State revokes, suspends licenses, certifications, registrations of health care providers

For immediate release: December 1, 2023   (23-155)

Contact: DOH Communications
Public inquiries: Health Systems Customer Service 360-236-4700

OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has revoked or suspended the licenses, certifications, or registrations of the following health care providers in our state. The department has also immediately suspended the credentials of people who have been prohibited from practicing in other states.

The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., dentists, nurses, counselors). Information about disciplinary action taken against medical doctors and physician assistants can be found on the Washington Medical Commission (WMC) website. Questions about WMC disciplinary actions can be sent to

Information about health care providers is on the agency’s website. Click on “Health Care Provider Lookup” under the “Find it Fast” section of the Department of Health website ( The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are also encouraged to call and report their complaint.

King County

In October 2023 the Nursing Assistant Program and Alex Mwangi Ngatia (NC60445961) agreed to the suspension of his certified nursing assistant license. Ngatia may not petition for reinstatement for at least one year. Prior to petitioning for reinstatement, Ngatia must pay a $250 fine. If reinstated, the license will be on probation for at least one year. In December 2022, Ngatia pleaded guilty to a charge of fourth-degree assault – domestic violence, a gross misdemeanor.

In September 2023 the Board of Psychology modified an agreement with psychologist Lynette Dufton Pullmann (PY60144022) that indefinitely suspended her credential. Prior to petitioning for reinstatement, Pullmann must pay a $3,000 fine, pass an ethics course, and undergo a psycho-sexual evaluation. Pullmann ended a psychological relationship with a client and immediately began a romantic dating relationship with the client.

In October 2023 the Chiropractic Program suspended the chiropractor license of Islamuddin Wardak (CH00034030) for at least five years. Prior to petitioning for reinstatement, Wardak must pass a chiropractic examination, pass a jurisprudence examination, and undergo a psycho-sexual evaluation. Wardak must also complete 12 hours of continuing education in the areas of ethics and boundaries. In September 2020, Wardak was convicted of fourth-degree assault and two counts of violation of a court order. In February 2021 he was charged with second-degree rape and felony violation of a court order.

Snohomish County

In August 2023 the secretary of health revoked the home care aide license of Mercy Akoth Ogola (HM60921874). In March 2023, Ogola was placed on the long-term care abuse and neglect registry for physically abusing a vulnerable adult.

The DOH website is your source for a healthy dose of information. Find us on Facebook and follow us on X (formerly Twitter). Sign up for the DOH blog, Public Health Connection