Amending Death Certificates

Processing Time

It currently takes 4 to 6 weeks to process an amendment. We process requests in the order they are received.

Processing times are estimates and can change based on staff availability. If your request takes longer than 6 weeks, call 360-236-4300 to talk with an amendment specialist.
 

You can ask us to amend (officially update or fix) a death record for deaths that happened in Washington State from July 1, 1907, to today.

Effective January 1, 2023, the Center for Health Statistics (CHS) adopted Policy Statement CHS-D9-2023 (PDF) that describes the requirements for a complete application to update a death certificate. The policy follows the department rules in Chapter 246-490 WAC and the state law in Chapter 70.58A RCW.

Who Can Ask for an Amendment

Only certain people can ask to amend a death certificate:

  • The informant listed on the certificate. This is the person who gave details about the person who died to the funeral facility.
  • A surviving spouse or registered domestic partner listed on the certificate.
  • A parent of the person who died.
  • An adult child or adult stepchild of the person who died.
  • An adult sibling of the person who died.
  • The next of kin, also known as closest living relative, as listed in Washington law – see RCW 11.28.120.
  • Legal representative of the person who died or another person listed above who qualifies to amend the certificate.

Note: Facilities and medical practitioners must use a separate correction process.
 

Applications

To apply for a death certificate amendment, fill out an application and mail it to us. Please follow all directions on this webpage to prevent delays or having your application denied.

Note: There are different applications for amendments to birth, death, marriage, divorce, and stillbirth, also known as fetal death, certificates. This is an update to our process as of November 4, 2026, when we replaced the Affidavit for Correction (form DOH 422-034) with individual amendment application forms based on the certificate type.

Application Contents

Every application must include:

  • A completed Application to Amend a Death Certificate (PDF).
  • A clear copy of your government-issued photo ID to prove who you are.
  • Supporting proof documents for the amendment you want made.
  • Proof that you qualify to request the amendment, if required.

Tip: You can use 1 document for more than 1reason. For example, a birth certificate can show how you qualify to request the amendment and give the correct information for the update.

Proof of Identity

Everyone who signs the application must send a clear copy of a government-issued photo ID. The ID is used to confirm 2 things:

  • That you are who you say you are.
  • Support your proof that you qualify to amend the certificate you are trying to fix.

You can use a standard driver’s license or ID card to prove your identity only.

Prove You Qualify

You must prove you qualify to request the amendment by showing us how you are linked to the person whose death certificate you want to amend.

How to Prove I Qualify

You can prove you qualify to request an amendment using legal documents that show how you are linked to the person whose vital record you want to update. Birth and marriage certificates, along with court orders, are the most commonly used documents to show you qualify.

We also match your ID with documents that show you qualify to make sure you are who you say you are. If your name on your photo ID does not match your documents that prove you qualify, please also include a proof of your legal name change, such as a marriage certificate or certified court order for a legal name change.

Review the list below for how you are linked to the person whose certificate you want to amend for examples of how you can prove you qualify.

Informant, Surviving Spouse or Registered Domestic Partner, and Parents

You are a named person on the death record and can prove you qualify by providing your photo ID. Your name on the death certificate should match your ID, if not additional proof may be required.

Note: If you are the informant and have another relationship that can request amendments, please identify yourself as the informant.

What do I do when my name on my ID doesn’t match the certificate?

You must show us how your name changed. Examples of items to include are a certified copy of the court order for a legal name change or a marriage certificate.

I am a surviving spouse who changed my last name to my partner’s last name or added their last name to mine. How do I prove my name has changed?

When your last name matches the last name of the person who died or is added to your last name shown on the certificate, we can use the names on the certificate and your ID to confirm you qualify.

Notes:

  • To avoid delays, please consider providing your proof of name change documents, such as a marriage certificate or court order for a legal name change, with your application.
  • If you are listed as both the informant and surviving spouse, your married name will show in the informant section and your name before marriage will show in the surviving spouse section.
I am a parent who changed my last name to the other parent’s last name or added the other parent’s last name to my last name. How do I prove my name has changed?

When your last name matches the other parent’s last name on the death certificate or is added to your last name on the certificate, we can use the names on the certificate and your ID to confirm you qualify.

Note: To avoid delays, please consider providing your proof of name change documents, such as your marriage certificate or court order for a legal name change, with your application.

What if my name doesn’t match because that is what I’m trying to fix?

If you are trying to fix your name, we will use the documents you submit and your ID to link you to the record.

I am a parent that was not listed on my child’s death certificate. How do I prove I qualify?

You can send a copy of the birth certificate showing you as a listed parent.

Adult Child

Include a copy of your birth certificate that links you to the person who died.

Adult Stepchild

Include a copy of your birth certificate that links you to the surviving spouse or domestic partner listed on the death certificate.

Sibling

Include a copy of your birth certificate that links you to at least 1 of the parents listed on the death certificate.

Next of Kin, as Specified in RCW 11.28.120

Aside from the relationships listed above, Washington law counts grandchildren, followed by nieces or nephews, as next of kin.

You must include a copy of each birth certificate (for each degree of separation) that links you to the person who died.

Legal Representative

You must submit: 

  • Proof that your client qualifies to apply.
  • A certified copy of court records, legal documentation, or letter of representation that gives you the right to act as the legal representative.

Supporting Proof Documents

What a Supporting Proof Document Does

A supporting proof document proves the amendment you want made. Because we need to link the amendment to the person, proof documents must show the full name and date of birth for the person whose information you want to amend.

We commonly use “proof documents” to mean the same as “supporting proof documents.”

Rules for Proof Documents

Your proof documents must meet these rules:

  • Show the true facts you want to update.
  • Match your application request exactly. For example, if you want a name to say “Mary Ann Doe,” your document must say “Mary Ann Doe.” It cannot say “Mary A. Doe” or “M. Ann Doe.”
  • Come from different sources if you need more than 1 proof document. For example, if you need 2 documents, one can be a vital record certificate and the other can be a medical record.
  • Cannot be altered. We will not accept any document that looks like it was changed or edited, such as scratched-out text, different fonts, or use of white out.

The State Registrar may ask for more proof documents if they have questions about your documents.

How Old the Proof Document Must Be

The document must be at least 5 years old or created in the first 5 years of the person’s life.

Note: It is okay if a document was printed recently, as long as it shows the record itself was created at least 5 years ago.

Exceptions to the 5-year Rule

We can accept these documents no matter when they were created:

  • Passport
  • Permanent resident card (I-551)
  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • REAL ID compliant driver’s license or ID card

Acceptable Proof Documents

  • Some examples of what we can accept include:
  • Passport
  • Enhanced driver’s license or ID card (REAL ID compliant)
  • Birth, marriage, or divorce certificate
  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • Permanent resident card (I-551)
  • Military record (DD-214)
  • Hospital/medical record
  • Health or life insurance policy
  • Official school transcripts
  • Government benefit record (such as Medicaid or social services)
  • Social Security Abstract
  • Full Numident Report (from the Social Security Administration via FOIA request)

We do NOT accept: 

  • Driver’s license or ID card that is not REAL ID compliant
  • Social Security Card
  • Hospital decorative birth certificate
  • Family Bible

Documents in a Foreign Language

For proof documents in a language other than English or Spanish, we recommend you include an English translation, from a translation service, attached to the original document. Ask the translation service to include a signed statement that the translation is complete and accurate.

How to Prove a Social Security Number

Examples of documents that can prove a Social Security number include:

  • Full Numident Report – Request this certified document directly form the Social Security Administration
  • Social Security abstract
  • Military record (Form DD-214) – Only if the person served in the armed forces

Rules to Amend Death Certificate Information 

The list below tells you what can be amended and by whom, the number of proof documents, and additional rules that may apply. 

Notes: 

  • We cannot amend original signatures on the record.
  • We cannot make stylistic changes to certificates.

Demographic Information

Informant Listed on the Record

Proof documents needed: At least 1

Rules: You must be listed on the record.

Note: The informant currently listed on the record can submit an amendment application to update the informant to a new person. No proof document is needed for this action.

Surviving Spouse or Registered Domestic Partner Listed on the Record, Parent, Sibling, Adult Child, Adult Stepchild, or Next of Kin

Proof documents needed: At least 1.

Legal Representative

Proof documents needed: At least 1.

Rules:

  • You must show proof that your client is a qualified applicant.
  • You must submit a certified copy of court records, legal documentation, or letter of representation that gives you the right to act as the legal representative for the person who died or a qualified applicant listed above.

Marital Status

The State Registrar will only consider requests to change the marital status on the death record under the following circumstances:

  • The informant listed on the record requests to amend the marital status with an amendment application and at least 1 proof document.
  • The alleged surviving spouse or domestic partner provides both of the following:
    • Notarized affidavit signed by both the informant and the alleged surviving spouse or domestic partner stating that an error was made and giving the correct information.
    • Marriage, domestic partnership, or divorce certificate showing that they were married, partnered, or divorced with the person before their death.
  • The alleged surviving spouse or domestic partner (or their legal representative) provides a certified court order from a probate court if a probate court decided on the martial status as part of the decedent’s (the person who died) estate.

Medical Information

Only the medical certifier can submit corrections to the cause of death section.

Submit the Amendment Application

You can submit your completed application to the Department of Health by mail or in-person.

By Mail

Center for Health Statistics
Attn: Amendments
PO Box 47814
Olympia, WA  98504-7814

In Person by Appointment

Schedule An Appointment for Vital Records - You must schedule the appointment and come to our office in Tumwater for these in-person appointments.

Getting the New Certificate After Finishing the Amendment

We do not automatically send out new certificates after an amendment. We will mail you a confirmation letter that the amendment was made with next steps for ordering a certificate.

You can exchange or order a certificate at the same time as you ask for an amendment by sending both in the same envelope. Your ID and proof that you qualify used for the amendment can also be used to exchange or order certificates. We will mail new certificates after the amendment is made.

Note: If you do not send the amendment and certificate requests in the same envelope, we cannot guarantee the amendment will happen first.

Free Exchange - Certificate Issued Less Than 1 Year Ago

If the certificate was issued by a Washington state or county health department within the last year, we will exchange it for free. The issue date is usually found in the upper right corner of the certificate.

Send us the certificates to exchange with the amendment application.

Order and Pay - Certificate Issued Over 1 Year Ago

If the certificate was issued more than a year ago, you must buy a new one.

Send us a completed Death Certificate Order Form (PDF) and payment with the amendment application. Make sure to use the updated information on the order form and follow the instructions to avoid delays.

Questions

Contact us at 360-236-4300 or VitalRecordsCorrections@doh.wa.gov.