
IT’S THE LAW

UNDER 21: It is now illegal 
for stores to sell you vapor 
devices, e-liquid or pods.

21+: New legal age for 
stores to sell you vapor 
devices, e-liquid or pods.

21+: New legal age for 
stores to sell you: cigarettes, 
smokeless tobacco, cigars, 
dissolvables, roll-your-own, 
hookah & pipe tobacco, 
nicotine gels 

UNDER 21: It is now illegal for
stores to sell you: cigarettes, 
smokeless tobacco, cigars, 
dissolvables, roll-your-own, 
hookah & pipe tobacco, 
nicotine gels

I’m 18 and I vape. What happens to 18-20 year-olds who smoke or vape now?

Why did Washington pass this new law?

As of January 1, 2020, it is illegal for stores to sell you tobacco or vapor products if you 
are under 21, even if you have been buying since you were 18. This law does not 
change penalties for purchase, possession, or use. If you are 17 or younger, you will 
continue to face fines and penalties for purchase, possession, or use. 

More than 8,000 Washingtonians die each year due to tobacco use, and most 
people who smoke begin using before age 21. This law will help protect young 
people from the health consequences of using tobacco and vaping.

Vaping has not been proven effective as an aid to quitting smoking, and many people 
vape in addition to smoking cigarettes. E-liquids can contain nicotine and substances 
known to cause lung disease. They also pose a poisoning risk to young children.

PEOPLE WHO USE TOBACCO ARE:
25 TIMES
more likely 
to develop 
lung cancer.

12 TIMES
more likely to die 
from pulmonary 
disease.

2-4 TIMES
more likely to 
have heart 
disease or stroke.

100%
of JUUL 
pods contain
nicotine levels equal to a 
whole pack of cigarettes.

????
E-liquids 
can contain
unknown 
chemicals and compounds.

30%
of high 
school
seniors in
Washington vaped in 2018.

Here are some things 18-20 year-olds should 
know about the new law:



The sale of tobacco and vapor 

products to persons under age 

21 is strictly prohibited by 

state law. Photo ID required 

upon request.GET FREE HELP TO QUIT

Smartphone app: doh.wa.gov/quit    Quitline: 1-800-QUIT-NOW
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For persons with disabilities, this document is available in other formats.

Please call 800-525-0127 (TDD/TTY 711) or email civil.rights@doh.wa.gov.
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know about the new law:

They won't continue selling to you because the law says 
they can't. Selling tobacco or vapor products to people 
under age 21 is a gross misdemeanor and may result
in criminal charges, fines, or both. Clerks and store 
owners are required to follow the law.

My local store will probably keep selling to me if they want my business.

I vape now, but might want to quit. How can I do that?

Go to doh.wa.gov/quit. Remember, the nicotine in tobacco and vapor 
products is extremely addictive, like cocaine or even heroin. Thatʼs why it 
can take several attempts to successfully quit tobacco. However, the more 
times people try to quit, the more 
likely they are to succeed on 
their next try.

You can download an app
to help you quit, plus learn 
about other options:

     

     In addition to self-help materials like the 
     app, and counseling resources like the 
     Quitline, medication and other quitting 
     resources may be available to you. Visit:
     doh.wa.gov/quit 

WASHINGTON STATE TOBACCO QUITLINE

1-800-QUIT-NOW
1-800-784-8669  |  quitline.com

(scan the
QR code 
above)Talk with a Quit Coach. Call 

the Washington State Tobacco   
 Quitline or register at 
 quitline.com.


