For immediate release: November 4, 2022 (22-164)
Contact: Sharon Moysiuk, Communications 360-549-6471
Public inquiries: Health Systems Customer Service 360-236-4700
OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or withdrawn charges against the following health care providers in our state.
The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions, and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., dentists, nurses, counselors). Information about disciplinary action taken against medical doctors and physician assistants can be found on the Washington Medical Commission (WMC) website. Questions about WMC disciplinary actions can be sent to email@example.com.
Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on “Look up a health care provider license” in the “How Do I?” section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov). The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and report their complaint.
In September 2022 the Unlicensed Practice Program and Jeannine Marie Hajek agreed to a cease-and-desist order that prohibits her from practicing as a medical assistant. Hajek, who worked as a medical assistant without a license, must pay a $1,000 fine.
In September 2022 the Podiatric Medical Board charged podiatric physician and surgeon Ronald Scott Sorensen (PO00000510) with unprofessional conduct. Sorensen allegedly did not disclose to patients that he had a financial interest in a company he referred them to for prescriptions, and he allegedly profited in connecting patients to a company where his physicians’ group had a financial interest.
In September 2022 the Dental Commission charged dentist Scott C. Clayhold (GA10000326, DE00009240) with unprofessional conduct. An inspector allegedly found expired medications at Clayhold’s clinic and incomplete and inaccurate patient records.
In September 2022 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse Catherine M. Dailly (RN00167662) with unprofessional conduct. Dailly allegedly drank alcohol during her shift at a kidney dialysis center and failed to respond to the Nursing Commission’s request for a statement.
In September 2022 the Nursing Assistant Program charged certified nursing assistant Candace Ann Saucedo (NC61019125) with unprofessional conduct. In April, Saucedo was charged with theft in Pierce County Superior Court. She allegedly cashed the same checks from a patient at multiple banks. Charges state that the patient’s payments totaled $2,780, but she also received $4,310 from cashing the checks more than once.
In October 2022 the Chiropractic Commission charged chiropractor Rodney Joe Dahlinger (CH00002482) with unprofessional conduct. Dahlinger allegedly did not comply with COVID-19 safety requirements, nor did he require staff and patients to do so.
In September 2022 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse and advanced registered nurse practitioner Laura Helen Burnett (AP60337128-NP, RN60333645) with unprofessional conduct. Burnett allegedly engaged in a domestic partner relationship with her mental health patient and failed to respond to the Nursing Commission’s request for a statement.
In September 2022 the secretary of health granted with conditions a home care aide license to Jackie Dawn Fry (HM61278593). In August, Fry entered an agreement that placed conditions on her nursing assistant credential. She must comply with those conditions, complete eight hours of additional continuing education, and reimburse the program $250 for costs.
In September 2022 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse Sandra Kay Donato (RN00116820) with unprofessional conduct. Donato allegedly failed to comply with a substance use monitoring contract and a Washington Health Professional Services referral contract.
Out of State
California: In September 2022 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse Jeremy P. Marsh (RN60909263) with unprofessional conduct. Marsh allegedly called in an unauthorized prescription for a controlled substance to a pharmacy, using the name and NPI number for a physician without the physician’s authorization.
Florida: In September 2022 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse and advanced registered nurse practitioner Bryan Patrick Camus (RN60806830, AP60806831NP) with unprofessional conduct. The Minnesota Board of Nursing entered a stipulation and consent order with Camus that suspended his nursing license but stayed the suspension with the stipulation that Camus sign a 36-month Participation Agreement with the Minnesota Health Professional Services program.
Florida: In September 2022 the secretary of health ended conditions on the certified nursing assistant license of Erica A. Wooten, also known as, Erica A. Theiss (NC60580941).
Oregon: In September 2022 the Pharmacy Commission ended conditions on the pharmacist license of Brad Theras Dee Pass (PH60632395).
Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing.