Substance Use Disorder Certification Advisory Committee

If you are interested in applying for a vacant position or an upcoming vacant position, please complete and follow the directions on the Application for Board, Commission, and Committee Appointments (PDF). The secretary of the Department of Health appoints all members for three-year terms. Members must live in Washington.

Committee Information


This committee is made up of seven members:

  • Four certified substance use disorder professionals.
  • One substance use disorder treatment program director.
  • One physician licensed under chapter 18.71 or 18.57 RCW who is certified in addiction medicine, or a licensed or certified mental health practitioner.
  • One member of the public who has received substance use disorder counseling.

The director of the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery (DBHR), or the director's designee, serves as an ex officio member of the committee.

For more information, please review our Become a Board, Commission, or Committee Member webpage.

Committee Members

Name and term expiration date of members

Member Term Expires
Kenneth Pimpleton, SUDP, chair February 9, 2024
Susan Cherry, SUDP, vice-chair August 31, 2023
Theresa Adkison, SUDP August 31, 2023
Bergen Starke, SUDP, LMHC August 31, 2023
David Sapienza, MD October 31, 2024
Lisa Rudduck, LMHC, SUDP October 31, 2024
Raymond Gregson, CPC (public member) October 31, 2024
Committee Meetings

(subject to change)

Date and Location Activity Documents
December 1, 2023 at 9 a.m.
Business meeting Agenda (PDF)
February 9, 2024 at 9 a.m.
Business meeting  
June 14, 2024 at 9 a.m.*
Business meeting  
October 4, 2024 at 9 a.m.
Business meeting  
December 6, 2024 at 9 a.m.
Business meeting  

*Joint meeting with the Mental Health Counselors, Marriage & Family Therapists, and Social Workers Advisory Committee

Meeting Minutes