

Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission Newsletter – 2016; Edition 1

Welcome to the Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission Newsletter

Our newsletter's purpose is to help inform the chiropractic community of issues related to Washington State chiropractic statutes and <u>rules</u>, and the work of the <u>Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission</u> (commission).

Message from the Chair – Matthew Waldron, DC

By now, more than a quarter of licensed chiropractors in Washington have seen another reduction of the chiropractic license renewal fee. For the second January in a row, we've been able to justify reducing the renewal fee by \$100 in 2015 and \$50 in 2016 for a total of \$150, or 22 percent. We are not sure how much more, if any, the fee can be reduced. Our goals are for our profession to have fee stability over time and to maintain a reasonable reserve fund.

After taking January 2016 off from meeting in Olympia, the Commission is back to work on both regular business and updating the rules under <u>chapter 246-808</u> <u>WAC</u> update project. We have finished our first run through several sections of rules and we're making good time, which is good because there is a ton of work left to do. We have had some really good input from chiropractors and some attorneys too. In one instance, an attorney stopped by our meeting, asking us to consider rules on the ethics of marketing practices (ambulance chasing) in the chiropractic profession.

At our March 2016 meeting, we received a letter from another attorney who provided us with some input regarding independent examination rules and protections of the public. If you have ideas or suggestions about our rules, please contact us and let us know. These updated rules will be in place for a very long time, and we believe crowd-sourcing the profession for input and direction is key to a good result. If traveling to one of our meetings is not practical for you, then please write us a letter or email the Commission at <u>cqac@doh.wa.gov</u>. You can also receive updates by joining our Listserv. Furthermore, the Commission will discuss other potential ways technology may be used in stakeholder communication. More on that later; for now we encourage you to either come to one of our meetings, or write to us.

Table of ContentsMessage from the Chair

Featured Articles:

~ Suicide Continuing Education ~ Rulemaking

~ Commission Member Spotlight

Gabe Smith, DC Disciplinary Actions

Commission Composition

2016 Meeting Dates

Locations

Governor The Honorable Jay Inslee

Department of Health John Wiesman, DrPH, MPH, Secretary

> Bob Nicoloff Executive Director

Leann Yount Program Manager

Sue Hall Compliance and Projects Manager

> Jessica Jorgensen Program Representative

Commission Members

Matthew Waldron, DC, Chair

Winfield Hobbs, DC, Vice-Chair

Aaron Chan, DC, Vice-Chair

Maria Best, DC

David Folweiler, DC

Bryson Langel, DC

Douglas Long, DC

Ronwynn Pratt, DC

Robert Schmitt, DC

Kimberly Corbin-Waters, DC

Judy Colenso, Public Member

James Slakey, Public Member

Louise Stephens Public Member In addition to working on renewal fee reductions, on the business side, we've taken over a major function in managing our disciplinary compliance, and have dedicated staff now handling the entirety of that task. Then, within the next few months, we will also acquire the responsibility for managing and implementing credentialing and licensing. In short, we have moved these two major functions from the Department of Health to the Commission staff because those functions are so deeply integrated into our responsibilities. All of the different professions have subtle, and not-so-subtle, differences in their specific laws and rules, even with licensing. Because we have staff with incredible expertise of our laws and rules, it became quite obvious to us that this was a sensible set of tasks to bring in-house. Our goal is to increase efficiency when and where we can.

Please see our <u>website</u>, and review our agenda and past meeting minutes, our financial documents, and more. I also encourage you to participate in our rules update project in any way that you can.

The One-Time Suicide Screening and Referral CE Requirement for Washington Chiropractors By: Bryson J. Langel, DC

<u>RCW 43.70.442</u> (Suicide assessment, treatment, and management training) was signed into law with the intent to help lower the suicide rate in Washington by requiring certain health professionals to complete training in suicide assessment.¹

The statistics for suicide are very sobering. For example:

- Suicide is the 10th leading cause of death in the United States.²
- During 2008-2009, the number of suicide attempts in Washington was higher than the national average. It is the eighth leading cause of death in Washington.³
- About 90 percent of people who die by suicide had a diagnosable psychiatric disorder at the time of death, such as depression.⁴

Some people have an elevated risk for suicide. These may include but are not limited to:

- Veterans face an elevated risk of suicide as compared to the general population; nearly one in every five suicides nationally.⁵
- Suicide is the second leading cause of death for Washington youth between the ages of 10 and 24⁶, and results in about 4,600 lives lost each year.⁷ Lesbian, gay, and bisexual youth are more than twice as likely to attempt suicide than their heterosexual peers.⁸
- 63 percent of youth suicides are from fatherless homes.⁹ Children of single-parent homes are more than twice as likely to commit suicide.¹⁰
- Ten to 15 years after surgical reassignment, the suicide rate of those who had undergone sexreassignment surgery rose to 20 times that of comparable peers.¹¹
- The elderly (age 65 and older) comprise about 13 percent of the U.S. population but account for more than 18 percent of all suicides.¹²

Suicide is a tragedy and may be prevented. A chiropractor licensed in Washington shall complete a one-time three-hour training in suicide assessment and referral, which can be obtained at an in-person (live) seminar or through a multi-media venue, such as an online CE course. The chiropractor must complete the one-time training by the end of the first full continuing education reporting period after initial licensure. Training completed between June 12, 2014 and June 30, 2017, that meets the requirements for training is acceptable.

The Department of Health has developed a model list of vendors that offer this type of CE training. The list is available at:

http://www.doh.wa.gov/ForPublicHealthandHealthcareProviders/HealthcareProfessionsandFacilities/SuicidePrevention/TrainingPrograms.

For more information about the Washington Suicide Prevention Plan, see the Department of Health website at: www.doh.wa.gov/YouandYourFamily/InjuryandViolencePrevention/SuicidePreventionPlan.

References:

- 1. <u>app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=43.70.442</u>
- 2. www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/leading-causes-of-death.htm
- 3. www.doh.wa.gov/portals/1/documents/5500/iv-sui2013.pdf
- 4. www.ncbi.nil.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1489848/
- 5. www.publicintergrity.org/2013/08/30/13292/suicide-rate-veterans-far-exceeds-civilian-population
- 6. <u>www.doh.wa.gov/YouandYourFamily/InjuryandViolencePrevention/YouthSuicidePrevention</u>
- 7. <u>www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/suicide/youth_suicide.html</u>
- 8. <u>Russell ST, Joyner K. Adolescent sexual orientation and suicide risk: Evidence from a national study.</u> American Journal of Public Health 2001;91:1276–1281.
- 9. <u>www.psychologytoday.com/blog/wired-success/201106/the-decline-fatherhood-and-the-male-identity-</u> crisis
- 10. www.webmd.com/baby/news/20030123/absent-parent-doubles-child-suicide-risk
- 11. www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3043071
- 12. www.suicide.org/elderly-suicide.html

Rulemaking By: David Folweiler, DC, DACRB

The Washington State Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission (Commission) is devoting extra time over the next several months to update and streamline administrative rules (Washington Administrative Codes – WACs) for licensed chiropractors. We have chosen to "open" virtually all the rules in an attempt to make them more readable, accessible, and applicable to modern practice while continuing to protect public health and safety. We are rewriting and amending rules that pertain to clinical documentation, X-ray procedures and safety, preceptor licensure, travel to treat permits, pre-paid contracts, identification in marketing materials, and many other topics. Some, if not all, of the changes will pertain to the practice of most licensees in the state.

Rulemaking in Washington State is a lengthy three-part process. First, the Commission declares its intent to revise a rule (CR-101). Second, the Commission proposes new language in consultation with its constituents and interested parties (CR-102). Finally, the new rule language is codified (C-R103) and put into force. During the first two phases (we are currently in the first phase with all the rules that we have opened), the Commission welcomes input about rules from all interested parties. During the CR-101 process, the Commission sends the proposed rules for review by interested parties, via its <u>listserv</u>.

We, as a Commission, welcome your input regarding changes in the rules that govern the practice of chiropractic in Washington State. There are several ways to contribute. All parties are welcome at our regular business or rule-making meetings; the schedule is <u>here</u>. You are welcome to be present for any portion of the meeting. You are welcome to address the Commission during morning and afternoon public comment sections of our meetings. Please send us suggestions and comments by email to: <u>cqac@doh.wa.gov</u>. You can send them via U.S. Postal Service to: Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission, P.O. Box 47858, Olympia, WA 98504-7858. Call us at 360-236-2822. Fax us at 360-236-2360.

These rule changes will affect nearly all licensed chiropractors in Washington State. The new rules will have a long-lasting effect in our state; we hope that they will improve the practice of chiropractic and help to ensure patient safety as a primary concern. We welcome and value your input. You have the opportunity to help shape the future of the regulatory framework for the practice of chiropractic. Please take time to attend a meeting or contact us with your thoughts.

Commission Member Spotlight Gabe Smith, DC

Dr. Gabe grew up in the Glenwood Canyon, near Glenwood Springs, Colorado. His family moved to Colorado Springs where he graduated from high school in 1967. After attending two years at the University of Colorado, he enlisted in the U.S. Air Force and served four years, mainly in Germany. After leaving the Air Force he settled in the Denver, Colorado region and worked for the Bell System for 15 years. It was during this time that he was transferred to the Northwest and discovered the benefits of chiropractic. In 1986, Dr. Gabe began his chiropractic studies at Western States Chiropractic College (now the University of Western States). After graduating in December 1989, and getting licensed in Colorado and Oregon, he began practicing in West Linn, Oregon for one year. In September 1991 Dr. Gabe began the radiology residency program at WSCC, completing it in 1994. He received his chiropractic diplomate in radiology in 1995. From 1998 through 2007 Dr. Gabe was a member of the American Chiropractic Board of Radiology, serving as the chair for seven of those years. In 2009 Dr. Gabe was appointed to the Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission, serving two years as the vice chair and two years as the chair.

Dr. Gabe has practiced in Camas, Washington since 2000. Before that, he practiced in Vancouver, Washington and Portland, Oregon. His practice is focused on wellness. Part of his practice is radiology consulting, reading for doctors in several states. Time away from practice is spent with his family and entertaining six granddaughters. He is an avid hiker and backpacker, enjoying all the wonders of the Northwest. Dr. Gabe especially enjoys volunteer work with the Washington Trail Association, repairing and building trails so that others may enjoy our beautiful state.

Disciplinary Actions

Information about healthcare providers is on the Department of Health's website. Select <u>Provider Credential</u> <u>Search</u> on the Department of Health home page (<u>www.doh.wa.gov</u>). The site includes information about a healthcare provider's license status, the expiration and renewal date of his or her credential, disciplinary actions, and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. You may also get this information by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a healthcare provider acted unprofessionally are also encouraged to call and report their <u>complaint</u>.

The Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission has taken the following disciplinary action.

Jefferson County:

December 2015: Ended probation for chiropractor Keith David Meyer (CH60131354).

King County:

August 2015: Amended a statement of charges against chiropractor **David M. Birdsall** (CH00034882) to add allegations of inadequate record-keeping and X-rays were not of diagnostic quality.

Pierce County:

August 2015: Entered an agreement with chiropractor **Thomas Anthony Velickoff** (CH00034710) under which he surrendered his credential. Velickoff touched a patient's pubic area, breasts, and buttocks without discussing, explaining, or documenting a clinical need.

September 2015: Charged massage practitioner **Thomas Anthony Velickoff** (MA00012251, CH00034710) with unprofessional conduct. In August 2015 the Chiropractic Commission found evidence of professional misconduct. Velickoff surrendered his chiropractor license. As a result, the Massage Program filed charges against Velickoff's massage practitioner credential.

September 2015: Charged chiropractor **John B. Cornell** (CH00001046) with unprofessional conduct. Charges say Cornell is a member of a company that provides a concentrated oxygen environment in a tent-like structure. Cornell allegedly referred seven patients for hyperbaric treatment without documenting that he had examined them.

July 2015: Charged chiropractor **John W. Burki** (CH00033768) with being unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety. Charges say patients noticed the odor of alcohol on Burki's breath, and that he had glassy and bloodshot eyes, as well as slurred speech while he was at his clinic. Burki allegedly admitted self-medicating with alcohol, in addition to using medication. He allegedly admitted struggling with excessive alcohol consumption. Charges also say a physician who evaluated Burki concluded he can't practice with reasonable skill and safety because of his substance use.

Thurston County:

July 2015: Ended conditions on the credential of chiropractor Matthew W. Martinez (CH60191433).

Walla Walla County:

December 2015: Charged chiropractor **Brandon Lance Hatch** (CH00034374) with unprofessional conduct after Hatch's Oregon chiropractic license was revoked.

Welcome New Commission Staff

Sue Hall was hired in January as the Commission compliance and projects manager. She will also assist with the transition of the licensing functions from the Department of Health staff to the Commission staff.

Commission Composition

The Commission is made up of 11 chiropractors and three public members, all appointed by the governor. Commission members may serve a maximum of two four-year terms. If you are interested in <u>applying for a position</u> on the Commission, or in learning more about commissioner duties, please read the information on the website <u>http://www.doh.wa.gov/hsqa/Professions/Chiropractic/default.htm</u>, or contact the program manager at 360-236-4856 or <u>leann.yount@doh.wa.gov</u>.

2016 Commission Meeting Dates and Locations

Date	City	Location
August 11, 2016 Business Meeting	Tumwater	Department of Health 310 Israel Road S.E. Point Plaza East, Room 152/153
September 8, 2016 Rules Workshop	Tumwater	Department of Health 310 Israel Road S.E. Point Plaza East, Room 152/153
October 6, 2016 Business Meeting	Kent	Department of Health 20425 – 72 nd Ave. S. Building 2, Room 307
November 10, 2016 Rules Workshop	Tumwater	Department of Health 101 Israel Road S.E. Town Center 2, Room 158
December 8, 2016 Business Meeting	Kent	Department of Health 20425 – 72 nd Ave. S. Building 2, Room 309

Do you have ideas or suggestions for future Commission newsletters? Is there something specific that you think we should address or include? Please submit suggestions to <u>leann.yount@doh.wa.gov</u> or <u>CQAC@doh.wa.gov</u>