Nursing Pool Licensing Information

Apply for a License


Registration Application (PDF) – includes all instructions for completion of application

Fee Schedule

See fee information below
Non-Refundable Fee Type Fee Amount Fee effective June 1, 2023
Application - registration $175 $175
Renewal of registration* $155 $280
Registration late renewal penalty $80 $140
Expired registration re-issuance $60 $60
Duplicate license $10 $10
Verification of license $25 $25

* Please note there is an error in the current rule language stating renewal is due on the licensee's birthday. This was an inadvertent change that doesn't work since this isn't an individual license, so the department will continue to process renewals every year on the date of issuance as the previous rule directed. This error will be corrected in future rule making.

WAC 246-12-340 – Refund of fees

Fees submitted with applications for initial credentialing, examinations, renewal and other fees associated with the licensing and regulation of the profession are nonrefundable.

WAC 246-12-350 – Making payments

  • Make checks or money orders payable to the Department of Health.
  • Practitioners should include their credential number on the check, draft or money order.
  • Applicants should include profession for which they are applying on the check, draft or money order.
  • Send check, draft or money order to:
    Department of Health
    Health Systems Quality Assurance
    P.O. Box 1099
    Olympia, WA 98507-1099

Registration Requirements

See requirements below

Chapter 18.52C RCW Chapter 246-845 WAC

Verification documents

Applicant must provide corporate certificate number collected, and a copy of articles of incorporation and by-laws. If corporation is out of state, a copy of the form titled “Certificate of Authority to do Business in Washington” as on file with the Washington State Secretary of State's Office and copy of current by-laws. Copy of liability insurance policy.

State license verification

Applicants must list all states where they do or did hold credentials. This list must also include when the applicant has applied for a credential, even if a credential was not granted. The jurisdiction where the applicant is or was credentialed must complete and submit the verification form (PDF). The jurisdiction must send the completed form directly to the department.

Personal data questions

Each applicant must answer the personal data questions. If there is a positive answer to the professional liability claims history question, the applicant must send an explanation of the nature of the case, data and summary of care given, copies of the original complaint, and the settlement or final disposition. If a case is pending, applicant must indicate status.

Additional information/documents required

Applicants must acknowledge that they will do criminal background checks on all healthcare providers before referring to a facility.

Process for approving/denying applications

We finish final review for approval after a credentialing specialist verifies that the application is fully complete, and complies with requirements in chapter 18.52C RCW and chapter 246-845 WAC. We complete background checks and make sure applicants have submitted required fees. Credentialing supervisors and lead workers have the authority to approve routine applications. The disciplining authority may conduct further review if the credentialing supervisor can't verify the applicant meets all requirements. We'll formally notify applicants of a denial. Those applicants may request a hearing to appeal the decision.

Renewal requirements

Before expiration, nursing pool registrations must be renewed every year on the date of original issuance. They're required to submit the appropriate fee, renewal card and background check compliance affidavit.

Renewal Information

See renewal information below

Is your contact information current?

In order to serve you better, we must have your correct mailing address in our system. This is especially important because we mail your courtesy renewal notice and updated credential to the address on file. The U.S. Postal Service does not forward Department of Health mail. If your contact information is not current in our system, please complete and submit the contact information change form. If you have questions, feel free to contact our staff.

How to renew

By mail

With renewal notice Without renewal notice


If you have questions about the renewal process, see our Frequently Asked Questions.



Online renewal is not available for this profession.

In person

Renew in person at our Tumwater location.

Helpful Links to Register as a Nursing Pool

See helpful links below

Registration with the Department of Health will ensure that your Nursing Pool is registered. You may also contact the Department of Licensing to get a business license, the Washington State Patrol to perform criminal background checks and the Internal Revenue Service to get a tax I.D. number.