
 
 

Washington State CCHD Mandate and Newborn Screening 
In 2015, the Washington State Legislature mandated that birthing hospitals or health care providers attending births must 
screen all newborns for CCHD before discharge. They defined CCHD cases as infants born with a congenital heart defect 
requiring surgery within the first year of life. While screening is mandated and performed across the state, the data 
received by the Department of Health are CCHD diagnoses data. These data use a more time-limiting criteria, and define 
CCHD as all infants in Washington State requiring surgery within the first month of life.  
 
CCHD screening by pulse oximetry (pulse ox) is an effective tool to detect serious health problems in otherwise well-
appearing newborns and ensures they receive appropriate follow-up care. 
 
In the reporting period between July 2015 and December 2018, 365 infants diagnosed with CCHD were born at hospitals 
(362), birth centers (2) or private homes (1) in Washington State. Of these infants, 25 cases were identified through CCHD 
screening. However, the majority of reported CCHD cases were identified through prenatal diagnosis. 
 

Washington State’s CCHD Data Sources 
Infants identified with CCHD are treated at one of three hospitals with neonatal cardiology surgical services in Washington 
State (Seattle Children's Hospital, Mary Bridge Children's Hospital, and Sacred Heart Medical Center & Children's Hospital). 
These hospitals provided their diagnoses data to the Screening and Genetics Unit at the state Department of Health for this 
report. More than half of all birthing hospitals in Washington State delivered one or more babies with CCHD. 
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   CCHD Findings for Washington State (July 2015-December 2018) 

*21 infants screened and yet not diagnosed with CCHD had conditions that pulse oximetry screening sometimes misses. 

When to screen 

Health care providers should screen each infant no 
sooner than 24 hours but no later than 48 hours 
after birth. 

Why to screen 

States with mandatory CCHD screening policies 
show a 33.4 percent decline in the death rate due 
to CCHD. 

Pulse Oximetry Screening for CCHD 
The screening measures amount of oxygen in the baby’s blood by gently wrapping sensors on the baby’s hand and 
foot. Sensors detect light passing through the skin from one side of the sensor to the other. Pulse oximetry should be 
repeated every hour if retesting is necessary until three tests have not passed. Newborns not passing the screening 
have low blood oxygen levels and need further evaluation.  
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# of cases Hospital # of cases Hospital 
2 Bremerton Naval Hospital 61 Providence Sacred Heart Medical Center 
1 Capital Medical Center 3 Providence St. Mary Medical Center 
2 Central Washington Hospital 3 Providence St. Peter Hospital 
5 Deaconess Hospital 5 Samaritan Healthcare 

19 Evergreen Health 3 Skagit Valley Hospital 
2 Grays Harbor 2 St. Francis Hospital 
5 Harrison Memorial Hospital 5 St. Joseph Hospital 
1 Island Hospital Anacortes 1 Sunnyside Hospital 
5 Kadlec Regional Medical Center 2 Swedish Medical Center – Ballard Campus 
2 Kittitas Valley Healthcare 38 Swedish Medical Center 

10 Madigan Army Medical Center 1 Toppenish Hospital 
1 MultiCare Auburn Medical Center 3 Trios Health Hospital  
2 MultiCare Good Samaritan Hospital 119 University of Washington Medical Center 

22 Multicare Tacoma General Hospital 6 Valley Medical Center 
1 NW Hosp. Medical Ctr UW Medicine 3 Virginia Mason Memorial Hospital 
1 Newport Hospital & Health Services 1 Wenatchee Valley Hospital 
7 Overlake Medical Center 5 Hospital name unknown (filled incompletely) 
5 Peace Health St. Joseph Medical Center 2 Birth centers (Lakeside Birth & Salmonberry) 
2 Prosser Memorial Hospital Medical Center 1 Home birth (Midwife) 

5 
Providence Everett Regional Medical 
Center 
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   CCHD Cases in Washington by Hospital of Birth 

   CCHD Screening Table 

PASS 
Pulse ox of 95% or 
more in right hand or 
foot and difference of 
3% or less between 
the two. 
ACTION: Do not 
repeat for screening. 
Provide normal 
newborn care. 
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RETEST 
ACTION: Repeat pulse ox measurements in 
one hour. If the second test remains green, 
repeat again in one hour. If the third test is 
green, it is a FAIL. Report results to the 
medical provider. 
 

FAIL 
Pulse ox of 89% or less in either the 
right hand or foot. ACTION: Do not 
repeat. Report results to the medical 
provider. 


