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Eligibility for Publicly Funded Vaccines: A Guide for Providers 
Eligibility Status and Codes for Children Under 19 
The Childhood Vaccine Program is a universal vaccine purchase program financed by a combination of federal and state dollars. All children less than 19 years of 
age are eligible to receive vaccines through the program. To ensure the appropriate source of funding is used for purchasing vaccines, providers are required to 
screen and document each patient’s eligibility status at every immunization visit. This document provides guidance on choosing the correct patient eligibility 
status, the related Immunization Information System (IIS) coding, and general billing guidelines for children and adults receiving publicly supplied vaccine. 

Patient Eligibility Status 
Eligible for 

Public Vaccine 
IIS Eligibility Code 

& Description 
IIS Funding Code 

& Description 
Dosage-Based 
Assessment? 

General Billing Guidelines 

American Indian/Alaska Native Child 
• Child is less than 19 years old 
• As defined by the Indian Health 

Care Improvement Act (25 U.S.C. 
1603-13) 

Yes 
Federal (VFC) 
vaccine 
eligible 

V04 
VFC Eligible – 
American 
Indian/ Alaska 
Native 

VXC51 
Publicly 
funded 
vaccine stock 
– VFC 

No • Follow guidelines below based 
on the patient’s insurance 
status 

• No DBA required for American 
Indian/Alaska Native children 
with private insurance 

Medicaid Child 
• Child is less than 19 years old 
• Enrolled in Medicaid or Medicaid 

Managed Care known as Apple Health* 

• Managed care plans provided by: 
Community Health Plan of WA, 
Coordinated Care, Molina Healthcare of 
WA, UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, 
Wellpoint WA** 

Yes 
Federal (VFC) 
vaccine 
eligible 

V02 
VFC Eligible – 
Medicaid/Medicaid 
Managed Care 

VXC51 
Publicly 
funded 
vaccine stock 
– VFC 

No • Bill according to Health Care 
Authority (HCA) and/or Managed 
Care Organization (MCO) 
guidelines (view current EPSDT 
billing guide) 

• Reimbursement determined by 
HCA/MCO 

• Contact HCA/MCO for billing 
questions 

Uninsured Child 
• Child is less than 19 years old 
• Does not have health insurance 
• Participates in a health sharing plan such 

as; OneShare, Liberty HealthShare, Medi- 
Share, Harmony, Samaritan, Zion, Unite 
Health Share Ministries, etc. 

Yes 
Federal (VFC) 
vaccine 
eligible 

V03 
VFC Eligible – 
Uninsured 

VXC51 
Publicly 
funded 
vaccine stock 
– VFC 

No • Cannot bill for cost of vaccine 
• May issue only a single bill within 90 

days for administration (admin) fee 
up to $23.44 per vaccine dose 

• Cannot send unpaid admin fee 
to collections  
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Patient Eligibility Status 
Eligible for 

Public Vaccine 
IIS Eligibility Code 

& Description 
IIS Funding Code 

& Description 
Dosage-Based 
Assessment? 

General Billing Guidelines 

Under-insured Child served at FQHC/RHC 
• Child is less than 19 years old 
• Has insurance but it does not cover 

vaccine & served at a Federally 
Qualified Health Center/Rural 
Health Center. 

• For non-FQHC/RHC sites, see 
Insured category.  

Yes 
Federal (VFC) 
vaccine 
eligible only 
through 
FQHC/RHC 

V05 
VFC Eligible – 
Underinsured 
at FQHC/RHC 

VXC51 
Publicly 
funded 
vaccine stock 
– VFC 

No • Cannot bill for cost of vaccine 
• May issue only a single bill 

within 90 days for admin fee 
up to $23.44 per vaccine dose 

• Cannot send unpaid admin fee 
to collections 

CHIP Child 
• Child is less than 19 years old 
• Enrolled in the Children's Health 

Insurance Program (CHIP) or Washington 
State Child Health Insurance Program 
(CHP). About 3% of children enrolled in 
an Apple Health program.  

• May require billing staff to determine 
CHIP/CHP enrollment* 

Yes 
State (Non- 
VFC) vaccine 
eligible 

V22 
CVP Eligible 
– CHIP 

VXC52 
Publicly funded 
vaccine stock – 
Non- VFC 

No • Bill according to Health Care 
Authority (HCA) and/or Managed 
Care Organization (MCO) 
guidelines 

• Reimbursement determined by 
HCA/MCO 

• Contact HCA/MCO for billing 
questions 

*See Page 4 for instructions on accessing ProviderOne to identify the appropriate eligibility status of Apple Health children. 
**Medicaid Managed Care insurers may also provide commercial health plans. Please identify the correct health coverage for proper documentation and billing. 

 
Washington Health Care Authority Customer Service Center 
For questions regarding Medicaid and CHIP (Apple Health)  

• Phone: 1-800-562-3022 
• Email: askmedicaid@hca.wa.gov 
• Website: www.hca.wa.gov/billers-providers-partners 
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Patient Eligibility Status Eligible for 
Public Vaccine 

IIS Eligibility Code 
& Description 

IIS Funding Code 
& Description 

Dosage-Based 
Assessment? 

General Billing Guidelines 

Insured Child 

• Child is less than 19 years old 
• Has insurance that covers vaccine including 

private, commercial, employer self- 
funded, health benefit exchange plans, 
etc. (e.g. Premera, Regence, Aetna, TRICARE, 
PSHB). 

• Has insurance that does not cover vaccine 
(i.e. underinsured) receiving care at a 
non-FQHC/RHC.  

Yes 

State (Non- 
VFC) vaccine 
eligible 

V25 (previously 
V10) CVP Eligible – 
Private Insurance 

VXC52 

Publicly funded 
vaccine stock – 
Non- VFC 

Yes 
 

 
 
• Bill Dosage-Based Assessment 

per insurer and WVA guidance 
• Contact WVA for billing instructions 

(http://www.wavaccine.org) 
• Cannot send to collections for 

unpaid administration fee (including 
patients out of network & with high 
deductibles) 

 
Washington Vaccine Association 
For questions regarding billing private/commercial insurers for publicly supplied vaccine administered to children under 19 

• Phone: 888-WA-vacci(ne) 888-928-2224 
• Email: info@wavaccine.org 
• Website: http://www.wavaccine.org 
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Instructions for Accessing ProviderOne to Identify Eligibility Status of Apple Health Children 
Coverage for Medicaid and CHIP enrolled children in Washington State falls under the umbrella of “Washington Apple Health for Kids”. Subgroups are not easily 
distinguished by name and have the same insurance card. Providers must log into ProviderOne to identify the correct eligibility category. 

1. Log into ProviderOne and select the Benefit Inquiry link under the client section of the Provider Portal. 

2. Enter eligibility inquiry for the patient using any of the possible search criteria. 

 

3. Click Submit. Note: The inquiry start date will default to today’s date. Change this date if it is not the date of service. 
4. ProviderOne displays the Client Benefit Level page. If your search was successful, the client’s benefit information is displayed. 
5. Below the search criteria and patient demographic information, the page will display eligibility information. 

6. Identify insurance type by their Recipient Aid Category (RAC) code and ACES Coverage Group code. See table below for CHIP/CHP RAC and ACES codes. 
 

RAC Code 
ACES Coverage 

Group Code 
Description 

1206, 1207 N13 Child is less than 19 years old, and is in Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) 
1211, 1212, 1213 N31, N33 Child is less than 19 years old, and is in Washington State Child Health Insurance Program (CHP) 
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Eligibility Status and Codes for Adults 19 & Older 
The Washington State Adult Vaccine Program provides vaccine to participating provider locations using federal Section 317 funding. Adults 19 and older may be 
eligible to receive vaccine through the program depending on their insurance status. To ensure vaccine is administered only to eligible adults, providers are 
required to screen and document each patient’s eligibility status at every immunization visit. This document provides guidance on who is eligible for program 
vaccine, choosing the correct patient eligibility status, the related Immunization Information System (IIS) coding, and general billing guidelines. 

 
 
 

Patient Eligibility Status 
Eligible for 

Public Vaccine 
IIS Eligibility Code 

& Description 
IIS Funding Code 

& Description 
General Billing 

Private Insured Adult 
• Adult is 19 years or older 
• Has private insurance that covers vaccine 

No V01 
Not Public Vaccine 
Eligible (CVP/AVP) 

PHC70 
Privately funded 
vaccine stock 

• Contact insurance plan for billing guidance 

Un/Under-insured Adult served by a non- 
enrolled Washington State Adult Vaccine 
Program facility 
• Adult is 19 years or older 
• Does not have health insurance 
• Has private or public insurance but 

it does not cover vaccine 

No V01 
Not Public Vaccine 
Eligible (CVP/AVP) 

PHC70 
Privately funded 
vaccine stock 

• May bill for cost of vaccine according to 
insurance plan and facility billing practices 

• May bill administration fee according to 
insurance plan and facility billing practices 

Medicare Adult 
• Adult is 19 years or older 
• Enrolled in Medicare 

No V24 
Adult - Medicare 

PHC70 
Privately funded 
vaccine stock 

• Contact Medicare for billing guidance 

Medicaid Adult 
•  Adult is 19 years or older  
• Enrolled in Medicaid 

No V01 
Not Public Vaccine 
Eligible (CVP/AVP) 

PHC70 
Privately funded 
vaccine stock 

• Bill according to Health Care Authority 
(HCA) and/or Managed Care Organization 
(MCO) guidelines  

• Contact HCA/MCO for billing questions 
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For more information, visit the Washington State Adult Vaccine Program 

 
Patient Eligibility Status 

Eligible for 
Public Vaccine 

IIS Eligibility Code 
& Description 

IIS Funding Code 
& Description 

 
General Billing 

Uninsured Adult served by an enrolled 
Washington State Adult Vaccine Program 
facility 
• Adult is 19 years or older 
• Receiving care at a facility enrolled in the 

Washington State Adult Vaccine Program 
(AVP) 

• Does not have insurance 
 

Yes 
State program 
eligible 

V23 
Adult – State 
Program (AVP) 
Eligible  

VXC52 
Publicly funded 
vaccine stock 

• Cannot bill for cost of vaccine 
• Can bill administration fee up to $23.44 

per vaccine dose 
• May issue only a single bill within 90 

days 
• Must waive fee if patient is unable to pay 
• Cannot refuse to administer vaccine to 

patients 
• Cannot send to collections for unpaid 

administration fee 

Under-Insured adult seen at facility 
without cost-free coverage for COVID-19 
vaccine 
• Adult is 19 years or older  
• Receiving care at a facility that has AVP 

COVID-19 vaccine 

Yes 
State program 
eligible – COVID-
19 only 

V23 
Adult – State 
Program (AVP) 
Eligible 
 

VXC52 
Publicly funded 
vaccine stock 

• Cannot bill for cost of vaccine 
• Can bill administration fee up to $23.44 

per vaccine dose 
• May issue only a single bill within 90 

days 
• Must waive fee if patient is unable to pay 
• Cannot refuse to administer vaccine to 

patients 
• Cannot send to collections for unpaid 

administration fee 
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