be given >18 weeks of age.
iv.  Exception: Dose 4 is not required if dose 3 was given on or after the 4th
birthday. The interval between dose 2 and dose 3 must be >4 weeks.

7. 11th and 12th grade (if any doses are OPV see number 2 above):

a. Dose 1 must be given >6 weeks of age.

b. Interval between doses 1, 2, 3, and 4 must >4 weeks each.

c. Dose 4 must be given >18 weeks of age.
Exception: Dose 4 is not required if dose 3 was given on or after the 4th birthday. The
interval between dose 2 and dose 3 must be >4 weeks.

d. Acceptable: providers vaccinating students in a catch-up schedule may choose to
follow current ACIP recommendations as listed in 6.a above.
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Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022

VARICELLA

All children/students entering child care/preschool and Kindergarten through 12t grade must get
vaccinated against varicella (chickenpox) (WAC 246-105-030).

Routine schedule for varicella vaccine: 12-15 months and 4-6 years of age.

Child Care/Preschool Entry

Varicella
(Chickenpox)

By 3 Months
(on or before last day of month 2)

By 5 Months Not routinely given before 12 months of age
(on or before last day of month 4)

By 7 Months
(on or before last day of month 6)

1 dose
By 16 Months (may get Dose 1 as early as 12 months of age)
(on or before last day of month 15) OR

Healthcare provider verified disease

1 dose
OR
Healthcare provider verified disease

By 19 Months
(on or before last day of month 18)

By 7 Years 2 doses
(on or before last day of year 6 or OR
by Kindergarten entry) Healthcare provider verified disease
School Entry
VACCINE Kindergarten-12*" Grade
2 doses
Varicella OR
Healthcare provider verified disease
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Guidelines on Immunizations Required for Child Care/Preschool and School Entry in Washington State

SCHOOL YEAR 2021-2022

VARICELLA, continued

Rules of Vaccination and Exceptions

1. A blood test that shows immunity to chickenpox is acceptable.
2. 2 doses of varicella vaccine are required for school entry.
a. The minimum age for dose 1 is >12 months.
i. If dose 1 was given <12 months of age, the dose is not valid, and the dose must
be repeated. The 4-day grace period may be applied.
b. Interval between dose 1 and dose 2:
i. Children 12 months through 12 years: >3 months between dose 1 and 2.
1. A minimum interval of >3 months between dose 1 and dose 2 is
recommended when scheduling dose 2.
2. A minimum interval of >4 weeks can be accepted when reviewing
immunization records.
ii. Students 13 years and older: >4 weeks between Dose 1 and 2.
3. If not given on the same day, the minimum interval between Varicella and other live virus
vaccines, (such as MMR and Flumist) is >28 days.
a. Asecond live virus vaccine given <28 days after another live vaccine may not produce
the desired immune response and is therefore not valid and must be repeated.
4. A 4-day grace period can be applied between doses of the same live vaccine such as varicella
and varicella. The 4-day grace period CANNOT be applied between doses of different live
vaccines if not given on the same day, such as between MMR and varicella.

Varicella Disease Verification Details

The following are acceptable as provider verification of disease:
1. CIS printed from the WAIIS indicating history of varicella (chickenpox) disease
2. Hardcopy CIS with history of varicella (chickenpox) disease or lab evidence of immunity
checked and signed by a healthcare provider
3. Aletter from a health care provider that verifies history of varicella (chickenpox) disease
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LIST OF CHANGES TO THIS DOCUMENT FROM THE PREVIOUS

VERSION
Page(s) Content
All Grammar and readability changes made throughout the document.
3,4 Updated Requirements Chart to the current school year.
5,7 Roll up of grade-level Tdap requirements
12 Hib Chart revised
17 PCV Chart revised
18, 19 Roll up of grade-level school requirements for Polio.
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