State disciplines health care providers

For immediate release: December 10, 2018  (18-167)

Contact:  Sharon Moysiuk, Strategic Communications Office  360-549-6471
Public inquiries: Health Systems Customer Service  360-236-4700

State disciplines health care providers             

OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or withdrawn charges against health care providers in our state.

The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions, and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., medical doctors, nurses, counselors).

Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on “Look up a health care provider license” in the “How Do I?” section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov). The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and report their complaint.

Benton County

In November 2018 the Unlicensed Practice Program amended a notification to Tess Thompson of its intent to issue a cease-and-desist order. Thompson allegedly advertised that she charges $45 to treat allergies through acupressure, but has no naturopathic physician license.

Chelan County

In October 2018 the Veterinary Board denied a veterinary medication clerk credential to Matthew Aaron Ryan-Kelzenberg (VM60871275), who in 2017 was convicted of communication with a minor for immoral purposes.

Clark County

In November 2018 the Home Care Aide Program reinstated the home care aide credential of Alissa Anne Adams (HM60417021) and placed her on probation for at least 18 months. Adams’s license was suspended in 2017 because she committed sexual misconduct against a client.

In October 2018 the secretary of health denied a chemical dependency professional credential to Christopher Leslie Standridge (CP60821164), whose chemical dependency professional trainee credential was suspended in September 2018 because he didn’t comply with a substance abuse monitoring contract.

In November 2018 the Unlicensed Practice Program notified Ashley E. Bomberger of its intent to issue a cease-and-desist order. Bomberger allegedly advertised and offered massage services despite not having a massage therapist license.

In October 2018 the secretary of health denied an agency-affiliated counselor credential to Tiffini Nichole Dillard (CG60836319). Between 2005 and 2014, Dillard was convicted of five felonies, one gross misdemeanor, and an Arizona offense that equates to a misdemeanor in Washington. She didn’t comply with a requirement to undergo a substance use evaluation.

In October 2018 the secretary of health denied an agency-affiliated counselor credential to Raquel Elisia Rosales Reyna (CG60878069). In 2014 she was convicted of second-degree theft, and of possession of a controlled substance-methamphetamine.

Cowlitz County

In November 2018 the Nursing Commission entered an agreement with registered nurse Thomas Lloyd Jones Jr. (RN60222011) that requires him to continue participating in a substance abuse monitoring program. In 2016 Jones signed a substance abuse monitoring contract after he removed himself from practicing as a nurse in Oregon in connection with allegations of workplace impairment. In 2017 he tested positive for morphine, and didn’t report a driving under the influence charge. That same year, he signed another substance abuse monitoring contract, after which he pleaded guilty to two counts of driving under the influence.

In November 2018 the Massage Therapy Program charged massage therapist Amanda Renee Docksteader (MA00023855) with unprofessional conduct. The massage therapist allegedly didn’t comply with conditions imposed in a 2017 stipulation.

Grant County

In November 2018 the secretary of health lifted the revocation of the certified nursing assistant credential of Vali D. Griffin (NC10089799) and placed it in expired status. Griffin’s license was revoked in 2007 after she didn’t respond to an allegation that she took money from a patient’s bed.

Island County

In November 2018 the Nursing Commission agreed to reinstate the registered nurse credential of Patricia Anne Ainsley (RN00098894), placed her on probation for at least 48 months, and ordered her to complete a refresher course. Ainsley’s license was suspended in 2013 in connection with medication administration and documentation issues.

King County

In November 2018 the Medical Assistant Program charged certified medical assistant Deborah S. Tossberg (CM60381653) with unprofessional conduct. Tossberg allegedly didn’t comply with a substance abuse monitoring contract.

In November 2018 the secretary of health conditionally granted a licensed behavior analyst credential to Rick Shaw (BA60789618) and ordered him to participate in a substance abuse monitoring program. Between 2010 and 2017, Shaw was convicted of six gross misdemeanors.

In November 2018 the secretary of health ordered Bethany Barnes to cease and desist from practicing medicine, osteopathic medicine, massage therapy, and/or physical therapy without a license, and to pay a $5,000 fine. Barnes advertised and performed patient treatment despite having no license as a physician, osteopathic physician, massage therapist, or physical therapist.

In November 2018 the secretary of health conditionally granted a chemical dependency professional trainee credential to Henry Carranza (CO60882053) and ordered him to participate in a substance abuse monitoring program. Between 1993 and 2014, Carranza was convicted of five felonies, two gross misdemeanors, and six misdemeanors.

In November 2018 the secretary of health conditionally granted a chemical dependency professional trainee credential to Jeannette Lorinda Asher (CO60883669) and ordered her to participate in a substance abuse monitoring program. In 2010 Asher entered an Alford plea on an identity theft charge.

In November 2018 the Massage Therapist Program charged massage therapist Meijun Guo (MA60374295) with unprofessional conduct. Guo and her son allegedly owned and operated a massage business where two clients said an unlicensed masseur sexually assaulted them.

In November 2018 the Dental Commission charged dentist Luke H. Pak (DE00006768) with unprofessional conduct. Charges say the dentist didn’t respond to a Department of Health investigator’s inquiry concerning insurance billing.

Kitsap County

In October 2018 the secretary of health denied a marriage and family therapist associate credential to Renee Garcia Miller (MG60846071). In 2018 Miller surrendered her California marriage and family therapist license.

Pierce County

In May 2018 the secretary of health denied a medical assistant-phlebotomist credential to Elisa Brooke Clark (PC60774581). In 2010 Clark was convicted of first-degree negligent driving. In 2017 she was convicted of third-degree theft.

In November 2018 the Unlicensed Practice Program entered an agreement with Yoisy Medrano-Juarez that requires her to cease and desist from practicing massage without a license, and to pay a $250 fine. Medrano-Juarez advertised that she would perform massage for a fee, but doesn’t have a massage therapist license.

In November 2018 the Chiropractic Commission filed an amended statement of charges against chiropractor Richard D. Leone (CH00000775) to add allegations that the chiropractor kept inadequate records and took deficient radiographs.

In November 2018 the Nursing Commission conditionally granted a registered nurse credential to Andrea Lyn Dumon (RN60895786) and ordered her to participate in a substance abuse monitoring program. In 2018 Dumon entered a cessation of practice agreement in Colorado that indicated she tested positive for alcohol while working as a nurse.

Snohomish County

In November 2018 the Nursing Commission entered an agreement with licensed practical nurse Caroline Diane Moyer (LP00043748) the requires her to undergo an evaluation for a substance abuse monitoring program, and to reimburse the commission for $1,000 in costs. If the nurse isn’t required to enter a substance abuse monitoring program, she will be on probation for at least 36 months. Moyer repeatedly didn’t properly account for controlled substances at a facility where she worked.

In November 2018 the Pharmacy Commission ended probation for pharmacist Amin M. Surani (PH00059648).

In November 2018 the Medical Assistant Program charged certified medical assistant Connie Rene Orton (CM60396118) with unprofessional conduct. Orton allegedly forged prescriptions to get narcotics for her own use, and didn’t respond to a Department of Health investigator’s request for an explanation.

In November 2018 the Nursing Commission agreed to reinstate the registered nurse credential of Samuel J. Hirst (RN00153006) and ordered him to participate in a substance abuse monitoring program. Hirst’s license was suspended in 2016 in connection with drug diversion.

In October 2018 the secretary of health denied a registered nursing assistant credential to Samuel G. NJeri (NA60839037). In 2018 NJeri was convicted in Ohio on three counts of driving under the influence. In 2017 a warrant for NJeri’s arrest was issued after he didn’t appear for a court hearing after being charged with driving under the influence, and hit and run unattended. NJeri didn’t supply proof of having undergone a required substance use evaluation.

Spokane County

In November 2018 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse Abigail Lee Sontag (RN60265120) with unprofessional conduct. According to charges, the nurse agreed to a search of her belongings that yielded syringes, medication, bottles, and other items taken from the facility where Sontag worked. Tests allegedly showed that a syringe and a bottle contained hydromorphone, a controlled substance Sontag didn’t have legal authority to possess. Sontag allegedly didn’t respond to the commission’s request for a written statement addressing the allegations.

In November 2018 the Medical Commission charged physician Scott A. Caveny (MD60494583) with being unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety. The physician allegedly didn’t comply with all recommendations after undergoing an evaluation, and indicated his intention to stop practicing medicine.

Whatcom County

In November 2018 the Nursing Commission charged registered nurse Karen Marie Benkarski (RN60170070) with unprofessional conduct. After the nurse signed a substance abuse monitoring contract, charges say, she tested positive for hydrocodone. She allegedly forged about 46 prescriptions and about nine prescription information forms. Benkarski allegedly didn’t comply with her substance abuse monitoring contract, providing numerous fraudulent forms indicating she had been prescribed hydrocodone.

In November 2018 the Naturopathy Board ended probation for naturopathic physician Dora Emilova Keating (NT60259610).

Out of State

California: In November 2018 the Medical Commission withdrew a statement of charges against physician Gordon S. Raskin (MD00038652).

Florida: In October 2018 the secretary of health denied a registered nursing assistant credential to Bobbi S. Augare (NA60860163). In 2015 Augare was convicted in North Dakota of driving under the influence. In 2016 she was convicted in North Dakota of reckless driving. She didn’t supply proof of having undergone a required substance use evaluation.

New York: In November 2018 the Medical Commission terminated an agreement and ended probation for physician William C. Baerthlein (MD00039029).

Oregon: In November 2018 the Medical Commission charged physician Rachel M. Knox (MD60572278) with unprofessional conduct. Charges say that while Knox worked as a contract employee for a large, multi-state medical marijuana clinic, she traveled to hotel rooms and other sites that weren’t her practice’s primary location to evaluate new patients for medical marijuana authorizations and to re-evaluate existing patients for medical marijuana authorization renewals. She allegedly provided authorizations for three to five days each month, resulting in authorizations for an estimated 90 to 150 patients.

Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing.

The DOH website is your source for a healthy dose of information. Find us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. Sign up for the DOH blog, Public Health Connection

###

Print Version (PDF)