For immediate release: October 3, 2023 (23-132)
Contact: DOH Communications
Public inquiries: Health Systems Customer Service 360-236-4700
OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or withdrawn charges against the following health care providers in our state.
The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions, and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., dentists, nurses, counselors). Information about disciplinary action taken against medical doctors and physician assistants can be found on the Washington Medical Commission (WMC) website. Questions about WMC disciplinary actions can be sent to email@example.com.
Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on “Health Care Provider Lookup” under the “Find it Fast” section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov).The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and report their complaint.
In June 2023 the Unlicensed Practice Program notified Gene Alan Loss of its intent to issue a cease-and-desist order. Between April 2021 and April 2022, Loss advertised and operated a sports massage business. Loss does not and has never held a massage therapy license in the state of Washington.
Grays Harbor County
In August 2023 the Nursing Assistant Program charged registered nursing assistant Devan Nicole Wright (NA61075075) with unprofessional conduct. Charges state that on multiple occasions between September and November 2021, Wright made unauthorized purchases from two patients’ credit and debit cards.
In June 2023 the secretary of health denied the agency affiliated registered counselor application of James Todd Christian (CG61408126). Christian has not completed the requirements of a 2020 order on his suspended registered nurse license.
In August 2023 the Nursing Assistant Program reinstated the certified nursing assistant license of Jeannie Marie Holmes (NC60330333) provided that she contacts a monitoring program and enrolls if the program determines it is required.
In August 2023 the Board of Nursing (formerly the Nursing Commission) charged the registered nurse license of Michelle Renee Sixkiller (RN60441517) with unprofessional conduct. In April 2023, Sixkiller allegedly withdrew herself from a 5-year monitoring contract entered into in January 2020.
In August 2023 the Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission and Robert B. Ulrich (CH00033882) entered an Agreed Order on his chiropractor license. Ulrich’s license is suspended for at least five years and on reinstatement, Ulrich will be on probation for at least five years, and he must pay a $5,000 fine. Ulrich is permanently restricted from treating patients under the age of 18 years old. For the duration of the probation his employer must submit quarterly performance evaluations and he may have at least five patient records audited and his practice reviewed on an unannounced basis up to two times per year. Prior to any request for reinstatement, Ulrich must undergo a psycho-sexual evaluation. In January 2023, Ulrich was charged with possession and dealing of depictions of a minor engaged in sexually explicit conduct, both class B felonies, and attempted viewing of depictions of a minor engaged in sexually explicit conduct, a gross misdemeanor.
In August 2023 the Emergency Medical Services and Trauma System Programs charged the paramedic license of Sean Patrick Sturgeon (ES60293230) with unprofessional conduct. In February 2023, Sturgeon failed to comply with his monitoring contract which was signed in September 2021.
In August 2023 the Marriage and Family Therapist Program withdrew the statement of charges on the marriage and family therapist associate license of Marshan Marquis Goodwin Moultry (MG60582705).
In August 2023 the secretary of health ended the probation on the substance use disorder professional trainee license of Caitlin Alys Rogers (CO61285861).
In August 2023 the Massage Therapy Program and Jeremiah Ryan DeBoer (MA60546710) agreed to conditions on his massage therapist license. The license will be on probation for at least three years. DeBoer must pay a $1,000 fine and pass an ethics course. Additionally, DeBoer must allow the Department of Health to audit at least 10 patient records on an unannounced basis up to three times a year over the next three years. In October 2022, DeBoer allegedly touched two clients inappropriately without their consent.
In July 2023 the Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission and chiropractor Rodney Joe Dahlinger (CH00002482) entered an Agreed Order. Dahlinger must pay a fine of $4,000, submit a copy of his COVID-19 Compliance Plan, submit an essay on the importance of infectious disease protocols in a chiropractic clinic, and pass a jurisprudence examination. Between August 2020 and February 2021, the COVID-19 mask mandates were not followed in Dahlinger’s chiropractic clinic.
In August 2023 the Nursing Assistant Program charged the certified nursing assistant license of Mary Lucille Brownsberger (NC10012744) with unprofessional conduct. In May 2022, Brownsberger allegedly failed to provide an explanation to a department of health investigator regarding allegations that she refused to provide a drug screen to her employer after her patient’s liquid morphine was found to be missing.
In August 2023 the Mental Health Counselor Program and Melissa Lara Belding (LH60587833) entered an Agreed Order on her mental health counselor license. Belding failed to meet the required standard of care in providing counseling services. Belding must complete 16 hours of continuing education in the areas of treating patients with Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) and treating dissociative disorder patients with EMDR. She must also attend and receive an unconditional pass from an ethics course.
Out of State
Montana: In August 2023 the Board of Nursing (formerly the Nursing Commission) charged the registered nurse license of Kathryn Elizabeth Gain-Sandy (RN61228171) with unprofessional conduct. In February 2023, the Montana Board of Nursing issued a final order revoking Gain-Sandy’s registered nurse license.
Minnesota: In August 2023 the Dental Quality Assurance Commission and Michael C. Johnson (GA60673242, DE60642383) entered an Agreed Order on his dentist license and dental general anesthesia permit license. Both of Johnson’s listed licenses are restricted until he completes the ethics and boundaries assessment services examination. During the period of restriction, Johnson may not perform implant procedures or administer general anesthesia. Johnson must complete 40 hours of continuing education in the areas of: documentation and charting; implant placement; opioid safety and prescribing; sedation and anesthesia. Johnson must allow the Department of Health to audit at least four general anesthesia records every four months for a period of three years on an unannounced basis. Johnson must also pay a fine of $20,000, reimburse the Dental Commission $10,000, and refund three patients their fees for Johnson’s dental services. Between November and January 2017, Johnson allegedly improperly placed an implant, mistakenly extracted teeth but failed to immediately notify the patient’s guardians, and severed a patient’s nerve, among other issues.
Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing.