
Medical cannabis  

laws and rules 

The Cannabis PaƟent ProtecƟon Act  (SB5052) was 
signed into law April 2015 and went into full effect 
on July 1, 2016.  

This law aligns licensing and regulaƟon of all canna-
bis producers, processors and stores under the over-
sight of the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis 
Board. This includes medically endorsed cannabis 
stores. 

Read the specific laws and rules for the medical can-
nabis database:  

● RCW 69.51A.230 

● Chapter 246-71 

Changes for medical  

cannabis pa ents 

In addiƟon to the opƟon to join the new medical canna-
bis database, the law requires: 

Standard Authoriza on Form 
All medical cannabis authorizaƟons must be wriƩen on 
the Department of Health form dated June 2015 (or 
later). All authorizaƟons issued on or aŌer July 1, 2018 
are required to be printed on authorizaƟon tamper-
resistant paper containing the RCW 69.51A.030 logo.  

Medical Cannabis Consultants 
A cerƟfied medical cannabis consultant is on staff in 
every licensed and medically endorsed cannabis store. 
The consultant  is not a medical provider and  can only: 

Learn more... 
Washington State Department of Health 
Medical Cannabis Program 

www.doh.wa.gov/medicalcannabis 

360-236-4819 
medicalcannabis@doh.wa.gov 

A paƟent’s guide to the ... 

Medical   

Cannabis  

Database 
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 Describe risks and benefits of methods for using 
products. 

 Give advice on ways to properly store products and 
keep them safe from children and pets. 

  Provide instrucƟon on proper use of products. 

Recogni on Card Fee 
The cardholder must pay a $1 fee when their card is cre-
ated. This fee is collected by the medically endorsed 
store and paid to the Department of Health. 

Note: The law does not restrict retail stores from 
charging more than $1. The average cost for each card 
may be between $1 and $10 (or more) depending on 
which store you go to.  

 Enter paƟent and designated provider informaƟon 
from the authorizaƟon form into the database and 
create the medical cannabis recogniƟon card.  

 Assist the paƟent with selecƟng products. 



Join the database, receive your medical cannabis card 
Database benefits 

The medical cannabis recogniƟon card you receive when 
you register in the database offers many benefits: 

 May buy up to three Ɵmes the current limit at any 
licensed and medically endorsed cannabis store. 

 May buy products at a licensed and medically en-
dorsed cannabis store without paying sales and use 
tax. 

 May have six plants and eight ounces of usable can-
nabis in their home and a healthcare pracƟƟoner 
may authorize up to 15 plants. PaƟents so author-
ized may have up to 16 ounces of usable cannabis 
produced from their plants.  

NOTE: No more than a total of 15 plants may be grown or 
located in any single housing unit even if mulƟple qualify-
ing paƟents or designated provider reside there. 

 May parƟcipate in a registered medical cannabis 
cooperaƟve. 

 If the cardholder follows all laws, receive arrest pro-
tecƟon. 

 May purchase immature plants, clones and seeds 
from a licensed cannabis producer  

How to get entered in the database 

1. Bring your medical cannabis authorizaƟon form to 
any licensed and medically endorsed cannabis store. 

2. Ask to see the medical cannabis consultant on staff 
who can enter your informaƟon into the database and 
create your medical cannabis recogniƟon card. 

Voluntary for pa ents 

Medical cannabis paƟents are not required to be in 
the authorizaƟon database unless the paƟent is un-
der the age of 18 years.  

 PaƟents and designated providers who hold val-
id authorizaƟons but choose not to be in the 
database may purchase only what the laws allow 
for non-paƟents. 

 PaƟents and designated providers will sƟll have 
an affirmaƟve defense to criminal prosecuƟon if 
they have no more than four plants and six ounc-
es of usable cannabis in their home. 

Find a store 

Licensed and medically endorsed cannabis stores 
should have the logo at right on  their door or win-
dow, or find a list of medically-endorsed stores on 
our website at www.doh.wa.gov/medicalcannabis/ 

  

Who can access  

the medical cannabis database 

The medical cannabis authorizaƟon database is a se-
cure system. State law strictly limits who can view da-
tabase informaƟon and how informaƟon can   
be used. 

The database is not linked to any other state or private 
systems. Only the following people can see infor-
maƟon from the database for specific tasks:  

● Access their paƟents’ healthcare informaƟon from 
the database: 

- Authorizing healthcare pracƟƟoners 

● Add paƟent informaƟon from the authorizaƟon 
form: 

- CerƟfied medical cannabis consultant working in a 
medically endorsed cannabis store 

● Learn who has accessed their healthcare infor-
maƟon: 

- Qualifying paƟents 

- Designated providers 

● Provide administraƟon or pull reports: 

- Database administrator 

- Washington State Department of Health 

- Washington State Department of Revenue 

- Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board 

● Verify that a card is valid: 

- Law enforcement 

- Employee working in a medically endorsed cannabis 
store 


