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Washington’'s Water Use Efficiency (WUE) Rule requires water systems to install service meters
on all residential connections by January 22, 2017.

Why do water systems need meters?

Meters provide instantaneous, hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, seasonal, and annual variations
that tell the story of efficient versus inefficient water use. This helps water managers understand
where and how to invest in their water system, thereby ensuring a safe and reliable supply of
water for customers now and into the future.

Understanding how much water each homeowner uses each month can help water systems
manage water supplies, especially during drought or other emergencies.

Why do homeowners need a water meter?

If you don't have a meter now you're probably paying a flat rate for your water every month.
That means customers who use a lot of water pay the same fee as customers who use less water.
After your water system installs your water meter, you may enjoy some new benefits. For
example, your meter can indicate a leak on your property. Access your shut-off valve and you
can stop a leak before it causes any more damage to your property. Your meter also will allow
you to manage your family’s water use. Homeowners who use less water may pay less when
they go from a flat rate to a rate based on actual use.

Who's responsible for compliance? Homeowners or water

systems?

Water systems, not individual homeowners, must comply with the law. However, a homeowner
who refuses to have a meter installed will put the entire water system into the difficult position
of noncompliance. We will review compliance with the metering deadline sometime in 2017, and
notify any water system not totally metered that it is out of compliance with the requirement.
We may work with the system to identify a reasonable installation schedule through a bilateral
compliance agreement.

Who will pay for my meter and how much will it cost?

It's up to the water system owner or manager to decide how they will finance the new meters.
When we adopted the rule in 2007, we predicted that each meter would cost $800 if financed
for 15 years at 6 percent interest ($87 a year or $7.25 a month). With inflation, most water
systems today report paying $800 to $1,200 per connection for labor and materials.

Will my water system change my rates after meter
installation?

It's up to the water system owner or manager to determine how they want to use the meters as
a way to pay for needed improvements, maintenance, or operation of the water system. Again, if



yours is a home that uses less water, you may end up paying lower rates when you pay for
actual use instead of a flat rate.

What kind of financial assistance is available?

Very low-income homeowners may be able to borrow the cost of materials and labor needed to
install a meter from USDA Rural Development.

For More Information

Contact your nearest ODW regional office.

To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127. Deaf or hard
of hearing customers, please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email
civil.rights@doh.wa.gov.

Ta/

HEALTH



mailto:civil.rights@doh.wa.gov
https://www.rd.usda.gov/programs-services/single-family-housing-programs/single-family-housing-repair-loans-grants
https://doh.wa.gov/community-and-environment/drinking-water/offices-and-staff/northwest-regional-office-staff

