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Washington State Department of Health 2014 Death with Dignity Act Report 
 

Executive Summary  
 
Washington’s Death with Dignity Act allows adult residents in the state with six months or less 

to live to request lethal doses of medication from a physician. In this report, a participant of the 

act is defined as someone to whom medication was dispensed under the terms of this law. This 

report describes available information for the 176 participants for whom medication was 

dispensed between January 1, 2014 and December 31, 2014. It includes data from the 

documentation received by the Department of Health as of March 16, 2015. 

 

In 2014, medication was dispensed to 176 individuals (defined as 2014 participants): 

 Prescriptions were written by 109 different physicians 

 Medications were dispensed by 57 different pharmacists 

 

Of the 176 participants in 2014: 

 170 are known to have died 

 126 died after ingesting the medication 

 17 died without having ingested the medication 

 For the remaining 27 people who died, ingestion status is unknown 

 For the six participants not included among those known to have died, the state health 

department has received no documentation that indicates death has occurred 

  

The 170 participants who died in 2014 ranged in age from 21 to 101 years old. Ninety-five 

percent lived west of the Cascades. Of the 170 participants in 2014 who died: 

 73 percent had cancer 

 13 percent had neuro-degenerative disease, including Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis 

(ALS) 

 14 percent had other illnesses, including heart and respiratory disease 

 

Of the 169 participants in 2014 who died for whom a death certificate was provided to the state: 

 92 percent were white, non-Hispanic 

 56 percent were married 

 76 percent had at least some college education 

 

Of the 143 participants in 2014 who died and for whom an After Death Report was received: 

 93 percent had private, Medicare, Medicaid, or a combination of health insurance 

 89 percent reported to their health care provider concerns about loss of autonomy 

 79 percent reported to their health care provider concerns about loss of dignity 

 94 percent reported to their health care provider concerns about loss of the ability to 

participate in activities that make life enjoyable 

 

Of the 126 participants in 2014 who died after ingesting the medication: 

 92 percent were at home at the time of death 

 68 percent were enrolled in hospice care when they ingested the medication 
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Death with Dignity Participation in 2014 

 

For the purposes of this report, a participant of the Death with Dignity Act in 2014 is defined as 

someone to whom medication was dispensed in 2014 under the terms of the act. Details of the 

act are included in Appendix A. 

 

To date, the state health department has received documentation indicating that lethal doses of 

medication were dispensed to 176 participants under the law in 2014. These prescriptions were 

written by 109 different physicians and dispensed by 57 different pharmacists. The department 

has not yet received all of the required paperwork for all 176 participants. Table 5 in Appendix A 

shows details of the documentation that has been received by the department. When all the 

required paperwork is not received, department staff contacts health care providers to obtain the 

documentation. 

 

Among the 176 participants who received medication in 2014, the department has received 

confirmation that 170 have died. One hundred twenty-six ingested the medication, 17 did not 

ingest, and the ingestion status is unknown for 27 (Figure 1). Death of a participant is established 

through receipt of the After Death Reporting form and/or a death certificate. 

 

The status of the remaining six participants is unknown at the time of this report. Some 

participants may still be alive since they may wait to use the medication or choose not to use it. It 

is also possible that some participants have taken the medication and died, but notification has 

not yet been received by the department because the After Death Reporting form is due 30 days 

after death and the death certificate is due 60 days after death.
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Figure 1. Outcome of the 176 participants who received medication in 2014 under the 

terms of the Death with Dignity Act 
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Update on Death with Dignity Participation 2009-2014 

Since the last Death with Dignity report was published on June 4, 2014 the department received 

additional information on participants from prior years. As of March 16, 2015, 169 of the 173 

participants in 2013, 121 of the 121 participants in 2012, 102 of the 103 participants in 2011, 86 

of the 87 participants in 2010, and 64 of the 65 participants in 2009 had died. The status of the 

four remaining participants in 2013, the one remaining participant in 2011, the one remaining 

participant in 2010, and the one remaining participant in 2009 remains unknown. These 

participants may have died, no documentation of the death has been received. The number of 

participants in 2009-2014, and the number of these participants who are known to have died as 

of March 16, 2015, is shown in Figure 2. 

 

 

Figure 2. Number of Death with Dignity Participants and Known Deaths, 2009-2014 
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Table 1. Characteristics of the participants of the Death with Dignity Act who have died 

  2014 2013
1
 

 Number % Number % 

Sex
3
     

   Male 73 43 86 52 

   Female 96 57 79 48 

Age (years)
2
     

   18-44 6 3 5 3 

   45-54 10 6 9 5 

   55-64 32 19 29 17 

   65-74 53 31 53 32 

   75-84 40 24 41 24 

   85+ 29 17 32 19 

   Range (min-max) 21-101  29-95  

Race and Ethnicity
3
     

   Non-Hispanic White 156 92 159 96 

   Hispanic and/or Non-White 12 7 6 4 

   Unknown 1 1   

Marital Status
3
      

   Married 80 47 84 51 

   Widowed 34 20 27 16 

   Divorced 36 21 43 26 

   Domestic partner (state-registered) 1 1 0 0 

   Never married 17 10 11 7 

   Unknown 1 1   

Education
3
     

   Less than high school 4 2 1 1 

   High school graduate 34 20 40 24 

   Some college 42 25 44 26 

   Baccalaureate or higher 86 50 79 48 

   Unknown 3 3 1 1 

Residence
2,4

     

   West of the Cascades 161 95 153 96 

   East of the Cascades 9 5 6 4 

Underlying illness
2
     

   Cancer 129 76 123 77 

   Neuro-degenerative disease (including ALS
5
) 21 13 24 15 

   Respiratory disease (including COPD
6
) 4 2 7 5 

   Heart disease 10 6 3 2 

   Other illnesses 6 3 2 1 

Insurance Status
7
     

   Private only 33 23 27 19 

   Medicare or Medicaid only 82 57 86 59 

   Combination of private and Medicare/Medicaid 18 13 24 17 

   None 3 2 0 0 

   Unknown 7 5 8 5 
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Notes: 

1
 Data derived from the death certificate (sex, age, race/ethnicity, marital status, and education) have been updated  

  for 14 of the 2013 participants with information received since the 2013 report was published. At time of  

  publication, death certificate data are available for 165 of the 2013 participants.    

 
2
 Data are collected from multiple documents. At time of publication, data are available for all 170 of the 

   participants in 2014 who died.  

 
3
 Data are collected from the death certificate. At time of publication, data are available for 169 of the 170  

   participants in 2014 who died.  

4
 Counties west of the Cascades include: Clallam, Clark, Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap,  

   Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Thurston, Wahkiakum, and Whatcom.   

   Counties east of the Cascades include: Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Columbia, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin,  

   Garfield, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Walla Walla, Whitman,  

   and Yakima. 

5
 Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS). 

6
 Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD). 

7
 Data are collected from the After Death Reporting form. At the time of publication, data are available for 143 of 

   the 170 participants in 2014.  
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Table 2. End of life concerns of participants of the Death with Dignity Act who have died 

 

 2014 2013
1
 

 Number % Number % 

End of Life Concerns
2,3

     

   Losing autonomy  127 89 132 91 

   Less able to engage in activities making life 

   enjoyable  
135 94 129 89 

   Loss of dignity  113 79 115 79 

   Burden on family, friends/caregivers  85 59 88 61 

   Losing control of bodily functions  73 51 75 52 

   Inadequate pain control or concern about it  59 41 53 36 

   Financial implications of treatment  12 8 19 13 

 

Notes: 

1
 Data published in 2013 report 

   http://www.doh.wa.gov/DataandStatisticalReports/VitalStatisticsData/DeathwithDignityData.aspx  

 
2
 Data are collected from the After Death Reporting form. At the time of publication, data are available for 143 

   of the 170 participants in 2014 who died. 

 
3
 Participants may have selected more than one end of life concern. Thus the totals are greater than 100 percent. 

http://www.doh.wa.gov/DataandStatisticalReports/VitalStatisticsData/DeathwithDignityData.aspx
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Table 3. Death with Dignity Act process for the participants who have died 

 2014 2013
1
 

 Number % Number % 

Family and Psychiatric/Psychological 

involvement 
    

   Referred for    

   psychiatric/psychological evaluation
2
 

6 4 6 4 

   Patient informed family of decision
3
  146 88 132 88 

Medication
4
     

   Secobarbital 112 64 16 10 

   Pentobarbital  64 36 142 89 

   Secobarbital/Pentobarbital Combination 0 0 0 0 

   Other   0 0 1  1 

Timing      

 Duration of patient-physician    

 relationship
5
 

    

   <25 weeks 62 43 74 51 

   25 weeks – 51 weeks 18 13 15 10 

   1 year or more 57 40 56 39 

   Unknown 6 4 0 0 

   Range (min – max) <1 wk – 23 yrs  <1 wk – 28 yrs  

 Duration between first oral request and 

 Death
2
 

    

   <25 weeks  145 87 130 89 

   25 weeks or more 15 9 16 11 

   Unknown 7 4 0 0 

   Range (min – max) 2 wks – 57 wks  2 wks – 73 wks  
 

Notes: 

1
 Data published in 2013 report 

   http://www.doh.wa.gov/DataandStatisticalReports/VitalStatisticsData/DeathwithDignityData.aspx. 

 
2
 Data are collected from the Attending Physician’s Compliance form. At the time of publication, data are 

   available for 167 of the 170 participants in 2014 who died. 

3
 Data are collected from the Written Request for Medication to End Life. At the time of publication, data are 

   available for 165 of the 170 participants in 2014 who died. 

4
 Data are collected from the Pharmacy Dispensing Record Form. At the time of publication, data are available for     

 all 176 of the participants in 2014 who received medication. 

5
 Data are collected from the After Death Reporting form. At the time of publication, data are available for 143 of  

   the 170 participants in 2014 who died. 

  

http://www.doh.wa.gov/DataandStatisticalReports/VitalStatisticsData/DeathwithDignityData.aspx
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Table 4. Circumstances and complications related to ingestion of medication prescribed 

under the Death with Dignity Act of the participants who have died 

 2014 2013
1
 

 Number % Number % 

Circumstances when medication ingested
2
     

Healthcare provider present      

   Prescribing physician  7 6 2 2 

   Other provider, not prescribing physician,  

   present  
78 62 62 52 

   No provider  21 16 48 40 

   Unknown 20 16 7 6 

Location of patient      

   Home (patient, family, friend)  116 92 100 84 

   Long term care, assisted living or foster care  

   facility  
7 5 15 12 

   Hospital  0 0 1 1 

   Other  2 2 2 2 

   Unknown 1 1 1 1 

Hospice care     

   Enrolled 86 69 102 86 

   Not enrolled 35 28 16 13 

   Unknown 5 4 1 1 

Timing
2
     

Minutes between ingestion and unconsciousness     

   1 min – 10 min 84 67 80 67 

   11 min or more 11 9 5 4 

   Unknown 31 24 34 29 

   Range (min – max) 1 min – 60 min  1 min – 180 min  

Minutes between ingestion and death     

   1 min – 90 min 91 72 90 76 

   91 min or more 10 8 4 3 

   Unknown 25 20 25 21 

   Range (min – max) 3 min – 18hrs  2 min – 41hrs  

Complications
2
     

   Regurgitation 2 2 3 3 

   Seizures 1 1 0 0 

   Awakened after taking prescribed medication  0 0 0 0 

   Other 0 0 0 0 

   None  121 96 106 89 

   Unknown 2 1 10 8 

Emergency Medical Services involvement
2
     

   Called for intervention after lethal medication  

   ingested  
0 0 0 0 

   Called for other reason (including to pronounce  

   death) 
2 2 3 3 

   Not called after lethal medication ingested  117 93 108 91 

   Unknown 7 5 8 7 
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Notes: 

1
 Data published in 2013 report 

  http://www.doh.wa.gov/DataandStatisticalReports/VitalStatisticsData/DeathwithDignityData.aspx. 

 
2
 Data are collected from the After Death Reporting form. At the time of publication, data are available 

   for 143 participants in 2014 who are known to have ingested the medication.  

  

http://www.doh.wa.gov/DataandStatisticalReports/VitalStatisticsData/DeathwithDignityData.aspx
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Appendix A 

Overview of Death with Dignity Act 
 

The Washington State Death with Dignity Act, chapter 70.245 RCW, was passed by voter 

initiative on November 4, 2008, and became law on March 5, 2009. The law allows terminally ill 

adults seeking to end their lives in a humane and dignified manner to request lethal doses of 

medication from medical and osteopathic physicians. These terminally ill patients must be 

Washington residents who have an estimated six months (180 days) or less to live. More 

information on the Death with Dignity Act is available on the Department of Health website 

(http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda/). 

 

Role of Department of Health in Monitoring Compliance with the Act 
 

To comply with the act, attending physicians and pharmacists must file documentation with the 

department. Patient eligibility for participation in the act must be confirmed by two independent 

physicians (an attending physician and a consulting physician). Within 30 days of writing a 

prescription for medication under this act, the attending physician must file the following forms 

with the department: 
 

 Written Request for Medication to End Life Form (completed by the patient) 

 Attending Physician Compliance Form (completed by the attending physician) 

 Consulting Physician Compliance Form (completed by the consulting physician) 
 

A psychiatric or psychological evaluation is not required under the terms of the law. However, if 

the attending or consulting physician requests an evaluation, the psychiatrist or psychologist 

must complete a Psychiatric/Psychological Consultant Compliance Form and the attending 

physician must file this form within 30 days of writing the prescription. 

 

If the attending or consulting physician (or the psychiatrist or psychologist, if a referral is made) 

determines that a patient does not meet the qualifications to receive a prescription for medication 

under chapter 70.245 RCW, no forms have to be submitted to the department. 
 

Within 30 days of dispensing medication, the dispensing pharmacist must file a Pharmacy 

Dispensing Record Form. 
 

Within 30 days of a qualified patient’s death from ingestion of a lethal dose of medication 

obtained under the act, or death from any cause, the attending physician must file an Attending 

Physician After Death Reporting Form. 
 

To receive the immunity protection provided by chapter 70.245 RCW, physicians and 

pharmacists must make a good faith effort to file required documentation in a complete and 

timely manner. 

 

Under Washington law, a death certificate must be completed within 72 hours of death and filed 

with the local health agency where the death occurred. Local health officials may hold death 

http://www.doh.wa.gov/dwda/
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certificates for 30 to 60 days before filing them with the state health department. As a result, an 

After Death Reporting Form may reach the state before the death certificate arrives. 

 

The department received the following documentation for 2014 Death with Dignity participants 

(people who received medication) as of March 16, 2015: 

 

Table 5. Documentation Received for 2014 Participants 

 

Form Number  

Written Request to End Life Form 165 

Attending Physician Compliance Form 167 

Consulting Physician Compliance Form 162 

Psychiatric/Psychological Consulting Form 6 

Pharmacy Dispensing Record Form 176 

After Death Reporting Form 

Death Certificate 
143 

169 

 

 

Confidentiality 

 

The Death with Dignity Act requires that the department collect information and make an annual 

statistical report available to the public (RCW 70.245.150). The law also states that, except as 

otherwise required by law, the information collected is not a public record. That means it is not 

subject to public disclosure. To comply with that statutory mandate, the department will not 

disclose any information that identifies patients, physicians, pharmacists, witnesses, or other 

participants in activities covered by the Death with Dignity Act. The information presented in 

this report is limited to items with sufficient numbers in a reporting field to ensure that 

confidentiality is protected. 




