For immediate release: October 21, 2022 (22-160)
Contact: Sharon Moysiuk, Communications 360-549-6471
Public inquiries: Health Systems Customer Service 360-236-4700
OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or withdrawn charges against the following health care providers in our state.
The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions, and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., dentists, nurses, counselors). Information about disciplinary action taken against medical doctors and physician assistants can be found on the Washington Medical Commission (WMC) website. Questions about WMC disciplinary actions can be sent to email@example.com.
Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on “Look up a health care provider license” in the “How Do I?” section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov). The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and report their complaint.
In September 2022 the Nursing Commission ended conditions on the registered nurse license of Stanton Geo Miller, Jr. (RN00098105).
In September 2022 the Pharmacy Commission and pharmacist Geoffrey W. Reynolds (PH00017863) agreed to an order that requires him to pay a $1,000 fine and take 10 hours of continuing education. Reynolds wasted COVID-19 vaccination doses instead of administering them and fraudulently documented administering them to two patients.
In September 2022 the Dental Commission ended conditions on the dentist license of Abdelhossein Shahrasbi (DE00009000).
In September 2022 the secretary of health ended conditions on the independent clinical social worker associate license of David Joseph Grant (SC61094926).
In September 2022 the Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery charged osteopathic physician and surgeon Anne L. Coatney (OP00001983) with unprofessional conduct. Coatney allegedly failed to respond to an investigator’s letter of cooperation.
In September 2022 the Nursing Assistant Program charged certified nursing assistant David Njuguna Ngigi (NC60428371) with unprofessional conduct. In April Ngigi was arrested on probable cause for assault-domestic violence, and felony harassment-domestic violence by the Macon County Sheriff’s office. Ngigi allegedly failed to respond to an investigator’s letter of cooperation regarding these events.
In September 2022 the secretary of health granted with conditions an agency affiliated counselor license to Joshua James Tatum (CG61277356). Tatum agreed to the conditions which include three years’ probation, professional supervision, and quarterly performance evaluations. Tatum was convicted in 2021 of obstruction of a law enforcement officer in Yakima Municipal Court and unlawful possession of a firearm, of theft in 2007 in Thurston County Superior Court, and of attempting to elude a pursuing police vehicle in 2006, also in Thurston County Superior Court.
In September 2022 the secretary of health ended probation on the substance use disorder professional trainee and agency affiliated counselor licenses of Tarae Ann Blackmon, aka Tarae Tardy (CG60779627, CO60732211).
In September 2022 the secretary of health granted with conditions a substance use disorder professional trainee license to Norman Lee Jones (CO61287651). Jones agreed to the conditions which include two years’ probation, professional supervision, and quarterly performance reports. Between 2010 and 2017, Jones was convicted of multiple felonies and misdemeanors, including a domestic violence no contact order violation and unlawful possession of a firearm, harassment by threatening bodily harm, and driving while under the influence.
In September 2022 the Dental Commission charged dental assistant Ann Marie Thompson (D160393313) with unprofessional conduct. Thompson allegedly practiced without an active credential between December 2007 and June 2013 and between June 2014 and November 2021.
In September 2022 the Pharmacy Commission ended probation on the pharmacy assistant and pharmacy technician licenses of Dawn Louise Reiter (VB60199551, VA60321710).
In September 2022 the secretary of health withdrew charges against registered agency affiliated counselor, substance use disorder professional trainee, and mental health counselor associate Jennifer Renee Dempsey (CG60895041, CO61019033, MC60904742).
In September 2022 the secretary of health ended probation on the certified substance use disorder professional license of Niston Franco (CP00005221).
Out of State
Kentucky: In September 2022 the Nursing Commission ended conditions on the registered nursing license of Stacey Marie McHone (RN61024602).
Mississippi: In September 2022 the Dental Commission charged dentist David Barclay Dowling (DE00004069) with unprofessional conduct. Dowling’s treatment of a telepatient allegedly fell below the standard of care because he did not review radiographs, perform a physical exam, or review another provider’s physical examination for orthodontic treatment, and he did not maintain proper clinical records.
New York: In September 2022 the Nursing Commission ended conditions on the registered nurse license of Matthew David Mendelow (RN60021599).
Oklahoma: In September 2022 the Nursing Commission and licensed practical nurse Tracy Lynn Hudson (LP60636125) entered an agreement that requires Hudson to participate in a substance use monitoring program. The Oklahoma Board of Nursing severely reprimanded Hudson for misuse of controlled substances and ordered disciplinary action, including a $500 fine, a nursing jurisprudence course, and bodily fluid testing semi-monthly for 12 months.
Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing.