For immediate release: January 3, 2024 (24-001)
Contact: DOH Communications
Public inquiries: Health Systems Customer Service 360-236-4700
OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has taken disciplinary actions or withdrawn charges against the following health care providers in our state.
The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions, and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., dentists, nurses, counselors). Information about disciplinary action taken against medical doctors and physician assistants can be found on the Washington Medical Commission (WMC) website. Questions about WMC disciplinary actions can be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Information about health care providers is on the agency website. Click on “Health Care Provider Lookup” under the “Find it Fast” section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov).The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are encouraged to call and report their complaint.
In December 2023 the Massage Therapy Program charged massage therapist Sara Lynn Hutchinson (MA60012256) with unprofessional conduct. Charges state that in May 2023, Hutchinson failed to comply with a 2022 stipulation by failing to generate treatment records for multiple patients.
In November 2023 the secretary of health reinstated the agency affiliated counselor license of Aaron S. Glenn (CG60168506) without conditions on the license.
Grays Harbor County
In November 2023 the secretary of health denied the home care aide license application of Aaron Michael Cain (HM61099665). In September 2023, Cain failed to obtain a substance use evaluation which is required for acceptance of an application.
In December 2023 the Massage Therapy Program charged massage therapist Jason Alain Bohbot (MA00015302) with unprofessional conduct. In September 2022, Bohbot allegedly entered a sexual relationship with a former client.
In November the Dental Quality Assurance Commission and Shawn Martin Keller (DE00009100) agreed to restrictions on his dentist license. The license is restricted for at least two years, during which time Keller must limit his implants, bridges, and crowns practice or have a pre-approved proctor. As outlined in the order, Keller must submit patient ledgers of previous charges, permit investigations of patient records, and comply with infection control inspections. He must complete a professional ethics course and a 22-hour dental ethics course and pass a jurisprudence examination. Keller must also pay a $5,000 fine and reimburse the commission $10,000. Between 2018 and 2020, Keller performed substandard dental care for multiple patients and failed to provide investigators adequate patient records.
In December 2023 the Chiropractic Quality Assurance Commission released Malik Bjsingh Prihar (CH00034750) from the terms and conditions on his chiropractor license.
In November 2023 the Board of Nursing (formerly the Nursing Commission) denied the registered nursing technician license application of Melissa Marie Hughes (NS61448718). In August 2023, Hughes failed to obtain a required substance use evaluation.
In November 2023 the secretary of health granted Megan Renae Cass (PC61494572) a license to practice as a medical assistant-phlebotomist with conditions on the license. Cass must continue to comply with the monitoring program requirements. In June 2020, Cass entered a deferred prosecution agreement for charges against her of driving under the influence, hit and run attended, and reckless endangerment, all gross misdemeanors.
In December 2023 the Massage Therapy program charged massage therapist Deon Abdullah (MA61102744) with unprofessional conduct. Between April 2022 and May 2023, Abdullah allegedly engaged in a sexual relationship with a patient.
In November 2023 the secretary of health granted Tylene Renee Kenyon (CO61490522) a license to practice as a substance use disorder professional trainee with conditions on the license. The license will be on probation for three years, during which time an approved professional must supervise Kenyon’s practice and submit quarterly performance evaluation reports. In May and March 2019, Kenyon was convicted of second-degree vehicle prowling and third-degree theft, respectively, both gross misdemeanors.
In August 2023 the secretary of health withdrew the notice of intent to issue a cease-and-desist order against Dawn Purbaugh.
In November 2023 the Acupuncturist or Acupuncture and Eastern Medicine Practitioner Program charged acupuncturist or acupuncture and eastern medicine practitioner Sujin Rhi (AC60920205) with unprofessional conduct. Charges state that between September 2022 and June 2023, Rhi’s spouse, who does not hold a Washington state acupuncturist license, treated patients under Rhi’s supervision.
In November 2023 the Board of Nursing (formerly the Nursing Commission) granted Beverly B. Sumanti (RN61484385) a license to practice as a registered nurse with conditions on the license. Sumanti must continue to comply with a 2023 stipulation to informal disposition which included completion of 21 hours of continuing education in the areas of nursing documentation and medication errors. Sumanti must also successfully complete a jurisprudence module. Sumanti entered the 2023 stipulation to informal disposition based on allegations of failure to document.
In October 2023 the secretary of health denied the registered nursing assistant license application of Jamian Robaire Horner (NA61416434). Horner failed to respond to a notice from the Department of Health to practice with conditions. In April 2023, Horner admitted to drug use and having a criminal background.
In November 2023 the Unlicensed Practice Program notified Hayley Crider of its intent to issue a cease-and-desist order. Between September 2022 and August 2023, Crider operated an equine business and provided equine massage therapy without an animal massage therapist license.
In November 2023 the Board of Nursing Home Administrators charged nursing home administrator Mark Roderick Scroggin (NH60184322) with unprofessional conduct. In October 2022, Scroggin allegedly forged a patient’s signature by copying their signature from an assessment and pasting it onto a contract.
In November 2023 the secretary of health denied the agency affiliated counselor application of Zane William Elliott (CG61359273). Between March and April 2023, Elliott sent social media messages to a client that were sexual in nature and made the client feel uncomfortable.
Out of State
Arizona: In November 2023 the Pharmacy Quality Assurance Commission released Augustine F. Aworuwa (PH60876321) from the terms and conditions on his pharmacist license.
Oregon: In October 2023 the secretary of health denied the agency affiliated counselor application of Patrick Andres Garcia (CG61415882). Garcia failed to respond to an agreement to practice with conditions in order to be licensed in Washington state. In August 2021 charges of reckless driving and reckless endangerment of another against Garcia were dismissed due to successful completion of all diversion requirements.
In October 2023 the Examining Board of Psychology denied the psychologist temporary permit of David Robert Gleave (TE61441340). In May 2022, Gleave and the Oregon Board of Psychology entered a stipulation order that restricted Gleave’s license to practice psychology in Oregon.
Tennessee: In November 2023 the Board of Nurisng (formerly the Nursing Commission) charged registered nurse Michael Patrick Leahy (RN61282977) with unprofessional conduct. Between April and May 2022, Leahy failed to properly document patient drug administrations on multiple occasions and did not follow patient-care instructions properly.
Note to Editors: Health care providers charged with unprofessional conduct have 20 days to respond to the Department of Health in writing. The case then enters the settlement process. If no disciplinary agreement can be reached, the case will go to a hearing.