Vaccine Advisory Committee Member Roster

The Vaccine Advisory Committee (VAC) includes representatives with expertise in tribal health, vaccinology, preventative medicine, vaccine-preventable disease management, pediatrics, epidemiology, family practice, naturopathic medicine, school health, health care purchasing, pharmacy issues, internal medicine, perinatal health care, childcare, obstetrics and gynecology, and public health.The Chief Science Officer chairs this meeting with support from the Office of Immunization.


  • Dr. Tao Sheng Kwan-Gett, MD, MPH, Chief Science Officer, Washington State Department of Health

Managed Care

  • Dr. John Dunn, Kaiser Permanente

American Indian Health Commission for Washington (AIHC)

  • Wendy Stevens

State Agency Healthcare Purchasers

  • Dr. Christopher Chen, Health Care Authority

National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP)

  • Dr. Charisse Gumapas, ARNP, DNP

Naturopathic Medicine

  • Dr. Mary Alison Koehnke, ND, Washington, Association of Naturopathic Physicians

Washington Academy of Family Physicians (WAFP)

  • Dr. Gretchen LaSalle
  • Dr. John Merrill-Steskal

Washington Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics (WCAAP)

  • Dr. Francis Bell
  • Dr. Stephen Pearson

Washington State Association of Local Public Health Officials (WSALPHO)

  • Dr. Mark Larson, Health Officer, Kittitas County Public Health Department

Public Health--Seattle & King County

  • Dr. Jeffrey Duchin, Chief, Communicable Disease Control

Internal Medicine Organization

  • Dr. Mary Anderson, Washington Chapter of American College of Physicians

Washington State Pharmacy Association

  • Dr. Jenny Arnold, Pharm.D., Director of Pharmacy Practice Development

Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI)

  • Annie Hetzel, MSN, RN, NCSN, School Health Services Consultant


  • Anita Alkire MS, RN, Public Health Nurse Consultant, Child Care Health Program at Public Health – Seattle and King County

Urban Indian Health Institute

  • Open seat

Northwest Tribal Epidemiology Center

  • Tam Lutz, Project Director

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

·         Dr. Alisa Kachikis


  • Dr. Beth Harvey
  • Dr. Ed Marcuse

Department of Health Staff

  • Dr. Jamilia Sherls-Jones, DNP, MPH, RN, CPN, CDP, Director, Office of Immunization
  • Heather Drummond, MPH, Director, COVID-19 Vaccine
  • Trang Kuss, MN, MPH, RN, Acting Clinical, Quality, and Schools Section Manager, Office of Immunization
  • Janel Jorgenson, Vaccine Management Section Manager, Office of Immunization
  • Dr. Meredith Cook, PhD, Assessment Section Manager, Office of Immunization
  • Peter Dieringer, MPH, Informatics Section Manager, Office of Immunization
  • Jeff Chorath, MBA, MHA, Immunization Information System Section Manager, Office of Immunization
  • TeriLynn Bullock, Office Manager, Office of Immunization
  • Mary Huynh, MPH, MPP, CDC Senior Public Health Advisor, Office of Immunization
  • Meghan Cichy, MPH, RDN, CD, Senior Policy Analyst, Office of Immunization
  • Chas DeBolt, RN, MPH, Vaccine Preventable Diseases Epidemiologist, Office of Health and Science
  • Danielle Koenig, Acting Director, Health Promotion and Health Education, Office of Public Affairs and Equity