Physical Therapist and Physical Therapist Assistant

Related links

Apply for a license - License requirements, fees and licensing requirements

Current Topics

CR-103 filed for WAC 246-915-120 — Foreign Education Applicants

The Board of Physical Therapy received a petition requesting that applicants be allowed to take the internet-based Test of English as a Foreign Language (ibTOEFL) and receive passing scores during multiple test sittings. The board considered the petition and determined multiple sittings for the ibTOEFL would help reduce barriers for foreign educated applicants trying to earn a license in Washington while still providing evidence of proficiency.

The Department of Health filed a CR-103 with the Office of the Code Reviser on April 25, 2022, under WSR 22-10-016, to notify the public of the adopted new rules that allow applicants to take and pass the ibTOEFL in multiple sittings. This rule will be effective on Thursday May 26, 2022.

WSR 22-10-016 (PDF)

Physical Therapy Licensure Compact (PTLC)

Qualified physical therapists and physical therapist assistants licensed in a state belonging to the compact can quickly become licensed in any of those states, including Washington state. Learn more about the PTLC.

Can't find a licensee using Provider Credential Search?
Check the PT Compact Commission verification webpage to see if the PT or PTA holds a compact privilege in Washington.

The Workforce Survey
PTs and PTAs, help our profession serve the people of Washington by completing the Washington Health Workforce Survey.

Spinal Manipulation Legislative Report
In 2013, Substitute Engrossed House Bill 2160 expanded physical therapists' scope of practice allowing for the practice of spinal manipulation provided the practitioner obtained an endorsement from the Department of Health. Read the Spinal Manipulation Legislative Report (PDF)

Changes to the Clinical Supervisor Requirements for Spinal Manipulation Endorsements – Effective July 1, 2020
To receive a spinal manipulation endorsement, one of the requirements is to complete at least 300 hours of supervised clinical practical experience in spinal manipulative procedures. RCW 18.74.190 currently provides that the 300 hours of supervised clinical practical experience may be supervised by a clinical supervisor who:

  • Holds a spinal manipulation endorsement, or
  • Is a licensed chiropractor or osteopathic physician and surgeon, or
  • Holds an endorsement or advanced certification the training requirements for which are commensurate with the training requirements in this section, RCW 18.74.190(1).

Beginning July 1, 2020, the 300-hour requirement for supervised clinical practical experience may be supervised by a clinical supervisor who:

  • Holds a spinal manipulation endorsement, or
  • Is a licensed chiropractor or osteopathic physician and surgeon.

Hours completed prior to July 1, 2020 under supervision by a clinical supervisor who holds an endorsement or advanced certification will count toward the supervision requirement for the spinal manipulation endorsement. The board is continuing to review the change in the law. We will update this page if further information becomes available.

To get important information about physical therapists or physical therapist assistants, please select the “Subscribe” button at the bottom of the page.