Substance Use Disorder Professional / Substance Use Disorder Professional Trainee

SUDP Fees are Changing

The recent passage of Senate Bill 6228 (PDF) includes a temporary cap of $100 for certification and renewal fees for all individuals seeking certification as a substance use disorder professional (SUDP) or trainee. The definition of a SUDP or SUDP trainee is defined by the Washington state legislature in RCW 18.205.

This means that between July 1, 2024, and July 1, 2025, Washington state cannot impose any certification or certification renewal fees of more than $100

The $100 fee cap will go into effect for all SUDP applications and renewals due on or after July 1, 2024. This fee cap is guaranteed through June 30, 2025 (one year).

See the fee cap section of our Frequently Asked Questions if you have more questions.

Related links

Licensing information - Apply for a license, fee information and more | License requirements | Committee information 

Current Topics

Contact and connect

Contact us | Email customer service | Phone: 360-236-4700 | Submit public disclosure request (lists and labels)

To get important information by email about substance use disorder professionals, subscribe for updates at the bottom of the page.