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A patient’s guide to...

Medical
Cannabis
Cooperatives

r

Medical cannabis
laws and rules

The Cannabis Patient Protection Act
was signed into law April 2015 and went
into full effect on July 1, 2016.

This law aligns licensing and regulation of
all cannabis producers, processors, retail

stores and patient cooperatives under the
oversight of the Washington State Liquor

and Cannabis Board (WSLC).

The Washington State Department of
Health manages the medical cannabis
database system and credentialing of
medical cannabis consultants who work in
medically endorsed cannabis stores.

Read the specific laws and rules on the
Washington State Legislature web site:

e RCW 69.51A.250
e RCW 69.50.331 (7-8)
e Chapter 314-55-410 WAC

Learn more...

Washington State Department of
Health Medical Cannabis Program

www.doh.wa.gov/medicalcannabis

360-236-4819

medicalcannabis@doh.wa.gov

The medical cannabis cooperative law replaced
the cannabis collectives law on July 1, 2016. Up
to four medical cannabis patients or their
designated provider* may join together to grow
cannabis for the patients’ personal use.

Every member must be entered into the medical
cannabis authorization database and have a
medical cannabis recognition card. The total
number of plants authorized for the participants
may not exceed 60 plants.

Cooperatives must register with the

Washington State Liquor and Cannabis
Board (WSLCB) and follow all regulations.

Record-keeping
The leader of the cooperative must:

e Maintain all records required by
the WSLCB.

e Ensure that members notify the
WSLCB within 15 days of joining
or leaving the cooperative.

e Wait 60 days after a member
leaves the cooperative before
adding a new member.

*Who is the designated provider?

/f o etk e Medical cannabis patients may designate
(’ Heaz i'h someone to purchase their cannabis product
and/or grow the cannabis for them.

DOH 608-014 June 2016



http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.51A.250
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=69.50.331
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=314-55-410
http://www.doh.wa.gov/medicalmarijuana
mailto:medicalmarijuana%40doh.wa.gov?subject=

How to form a cooperative...
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Step 1: Have a medical cannabis

B designated provider for a patient.

Step 3: Join together

Up to four cardholders may form
a cooperative that must be
located at the home of one of
the members.
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e authorization form To participate in Step 2: Get entered 3
_:.L".: F a medical cannabis cooperative you into the database -
— must be authorized by your Each member of the R ™
f healthgare pract.ltloner to use cooperative must take their
cannabis for medical purposes orbe @ ¢ gical cannabis authorization form to

a licensed and medically endorsed
cannabis store in Washington. A
consultant in the store can enter the
information into the medical cannabis
authorization database and create the
medical cannabis recognition card.

Step 4: Register your coopertive

One of the cooperative members must

be designated as the leader and will o
complete the registration application y
on the Washington State Liquor and —_—
Cannabis Board’s (WSLCB) website. .-E--:-%TL_‘
Photocopies of all cooperative ¥

members’ medical cannabis
recognition cards are needed for the application.
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»* E Step 5: Get your plants
% If you are starting a new cooperative, you must buy your plants from a

" Licensed 20 licensed WSLCB producer so they will be entered into the tracking
< Producer miﬁ system. White you are waiting for approval from the WSLCB, be

-

.

Step 6: Keep your permit at the growing site

Once you have received your registration, make sure you keep it
and copies of all the members’ recognition cards near where the
plants are being grown. WSLCB enforcement officers and local
law enforcement may visit to ensure you are following regulations.

%‘i%ﬁ sure not to grow more than the number of authorized plants for the
), cardholder at the residence of the proposed cooperative site.

Cooperative regulations

In order to form a cooperative, all members
must follow the state law and rules.
Cooperative members may ONLY:

e Be in a cooperative if they have a valid
medical cannabis recognition card.

e Form a four member cooperative.

e Participate in a cooperative if they
are at least 21 years of age.

e Grow up to the total number of plants
authorized, with a maximum of 60 plants.

e Belong to one cooperative.

e Grow plants in the cooperative and
not anywhere else.

e Use the cannabis and its products,
and not sell or give away cannabis or
cannabis products to anyone who is
not in the cooperative.
A cooperative must be:
e Located at one of the member’s homes.
e Limited to one cooperative per tax parcel.
e Enclosed by an 8-foot fence, if outdoors,
and cannot easily be seen or smelled.
No cooperative may be located in any
of the following areas:
e Within one mile of a cannabis retailer;
e Within the smaller of either:
- 1,000 feet of schools, playgrounds,
recreation centers, daycare centers,

or any facility restricted to people 21
years or older, or

- The area restricted by ordinances;
or

- Where prohibited by city, town, or
county zoning laws.


http://www.doh.wa.gov/YouandYourFamily/Marijuana/MedicalMarijuana/WhoCanAuthorize
http://www.doh.wa.gov/YouandYourFamily/Marijuana/MedicalMarijuana/WhoCanAuthorize
http://lcb.wa.gov/marj/dashboard



