
Medical cannabis 
laws and rules
The Cannabis Patient Protection Act  
was signed into law April 2015 and went 
into full effect on July 1, 2016. 
This law aligns licensing and regulation of 
all cannabis producers, processors, retail 
stores and patient cooperatives under the 
oversight of the Washington State Liquor 
and Cannabis Board (WSLC).  
The Washington State Department of 
Health manages the medical cannabis 
database system and credentialing of 
medical cannabis consultants who work in 
medically endorsed cannabis stores.
Read the specific laws and rules on the 
Washington State Legislature web site:  

● RCW 69.51A
● Chapter 246-71 WAC
● Chapter 246-72 WAC

Learn more...
Washington State Department of 
Health Medical Cannabis Program
www.doh.wa.gov/medicalmarijuana
Join our listServ:  
MedicalCannabis@ListServ.wa.gov
360-236-4819
medicalmarijuana@doh.wa.gov

A patient’s guide to...

Medical  
Cannabis 
Authorization 

Healthcare practitioner 
access to database
Authorizing healthcare practitioners may 
access the database system to see the list 
of patients they have authorized. They may 
revoke any authorization and its corresponding 
card, if necessary. 
Non-authorizing practitioners who are allowed 
to prescribe or dispense controlled substances 
have the option to search the database by the 
patient’s name and date of birth to review the 
patient’s healthcare information.
Because the database is voluntary for  
adults, not all authorized patients may be 
in the system. 

Changed your mind?
If you choose to no longer have an 
active Medical Cannabis Recognition 
card or would like to revoke your 
designated provider, you may complete 
the Revocation Request Form 
available on the department’s web site. 
Be sure to notify any designated provider 
you revoke from the database.
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Authorizing the Use of Cannabis
To be a Washington State medical cannabis patient you must be a resident, 
have a qualifying condition and obtain a medical cannabis authorization from 
a healthcare practitioner allowed to authorize cannabis for medical use.

About the form
The medical cannabis authorization form must 
be fully filled-out by the authorizing healthcare 
practitioner in their office with the patient (and 
designated provider, if any). The authorizing 
healthcare practitioner must verify that the 
patient is a resident of Washington State, and:

● Print the authorization form on
8.5 by 11 inch tamper-proof paper.*

● Fill in every box with information or use
N/A - such as when the patient does not
have a designated provider.

● Use full legal name and physical home
address for both the patient and
designated provider sections.

● Ensure their daytime office phone number
is included for verification.

● Write in number of plants up to 15 if
authorizing more than the default four
plants, and sign the form again.

Authorization expiration
Maximum expiration for adult patients age 18 
years and over is 12 months; for minor patients 
it is 6 months. The healthcare practitioner may 
choose to put a shorter expiration date.

Qualifying conditions
Patients with terminal or debilitating medical 
conditions may, under their healthcare 
practitioner’s care, benefit from cannabis. 
The qualifying conditions are limited to 
those listed on the state medical cannabis 
authorization form.

To be authorized, the condition must be 
severe enough to significantly interfere with 
the patient’s activities of daily living and 
ability to function, which can be objectively 
assessed and evaluated. 

Who may authorize
By law, the following types of healthcare 
practitioners licensed in Washington State 
are allowed to authorize the medical use of 
cannabis to qualifying patients:

● Medical Doctor (MD)
● Physician Assistant (PA)
● Osteopathic Physician (DO)
● Osteopathic Physician Assistant (DOA)
● Naturopathic Physician (ND)
● Advanced Registered Nurse

Practitioner (ARNP)

Finding an authorizer
Qualifying patients do not need to go to a 
“cannabis clinic” to get their authorization. 
You may discuss the use of cannabis as a 
form of treatment with your general 
practitioner or the specialist you see for  
your qualifying condition. 

What to do with the form
Healthcare Practitioners
Give the original form on tamper-proof paper 
to the patient and the patient’s designated 
provider, if any. 
Put a copy of the completed form in the 
patient’s medical record for future reference. 

Patients and Designated Providers
The patient and designated provider, if any, 
each have their own completed form they 
sign under the corresponding attestation.

● Grow plants
A patient with an authorization form is 
allowed to grow four plants.

● Join database, get recognition card 
A patient may take the authorization to 
a medically endorsed cannabis store 
where a certified consultant will enter 
the patient information into the medical 
cannabis authorization database and 
create a recognition card. Cardholders 
are allowed to grow six plants and up 
to 15 if so authorized by the healthcare 
practitioner.

*Note: The Medical Cannabis Authorization form is 
available on the department of Health’s web site. 
Tamper-proof paper may be purchased by the same 
vendor that supplies prescription products.

Who is the designated provider? 
Authorized patients may designate someone to 
purchase their cannabis product and/or grow the 
cannabis for them. 
The designated provider also receives and signs 
a copy of the form printed on tamper-proof paper. 
The designated provider must also join the 
database if the patient does.


