
Medical marijuana  
laws and rules
The Cannabis Patient Protection Act  
was signed into law April 2015 and went 
into full effect on July 1, 2016. 
This law aligns licensing and regulation of 
all marijuana producers, processors, retail 
stores and patient cooperatives under the 
oversight of the Washington State Liquor 
and Cannabis Board (WSLC).  
The Washington State Department of 
Health manages the medical marijuana 
database system and credentialing of 
medical marijuana consultants who work in 
medically endorsed marijuana stores.
Read the specific laws and rules on the 
Washington State Legislature web site:  

●● RCW 69.51A
●● Chapter 246-71 WAC
●● Chapter 246-72 WAC

Medical  
Marijuana  
Authorization 

Learn more...
Washington State Department of Health 
Medical Marijuana Program

www.doh.wa.gov/medicalmarijuana

360-236-4819

medicalmarijuana@doh.wa.gov

A patient’s guide to...

Healthcare practitioner 
access to database
Authorizing healthcare practitioners may 
access the database system to see the list 
of patients they have authorized. They may 
revoke any authorization and its corresponding 
card, if necessary. 
Non-authorizing practitioners who are allowed 
to prescribe or dispense controlled substances 
have the option to search the database by the 
patient’s name and date of birth to review the 
patient’s healthcare information.
Because the database is voluntary for  
adults, not all authorized patients may be  
in the system. 

Changed your mind?
If you choose to no longer have an active 
Medical Marijuana Recognition card or 
would like to revoke your designated 
provider, you may complete the 
Revocation Request Form available on 
the department’s web site. 
Be sure to notify any designated provider 
you revoke from the database.
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Authorizing the Use of Marijuana
To be a Washington State medical marijuana patient you must be a resident, 
have a qualifying condition and obtain a medical marijuana authorization from 
a healthcare practitioner allowed to authorize marijuana for medical use.

About the form
The medical marijuana authorization form must 
be fully filled-out by the authorizing healthcare 
practitioner in their office with the patient (and 
designated provider, if any). The authorizing 
healthcare practitioner must verify that the 
patient is a resident of Washington State, and:

●● Print the authorization form on  
8.5 by 11 inch tamper-proof paper.* 

●● Fill in every box with information or use  
N/A - such as when the patient does not 
have a designated provider.

●● Use full legal name and physical home 
address for both the patient and  
designated provider sections. 

●● Ensure their daytime office phone number  
is included for verification. 

●● Write in number of plants up to 15 if 
authorizing more than the default four 
plants, and sign the form again.

Authorization expiration
Maximum expiration for adult patients age 18 
years and over is 12 months; for minor patients 
it is 6 months. The healthcare practitioner may 
choose to put a shorter expiration date.

Qualifying conditions
Patients with terminal or debilitating medical 
conditions may, under their healthcare 
practitioner’s care, benefit from marijuana.
The qualifying conditions are limited to 
those listed on the state medical marijuana 
authorization form.

To be authorized, the condition must be 
severe enough to significantly interfere with 
the patient’s activities of daily living and 
ability to function, which can be objectively 
assessed and evaluated. 

Who may authorize
By law, the following types of healthcare 
practitioners licensed in Washington State 
are allowed to authorize the medical use of 
marijuana to qualifying patients:

●● Medical Doctor (MD) 
●● Physician Assistant (PA) 
●● Osteopathic Physician (DO) 
●● Osteopathic Physician Assistant (DOA) 
●● Naturopathic Physician (ND)
●● Advanced Registered Nurse  
Practitioner (ARNP)

Finding an authorizer
Qualifying patients do not need to go to a 
“marijuana clinic” to get their authorization. 
You may discuss the use of marijuana 
as a form of treatment with your general 
practitioner or the specialist you see for  
your qualifying condition. 

What to do with the form
Healthcare Practitioners
Give the original form on tamper-proof paper 
to the patient and the patient’s designated 
provider, if any. 
Put a copy of the completed form in the 
patient’s medical record for future reference. 

Patients and Designated Providers
The patient and designated provider, if any, 
each have their own completed form they 
sign under the corresponding attestation.

●● Grow plants 
A patient with an authorization form is 
allowed to grow four plants.

●● Join database, get recognition card 
A patient may take the authorization to 
a medically endorsed marijuana store 
where a certified consultant will enter 
the patient information into the medical 
marijuana authorization database and 
create a recognition card. 
Cardholders are allowed to grow six 
plants and up to 15 if so authorized by 
the healthcare practitioner. 

*Note: The Medical Marijuana Authorization form is 
available on the department of Health’s web site. 
Tamper-proof paper may be purchased by the same 
vendor that supplies prescription products. 

Who is the designated provider? 
Authorized patients may designate someone to 
purchase their marijuana product and/or grow the 
marijuana for them. The designated provider also 
receives and signs a copy of the form printed on 
tamper-proof paper. The designated provider must 
also join the database if the patient does.


