
Medical cannabis  

laws and rules 

The Cannabis Patient Protection Act  (SB5052) was 

signed into law April 2015 and went into full effect 

on July 1, 2016.  

This law aligns licensing and regulation of all canna-

bis producers, processors and stores under the over-

sight of the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis 

Board. This includes medically endorsed cannabis 

stores. 

Read the specific laws and rules for the medical can-

nabis database:  

● RCW 69.51A.230 

● Chapter 246-71 

Changes for medical  

cannabis patients 

In addition to the option to join the new medical canna-

bis database, the law requires: 

Standard Authorization Form 

All medical cannabis authorizations must be written on 

the Department of Health form dated June 2015 (or 

later). All authorizations issued on or after July 1, 2018 

are required to be printed on authorization tamper-

resistant paper containing the RCW 69.51A.030 logo.  

Medical Cannabis Consultants 

A certified medical cannabis consultant is on staff in 

every licensed and medically endorsed cannabis store. 

The consultant  is not a medical provider and  can only: 

Learn more... 

Washington State Department of Health 
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www.doh.wa.gov/medicalcannabis 

360-236-4819 
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• Describe risks and benefits of methods for using 

products. 

• Give advice on ways to properly store products and 

keep them safe from children and pets. 

•  Provide instruction on proper use of products. 

Recognition Card Fee 

The cardholder must pay a $1 fee when their card is cre-

ated. This fee is collected by the medically endorsed 

store and paid to the Department of Health. 

Note: The law does not restrict retail stores from 

charging more than $1. The average cost for each card 

may be between $1 and $10 (or more) depending on 

which store you go to.  

• Enter patient and designated provider information 

from the authorization form into the database and 

create the medical cannabis recognition card.  

• Assist the patient with selecting products. 



Join the database, receive your medical cannabis card 
Database benefits 

The medical cannabis recognition card you receive when 

you register in the database offers many benefits: 

• May buy up to three times the current limit at any 

licensed and medically endorsed cannabis store. 

• May buy products at a licensed and medically en-

dorsed cannabis store without paying sales and use 

tax. 

• May have six plants and eight ounces of usable can-

nabis in their home and a healthcare practitioner 

may authorize up to 15 plants. Patients so author-

ized may have up to 16 ounces of usable cannabis 

produced from their plants.  

NOTE: No more than a total of 15 plants may be grown or 

located in any single housing unit even if multiple qualify-

ing patients or designated provider reside there. 

• May participate in a registered medical cannabis 

cooperative. 

• If the cardholder follows all laws, receive arrest pro-

tection. 

• May purchase immature plants, clones and seeds 

from a licensed cannabis producer  

How to get entered in the database 

1. Bring your medical cannabis authorization form to 

any licensed and medically endorsed cannabis store. 

2. Ask to see the medical cannabis consultant on staff 

who can enter your information into the database and 

create your medical cannabis recognition card. 

Voluntary for patients 

Medical cannabis patients are not required to be in 

the authorization database unless the patient is un-

der the age of 18 years.  

• Patients and designated providers who hold val-

id authorizations but choose not to be in the 

database may purchase only what the laws allow 

for non-patients. 

• Patients and designated providers will still have 

an affirmative defense to criminal prosecution if 

they have no more than four plants and six ounc-

es of usable cannabis in their home. 

Find a store 

Licensed and medically endorsed cannabis stores 

should have the logo at right on  their door or win-

dow, or find a list of medically-endorsed stores on 

our website at www.doh.wa.gov/medicalcannabis/ 

  

Who can access  

the medical cannabis database 

The medical cannabis authorization database is a se-

cure system. State law strictly limits who can view da-

tabase information and how information can   

be used. 

The database is not linked to any other state or private 

systems. Only the following people can see infor-

mation from the database for specific tasks:  

● Access their patients’ healthcare information from 

the database: 

- Authorizing healthcare practitioners 

● Add patient information from the authorization 

form: 

- Certified medical cannabis consultant working in a 

medically endorsed cannabis store 

● Learn who has accessed their healthcare infor-

mation: 

- Qualifying patients 

- Designated providers 

● Provide administration or pull reports: 

- Database administrator 

- Washington State Department of Health 

- Washington State Department of Revenue 

- Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board 

● Verify that a card is valid: 

- Law enforcement 

- Employee working in a medically endorsed cannabis 

store 


