



21 IT'S THE LAW

Here are some ways **Health Care Providers** can support the new law:

Starting January 1, 2020, it is illegal in Washington state to sell tobacco and vapor products to individuals under 21.

This applies to all tobacco and vapor products, whether or not they contain nicotine. By eliminating legal sale to 18-20 year-olds, the law helps keep youth safe from nicotine addiction and the health consequences of using tobacco and vapor products.



Half of your patients who smoke will die from a tobacco-related disease. You play a vital role in helping your patients attain a tobacco-free life.

Disparities in tobacco use also exist by race, ethnicity, education level, and socioeconomic status. These disparities are exacerbated by the \$90 million spent on tobacco industry marketing to marginalized populations in Washington state each year, and the fact that marginalized populations experience disproportionately low access to health care.

The Washington State Department of Health (DOH) appreciates your continued efforts to discourage use of tobacco and vapor products. You can help patients quit by using proven and effective treatments for nicotine addiction, including brief counseling and medications. DOH recommends guiding patient conversations using the **5** A's:

1. ASK each patient about tobacco and vapor product use at every visit.

Include this as a vital sign, integrating prompts and reminders into your workflow. ICD-10 codes: Cigarette smoking (F17.21-), chewing tobacco (F17.22-), and nicotine vaping (F17.29-).

2. ADVISE patients who use tobacco or vape to quit.

Urge them to quit in a clear, strong, and personalized manner. Your brief, professional advice increases their likelihood of trying to quit.

FREE RESOURCES

Washington State Tobacco Quitline: 1-800-QUIT-NOW Coaching is available in 200+ languages. You can refer *any* patient for help quitting – smoking or vaping – to the Quitline via fax or quitline.com. You can also request free, printed promotional materials.

Smartphone apps: doh.wa.gov/quit Apps are research-based and use an Acceptance and Commitment Therapy model to help Washingtonians quit smoking or vaping, for free. Patients age 18-20 are currently eligible for a free two-week nicotine patch starter kit through the Smoking & Tobacco app.

Text-message programs: SmokefreeTXT text "QUIT" to **47848** to receive tips, advice, and encouragement to help you overcome challenges and stay motivated to quit. **This Is Quitting** *(for teen/young adult vaping):* text "DITCHJUUL" to 88709 to get help through cravings, stresses, and slips with the first-ever text-to-quit vaping service.

3. ASSESS patients' willingness to make a quit attempt.

Ask if they are willing to try quitting. For patients not ready to make an attempt, help motivate them by identifying reasons to do so, building their confidence to make a quit attempt. Tobacco & Vapor 21 and other product restrictions may be motivating factors.

4. **ASSIST** patients in their quit attempt.

Counsel or refer them to the Washington State Tobacco Quitline, and prescribe medication approved by the FDA for tobacco cessation, including nicotine replacement therapy (NRT) and non-nicotine prescription medication.

Counseling and medication double quit rates. Combine the nicotine patch and gum to triple your patients' chances of quitting.



Medication Insurance Payer Counseling Medicaid NRT patch, gum and/or lozenge Amerigroup In-person (bill CPT 99406 or CPT 99407) **Coordinated Care** (Apple Health) (Rx required for reimbursement) UnitedHealthcare NRT inhaler or nasal spray (Rx always required) Quitline referral Molina Community Health Plan of WA (for Quit For Life®) Bupropion (+ NRT patch) Fee-for-service In-person (pregnant clients only) Varenicline (bill CPT 99407) Medicare Various **Bupropion** In-person (coverage/billing varies) Varenicline NRT inhaler or nasal spray Private/commercial No insurance WA Dept. of Health Quitline referral (for free counseling and NRT patch)

Use this table for counseling and medication info based on patients' insurance and payer:

5. **ARRANGE** follow-up visits.

Schedule follow-up visits to review progress toward quitting. If a relapse occurs, encourage them to try again; insist that every try counts and to never quit quitting!

For questions, contact Nick Fradkin, Tobacco Cessation Consultant: nick.fradkin@doh.wa.gov.

For more information on Tobacco and Vapor 21, visit: doh.wa.gov/tobacco-and-vapor-21

