For immediate release: April 6, 2023 (23-044)
Contact: DOH Communications
Public inquiries: Health Systems Customer Service 360-236-4700
OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has revoked or suspended the licenses, certifications, or registrations of the following health care providers in our state. The department has also immediately suspended the credentials of people who have been prohibited from practicing in other states.
The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., dentists, nurses, counselors). Information about disciplinary action taken against medical doctors and physician assistants can be found on the Washington Medical Commission (WMC) website. Questions about WMC disciplinary actions can be sent to email@example.com.
Information about health care providers is on the agency’s website. Click on “Health Care Provider Lookup” under the “Find it Fast” section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov). The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are also encouraged to call and report their complaint.
In March 2023 the Podiatric Board and Charles Rui Chieh Chu (PO00000277) agreed to an order that requires he surrender his podiatric physician and surgeon license and that he never resume practice in any capacity. He must additionally make a payment to the Board for $25,000. The charges state that Chu participated in a rebate program without disclosing his financial interest in the referral.
In March 2023 the Counselor Program and Medical Assistant Program suspended the substance use disorder professional trainee, agency affiliated counselor and medical assistant licenses of Victoria Mae Brase (CG61198947, CO61201298, CM60429714). Brase may not petition for reinstatement for at least four years. Prior to petitioning for reinstatement, Brase must pay a $2,000 fine, attend and pass an ethics course, and if reinstated will be on probation for at least three years. Beginning in May 2022, Brase engaged in sexual relationship with a patient.
In March 2023 the Pharmacy Commission and pharmacy technician David O Clarke-Levy (VA00047141) agreed to an order that suspends his license. Clarke-Levy may not attempt to reinstate his license for two years and prior to reinstatement must complete eight hours of continuing education in the area of anger management. In 2022, Clarke-Levy was convicted of unlawfully carrying a weapon capable of producing bodily harm.
Out of State
Florida: In March 2023 the Nursing Commission summarily suspended the license of registered nurse Nilka Diaz (RN61193297). In December of 2022, Diaz was prohibited from practicing in the state of California having been found grossly negligent and incompetent in her care of an ICU patient.
Utah: In February 2023 the Chiropractic Commission summarily suspended the license of chiropractor Brandon Steven Slaugh (CH60960132). Slaugh may not petition for reinstatement of his license for at least two years, must pay a $5,000 fine, and undergo a complete psycho-sexual evaluation by a psychiatrist or mental health specialist pre-approved by the Commission. In January 2021, Slaugh had sexual contact with a patient and in February inappropriately massaged a second patient’s gluteal muscles and then accessed her patient records to send her a personal email.
The DOH website is your source for a healthy dose of information. Find us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. Sign up for the DOH blog, Public Health Connection.