
 

 
 

Washington State Department of Health 2010 Death with Dignity Act Report 

 

Executive Summary 

 

Washington’s Death with Dignity Act allows adult residents in Washington State with six 

months (180 days) or less to live to request lethal doses of medication from physicians. In this 

report, a participant of the act is defined as someone to whom medication was dispensed under 

the terms of this law. This report focuses on the 87 participants for whom medication was 

dispensed between January 1, 2010, and December 31, 2010. It includes data from the 

documentation received by the Department of Health as of February 9, 2011. 

 

In 2010, medication was dispensed to 87 individuals (defined as 2010 participants): 

 Prescriptions were written by 68 different physicians 

 Medications were dispensed by 40 different pharmacists 

Of the 87 participants in 2010: 

 72 individuals have died 

 51 of these people died after ingesting the medication 

 15 of these people died without having ingested the medication 

 For the remaining 6 people who died, ingestion status is unknown 

 Status is unknown for the remaining 15 people 

Of the 72 participants in 2010 who have died, their characteristics and underlying illnesses 

include: 

 Age range between 52 and 99 years 

 94 percent lived west of the Cascades  

 78 percent had cancer 

 10 percent had neuro-degenerative disease, including Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis 

(ALS) 

 12 percent had heart disease or other illnesses 

 88 percent had private, Medicare, Medicaid, or a combination of health insurance 

Of the 72 participants in 2010 who have died, Death Certificates were received for 61 of these 

individuals.  Their characteristics include: 

 95 percent were white, non-Hispanic 

 51 percent were married 

 62 percent had at least some college education 

Of the 72 participants in 2010 who have died, After Death Reporting Forms were received for 67 of 

these individuals.  Their end-of-life concerns include: 

 90 percent were concerned about loss of autonomy, 64 percent about loss of dignity, and 

87 percent about losing the ability to participate in activities that made life enjoyable 

Of the 51 participants in 2010 who ingested the medication and died: 

 90 percent were at home and 84 percent were enrolled in hospice care when they ingested 

the medication 

 No complications of ingesting the medication were reported 

 Emergency Medical Services (EMS) were not called for intervention after ingestion of 

the medication by any participant
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Death with Dignity Participation in 2010 

 

For the purposes of this report, a participant of the Death with Dignity Act in 2010 is defined as 

someone to whom medication was dispensed in 2010 under the terms of the act (see Appendix 

for details of the act). The Department of Health received the following documentation for 2010 

Death with Dignity participants as of February 9, 2011: 

 

Table 1. Documentation Received for 2010 Participants 

 

Form Number  

Written Request to End Life Form 84 

Attending Physician Compliance Form 83 

Consulting Physician Compliance Form 84 

Psychiatric/Psychological Consulting Form 3 

Pharmacy Dispensing Record Form 87 

After Death Reporting Form 

Death Certificate 

67 

61 

 

 

In 2010, lethal doses of medication were dispensed to 87 participants under the law. These 

prescriptions were written by 68 different physicians and dispensed by 40 different pharmacists.  

 

To date, the Department of Health has received fewer Written Requests and Attending and 

Consulting Physician Compliance Forms than Pharmacy Dispensing Records for the 2010 

participants. When all the required paperwork is not received, department staff contacts health 

care providers to obtain the documentation. 

 

Table 1 only includes the documentation received for individuals defined as participants (i.e., 

they received medication). The information posted on the Department of Health’s Death with 

Dignity website about the number of forms received in 2010 provides all documentation 

received, including forms for people who did not have a prescription filled (and so are defined as 

non-participants), forms for 2009 participants who died in 2010, and some forms for 2011 

participants. As a result, the numbers of documents listed in Table 1 do not match the numbers of 

documents received on the Department of Health website. 

 

The Department of Health has received notification that 72 of the 87 participants in 2010 have 

died (Figure 1). Death of a participant is established through receipt of the After Death Reporting 

form and/or the Death Certificate. 

 

The status of the remaining 15 participants is unknown at the time of this report. Some 

participants may still be alive since they may wait to use the medication or choose not to use it. It 

is also possible that some participants have taken the medication and died, but notification has 

not yet been received by the Department of Health because the After Death Reporting form is 

due 30 days after death and the Death Certificate is due 60 days after death. 
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Figure 1. Outcome of the 87 participants with medication dispensed in 2010 under the 

terms of the Death with Dignity Act 
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Update on Death with Dignity Participation in 2009 

 

Since the 2009 Death with Dignity report was published on March 4, 2010, the Department of 

Health received information on two additional people to whom medication was dispensed under 

the terms of the Act in 2009. This brings the total number of participants in 2009 to 65. 

 

Of these participants, 63 had died as of February 9, 2011. The status of two 2009 participants is 

still pending. These participants may still be alive or they may have died, but the Department of 

Health has not yet received documentation of the death. 

 

Trend in Death with Dignity Participation 

 

Data on the number of participants in 2009 and 2010, and the number of these participants who 

are known to have died as of February 9, 2011, are shown in Figure 2. It is difficult to say if 

there has been an increase in the number of participants between 2009 and 2010. The Death with 

Dignity law went into effect on March 5, 2009, so the data for 2009 cover less than 10 months. 

The data for 2010 reflect a full 12 months. And 2009 was the first year a lethal dose of 

medication could be prescribed under the Death with Dignity Act, so the procedures were new to 

the public, physicians, and pharmacists. 

 

 
 

The data in the remainder of this report describing the participants in 2009 reflects the data 

published on March 4, 2010. 
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Table 2. Characteristics of the participants of the Death with Dignity Act who have died: 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Note:  The totals for some categories are less than the number of participants who have died. This is because the 

data are collected from different forms and not all forms were received for all participants by the time of this report. 

The footnotes on the following page provide additional explanation. 

 2010   2009
1
 

 Number (%) Number (%) 

Sex
2
     

     Male 36 50 26 55 

     Female 36 50 21 45 

Age (years)
2
     

     18-34 0  0 0 

     35-44 0  0 0 

     45-54 4 5 6 13 

     55-64 17 24 6 13 

     65-74 22 31 18 38 

     75-84 18 25 10 21 

     85+ 11 15 7 15 

     Range (min-max) 52-99  48-95  

Race and Ethnicity
3
     

    Non-Hispanic White 58 95 40 98 

    Hispanic and/or Non-White 3 5 1 2 

Marital Status
3
          

     Married 31 51 19 46 

     Widowed 17 28 11 27 

     Divorced 9 15 9 22 

     Never married 4 6 2 5 

Education
3
     

     Less than high school 6 10 1 2 

     High school graduate 17 28 15 37 

     Some college 11 18 9 22 

     Baccalaureate or higher 27 44 16 39 

Residence
2,4

     

     West of the Cascades 68 94 44 94 

     East of the Cascades 4 6 3 6 

Underlying illness
2
     

     Cancer 56 78 37 79 

     Neuro-degenerative disease (incl. ALS
5
) 7 10 4 9 

     Respiratory disease (incl. COPD
6
) 1 1 4 9 

     Heart Disease 6 8 0 0 

     Other illnesses 2 3 2 3 

Insurance Status
7
     

     Private only 20 30 12 28 

     Medicare or Medicaid only 29 43 19 43 

     Combination of private and Medicare/Medicaid 10 15 8 18 

     None 2 3 0 0 

     Unknown 6 9 5 11 
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Notes: 

1
 Data published in 2009 report http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda/forms/DWDA_2009.pdf  

2 
Data are collected from multiple documents. At time of publication, data are available for all 72 of the participants 

in 2010 who died. 

3
Data are collected from the Death Certificate. At time of publication, data are available for 61 of the 72 participants 

in 2010 who died (see Figure 1). 

4 
Counties west of the Cascades include: Clallam, Clark, Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, 

Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Thurston, Wahkiakum, and Whatcom.   

Counties east of the Cascades include:  Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Columbia, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, 

Garfield, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Walla Walla, Whitman, and 

Yakima. 

5 
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS). 

6 
Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD). 

7
Data are collected from the After Death Reporting form.  At the time of publication, data are available for 67 of the 

72 participants in 2010 who died. 

 

  

 

http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda/forms/DWDA_2009.pdf
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Table 3. End of life concerns of the participants of the Death with Dignity Act in 2010 who 

have died: 

 

 2010 2009
1
 

 Number (%) Number (%) 

End of Life Concerns
2, 3

     

     Losing autonomy  60 90 44 100 

     Less able to engage in activities making life enjoyable  58 87 40 91 

     Loss of dignity  43 64 36 82 

     Losing control of bodily functions  35 52 18 41 

     Burden on family, friends/caregivers  19 28 10 23 

     Inadequate pain control or concern about it  24 36 11 25 

     Financial implications of treatment  3 4 1 2 

 

Notes: 

1 
Data published in 2009 report http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda/forms/DWDA_2009.pdf 

2 
Data are collected from the After Death Reporting form.  At the time of publication, data are available for 67 

 of the 72 participants in 2010 who died. 

3
Participants may have selected more than one end of life concern. Thus the totals are greater than 100 percent. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda/forms/DWDA_2009.pdf
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Table 4. Death with Dignity Act process for the participants in 2010 who have died: 

 

 2010 2009
1
 

 Number (%) Number (%) 

Family and Psychiatric/Psychological  involvement     

      Referred for psychiatric/psychological evaluation
2
 2 3 3 7 

      Patient informed family of decision
3
  61 85 40 89 

Medication
4
     

      Secobarbital  68 95 42 89 

      Pentobarbital  3 4 5 11 

      Other  1 1 0 0 

Timing      

 Duration of patient-physician relationship
5
     

      3 weeks – 24 weeks 34 51 23 52 

      25 weeks – 51 weeks 8 12 4 9 

      1 year or more 24 36 17 39 

      Unknown 1 1 0 0 

      Range (min – max) 3 wks – 

10 yrs 
 

3 wks – 

27 yrs 
 

 Duration between first oral request and death
6
     

      3 weeks – 24 weeks  61 91 41 93 

      25 weeks or more 5 7 3 7 

      Unknown 1 2 0 0 

      Range (min – max) 3 wks – 

54 wks 
 

3 wks – 

43 wks 
 

 

Notes: 

1
 Data published in 2009 report http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda/forms/DWDA_2009.pdf 

2
 Data are collected from the Attending Physician’s Compliance form. At the time of publication, data are 

available for 71 of the 72 participants in 2010 who died. 

3 
Data are collected from the Written Request for Medication to End Life. At the time of publication, data are 

available for 72 of the 72 participants in 2010 who died. 

4 
Data are collected from the Pharmacy Dispensing Form. At the time of publication, data are available for all 

72 of the participants in 2010 who died. 

5
 Data are collected from the After Death Reporting form. At the time of publication, data are available for 67of the 

72 participants in 2010 who died. 

6
 Data are collected from multiple documents.  At the time of publication, data are available for 71 of the 72 

participants in 2010 who died. 

 

http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda/forms/DWDA_2009.pdf
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Table 5. Circumstances and complications related to ingestion of medication prescribed 

under the Death with Dignity Act of the participants who have died: 
 

 2010 2009
1
 

 Number (%) Number (%) 

Circumstances when medication ingested     

Health-care provider present      

      Prescribing physician  2 4 3 8 

      Other provider, prescribing physician not present  27 53 17 47 

      No provider  17 33 12 34 

      Unknown 5 10 4 11 

Location of patient       

      Home (patient, family, friend)  46 90 34 94 

      Long term care, assisted living or foster care facility  2 4 0 0 

      Hospital  0 0 0 0 

      Other  3 6 0 0 

      Unknown 0 0 2 6 

Hospice care     

      Enrolled 43 84 26 72 

      Not enrolled 5 10 10 28 

      Unknown 3 6 0 0 

Timing     

Minutes between ingestion and unconsciousness     

          1 min. - 10 min. 34 67 27 75 

          11 min or more 5 10 4 11 

          Unknown 12 23 5 14 

          Range (min – max) 1 min -

30 min 
 

1 min –  

20 min 
 

Minutes between ingestion and death     

           1 min - 90 min 36 71 25 70 

           91 min or more 8 15 6 16 

           Unknown 7 14 5 14 

           Range (min – max) 9 min – 

30 hrs 
 

9 min  – 

28 hrs 
 

Complications     

      Regurgitation 0 0 1 3 

      Seizures 0 0 0 0 

      Awakened after taking prescribed medication  0 0 2 5 

      None  47 92 28 78 

      Unknown 4 8 5 14 

Emergency Medical Services involvement     

      Called for intervention after lethal medication ingested  0 0 0 0 

      Calls for other reason (including to pronounce death) 0 0 2 6 

      Not called after lethal medication ingested  47 92 31 86 

      Unknown 4 8 3 8 
Notes: 

1
Data published in 2009 report http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda/forms/DWDA_2009.pdf 

Data are collected from the After Death Reporting form. At the time of publication, data are available 

for 51 participants in 2010 who are known to have ingested the medication and died. 

http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda/forms/DWDA_2009.pdf
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Confidentiality 

 

The Death with Dignity Act requires that the Washington State Department of Health collect 

information and make an annual statistical report available to the public (RCW 70.245.150). The 

law also states that, except as otherwise required by law, the information collected is not a public 

record. That means it is not subject to public disclosure. To comply with that statutory mandate, 

the Department of Health will not disclose any information that identifies patients, physicians, 

pharmacists, witnesses, or other participants in activities covered by the Death with Dignity Act. 

The information presented in this report is limited to items with sufficient numbers in a reporting 

field to ensure that confidentiality is protected. 
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Appendix 

Overview of Death with Dignity Act 

 

The Washington State Death with Dignity Act (RCW 70.245) was passed by voter initiative on 

November 4, 2008 and became law on March 5, 2009. The law allows terminally ill adults 

seeking to end their lives in a humane and dignified manner to request lethal doses of medication 

from medical and osteopathic physicians. These terminally ill patients must be Washington 

residents who have an estimated six months (180 days) or less to live. More information on the 

Death with Dignity Act is available on the Department of Health’s website 

(www.doh.wa.gov/dwda). 

 

Role of Department of Health in Monitoring Compliance with the Act 

 

To comply with the act, attending physicians and pharmacists must file documentation with the 

Department of Health. Patient eligibility for participation in the act must be confirmed by two 

independent physicians (an attending physician and a consulting physician). Within 30 days of a 

prescription being written for medication under this act the attending physician must file the 

following forms with the Department of Health: 

1. Written Request for Medication to End Life Form (completed by the patient) 

2. Attending Physician Compliance Form (completed by the attending physician) 

3. Consulting Physician Compliance Form (completed by the consulting physician) 

 

A psychiatric or psychological evaluation is not required under the terms of the law. However, if 

the attending or consulting physician requests an evaluation, the psychiatrist or psychologist 

must complete a Psychiatric/Psychological Consultant Compliance Form and the attending 

physician must file this form within 30 days of writing the prescription. 

 

If the attending or consulting physician (or the psychiatrist or psychologist, if a referral is made) 

determines that a patient does not meet the qualifications to receive a prescription for medication 

under RCW 70.245, no forms have to be submitted to the Department of Health. 

 

Within 30 days of dispensing medication, the dispensing pharmacist must file a Pharmacy 

Dispensing Record Form. 

 

Within 30 days of a qualified patient’s death from ingestion of a lethal dose of medication 

obtained under the act, or death from any cause, the attending physician must file an Attending 

Physician After Death Reporting Form. 

 

To receive the immunity protection provided by RCW 70.245, physicians and pharmacists must 

make a good faith effort to file required documentation in a complete and timely manner. 

 

Under Washington law, a Death Certificate must be completed within 72 hours of death of an 

individual and filed with the local health agency where the death occurred. Local health agencies 

hold Death Certificates for 30 to 60 days before filing them with the state Department of Health. 

As a result, the state health department may receive an After Death Reporting Form before the 

Death Certificate is filed with the state. 

http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda

