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Patient
 Information

What if I’m taking other drugs?
Tell your health care provider and pharmacist 
about all other drugs you are taking. It may 
be extremely dangerous to combine pain 
medications with other prescription or over-
the-counter drugs. If you have more than one 
provider, make sure they each know about all 
of the medications and drugs you are taking. 
This includes any vitamin supplements.

Can I drink alcohol while taking pain 
medication?
Talk to your health care provider. Alcohol 
may have unintended consequences. It could 
stop your breathing and cause death.

What can I do to ensure my chronic pain 
care continues?
Have a conversation with your health care 
provider about your needs and goals.

Use the space below to write questions you 
would like to ask your health care provider.

Washington State Department of Health 
Resources:
Pain Management: http://www.doh.wa.gov/
hsqa/Professions/PainManagement/
TakeAsDirected: http://www.doh.wa.gov/hsqa/
takeasdirected/
Washington Poison Center: http://www.wapc.
org/

Federal Government Resources:
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention:
Tips to Prevent Poisonings: http://www.cdc.gov/
ncipc/factsheets/poisonprevention.htm.
Drug Enforcement Administration: http://www.
justice.gov/dea/. 

Medication Security:
Unintentional poisoning death rates have risen 
by 395% over the past 16 years. It is your re-
sponsibility to keep your medications secure in 
your home and while you travel. These medi-
cations are intended for you alone. You should 
never share them or take them from others. 
This is illegal. Talk to your health care provid-
er about how to keep you and your family safe.

To dispose of unwanted medication, ask your 
pharmacy for a drop-off location near you. 
If you can’t drop off unused medication, put 
household waste or garbage in the bottle and 
throw it away in its original childproof and 
watertight bottle. Remove the label from the 
bottle before disposal. Do not flush the medica-
tion down the toilet. 



  
Why is the state doing laws and rules on 
pain management?
Pain management care often includes the 
use of opioid drugs. Overdose deaths and 
hospitalizations involving prescription pain 
medicines have dramatically increased in 
Washington State over the last 16 years. 

The Washington State legislature is con-
cerned with this trend and in 2010 passed a 
law in response to these concerns. The intent 
is to keep you safe and give your health care 
provider the best practices in pain manage-
ment. 

What professions are impacted by the law 
and rules?
Five boards and commissions were required 
to adopt rules on chronic pain management. 
The impacted professions are:
•	Physicians 
•	Physician assistants
•	Osteopathic physicians 
•	Osteopathic physician assistants
•	Advanced registered nurse practitioners
•	Dentists
•	Podiatrists

When is this effective?
The law was effective June 20, 2010. The 
rules are effective:
•	July 1, 2011 for osteopathic physicians and 

physician assistants, advanced registered 
nurse practitioners, dentists, and podia-
trists; and

•	January 2, 2012 for medical physicians 
and physician assistants.

Can I keep my current health care provider?
Yes. The law and rules do not require that you 
change your health care provider. Your health 
care provider does not have to stop seeing you. 
Under certain circumstances your health care 
provider may seek consultation from a pain 
specialist.

What does my health care provider have to 
do to keep caring for me and my chronic pain 
needs?
It depends on your health care provider and the 
status of your care and needs. You should talk to 
your health care provider.
•	He or she may need some continuing educa-

tion on pain management. 
•	He or she may need to consult with a pain 

specialist, or you may be referred to a pain 
specialist for a consultation. 

•	If your care and pain are stable, and you are 
on the same dosage of medication, your health 
care provider might only have to document 
this status in your patient record. 

What are opioid precription pain medicines?
Opioids are medicines that a health care provider 
prescribes to relieve moderate to severe pain. 
Some examples of these controlled substances 
are fentanyl, oxycodone, methadone, hydroco-
done, and morphine.

Do I have to change my pain medicine?
The rules do not require a change. That is a deci-
sion between you and your health care provider.

Do I have to consult with a pain specialist?
Not necessarily. It depends on your health 
care provider’s experience and training, your 
medical history, and the plan for your care. If 
you do need a consultation:
•	You may be referred to see a pain special-

ist, or
•	Your health care provider may consult 

with a pain specialist over the telephone or 
electronically, or

•	There may be an audio-visual evaluation 
done between you, your health care pro-
vider, and a pain specialist. 

•	There are consultation exemptions.  Talk 
to your health care provider to see if an 
exemption applies to you.

Is there a listing of pain specialists?
The state does not license by specialty and 
does not have lists of pain specialists. State 
or national pain organizations may have this 
information.

If I need the consultation, who pays for it?
The law and rules do not specify who pays 
for a consultation. As with other medically 
necessary consultations, you should check 
with your insurance carrier or referring pro-
vider.

What are some signs of pain medicine 
overdose?

Trouble breathing, confusion, can’t wake up, 
blue lips or blue fingernails, clammy or cool 
skin. More serious effects include seizure 
and coma. An overdose may result in death. 


