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Overview 

 

Washington State Department of Health, in conjunction with Washington State appointed medical 

program directors (MPD), have identified six topic areas to meet state and local content 

requirements for National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) national 

continued competency program (NCCP) method of recertification for Washington State EMS 

Providers. 

 

Background 

 

NREMT provides two pathways for recertification, recertification by exam or by continuing 

education. In March 2019, all provider national EMS certifications recertifying via continuing 

education follow the NCCP model. 

 

The NCCP recertification model divides the total number of hours required for recertification into 

three categories: national content 50 percent, state and local content 25 percent, and individual 

content 25 percent. 

 

National content topics will be updated by NREMT every four years, most recently updated in 

2024. State and local content topic areas established in this document will be updated as needed. 

The individual hours are considered flexible content by NREMT. Providers may use any state-or 

Commission on Accreditation for Pre-Hospital Continuing Education (CAPCE) (formerly known as 

CECBEMS)-approved EMS–related education to fulfill these requirements. 

 

As of 2022, there are no distributive education (DE) limits of NREMT education. DE is any 

instruction method where the student does not have access to an instructor in real time. Examples 

include: online courses, video reviews, and journal article reviews. Note: CAPCE uses the F3 

designation for distributive education. Education can be gathered through DE or in-person courses. 

There are no limits on how much DE is utilized. Other CAPCE designations F1 (one-time events), 

F2 (multiple-event activities), and F5 (Virtual Instructor Led Training-VILT) are not classified as 

DE and can be counted as instructor-based training. 

 

Hour Category EMR EMT AEMT Paramedic 
Percentage of DE 

hours allowed  

National Content 8  20  25  30  100% 

State and Local Content 4  10  12.5  15  100% 

Individual Content 4  10  12.5  15  100% 

Total Hours NREMT for 

recertification 
16 40 50 60 100% 

 

  

http://www.capce.org/
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Guideline for Washington State and local LCR Topic Areas 

 

Education hours to meet the NREMT NCCP state and local content may come from any of the 

below topics. No specific number of hours within each category are prescribed; however, it is 

recommended that providers seek education hours from more than one topic area. 

 

• Patient Advocacy 

o Reporting obligations 

o POLST 

o People with disabilities or functional needs 

o Multicultural health awareness and equity education for EMS 

• Provider Advocacy 

o Suicide awareness 

o Mental and physical wellbeing 

o Workplace safety 

• Law and Regulations 

o Scope of practice 

o Regulatory requirements 

• Protocols 

o State triage tools (stroke, cardiac, trauma) 

o County and regional MPD patient care protocols (protocols) 

o County operating procedures (COP) 

o Regional patient care procedures (PCP) 

• Disaster Preparedness 

o ICS 

o Disaster preparedness 

• Documentation 

o Clinical patient care (data quality and documentation standards) 

o Key performance indicators (KPI) and research 
 

Washington State will recognize education hours from the following sources: hours associated with 

state and MPD approved OTEP, state approved refresher courses, CAPCE accredited education 

providers, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and conferences that are recognized 

by Washington State or regional and local EMS councils. 

 

For more information or if you have questions, please contact the EMS Education and Training 

consultant at 360-236-2842 or HSQA.EMS@doh.wa.gov. 

 

 
To request this document in another format, call 1-800-525-0127. Deaf or hard of hearing customers, 

please call 711 (Washington Relay) or email doh.information@doh.wa.gov. 
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